Franconia, PA 
Branchwood Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: gottafixit Hole #1 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 156ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 DG 101

2-4    1/19/2010   2/5/2010
Review By: Tolbert
Played: 241  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 9.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fun little course in a nice clean park. Baskets are new, signage is good and course flow/navigation was smooth (the later mostly due to the 9 holes being very short and in a small area)
Branchwood is the definition of beginner friendly disc golf. Short holes (I think only 1 over 200ft.) Absolutely no rough to speak of, and as such, no risk of losing discs. Simple straight forward holes, about half were open with one large tree to negotiate, and the other half had minimal tree obstacles that make you shape you drive in some fashion. A perfect place to introduce the sport to new players and children.
And going hand in hand with this, the course is a pitch n putt/9 hole ace run for any seasoned player. (Yes literally 9 ace run holes)
Cons: Biggest con I immediately saw was the tee pads, basically muddy ruts in the ground. A couple off them I ended up throwing from the grass to the right or left.
The things that make Branchwood great for beginners could also be cons for players with experience. Short holes with little shot variety, could quickly become mundane.
I didn't take much time to walk around, but at a glance the park seemed fairly large and I was initially surprised by how little space was taken up by the course. Not sure how much land the park will allow for disc golf, but it would be nice to see the course get an expansion.
Most holes play close together, and if Branchwood ever gets a lot of traffic, wayward discs could be an issue.
Other Thoughts: While my favorite course all seem to be epic, I do enjoy playing short laidback courses of quality. Grab your favorite midrange and putter for a round free of frustration and stress. Branchwood plays very quickly, I got in 3 rounds in about an hour with no one else on the course. Its funny, as the rounds went on I started gunning for the ace more and more, and my scores got progressively worse...

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Short Game Heaven

1    8/1/2009   8/1/2009
Review By: nosajeel99
Played: 37  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 13.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Branchford is a nice little park. It is well maintained and has new baskets. There are a few trees in the way on some of the holes, which provides a little bit of an obstacle. The tee signs were well done with an overview of the hole, distance, etc. It was easy to find my way from basket to tee. This is a great course to work on midrange shots for advanced players.
Cons: This course is definitely geared to those who are just beginning disc golf. There isn't a lot to hit and the holes aren't very long (only ONE hole out of nine was over 200 feet long!). Even for an advanced player a 3 would feel like a bogey.

The tee pads were natural. The dirt was actually mud when I went and a little slick. The tee pads were awfully close to the previous basket as well, which helped with navigation, but if more than a couple of people are playing, could provide danger. The tees were well within the 30' radius from the basket, and some probably within 15'.

A lot of the holes were repetitive, with only a couple of holes including any obstacles. There were no forced layups, no challenge, no memorable holes.
Other Thoughts: If you live close and are just starting out, this is a good course to learn basics. If you are advanced, you can take your favorite midrange (I used my Dart on every tee shot; even a Roc felt like too much) and a putter out for some practice. You can play the entire course in about 20 minutes. This is a nice park and it was well maintained.

I saw a father and son (son was about 8 years old) playing together. This is a great use for this course. Don't expect to see any tournaments or random draw doubles here, though.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Children's Course

1    6/8/2009   6/8/2009
Review By: Asvetic
Played: 28  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 16.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well manicured community park off the beaten path. Porta-Johns located around park, did not notice on-site fountains though. All 9 holes are marked with signage showing distance and path. Each basket has a number indicated on inner post. While short, the course does offer both open and wooded fairways. The length and height of baskets suggest that this is actually a course built for children.
Cons: While viewing it as a children's course, it's hard to see a lot of cons. Even as a beginner's course, it still stands pretty tall. The proximity of the previous hole's basket and next tee box are quite close and often overlap.
Other Thoughts: I was able to play this short course in about 15 minutes at a brisk, but unfocused pace. After my initial round, I decided to break off and play a more creatively challenging layout. First number is the tee box, second number is hole (1 to 2) (3 to 4) (5) (6 to 7) (8 to 9) (1 to 3) (4 to 5) (6 to 8) (9 to 1). Check the course map under the Links tab to better visualize.

If this course wasn't geared towards children, the park does have ample space to make a rather long and possibly challenging course. I could see a layout that plays around the back of tennis court (moving hole 8 basket towards road) and then 3 or 4 holes across the street, along park perimeter, finishing near a parking lot.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Sad Community Planning...

1    3/13/2009   3/16/2009
Review By: Shooter
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I agree, good to introduce someone to the game. Open playing area, good if you want to learn long arm putting.
Cons: Cramped into a little section of a nice park. Hard to navigate course. Signage is present but not oriented well same with baskets. All holes are playable with your putter. You won't need anything else, so leave your bag in the car.
Other Thoughts: I'm a tough reviewer....Especially when there is so much potential for this place...If you are looking to have a good day out, pass this up unless you want a quick warm up or putting practice. Whoever the community officials were that laid this course out, should have called on some help. With so many other courses in this area to play, they could have made a field trip to several of them and got some creative ideas... There are beautiful acres of this little park that could have been used to spread the 9 holes out and incorporate some nice 300 ft - 400 ft drives. No hole is really over 200 ft. Even a newbie needs to be able to feel the power of a drive. The whole course is about 100 ft wide and about 800 ft long. They even have a marked par 4 on the course which is really a par 2. You should be able to lay up next the basket on every drive with a drop in putt. A gnome would have an easy day here. Keep on driving if you are anything over "beginner" level.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nine Ace Runs!

1    1/5/2009   1/10/2009
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 155  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 12.2 Years
This review was updated on 3/7/2009
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A nice little park in the country. Perfect course to introduce someone to the game. A beginner will not get frustrated with underbrush or trees, won't be embaressed since it is a quiet park with few others around, It is short enough for a beginner to have some mild success, and most important you can show off and possibly get an ace as you teach the game. HAHA! Sometimes it is fun to play a quick nine where you literally have a shot at an ace on every hole. The tee signs are good and it is nearly impossible to get lost. Despite being a public park the course meanders to the rear of the property out of the way of most park traffic. Good place to practice putting and approaching.
Cons: Don't expect to use a distance driver all day. It is a very short, flat, mostly open course. Just 9 holes. Tee pads, though not needed, do not exist. Primarily for quickies for locals because any experienced player will only have fun here if he is teaching the game to someone or practicing his short game.
Other Thoughts: It was winter I was able to squeeze in a round after work before dark. It would be interesting to see the holes moved across the street where there is a little more room, some elevation, and a pretty stream running the full length of the park property. I found 4 bucks on hole four. HaHa..the luck continues...but no aces...damn! I think there is a place in the disc golf world for ace run courses..they have a special charm!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Start

2-4    11/8/2008   11/15/2008
Review By: bwags75
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice easy course for the beginner, builds your confidence, quick course, nice and open and all holes are straight
Cons: No hole is extremely challenging, sometimes it is confusing which basket you should shoot at
Other Thoughts: Great little park, close to where my brother lives, can get in and out under 30 minutes

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great Starter Course

5+    10/19/2008   10/19/2008
Review By: misfitrev
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is a great course for fist-time golfers. I have taken lots of people here to teach them the game. The course is short and open. I have never played this course with more than four other people on the course at the same time. This park has other amenities which as nice as well. This is a good course at which to work on your shot game. Signage is fair. baskets are in good shape.
Cons: There are no really challenging holes for the experienced golfer. The tee boxes are just dirt.
Other Thoughts: Would love to see this course expanded to the other side of the road with the holes becoming longer.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Quaint Course

6/30/2008   6/30/2008
Review By: jcavanaugh
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 7.7 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice settings, nice baskets, great place to stop if you want to squeeze 9 holes in after work or at lunch
Cons: The holes are very short. Not very challenging even for a newbie like my self.
Other Thoughts: Mixing and matching tees and pins makes the course a bit more intersting

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Beginner or Practice course

5/1/2008   5/5/2008
Review By: VeganSteven
Played: 10  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 15.2 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice little park,quiet. Good to get your accuracy practice in.
Cons: The course is small.
Other Thoughts: I like this course, its close to home and you can just play the course in reverse to keep it fresh.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Branchwood

9/9/2007   9/9/2007
Review By: maf763
Played: 21  Reviewed: 13
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Well-kept in a nice setting.
Cons: Very short and very easy.
Other Thoughts: Might be good for a beginner or for introducing young kids to disc golf.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.