St. Louis (Maryland Heights), MO 
Creve Coeur Lake Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #17
3 / 337ft.   3 / 360ft.   3 / 420ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee



Reviews: 31
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
If You Love to Bomb Shots...

1    5/12/2014   5/17/2014
Review By: Wise Fool
Played: 122  Reviewed: 114  Exp: 5.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Really nice long concrete tee-pads that provide a lot of room for the run-ups you will need on all of the long holes.
-Innova Discatcher baskets that are in very good shape and easy to see because they have the yellow top.
-Course navigation was very easy. The flow made sense, and there are paths mowed into the grass between the baskets to the next tee-pad.
-Three pin positions on each hole.
-If you like long bomber holes that really let you air it out this is the course for you.
-I like that there are fairways cut into the grass. Playing the long grass as out of bounds helps to add a little more challenge to some of the longer more open holes.
-Very beautiful park and great views of the lake.
-Disc golf only area of the park.
Cons: -The distance on this course is ridiculous. There are only four or five holes on the this course under 500 feet. I enjoy super long holes, but in moderation, this course lacks a balance of different distances and all of the holes just start to feel really long.
-There are really no technical holes on this course. Every holes is a mostly open fairway with some trees on each hole, but most of the trees were pretty easy to avoid without too much shot shaping. This con is alleviated a little bit by the mowed fairways.
-The course starts to feel very repetitive. On most of the holes, you basically throw a couple long drives before you make it to the basket and then putt. There aren't really enough trees on this course to make shot placement on the first shots of a hole important.
-Hole 12, the only hole, that is technical feels a little unfair. It is an open shot down to a basket enclosed in some trees, but the two entrances to the enclosed basket are very tight and it feels like getting to the basket on this hole involves a lot of luck, to avoid a tree or three.
-No multiple tee-pads. I feel like some shorter tee-pads on the longer holes would help make this course more fun for people who aren't a huge fan of super long holes.
-Wish the course had tee-signs that showed the layout of the hole. Since a lot of baskets are so far away from the tee-pad, it is hard to tell where the basket is on some holes, which leads to some long walks up the fairway to find the basket.
-A couple of the holes throw close to the road that runs to the park, which causes a few safety issues.
-This course is as flat as a board
Other Thoughts: This is an average course that really has only one type of hole. If you like throwing super long holes, you will enjoy this course, but if you are looking for something that requires some more shot placement, shot shaping and technical shots, you are best playing somewhere else.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


5+    9/19/2012   8/20/2013
Review By: Broll
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: if you like to throw a disc and watch it fly , this is the course. very long and somewhat challenging if you find yourself off the fairway. good location next to the lake with hiking trails to walk after a round or you can hit the casinos!
Cons: Grass can be high at times, it seems to gone down hill after mowing retreated.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Big Arm Park

1    7/2/2013   7/28/2013
Review By: bschuff
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Great park for people that like to let em fly.
-Nice baskets.
-Concrete pads.
-Kiosk for disc golfers near tee 1 and score cards with map on the back.
-Decent signage.
-Going to need some shot variety to get to the pin on some holes.
Cons: -Everything off the fairway is knee high grass.
-Lots of bugs.
-Basically just wide open fairways for every hole... makes for a very long course.
-Easy to lose a disc in the weeds or even on a few of the holes bc they are right on some fiercy tree lines.
-If its windy it will make for a long day.. with it being so wide open wind really effects the course.
-Need a map to play this if you are a first timer.
-Really long repitative course. Gets boring.
-Some holes play next to fences, streets and walk ways.
Other Thoughts: All in all I really didn't enjoy this course very much. Felt like I was playing the same holes over and over. The bugs are not fun to deal with and the knee high grass sucks to play out of. I will play this course again, if I happen to be out that way.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Long Walk

1    4/6/2012   4/7/2012
Review By: trvsjnr
Played: 14  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.8 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Open area with mature trees, long holes, maps available to navigate course, all fairly close to parking lot
Cons: Grass needs to have a date with a lawn mower, around a foot tall in spots. Hole 12 is a joke, with the basket being about 50 feet in the woods. We would have never found it had another player not told us where it was. Flat course, no elevation changes at all. Really not sure why there are several areas roped off on the back 9.
Other Thoughts: A group of us came over from Mt. Vernon, IL to play this course because we heard it was about to be taken out. We wanted to play it before it was gone. Now we can say we did. Not much else to say about it.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Flat and long

1    9/5/2010   9/23/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 762  Exp: 12.6 Years
10 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course plays through a large grassy area scattered with mature trees and surrounded by various OB. A couple holes bring a more wooded area into play, for a nice change of pace and little more line shaping. There is lots of good length here, if you like to rip longer drives this is a great course for it, there are a couple shorter holes but most require a long rip (or two). There are enough trees that you have to do some shot shaping, and many baskets are close enough to trees and bushes that some placement skill is called for.

There are good concrete pads for all the holes that are large enough for a run up on the long holes. The baskets are older discatchers that still catch fine. The hole signs have a nice washer system showing which of the pin placements are in use, and the multiple pin locations looked like they would change up the course enough to keep it more interesting.
Cons: The holes get really repetitive, nearly every hole is basically straight, long, and mostly open with just a few trees to avoid. It's fun to throw hard and watch the disc fly, but that gets old when it's every hole on the course. The grass was pretty long, it was often shaggy enough that we had to look for discs that we knew landed right in the middle of the fairway, that gets a little frustrating. In general the course felt pretty scruffy and unkempt.

Too many of the holes play near roads and fences, there are some safety issues and some places where it's too easy to lose a disc where you can't get it back. The tee signs are useful if you know the course, but they have no information on direction or shape of the hole. When the basket is 800 feet away and several are visible out in the distance, it's a little frustrating to walk that far to read the number on the basket.
Other Thoughts: This is a course where big arms can really let loose and bomb some drives. Newer players will be pretty frustrated by the combination of lots of length and long grass on the fairways (and lots of hidden holes) pretty frustrating. More experienced players won't find much variety or any challenges other than length. This one isn't at the top of the list of courses in the area, but is a good place to work on longer throws.

10 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 the course that breaks your heart and your score

2-4    5/3/2010   5/17/2010
Review By: hognosesucker
Played: 361  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 15.4 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -CC is a distinct St. Louis that offers golfers a different feel than every other course in the area.
-A lot of par 4 and par 5 holes, many that require an accurate, placement type drive to offer chances at a birdie 3. Distance thrown is a significant factor on these holes but it is possible to throw really far on these holes and not have a second shot.
-New to 2010, OB islands (delineated with ropes) have been added to increase difficulty on hole 4, hole 5 and 6, and hole 12
-Several pin placements with unique features including wooded greens, a mogel(sp?) green and several pins close to OB.
-Most greens are well protected by bushes or trees making for a tricky upshot.
-Hole 10 (par 4) is an interesting hole with a short layup to a well guarded, nasty upshot up the gut or a big, over-the-top hyzer shot. It reminded me of a shawshank style hole.
Nice concrete tees, decent baskets (but need an update on many of the catchers)
-Brutal winds come off the lake often, making a lot of challenging shots even more so.
-Around midday on a weekend watch all the cute chicks jogging on the lakeshore....always a bonus!
Cons: -Flat as a board, no way to get around it. Luckily as I said in the "pros" section this is a plus to get a full flavor of the STL disc experience, because it is different than every course in STL.
-Like almost every course in St. Louis county(At least the big 4: Sioux, Endi, JB, CC), the signs suck. Just a list of pin placement distances and a bolt by the position the hole is currently in.
-No bathrooms, just a portajohn
-Fairly boring in comparison to the other courses in STL.
Other Thoughts: I like this course a lot. Certainly, it has it's lack of flavor, but it is a unique course for the area, not really unique in the scheme of things though and thus the 2.5 rating. However, it is one of the few upper 60's par courses around so in that way it is on the edge a bit more, and is certainly championship worthy. But just for visiting the area, unless you have time to play the course, I'd pass it up for the other 3 of the STL big 4.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Ho Hum

2-4    3/7/2009   1/6/2010
Review By: odysseus81
Played: 72  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 17.3 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I really feel like they maximized the land that was there to work with. The course is situated next to a beautiful lake which is one of the pluses and minuses because the wind off the lake adds some much needed variance to the shots on the course depending on what it is doing that day. The course has a nice scattering of mature trees to add some challenge to shots. It was very easy to move from hole to hole (although there were no scorecards when I went). Good course if you like to reach back and chuck it over and over and over again. No finesse is required on this course.
Cons: This has to be one of the most redundant courses I have ever played. Literally almost every hole plays the same because the land is so flat. To me, the course would have been better if they had just accepted the fact that the course would be better suited as a mostly par 3- course instead of making holes longer simply for the sake of boosting the course par. They didn't change the holes' difficulty at all by extending them, they simply made the same hole longer.
The grass is rarely well kept when I have been out there. The park is a pretty high traffic park, so you have to be on your toes at times when throwing.
Other Thoughts: In general, the course is okay to play, but with all the other choices in StL, this definitely ranks towards the bottom of the list for me.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Long holes and long grass

7/16/2008   7/22/2008
Review By: ferretdance03
Played: 74  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 9.3 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A big arm's course with quite a few old growth trees lining the fairway.
- There is no shortage of length at Creve. Short pins total 8724...
- A few challenging pin placements
- Excellent tee pads
Other Thoughts: - I was told by a local that the Parks aren't cutting the grass due to high gas prices, and it shows. Shin high everywhere.
- A little difficult to find your way around, the map is only slightly useful.
- Most holes are side by side, and I imagine in a tourney round you'd be waiting on people left and right
- Some holes seem to be long just for the sake of being long

If you like to throw air bombs, this is the course for you. If you don't, I'd suggest one of St. Louis' other courses.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.