Cottage Grove, MN 
Oakwood Park Share
Uploaded By: notapro Hole #11 (Taken 7/2012)
3 / 335ft.   3 / 360ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Basket

Reviews: 33
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers

2-4    11/15/2009   1/15/2010
Review By: smyith
Played: 155  Reviewed: 65  Exp: 14 Years
This review was updated on 8/29/2011
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Dual Cement Teepads
- Multiple Pin Placements
- Set in a large valley with a large mature forest surrounding a open area.
- FUN and chalenging
- Elevation change plays a large part through the entire course.
- A good mix of short and long holes.
- An easy course to follow.
- Good flight control required for good scores.
- Several opportunities from the longs to really rip one out there.
- Wind plays a huge factor
- Dangerous greens, especially in the woods, watch for roll-a-ways.
Cons: - The park could definitely use some good tee signs.
- Hole 14's basket could be raised up and repaired.
- More trash cans and benches
- The predomiant shot here is straight. You do need to keep your lines tight and hit certain gaps but the overall flight is very straight on almost every hole. Its own challenge in-itself I guess. I dont hold this against the course that much.
- Last few times I was there garbage was an issue.
Other Thoughts: I always have alot of fun playing this course. Its a challenging course although kind of one dimensional. A straight line shot dominates the woods. Only a few holes really force a different shot. The course makes up for it though with its dangerous greens. Almost every basket is on some kind of slope. In the woods roll-a-ways were a common nuisance. Because of this not only do you have to keep your disc straight but also control how it lands. So although the lines are somewhat repetitive the landings are not.
This course is best suited for INT players. REC players will enjoy the course and it will help to improve their game. INT players are going to easily handle the shorts and find their challenge on the longs. Confident putting is a big key.
ADV and Pro players will most likely rip this course up. Maybe not first time through but a couple of rounds and they might get bored easily. Although some of the holes are long they are still not difficult to get a 3 with a good approach game.
This course is definitely worth playing. Its a very quick drive from Kaposia as well. If you are going to do that then I would suggest Oakwood first. It will prep you for good scores at Kaposia.
There is alot of nearby dining and shopping. So if your with the family you can drop them off while you enjoy yourself.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging variety in elevation and foliage density.

1    12/20/2009   12/22/2009
Review By: harr0140
Played: 863  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 6.8 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Extremely nice variety in the density of trees and foliage.The first 4 holes are fairly open with well placed trees and baskets. Then the course tightens up and you play about 11 holes in the woods. All are heavly wooded but most with very defined fairways. You still have to execute the shot, and the wooded peripherals are not very forgiving. Then you finish back out in the open on the last couple holes, with only a few obstacles in your way. They made wonderful use of this property and from what I can tell is this is a redesign as there is another website that shows holes very different from the ones I played.

2) The use of elevation on the first 4 holes and the finishing hole are wonderful. #1 downhill, #2 uphill/sidehill to basket on sidehill, #3 uphill/sidehill to basket on top of hill, #4 long open downhiller with one very large sprawling mature tree to avoid about 300' out. Then you head into the woods and you still have to deal with moderate elevation changes. This makes the course a very well designed course and a great property for disc golf. I can't think of very many holes on this course with minimal elevation change. Then once out of the woods the finishing hole also ends up back on the top of the hill you played around on the first 3 baskets.

3) Nice big grippy concrete tees AND they were nicely shovelled. They were in perfect condtion except for the fact I was the first person there the day I played and we had gotten 1/4 inch of snow overnight. Its always nice to be able to take full advantage of the concrete pads in the winter!

4) Tee posts indicating where each tee is are helpful for the first timer, but no real good details. Just Par, Distance, and generaly shot shape, no details of specific trees or obstacles. I guess you just have to look ahead of you!

5) Course is pretty long and it also has a nice variety in distances. Holes as short as 160' up to 550' That is awesome, and the best part is it isn't just wide open distance. There are some tough long wooded holes too!

6) There are some benches by some of the teeboxes, (they may be made with 2x4's and tree stumps and logs, but at least there is somewhere to sit down throughout the course.

7) There was a biffy located in the parking lot. I would rather have sen it in the middle of the course but I understand they need access to clean it.

8) I finished when a group of regulars appeared to be arriving to play. They were very friendly and even struck up a conversation with me (an outsider with a Wisconsin license plate). I would have stayed to play as their 8th person (the 7 were flipping for random partners) but I had a long drive ahead of me and the NEED (disc golf course whoring) to play 4 more new courses on that day on my way home to Milwaukee.
Cons: 1) Some of the pars were just not right on the teesigns. #5 a Par 2 at 180 shorts and 240 longs. Even a wide open 180-240 isn't a par 2, but this basket is tucked into the woods for the last 25-35'.

2) Garbage baskets were a little spotty. It was almost that they thought people only would throw stuff away in the woods when there was almost a basket at every tee. Better than nothing, but could be improved upon.

3) Many of the densely wooded holes could use some maintenance. There are brush and fallen branch piles. This may have occurred int he late fall and then gotten snow early, but it didn't look like they were fresh piles. It makes it very difficult to look for discs with piles of branches especially when there is snow surrounding them.

4) From what I can tell there also will be a lot of erosion and compaction issues on those wooded holes because of the slopes. People just do not tread lightly, and often times they may end up on sideslopes creating a difficult situation for maintaining ground coverage of either turf or even just mulch (or old leaf material).

5) Apparently vandalism/theft is a problem here as other have said. I cannot comment from first hand knowledge but I wanted to indicate what others have also said in their reviews. The tee signs were all there except for #9, but there may be a lot of tomfoolery (yeah I used that word) in those wooded holes. It is nicely isolated from mom and dads eyes, but close enough they cant really get in trouble unless they are caught doing something stupid.

6) Course is not beginner friendly because of how long the open holes are, how tight the wooded holes are, and the fact that the elevation that is used makes the course harded than if it were flat. It would however be a good place for someone who has been playing for a little while to come and really try and improve their game from recreational to intermediate!
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed this course, and while I think the locals maybe rated it higher than it should be it is a solid 3.75 course. I cannot put it in the ranks of all my other 3.5 disc courses so I have to go along with the consensus with the 4 rating. Again for my Milwaukee readers the closest thing I can compare this course to is Brown Deer. There is a nice mix of wooded, to open, to slightly open with moderate tree coverage. It has more elevation than Brown Deer so it could also be compared to Valley View on crack (meaning adding an average of 100' to each hole!) Overall the course is very fun, very challenging, nicely varied and I highly recommend playing it if yo are in the area.

WARNING: Some of the opinions and observations here are assumptions based on the fact that the course was played in winter. I cannot truthfully account for the conditioning of the ground and turf because it was under 10" of snow. I also cannot comment on the fairness of trees and foliage because there simply were just sticks (being winter and how trees tend to lose their leaves in the fall). Keep that in mind and if there is an issue with anything I have said please contact me and I can edit the review if necessary.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 A lot of fun

1    10/29/2009   12/8/2009
Review By: CwAlbino
Played: 68  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 15.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Open Holes
-Wooded Holes
-Variations in Distance
-Variations in Elevation
-Concrete tee pads

This course is one of my favorites in the area. I love to be able to go to a course, and get everything thrown at me, from open, to wooded, to water hazards.

Even though the day I played this course, there were 30+ mph gusts of wind, I really liked it. The first few holes are all in the open, making great use of elevation and what obstacles are out there. After the first few holes are a bunch of wooded ones, where the course really becomes more about accuracy rather than distance. Also very good use of elevation in the wooded areas. For the back few holes the course takes a nice loop and leads you back to the last few open holes and right back to the parking lot.
Cons: -Crossing fairways/walkways
-Signage could be better

Those are the only things I found could be changed on this course. There are a few holes where you have to walk through other fairways to get to a hole, or fairways play dangerously close to one another. Keep your eyes peeled for discs.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


5+    6/29/2009   7/23/2009
Review By: deadbody
Played: 123  Reviewed: 62  Exp: 11.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice layout, good mix of elevation, open to wooded, short and tight to Air-it-out long.
Cons: Grass can get long, not always really well maintained. Lots of litter, lots of broken glass on some holes. THe apartments behind the course cause a lot of little disc theives running around, myself and 2 friends have had discs stolen on different trips. Starting to erode badly in some spots.
Other Thoughts: nice course overall. should be played if you are in the metro area.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Litterers rampant

5+    5/25/2009   6/25/2009
Review By: chalupamarley
Played: 53  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 12.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Big course with a ton of variety. Some long, some short, some flat, some with nice elevation change. There are a lot of birdie opportunities early, but the last 6 holes offer some real challenges, particularly 16 and 18. A close match will be decided on those two holes.
Cons: Sadly, litter is a big problem here, particularly broken glass. There's a large apartment complex adjacent which brings a lot of its kids to the course, many of whom aren't there for disc golf. Erosion is a problem. There was an example of a disc golfer who broke his leg due to the dropoff at the end of the tee pad. Like Acorn in Roseville, this is a course which is truly excellent, but whose quality is eroding with the dirt.
Other Thoughts: I love playing this course. For all the cons I listed, Oakwood is definitely still worth playing.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Very good quality course

5+    6/13/2009   6/25/2009
Review By: krallbd
Played: 20  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 9.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fantastic course. Well maintained holes and tee boxes make playing this course a treat. lots of fun and long course that let you break out the big drives. Half of the course is in open fields, the other is deeply wooded. The city takes very good care of the course
Cons: Could stand to be updated with better signs and more trash cans. When little league is playing, there is a significant risk of hitting spectators. Not really the courses fault, but its out of the way.
Other Thoughts: Worth making the trip to play it at least once.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


1    6/5/2009   6/6/2009
Review By: Too EZ
Played: 11  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Concrete Tees, Good Fairway Condition, 18 Holes, Varied landcape from long and open to short and narrow holes. Easy to Navigate. Parking by first tee.
Cons: Not a con for me, but course may be very intimaditing for a begginer, long drives and accuracy are needed on many holes. Trash Cans at only some holes, alot of litter at holes that dont have trash cans. Some of the hole signs are missing or vandalized so you cant read distance or par. Long grass in the some of the fairways can make looking for a disc difficult.
Other Thoughts: Overall a very good fun course, alot of challenges and landsape changes. If you have a few hours, are up for a challenge or just want to air out some long drives this is a great course for you

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 I loved this course

1    3/28/2009   3/29/2009
Review By: bloodydisc
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course a very nice 18 hole course with short tees for those who cannot do the long drive.
Cons: Some holes have litter around the tees and some of the paths are very muddy and slick.
Other Thoughts: First time playing this course and I was very VERY impressed by the lay out and the up-keep of the park.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


1    11/28/2008   2/3/2009
Review By: Cradical
Played: 107  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 8.4 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There is a lot of good things to say about this course. To start off with, you get a large amount of variety. The first hole is a short down hill shot with not too many obstacles, followed by a long uphill hole, and then a long downhill hole. Most of the course was set up this way, there was probably only 2 or three holes that didn't have a large amount of elevation change.
Around the 6th hole, you enter some woods that change from lightly wooded to heavily wooded. There's a large variety of shots in these woods as well, and all the fairways are relatively tight. Some of the holes are very short but are made hard because of the trees. This being said, there is also a hole that is over 400 feet that is in the woods.
All in all, this is a very good course for players that need more of a challenge, it challenges most aspects of the game.
Cons: It is a little hard to find your way around the first time you play here. There are some signs, but in other spots there aren't. Make sure you know where all the baskets are the first time you play, it is quite challenging to shoot at them when you don't know where they are.
Other Thoughts: If you're in the Twin Cities, you should make sure you play this course.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Pleasant Surprise

1    10/24/2008   11/4/2008
Review By: cpaquette
Played: 42  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 8.1 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course provides a chance to throw a variety of discs in your bag along with testing your skills in throwing a variety of shots.

Some holes allow the big arms a chance to air it out, while other holes will test your ability to throw precision shots.
Cons: There was a fair amount of vandalism on this course. Next hole signs were not present as a result of vandalism.
Other Thoughts: Tee markers and next hole directions would be an improvement.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.