Concord, NC 
Rotary Club DGC Share
Uploaded By: Gegenschein Hole #8 (Taken 6/2014)
4 / 573ft.   4 / 429ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee Sign



Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Snooze fest

1    9/1/2014   9/1/2014
Review By: BrotherDave
Played: 102  Reviewed: 99  Exp: 7.4 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The best part about this course doesn't have much to do with disc golf. Amenities are terrific as the park is really nice. The concrete tees are very well done and tee signage is pretty good. The land is well-mowed and maintained. Little flags atop the baskets are a nice touch.
Cons: Design-wise, at its best the course is really monotonous, like a bland folk song. Then it gets a lot worse like that song skipping repeatedly. Throw long and straight, repeat over and over with gimmie putts and NAGS (not a golf shot) galore thrown in.

If you've got a really big boy arm, you'll be bored to tears b/c it's mostly deuce or undramatic birdie/par on par 4's/3's. If you aren't David Wiggins/Avery Jenkins/insert random long throwing Pro here, you're also bored from repeatedly dropping hyzers into your putting range after pointless max drives. I say pointless b/c this course suffers horribly from lack of scoring separation. My brother and I could have played a 1000 straight rounds and I'm positive that the difference would be just a few strokes. Good throws are rarely rewarded and bad throws are rarely punished.

Variety wise the course is really poor also. So much unremarkable straightness it's like being in a Southern Baptist Church. The only hole with some character is hole 5 and even it plays across the corner of a parking lot and I don't think they got the pin placement quite right. Hole 6 is just bad, too close to the ball field and unrewarding green. Hole 7 is just straight up wack. A very popular jogging trail is the fairway and then the basket is just randomly tucked into the woods w/o any discernible fairway to it (A Schwartz trademark). Holes 11-13 seem terribly forced and odd-fitting, hole 11 screams filler hole. It isn't uncommon to see multiple baskets from a tee or multiple tees from a basket that seem logical so getting mixed up is easy to do. By hole 15-16 I was ready to run down to the water and hijack a paddle boat to make a break for better courses in Charlotte. Hole 18 has some of the best elevation used on the course and insult to injury they use it backwards, a boring slog uphill.

The course is pretty flat so not much elevation change but what there is seems to leave something to be desired. I like throwing in wide open fields as much as the next guy but there are some trees here that just seem blatantly avoided in certain sections of the course. Not much to work with but still better than nothing; this is one of the most obstacle-less courses I've ever played. You'd need copious amounts of artificial OB and obstacles to make most of these holes worth a flying f*$&.
Other Thoughts: Holes 15 and 17 asked me to hit a gap! (hole 15 didn't give me much of a putting green though).

Literally no one is going to play the short tees here. They're natural and marked by hard to see blue disc-shaped circles.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Potential

2-4    8/13/2014   8/14/2014
Review By: St. Benedisc
Played: 32  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 6.6 Years
This review was updated on 11/29/2014
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: (See other reviews for hole by hole descriptions)
Well maintained course with multiple opportunities for "everything you've got" throws. Wide, long, flush with the ground, concrete tee pads. Located in a large park with many activities for non-players to do-- such as paddle boats, mini-golf, playgrounds, etc.
Cons: Too many "just throw it straight across the grass towards the basket" holes. Hole #7 has a busy walking/jogging trail going right down the middle of your fairway necessitating frequent periods of waiting.
So many open, treeless holes makes for a real scorcher in the summer.
Other Thoughts: Most of the holes could be better differentiated by the addition of some large boulders, strategically located pampas grass or other plant life as well as more aesthetically pleasing yet strategically located trees. As it is, it's boring and repetitive .

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful Open Course

5+    7/8/2014   7/11/2014
Review By: bfowler
Played: 18  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The park is absolutely gorgeous. It's very, very well maintained. Tee-pads are nice and long. Baskets are top quality with flags on top. A lot of long holes for big arms.
There are two holes with water coolers by them that are refilled often.
Cons: A lot of long holes for big arms. Yeah, it's a plus and a minus. They've done very will with what they had to work with. The open holes do get a little repetitive but they've tried to do things to mix it up like putting the T-pad right behind a large tree or making you shoot through a large gap of woods. The wind can really affect your shots sometimes.
Other Thoughts: I think there are a few things that could be done to make this a really top level course. Put in more obstacles and out of bounds markers.

If you watch pros play open course online there are often markers/flags and such to mark out of bounds and make the hole much more of a challenge.

They could also do some things like a ring of hay bails around a hole or a big wooden fence you have to through through like the Winthrop course has. I do know that they have planted some trees to aid in the design of some of the holes like #6 is by a parking lot but they've got a row of trees there that will block the parking lot when they get full grown.

I love that it's on my way home from work too.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


1    7/6/2014   7/7/2014
Review By: donaldm737
Played: 105  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 31.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The teepads, signage, and baskets are top notch.
The park itself is beautiful with plenty of activites for any non-disc golfers in your group.
Cons: The course is not for your typical disc golfer. While the rest of the park is designed for family fun, this disc golf couse is not. Too many Par 4's and not enough Par 3's for family play. It is wide open and designed for players with "big arms". It seems to have missed its target audience if it was designed for the people who most visit the park.
It was not windy when I played it, but it will be a "bear" when the wind blows since there is very little to break the wind.
Other Thoughts: Very nice course but too long and not technical enough for the finesse player.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Rotary is so wide open, you'll go spread (Innova) Eagles

1    6/7/2014   6/7/2014
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 176  Reviewed: 172  Exp: 10.6 Years
This review was updated on 6/9/2014
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Rotary Club at Frank Liske Park is a wide open course. If you're looking for a place to air out some drives, this is the Charlotte-area course for you.
- The course is simply an open course. Out of the 18 holes, only three have tight fairways - #3, 6 & 7, and then two other holes have a gap to hit (or should hit) on #15 & 17. The other 13 holes range from having no trees in play (#1 & 14) to having some strategically placed ones to create some better layouts, as seen on #9 & 10.
- You will throw driver often on this course, even if you have a big arm. The average hole length is 426 feet, with three holes longer than 600 feet; two in 500 - 599 range and three in the 400 - 499 range. The four hole stretch of #7 - 10 has nothing shorter than 534, and that's actually the most difficult of the lot.
- For a course that's so limited in its variety, there actually was a fair amount of different looks. There is a little elevation variety here (by Charlotte area standards), enough at least make to the downhill holes seems easier and the uphillers play longer. Add to that a couple of doglegs that play into the wooded area (#3 &7) or play behind a mound (#5), you're not seeing the same layout on every hole; just on most of the holes. The front 9 offers a lot more variety, including the one wooded hole - #4. The lack of woods will ultimately be this course's undoing.
- Course is in amazing shape. Great tee markers make it easy to spot the next hole. That's actually not always easy when you see multiple tee pads and baskets at once. Tee pads are also in great shape, and the land is well manicured.
- Add to that, the park itself looks awesome. There is so much to do here - playground, walking trails, ball fields, tennis courts, mini golf, paddle boats, playgrounds, and probably a lot more I didn't even see. This is one of the most impressive parks in the Charlotte region. You should be able to keep the entire family happy, or at least occupied, while you knock out a round.
- Maybe it's the 'new course' factor, but I played this course early on a Saturday morning, teeing off before 8. I saw a lot of players out on the course, including several large groups. It will be great if the course can keep generating that much interest and foot traffic.
Cons: The course is too wide open. The few problems mostly center around the fact this is an open course. That lack of true variety, meaning wooded holes, will ultimately be this course's undoing. And that will be a shame.
- Like I said above, the front nine has some good variety. Once you get to hole #8, however, it's 11 straight open holes to finish the round. I was really enjoying my round through hole 11, still enjoying it through 13 holes, then by the end, just finding myself bored and wanting my round to be over. The wooded area near by #10 & 11 would have been perfect to add a couple of wooded holes. I'm not the first nor the last person to point out this problem. Let's just say by adding a couple wooded holes, eliminating a couple of open holes, this course would feel much different.
- An unintended consequence of the cluster of wooded holes in the same area (holes #1, 2, 8, 9 & 14 are all close together) is that you see multiple baskets when standing on different tee pads. For example, standing on #14, wasn't sure which basket I was supposed to throw towards. I could see three different baskets for hole #1, 8 & 14, not knowing which was which. Also ran into that problem on a couple other holes.
- Contributing to that problem is that the tee signs are deceivingly unhelpful. The map looks great until you realize it's lacking in detail. Tee signs show a line from the tee pad to the basket, but DON'T give any other points of reference, such as showing the big tree protecting the basket on #9, how close the basket is to the road on #14 or how close to the ball fields the basket is on #6. I will admit this is a problem mainly for first time players, and shouldn't be much of an issue for subsequent visits.
- To tie in the above two issues, for such an open course, there are too many holes where you did need to walk the hole to know exactly where to throw. Going back to hole #8, I split the difference between the two possibilities for what I thought were the correct basket, I threw in the middle and figured I would be able to determine from there which was the correct basket. The other basket ended up being #14, so now you know how the story ends.
- I think shorter arms will get frustrated and/or bored pretty quick here. If you only throw 250 - 275, you're going to see almost no birdie chances while having to deal with a lot of open and repetitive mid-range approach shots. Of course, if you love throwing 200 foot approach shots on flat holes with no obstacles whatsoever, and nothing to help you with depth perception, you'll love playing this course. Try the midrange approach on #8, it's terrific!
Other Thoughts: The course looks great, so I hate being critical. The problem is that this course does have problems, or just one BIG problem, that will always keep it down. For all the prior reviews, let's calm down and not get carried away with some inflated ratings.
- If you are a big arm - throwing 400 feet plus - you probably will enjoy this course, or at least enjoy it more than others. It is a big arm course, at least if you're wanting to see birdies.
- For the rest of us players, I imagine scores won't vary much between a great round and a bad round. With so many open holes, you can throw off line, or miss your target off the tee entirely, and be able to recover without much damage. Say you throw 300 feet, and you're having an amazing day ripping off 350 foot drives the entire round. It almost doesn't matter on a lot of holes because that just means you have 75 foot approach shots, instead of 125 feet; or 150 foot approach shots instead of 200 feet. In the end, it won't help the bottom line with lower scores on a lot of holes.
- There were three holes that stood out as a step above the rest. #5 - this requires a solid tee shot around the parking lot to a basket on the back side of a mound. This is probably the best approach shot on the course. #9 is a slight downhill, long hole (630 feet) with the basket behind a large tree. This is the one hole where throwing dead straight would be a problem. #10 is another long hole (621 feet) featuring a wide fairway with a thin tree line on both sides. Depending on how big the trees get, down the road, this hole could offer increased challenge.
- If I had finished my round after hole #11, I'd believe some of the hype and agree with some of the ratings. Unfortunately, there are 7 more holes after that, and they all just feel the same. If the final 7 were as good as the first 11, I could see this as a 3.5 rated course. This being an 18-holer, the course ends with a thud, and ends up at a 3.0. Out of all the courses I've played, the most comparable I've played to this is Brevard College, minus the mountain backdrop.
- This is a change of pace from everything else in the region. And for that, it's worth checking out at least once.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Great course

2-4    6/2/2014   6/4/2014
Review By: Khilty
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great course for beginners and veterans, it offers a variety of good ooen shots and a few nicely placed strategic shots. My personal favorites are the 600ft + holes as it gives you a chance to just rip it. Hole 3 is the first of obly a few wooded spots on the course but Im sure that will change in time as the course matures with the additional trees they planted around the more open holes. Discs are sold in the park which is a nice change from other parks in the area. Multiple water coolers throughout the course also make it a joy to play.
Cons: Needs more seating at the tee pads and trash cans. Some more technical holes would have been nice but that is by no means a deal breakerfor me as I love the wide open layout. As a few others have mentioned there are a few danger spots, hole 5 which crosses the corner of the parking lot, and hole 6 as well one stray disc and you may hit somones car, hole 7 shates the fairway with a crowded jogging/walking path and is frustrating sometimes b/c it gets crowded.
Other Thoughts: This is by far the best course to play in the concord/kannapolis area. I would highly recommend it to just about anyone new or old to the sport.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Show off with some longer drives in Cabarrus County...

2-4    6/4/2014   6/4/2014
Review By: ReedyCreekProduct
Played: 19  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 14.6 Years
This review was updated on 6/7/2014
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very nice park with lots of activities.

Play or practice until 9 pm from April through October. The open nature of the course and limited artificial lighting allow you to play certain holes after dark, especially by the tennis courts.

The park is like a giant, grassy hill. You can see many of the tee pad/target areas from many spots on the course. With good distance on some of the holes, there is a real chance to show off in front of fellow discers and park goers. Or you can watch a lot of other discers and their techniques.

A restroom with water fountain is almost always visible or nearby. At least 3 are close to the course.

Sweet course map, and good signage at each tee pad. Look on the tee pad signs for an indication of where the next hole will be. It shouldn't be too difficult to follow.

Great environment: Gorgeous sunset views, and there is often a nice breeze in the park.

5 holes are decidedly uphill, and 6 are decidedly downhill.

7 holes that make good use of limited trees to encourage accuracy on either the approach or the drive: 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 15, 17.

2 to 5 holes where the woods can come into play, depending on how well you throw: 3, 4(definitely wooded), 5, 6, 7(wooded at the end).

Never seen anything like hole 6: It feels like you are in a trench. If you try for an ace, you risk losing your disc in the brush. I always concede the ace and play it safe.

Hole 12 is my favorite design decision: With just 3 trees, it gives you a choice of 4 different driving routes.

Hole 18 is an uphill beast to finish on.

Potential for improvement. A high percentage of the few trees are young and growing. A few more well-placed trees/obstacles could make things really interesting.
Cons: Park currently closes at 5 pm from November through February. I think Mecklenburg County courses give you a little more time in the colder months.

Serious safety issues and questionable design decisions on 2 holes: Number 5 includes the corner of a parking lot in the fairway! It is often used for softball league or big soccer days. I sometimes lose a stroke just to avoid hitting a car. Number 7 more or less uses a popular walking path for its fairway. I like both of these holes when no cars or people are around, but you have to be really careful. There are some milder safety issues on a few other holes. Just be cautious.

Holes 1, 2, 13, and 16 are completely forgettable filler holes. No obstacles whatsoever and not a ton of distance.

The sun sets at the lower end of the park, so it WILL be in your eyes if you play certain holes at certain times.
Other Thoughts: You can park closer to the entrance by the tennis courts and begin at holes 11/12/13, if you don't feel like driving up the big hill and deeper into the park.

Cabarrus County needed a good 18 holer and it got one. This park has been an obvious disc golf candidate for a long time. Apparently the Charlotte region needed a solid, open course. This is it. Many thanks to the Rotary Club of Cabarrus County and everyone else involved!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

The most open course in the area

2-4    6/2/2014   6/3/2014
Review By: doctharock
Played: 25  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very open course. It is a great addition to the Charlotte area. Not many courses give that much space to work on long drives and the wind game. 12 or so of the holes are pretty much grip it and rip it. There are 4 par 4's that are over 600'. There are a couple short par 3's, and few other par 3's that are in the 375'-450' range.
The absolute best part about the course is the beauty. It is extremely well maintained. You can see over most of the course from just about every teepad. And speaking of teepads, they are very long and very wide, which is really nice. No worries about not having enough room for a run up. Also, the signage is great. It is on a post with a well designed picture of the hole including trees and paths to the basket. There is also a flag on each post to help judge the wind. That is a nice touch.
It is definitely fun and there are very few danger areas, which make it less mentally challenging and stressful. I think it would be a great place for a beginner to learn and develop distance.
Cons: There are two cons. One really big, one not so much.
First, holes 5,6, and 7. They really are head-scratchers. It's not the holes themselves that are bad, it's just where they are placed. Hole 5 you have to throw over a parking lot. There are two trees right at the tee, so I am guessing that is why they put the teepad there, but really the teepad should be 100' closer and to the side of the parking lot. Having the potential to have to throw over cars is not a good design, in my opinion. Hole 6. This also runs adjacent to the back of the same parking lot. An ill placed drive just slightly left will likely hit a car if there are any parked on that side. The pin for 6 is right next to a softball field. Throw too far and you are more than likely going into the field. There is also the potential for disc golfers to be hit by softballs as it is just over the left field wall. This hole should have been about 100' shorter, in my opinion. That would take most of the parking lot and the softball field out of play. I do kind of see why the designer probably went ahead with these holes as the parking lot is only used for the softball fields, so their thought was that it will most likely be empty most of the time. A good fix would be an alternate tee for those times when it is being used. Hole 7, you have to throw down a jogging path. The jogging path is the fairway. That pretty much is all I probably would need to say about that, but there is train tracks running adjacent to the left side as well (I will admit that I am unsure how much the tracks are actually used).
The other con is the lack of variety of throws that you need. Come with a light bag. Most of the day will be driver, putter. That's not really a big con, just something to note.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is a very good course. I would give it a 4.5 rating with a little bit of redesign of holes 5,6, and 7. It is worth playing if you are in the area if you want a break from the more technical, woods courses in the region.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 nice course

1    6/1/2014   6/1/2014
Review By: ktravis4
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Nice tee boxes, good signage, course is in excellent shape. Innova discs are sold on site. Water cooler and trash cans on many holes. Grip n rip, as well as, accuracy drives.
Cons: A few more benches at tee boxes.
Other Thoughts: I have looked forward to this course opening and have followed construction as it occurred. I expected it to be an open and short course. Boy did I get a great surprise. This course is long, it has 3 holes that are par 4's over 600 feet. About 30 trees were recently planted that will make this course even more challenging in the future. I'm sure there are some players that will find something to complain about but in reality this is a great course that is only going to get better!

2 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.