Cottage Grove, MN 
Oakwood Park Share
Uploaded By: notapro Hole #18 (Taken 7/2012)
4 / 365ft.   4 / 510ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Mid-Fairway

Reviews: 33
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4

1    8/8/2015   8/12/2015
Review By: wolfhaley
Played: 200  Reviewed: 141  Exp: 11.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is set up in an area that is disc golf exclusive. The first 5 holes play in a mostly open section of the park along with the last 2 holes. The next 11 holes play through the wooded section of the park and are the real highlights of the course. Starts and ends near the parking lot which is always nice. There was a very nice large course map before hole 1 and there's a helpful map here on DGCR too. That being said the course was pretty easy to follow, good design. The course is free to play and in ground all year. There's a port o potty right by hole 1 as well. The baskets are Mach 5's that are all in pretty solid shape and caught just fine. The tees are concrete and were all level, grippy, and worked just fine. There's a good variation of shot types required here. Left , right and straight shots are all required to score well here. there's also a decent amount of distance variation throughout the course as well. The signs that are present were serviceable not great though. There's a number of benches sprinkled throughout the course which is always nice to see. There's also a small, pretty shallow pond by holes 8 and 9 I believe. It's easy to retrieve a disc that goes in along the edges, but gives you something to think about. I didn't even realize the pond was there when we teed off on 8, but it does show it on the tee sign so that's me bad there. Hole 9 throws over it for the first 30 to 40 feet and my wife landed in it. Luckily it wasn't deep and we got it back. Always nice to see water though.
Cons: The bugs can get bad but there's nothing they can do about that. Just be sure to bring bug spray and it's not an issue. There are a number of areas that would seem to flood or at least collect some standing water after heavy rains or in the early spring. Quite a bit of trash lying around the course which is unfortunate since it's otherwise a pretty scenic course. Seems like it could get pretty busy, though it surprisingly wasn't on an august afternoon.
Other Thoughts: The cons considered, this was a really fun course to play. I'd recommend this course to anyone. I'd actually rate this more as a 3.75 but since that's not an option I opted to go with a 3.5. With a few upgrades this easily could be a 4. Very fun course that will be challenging for beginners and intermediate players alike. Advanced players shouldn't have too much of a problem scoring well here. Basically just a great course for all skill levels.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Would be a good course in winter or spring.

1    7/9/2015   7/9/2015
Review By: drumm3rn4ut
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.3 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: 1. Good layout for some technical holes.
2. First few holes are well mowed and open.
3. Good mix of open and wooded holes.
Cons: 1. Very high grass on hole 4 and beyond when I played.
2. Some holes are very hard to get a good shot. 5 foot opening between trees.
3. Can flood easily. (When I went, tee 3 was completely submerged in water and mud.)
4. Littered with garbage in the summer.
5. Smells like crap after a good rain. (Rotting fish stench.)
6. Easy to lose a disc in the FAIRWAY when not mowed.
Other Thoughts: If not mowed, go play a close course in Hastings. A nice course in all, but not taken care of well enough.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Nice Winter round.

2-4    11/17/2014   11/23/2014
Review By: joelwpg
Played: 91  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 6.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Easy to find
-Had a great map, both onsite and online.
-Very easy to navigate even without the map. This was a very well laid out course.
-Great mix of holes. From short birdie-able ones to longer arm testing ones. Some open holes with efficient use of elevation. And my favorite, the better portion of this course was wooded and technical. Some fantastic holes here, making perfect use of the woods and hills, along with some great pin placements.
-Seemed well balanced, lefty-righty.
-Shoveled tees!! Of the 7 courses we played on this trip through MN this was one of only 2 that had tees shoveled. As someone who shovels the tees on my home course i really appreciate this! :)
Cons: Not much to put in the cons part for once. (can't complain about cold in the winter) The garbage I had read about in other reviews wasn't apparent. That might be due in part to the snow but there did seem to be to be a large number of well used garbage receptacles along the course.
Other Thoughts: This review was based on 2 quick winter rounds. The second, only because the first was so fun despite the cold and wind. The wooded parts were nicely sheltered. I could see this being a great course to learn on, or improve the technical aspect of your game. I can definitely see all levels of skill enjoying this course. I will be back. I would love to see this course in summer!
**If you are looking for a nice winter disc golf fix this course is perfect!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Solid free to play course

5+    9/28/2014   10/6/2014
Review By: sc2sick
Played: 24  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 3.8 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Wide variety of shots
Good signage
Easy to navigate
Cons: Mosquitos during the early part of the year
Still a few small stumps to trip over
Other Thoughts: Good free to play course with good signage, definitely worth checking out and playing a few times

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Mosquito Heaven

1    7/11/2014   7/13/2014
Review By: Notorious21
Played: 55  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 5.1 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
- Many elevation changes
- Good variety of open and wooded holes
- High quality baskets and teepads
- Easy to navigate without a map
- The run of tight, technical holes can get frustrating
- Some of the signs were missing
- Standing water breeds mosquitoes! I basically had to bathe myself in DEET in between holes to keep from being carried away by them.
Other Thoughts:
I will never understand what compels a person of any age to add graffiti to a bench or tee sign. And why does it usually have to be explicit? You're better than that Minnesota. Sand it down or paint over it immediately to prevent giving these morons who give the sport a bad name the benefit of seeing their artwork a second time.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Generous and Cruel

1    6/13/2014   7/3/2014
Review By: TalbotTrojan
Played: 110  Reviewed: 104  Exp: 7.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good variety on this course with lots of holes that will allow anyone to have a chance at birdies to the holes where you literally have to play a real golf shot and simply throw to a spot to give yourself an upshot. The course makes great use of the terrain of the park with lots of good elevation changes. The baskets were all in really good condition and tee pads were nice. Tee signs were good but not great. The course is set in a very nice park with amenities nearby as well as plenty of commercial establishments nearby. There is a very nice pavillion that sits right next to the first tee. The holes that are in the woods are exceptionally well designed in my opinion with the fairways being far and the rough being rough. Generally speaking it is rather easy to find where to go next on this course and a map really isn't needed.
Cons: There are a couple places, specifically around the baseball field where pedestrians may get in the way of a hole without realizing it. There were places on this course that had heaps of trash. This of course makes me think that the local crowd that plays this course is not typically your high level player or even serious player at a lower skill level. It was sad to see the lack of respect for this course in trash alone considering how good everything else is on this course. Far too many holes felt like gimmie holes where one is expected to get a birdie. When it rains there are a couple of places that get muddy and make simply walking down the fairway a bit tricky.
Other Thoughts: This course was enjoyable for the most part but is one of those courses that you really feel like you should be shooting better than you are on it. There are simply too many holes that one would need to birdie on this course to shoot a respectable score. The setting for this course is very nice and the park itself feels like it is top notch, until you find the trash in various different locations. Then you literally feel like you are playing on a trash heap. Even with so many short holes that one needs to get there is still plenty of challenge on this course and the easy holes aren't too easy. It does make the course fun for a wider variety of skill levels. I am not sure why, but it really does keep coming back to how much trash I found on this course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Markers!

1    5/20/2013   5/20/2013
Review By: rhettro
Played: 36  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 14.4 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Very clear markers, most of the baskets have large orange signs attached so they are very easy to see.

- Each basket also has an arrow marker for the next tee, although some ar ein disrepair.

-Very well kept and nicely mowed, there are trashcans throughout the course and little litter.

- Nice mix of holes, both wooded and open fairways

- tee signs are simple but sufficient.

Cons: - The course had a bit of standing water which almost submerged the tee of hole #2, and added extra danger to hole 18, although it seems as they may dry up.

Other Thoughts: I enjoyed this course, it had a very nice variety of holes that vary in many respects including, length, obstacles, and elevation. I was very pleased with how they used the park to lay out the park, although hole two comes dangerously close to unplayable during rainy weeks.

The course was easily navigable as well, we spent very little time trying to find the next hole. I will play again, and am anxious to see how it plays in dryer months.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Great Variety

5+    7/26/2012   12/18/2012
Review By: ajkuck
Played: 48  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 8.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/26/2015
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great course with a great mix of holes and shots. There are several holes out in the open and several that will test your accuracy and technical shots in the woods. There are a variety of lines that can be taken on the holes out in the open, but it is also important to avoid the trees in order to have a low score. Water also comes into play on holes 8 and 18, although they were quite dry this past summer from the lack of rain, but it is something to watch out for when you're playing there. I really like the layout of this course in the way that the holes at the beginning and the holes at the end of the course are in the open, while the holes in the middle (6-13) of the course lay in the woods. Every hole in the woods has quite narrow fairways to hit and requires you to have some accurate shots. There are also several pin location that are tucked back in the woods on the more open holes, like holes 5 and 14. There is also some quality elevation change, which makes the course more interesting. Considering that it is not pay to play, the tee pads, signs, and baskets are in good shape as well.
Cons: If you have not played it before, it can be slightly tough to navigate. Several holes in the woods could also use some brush cleanup and benches. Many of the lanes are very tight, which is fine, but if you miss the fairway, the rough/brush gets quite thick and difficult to deal with. Some wood chips around the baskets to knock down the dust would also be a great improvement.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this course is awesome and provides an excellent variety of holes and pin locations. The shots in the open really allow you to rip some shots, while the holes in the woods are much more technical. The holes in the woods are challenging, but fair and really test your accuracy, which is great. The course reminds me of a shorter version of C.P. Adams, but requires some more technical shots and more accuracy while playing in the woods. If this course was pay to play in order to improve the conditioning and maintenance of the course, I would definitely rate it a 4.0 or 4.5.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Needs Some Love

5+    10/23/2012   11/5/2012
Review By: 1_Nation_Under_Par
Played: 27  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 10.4 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Free-to-play 18-hole course with cement tees, close to the twin cities. Excellent variation in hole style, including elevation change/flat , open/wooded, long/short, rhfh/rhbh, shots.
Cons: This course needs some attending to as previously mentioned. Can be very crowded, and pace of play is generally slower.
Other Thoughts: An above average course. A must play in the twin cities area. I think someone needs to coordinate a twin cities area bi-annual ace-pool tournament that cleans up the courses you play as most of your entry fee...

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun for everyone?

1    7/24/2012   9/4/2012
Review By: notapro
Played: 444  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 12.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set in a large park that has lots of woods available to disc golf. There is a baseball field by a few holes, and a pavilion at the start, but there shouldn't be much interference with the discing.
- The first and last holes of the course are in a more open area, with larger mature trees and a decent sized hillside. #1, for instance, is a decent downhill shot with trees on the right size, #3 is a big hyzer up the hill/over the trees, #4 is a very long, gently downhill bomber with a huge tree to go around, and #18 is the longest hole that finishes uphill amongst larger trees. These holes allow for a variety of lines, but it is still important to miss the big trees.
- A couple more holes play from the open area to the woods, with well protected baskets behind gaps in the treeline. #5 is a straight shot, slightly uphill, where it is important to stay in line between the basket and the teepad to get a decent putt. #14 is wide open to a RHBH hyzer, but the basket is almost blind behind a thick patch of woods/forest. Both are generous off the tee, but tricky near the pin.
- The rest of the holes are set in the woods, with ample fairways carved out of the tall trees. There are some shorter ones, like a downhill RHBH hyzer on #6 and #9, an uphill flick shot on #10, and a tricky uphill shot under or over a horizontal branch on #15. Also a few tricky medium length ones; #7 is a wooded RHFH shot that has a nasty pool of water on the right side or the fairway, and in front of the pin. #12 is a slight uphill shot through a skinny gap on top of a hump, one of the tighter holes on the course.
- Lastly, there are many holes that are much longer, with wider fairways that allow for more ambitious shots off the tee. #8 is a straight valley shot over a swamp, with trees blocking the approach to the pin, that checks in at 435'. #11 is an uphill valley shot, that hooks right and ends up a little downhill by some trees, 360' from the longs. #13 is a cool elevated shot, through a gap and straight downhill, at 390'. #16 is another elevated/slightly humped teepad that shoots downhill, with a valley sloping down on the right to watch out for.
- There are definitely hazardous spots here, to make up for some generous lines. Water is in play on #7 and #8, for sure, and it can definitely get swampy to the left of #18. Map shows another low/wet spot by #10 and #11, which I didn't notice, but it's something to look out for.
- Teepads are great, and grippy even when wet. Baskets in good shape, signs are nice but a few are missing. Map can be helpful, like after #7 and #11.
Cons: - Layout is a little odd at some parts; #18's basket can easily be mistaken for #3's basket, you have to backtrack a little to get to #8's teepad, which is in danger of stray hyzers from #7. Nothing too major.
- Terrain is pretty uniform from start to finish, there are the holes out of the woods, and the holes in the woods, which all look pretty similar. Not much of a con, but the holes can blend together a little bit.
Other Thoughts: - Well, I must say, I really liked this course. Fun factor for me was very high, especially with the wooded holes. The lines are fair, but still tough, some fun downhill shots in and out of the woods, a good mix of open and forested shots, and a variety of lines. A few places make you choose whether to lay up or go for the glory, due to hazards or landing zones on the longer holes. I would recommend this place to almost everyone, even though some spots might be too tough for beginners.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.