Franconia, PA 
Branchwood Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: bcr123psu Hole #2 (Taken 10/2010)
4 / 220ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee Sign



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Great safari possibilities

1    6/24/2011   6/24/2011
Review By: CZaslav
Played: 138  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 15.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great course for getting some practice. Midrange, putting practice. Perfect for teaching. Great course for taking a buzz or putter and running the whole course in 15 minutes. Nice park
Cons: Very short
Rough natural tees
Other Thoughts: As others have said this appears to be a great place to bring those new to the game and not destroy their confidence. Nice use of trees on half of the course. This course has great opportunities for some safari golf. It does not appear to be very busy and I saw some great lines if you make up your own tee pads and use some of the sheltered baskets and use the small patch of woods. This was a fun tiny course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Branchwood DGC

5+    5/1/2011   5/18/2011
Review By: stout202
Played: 50  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Perfect place to take a newbie to learn the basics. It is in a nice public park that is well maintained; nice place to be outside.
Most holes are simple, short par 3's but a few require you to shape your drive a bit. Trees come into play on several holes.
Great place to practice your mid-range game/putting if you are a more experienced player. Also good place to play a few quick rounds if you only have a little bit of time.
Cons: If you take the course for what it is, a basic beginner's course, there are no major cons. Lack of tee-pads is my only real issue. Proximity to the baseball field on hole 2 could also pose a problem if a disc got away from you.
Other Thoughts: With so many great courses no too far away its not worth it to go out of your way to play this one. However, if you want somewhere to take your family or are just starting to play, this is a good place to go. Also, I ran into a local my last time there who showed me a safari layout that makes the course a bit more interesting (see review from 6/8/09 for details).

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great Open Course for Beginners

1    10/11/2010   10/28/2010
Review By: bcr123psu
Played: 73  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 5.1 Years
This review was updated on 11/1/2010
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Off the beaten path, but easy to find, Branchwood Park DGC is a well manicured nine-hole course. As you approach the park, there is adequate signage to point you to the start of the course. Once at the tees, the tee signs do a decent job pointing you toward the basket (even though it's usually less than 200' away and usually wide-open).

The baskets at the course are in great shape.

There is a subtle mix of fairways (e.g. wooded vs. open), though most are wide-open. The fairways are a sufficient distance from any other house,road, path or other part of the park so that safety isn't much of an issue at this community park as it can be at others.
Cons: While there were a few holes that incorporated trees, most were just straight shots from tee to basket and fairly short in length (all holes except for one were under 200'...with the exception being 220'). The course was almost completely flat with no real elevation change on any hole.

There were a few holes where, despite the tee sign, it was easy to accidentally throw at the wrong basket.

The tees were natural and didn't really have a defined line from which to throw.

In several instances, the proximity of baskets to the next tee was a bit too close to be totally safe.
Other Thoughts: Despite the pedestrian feel of the course, I found myself enjoying a fast round in a nice public space. While this course would be an afterthought for a seasoned player (or great practice for long-distance putting and approaches), for the beginner, this course will allow a player to work on form and technique without very many demoralizing tree hits or the requirement for numerous long-distance drives.

While I wouldn't say that the course is a disc golf destination, if you happen to be driving through the back roads of the county and have time for a quick round, check out Branchwood Park.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Beginners paradise

1    6/8/2010   6/8/2010
Review By: adlacro
Played: 63  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 8.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 9 holes with baskets still relatively new. Holes very short and bunched up together. Some woods but not much, and very little challenge to each hole. Ignore the par 4 on the signs (which are pretty accurate).
Cons: If more of the area can be used, it should be. Way too many short holes. With holes these short, this is meant for a player with little experience. A good place for a short ace or to challenge your mid-range game.
Other Thoughts: Park is very nice with other amenities available and will play in the immediate area again.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 DG 101

2-4    1/19/2010   2/5/2010
Review By: Tolbert
Played: 245  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 9.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fun little course in a nice clean park. Baskets are new, signage is good and course flow/navigation was smooth (the later mostly due to the 9 holes being very short and in a small area)
Branchwood is the definition of beginner friendly disc golf. Short holes (I think only 1 over 200ft.) Absolutely no rough to speak of, and as such, no risk of losing discs. Simple straight forward holes, about half were open with one large tree to negotiate, and the other half had minimal tree obstacles that make you shape you drive in some fashion. A perfect place to introduce the sport to new players and children.
And going hand in hand with this, the course is a pitch n putt/9 hole ace run for any seasoned player. (Yes literally 9 ace run holes)
Cons: Biggest con I immediately saw was the tee pads, basically muddy ruts in the ground. A couple off them I ended up throwing from the grass to the right or left.
The things that make Branchwood great for beginners could also be cons for players with experience. Short holes with little shot variety, could quickly become mundane.
I didn't take much time to walk around, but at a glance the park seemed fairly large and I was initially surprised by how little space was taken up by the course. Not sure how much land the park will allow for disc golf, but it would be nice to see the course get an expansion.
Most holes play close together, and if Branchwood ever gets a lot of traffic, wayward discs could be an issue.
Other Thoughts: While my favorite course all seem to be epic, I do enjoy playing short laidback courses of quality. Grab your favorite midrange and putter for a round free of frustration and stress. Branchwood plays very quickly, I got in 3 rounds in about an hour with no one else on the course. Its funny, as the rounds went on I started gunning for the ace more and more, and my scores got progressively worse...

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Children's Course

1    6/8/2009   6/8/2009
Review By: Asvetic
Played: 28  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 16.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well manicured community park off the beaten path. Porta-Johns located around park, did not notice on-site fountains though. All 9 holes are marked with signage showing distance and path. Each basket has a number indicated on inner post. While short, the course does offer both open and wooded fairways. The length and height of baskets suggest that this is actually a course built for children.
Cons: While viewing it as a children's course, it's hard to see a lot of cons. Even as a beginner's course, it still stands pretty tall. The proximity of the previous hole's basket and next tee box are quite close and often overlap.
Other Thoughts: I was able to play this short course in about 15 minutes at a brisk, but unfocused pace. After my initial round, I decided to break off and play a more creatively challenging layout. First number is the tee box, second number is hole (1 to 2) (3 to 4) (5) (6 to 7) (8 to 9) (1 to 3) (4 to 5) (6 to 8) (9 to 1). Check the course map under the Links tab to better visualize.

If this course wasn't geared towards children, the park does have ample space to make a rather long and possibly challenging course. I could see a layout that plays around the back of tennis court (moving hole 8 basket towards road) and then 3 or 4 holes across the street, along park perimeter, finishing near a parking lot.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Beginner or Practice course

5/1/2008   5/5/2008
Review By: VeganSteven
Played: 10  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 15.3 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice little park,quiet. Good to get your accuracy practice in.
Cons: The course is small.
Other Thoughts: I like this course, its close to home and you can just play the course in reverse to keep it fresh.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Branchwood

9/9/2007   9/9/2007
Review By: maf763
Played: 21  Reviewed: 13
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Well-kept in a nice setting.
Cons: Very short and very easy.
Other Thoughts: Might be good for a beginner or for introducing young kids to disc golf.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.