Disc Golf Center
Cottage Grove, MN 
Oakwood Park Share
Uploaded By: notapro Hole #5 (Taken 7/2012)
3 / 180ft.   3 / 240ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Basket

Course Rating Distribution

Reviews: 34
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Fun for everyone?

1    7/24/2012   9/4/2012
Review By: notapro
Played: 462  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 13.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set in a large park that has lots of woods available to disc golf. There is a baseball field by a few holes, and a pavilion at the start, but there shouldn't be much interference with the discing.
- The first and last holes of the course are in a more open area, with larger mature trees and a decent sized hillside. #1, for instance, is a decent downhill shot with trees on the right size, #3 is a big hyzer up the hill/over the trees, #4 is a very long, gently downhill bomber with a huge tree to go around, and #18 is the longest hole that finishes uphill amongst larger trees. These holes allow for a variety of lines, but it is still important to miss the big trees.
- A couple more holes play from the open area to the woods, with well protected baskets behind gaps in the treeline. #5 is a straight shot, slightly uphill, where it is important to stay in line between the basket and the teepad to get a decent putt. #14 is wide open to a RHBH hyzer, but the basket is almost blind behind a thick patch of woods/forest. Both are generous off the tee, but tricky near the pin.
- The rest of the holes are set in the woods, with ample fairways carved out of the tall trees. There are some shorter ones, like a downhill RHBH hyzer on #6 and #9, an uphill flick shot on #10, and a tricky uphill shot under or over a horizontal branch on #15. Also a few tricky medium length ones; #7 is a wooded RHFH shot that has a nasty pool of water on the right side or the fairway, and in front of the pin. #12 is a slight uphill shot through a skinny gap on top of a hump, one of the tighter holes on the course.
- Lastly, there are many holes that are much longer, with wider fairways that allow for more ambitious shots off the tee. #8 is a straight valley shot over a swamp, with trees blocking the approach to the pin, that checks in at 435'. #11 is an uphill valley shot, that hooks right and ends up a little downhill by some trees, 360' from the longs. #13 is a cool elevated shot, through a gap and straight downhill, at 390'. #16 is another elevated/slightly humped teepad that shoots downhill, with a valley sloping down on the right to watch out for.
- There are definitely hazardous spots here, to make up for some generous lines. Water is in play on #7 and #8, for sure, and it can definitely get swampy to the left of #18. Map shows another low/wet spot by #10 and #11, which I didn't notice, but it's something to look out for.
- Teepads are great, and grippy even when wet. Baskets in good shape, signs are nice but a few are missing. Map can be helpful, like after #7 and #11.
Cons: - Layout is a little odd at some parts; #18's basket can easily be mistaken for #3's basket, you have to backtrack a little to get to #8's teepad, which is in danger of stray hyzers from #7. Nothing too major.
- Terrain is pretty uniform from start to finish, there are the holes out of the woods, and the holes in the woods, which all look pretty similar. Not much of a con, but the holes can blend together a little bit.
Other Thoughts: - Well, I must say, I really liked this course. Fun factor for me was very high, especially with the wooded holes. The lines are fair, but still tough, some fun downhill shots in and out of the woods, a good mix of open and forested shots, and a variety of lines. A few places make you choose whether to lay up or go for the glory, due to hazards or landing zones on the longer holes. I would recommend this place to almost everyone, even though some spots might be too tough for beginners.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


1    7/14/2012   7/18/2012
Review By: GDisc
Played: 58  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 8.5 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great tee pads and signage. Very easy to navigate, even for a new-comer. This course plays short, long and technical. Scenic course with protential difficulty. Traditional 'Hit the gap or Pay the price' type of course. Good elevation and great pin placement.
Cons: Some holes seemed a bit short. . The picnic table area (just right of Hole 1's teepad) could use a Disc Golf Map area or at least a Welcome Sign...Not alot to complain about this one
Other Thoughts: For this course to be still considered a 'City course' it felt more much more rural in a good way! I love the fact that you start with 4 restrictive clear path Holes and then hit 12 holes of wooded dog legs and gap shots. And on top of that you finish the round with 2 open 'Bomber' shots!......Very well layed out course that finsihes where you start (which is always a plus). If you are just East of the Mississippi in the Twin Cities area, it is worth a stop!

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.


5+    5/27/2012   5/29/2012
Review By: rspisme
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Combination of short and long holes.
Half are open, half are in the woods.
Good for beginners and experts.
One of the most fun courses to play.
Cons: Sometimes the grass gets long, areas flood, and gets buggy and muggy.
Other Thoughts: This is one of my favorite courses and is definitely worth going to even if it is a drive to get to.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.


1    4/22/2012   4/24/2012
Review By: jereomy
Played: 21  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.6 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Easy hole locations and also easy for a first timer to navigate. Has a nice mixture of short and open holes and also long wooded holes.
Cons: Fairways are almost right on top of each other beware fo flying discs. Rough paths on the sides of hills.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great course

1    4/4/2012   4/4/2012
Review By: Grape Drank
Played: 8  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.1 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
- Nice variety of shots
- Good mix of distance
- Varied terrain
- Low non-disc traffic
- Signs
- Cement Tees
- Wood chips around baskets
- Garbage everywhere
- Vandalism
- Equipment is aging
Other Thoughts: This is an awesome 18 hole course. There is a good mix of open, lightly wooded, and densely wooded holes. There is even water in play on a few holes. There is a good range of distances too, hole 18 is over 600 feet. One feature that looked newer was the wood chips. There was a ton of mulch spread around, which really caught the discs very nicely. There were a lot of other folks playing but the course design was good enough that there was no back-ups.

You can easily tell this is an old course though. There is garbage everywhere and the baskets are worn out. Some chains are broken and one was even cut off and is much shorter than the rest. Nevertheless still an awesome course to play.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Great Course for Starters

1    2/1/2012   2/3/2012
Review By: Brownie3492
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: -Very open
Cons: -Kind of hard to see the baskets
-Hole 10 says it's across the way when it's actually to the right
-It took me almost 10 minutes to find each tee-off, there should be arrows pointing which way to the next tee-off point
Other Thoughts: All in all it was a pretty good course. Usually I'm with friends playing but this is the first time I went alone and also the first time I played at this course. I'll definitely return

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Great variety

1    10/1/2011   1/16/2012
Review By: mashnut
Played: 819  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 14.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course has a nice mix of grassy fields with scattered trees and brush and some denser wooded areas. The open shots have enough obstacles to make you think about shot placement, and mix in some longer shots where you get to open up with some reachable ace chances. The wooded holes have dense enough trees to make you hit tight lines, and there is good punishment for errant shots with a chance for recovery shots but plenty of trees and brush to make you work for it. There is a good mix of hole lengths in the woods too, with a couple longer tough shots and some reachable holes.

There are hills throughout the course and they're used pretty well to add some challenge and fun. There's one nice open shot throwing down a hill, and a few tricky pin placements with rollaway potential. The tees are in good shape, and the shorts offer some nice beginner friendly options.
Cons: There are a few spots that have some tricky navigation, a handful of next tee signs would go a long way. Some of the signs don't really give you a good idea of where the basket is, especially on some of the blind wooded holes. A few spots in the open have fairways near one another, a potential safety issue. The wooded holes mostly call for straight shots, a little more hole shape variety would be fun. There are some erosion problems on the hills in the woods, and some spots that were pretty slick and muddy with even a little moisture on the ground. There was quite a bit of litter and vandalism, not a huge deal but it takes away from the vibe of the course.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course with a nice mix of lengths and foliage. Beginners might find the open holes a bit long and the wooded holes a bit tight, but overall it's not a terrible course for newer players. Intermediate players will find this course a great test, with a variety of skills required and some level of punishment for poor execution. This course won't provide much of a challenge for top level players, but it does have some fun shots.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Wonderful variety, difficult, needs upkeep

1    9/13/2011   9/13/2011
Review By: bigbeano
Played: 24  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 10.5 Years
This review was updated on 11/18/2012
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Fantastic variety of shots required
-Holes vary from 160' to 550' so there is something for everyone
-Good use of the woods as about half the course winds through the woods
-Decent enough signs at each hole (except #9 was missing)
-Nice long tee off boxes that were in decent shape
-Porta potty on site (as well as a picnic area)
-Park is more or less solely for disc golf and it's big
Cons: -Litter is a big problem here, I came across broken glass on nearly every hole
-The sign was missing from hole 9
-Navigation between holes was somewhat confusing between 3 & 4, 8 & 9, and 11 & 12. At least an arrow pointing which way to go would be helpful.
Other Thoughts: I really would like to give this course an even better rating as the layout, difficulty, and variance of the holes was atypical; especially for a free course. The thing that is holding me to a 3.5 for Oakwood is that it is in need of some upkeep rather badly. There is a terrible litter problem everywhere, which is even more boggling when you consider that there are numerous garbage receptacles throughout the course. Also, the grass was very long in the open section of the course making finding a disc a challenge sometimes even if it was thrown down the middle of the hole. The holes that wind through the woods require just about every kind of shot you can throw. You must have good technical skills and be able to hit your spots or you will post awful scores on a few of the holes. It is evident that the course is well worn and older in the woods sections as there isn't all that much underbrush; but this is good as there is enough of it in the open sections to make up for it. The baskets are in need of some help sooner or later as well, the labels are worn off on some of them and some of them have rims that are a little bent up. With some TLC regarding the baskets, litter, signage, and mowing in the open areas this course would be a 4.5 in my book. If you don't care if a course is well kept when you play it and you just want a good layout with some challenge, this is a perfect course for you as I'd give it a 4.5. If you care about all the other things I mentioned, consider it a 3.5. All this said, I will come back when I'm in the mood for more of a challenge.

EDIT 11/18/12: I don't know when they were put in, but there are huge numbered signs attached to each basket now and next tee arrows as well. These two things are extremely helpful. These are a couple of big upgrades which are enough for me to up my rating to 4.0.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Great Variety!!!!

5+    7/19/2011   7/19/2011
Review By: E_Rock25
Played: 77  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 6.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Oak Grove is a great example of a city park course. It is an older course that shows some wear and tear but a fun play none the less. It has everything a good course should have and is very well balanced. The course will challenge beginners and it offers some interesting holes to more experienced players. This course winds through rolling hills and an old growth oak forest. Get ready to shape some lines and unleash some big drives.

1.Nice grippy tee pads. With some of the holes offering short pads for beginners.

2.Adequate signage with hole #, distance and shot shape.

3.Great variety in length, with holes in the upper 100's and a few over 500'

4.The elevation of the park is used to the utmost. Lots of ups and downs with some cross hill shots and baskets placed on hillsides.

5.The designers knew what they were doing here there is every kind of shot you can think of. Tightly wooded tunnel shots and wide open bombers with left and right doglegs evenly dispersed around the course.

6.This park is well kept and has garbage cans and porta potties available, as well as a few benches/tree stumps to sit on.

7.The course flows very naturally and is easy to navigate even the first time you play it. It does a big loop and 18 ends at the parking lot which is really nice.

8.The course has two very memorable holes. #8 is a long wooded shot that starts throwing over some seasonal water into a tight tree lines fairway with a well-protected pin. #16 is a long side hill anhyzer through the woods that is very challenging and fun to play.

9.Risk reward is present on many holes with water on some holes and thick woods on about half of the course. This forces you to pick a line and hit it or you will be punished.

10.The park has other activates available like basketball, baseball and some grills. This is a great place to bring the family for a full day of fun.

Cons: This course defiantly shows signs of its age. The ground is beat up and there are some issues with erosions. None of the cons make really take anything away from how it plays however, most of them are ascetic and do not take away from how the course plays.

1.There is a decent amount of vandalism in this park. There is graffiti all over the benches and signs.

2.Even though there are IMO enough garbage cans there was a lot of litter in the woods when I played. The open holes were clean and well mowed but the woods didn't seem to get the same attention.

3.The signs could be better but they do give all the information you need to play.

4.It would be nice to see some erosion protection of some kind because of all the elevation the problem is not going to get any better. Wood chips around some of the pins would go a long way to help with the ground being compacted.

5.Some of the wooded holes provide a good hide out for trouble making teens but I had no problems when I played.

6.The baskets are old but they still catch disc just fine and that is all that matters to me.

7.Other reviewers said that it can be had to find your disc's if you go in the rough. I had no problems but thought I might as well mention it.
Other Thoughts: Overall a really enjoy playing this course. I will go out of my way to play it again. The variety of this course is the best part and you will not feel like you are playing the same hole over and over again. I used every shot I know how to throw and used almost all the disc's in my bag at least once. I really like course that are able to do this. In my opinion this is one of the top 15 course's in Minnesota and a must play for anyone in the area.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


2-4    7/5/2010   9/5/2010
Review By: CFH-mn
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: nice fields, woods, right by the hiway
Cons: crouded, graffity, need guide- no signs, hoodlums about, needed benchs...
was missing pinn but i fallowed the drag marks and found it in the woods.
Other Thoughts: we have three great courses within ten minutes of each other.
cottage grove, igh, ssp

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.