St. Louis (Maryland Heights), MO 
Creve Coeur Lake Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #18
4 / 630ft.   4 / 660ft.   4 / 669ft.   4 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee



Reviews: 31
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
 LOOOONG

5+    4/29/2014   4/29/2014
Review By: esaitta3
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -concrete tee pads
-ability to let you bomb it
- easy to walk
- good signage
- good baskets
Cons: - not very well groomed
- should have a better mix of short and long holes
- not too much variety in hole design
- grass is getting a bit long
- can be extremely windy from the nearby lake

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Long

1    9/9/2013   12/9/2013
Review By: jasonrigler
Played: 34  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 1.9 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Huge open holes. Easy to navigate
Cons: weeds. Boredom. So flat and somewhat repetitive.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed playing here. Florida courses i play are mostly 300ft holes, I enjoyed the opportunity to unleash my drivers.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Under Utilized

5+    1/21/2013   11/21/2013
Review By: discdanny
Played: 37  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 1.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This place is really cool and extremely under utilized. As previously stated in other reviews.. If you like an opportunity to air your arm out, this is the place for you. Something very unique about this place is the lake that spans the entirety of this huge course. The lake also makes for some really stellar sunrise/late evening golf that cant be found anywhere else in the STL area. Another pro in my opinion (though this may be a feeling shared by others) is the amount of wind. Wind gusts here can be extreme!!.

Other Pros Include:
-Concrete Tee Pads
-Multiple pin locations
-Trash Cans
-Loops after 9
-Bulletin Board
-Relatively easy to navigate
Cons: - Not well maintained anymore
- land is just a bit flat for my taste
- Not played enough due to lack of care (mowing)
-For some unknown reason.. there is huge pile of concrete in the middle of the field on the back 9
Other Thoughts: I wish this course would get a bit of a rejuvenation

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


5+    12/29/2012   1/2/2013
Review By: birdman101
Played: 52  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 5.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is one of the longest courses in the St. Louis area, so if you like to let em fly/ have a big arm its your kind of course.
It is an extremely flat track of land that has tons of mature trees, and sits across from the lake.

The baskets are in great shape and some of them are surrounded by the trees, and shrubs adding some need for accuracy aside from the grip it and rip it feeling you get standing on the tee.

The wind off the lake changes and can be strong one day and calm the next allowing the course to play completely differently from day to day.

Several holes have interesting aspects to them. Holes 1 and 18 have trees planted to force you to throw away from the road. Hole 3 has a tunnel affect coming off the tee. Hole 4 is a long par 5 that requires an accurate upshot due to OB around the basket. Hole 7 forces a throw between 2 trees off the tee.
Hole 12 is probably the most interesting hole. It forces a RHBH turnover or RHFH shot to get to an opening into the woods with the basket tucked 50+ft back in to them. There is a huge tree guarding that opening

concrete tees are huge and in great shape.

Tee signs are still the old ones with the 3 pin placements listed with a distances and a bolt telling which position it was currently in.

There are 3 pin placements on each hole. Some change the hole others just make it shorter or longer.

There are some trashcans throughout the park, and benches on most holes.

The course does loop back on after 9 holes to the parking lot, so you can play 9 or 18 and end up at the start.
Cons: THIS PAST SUMMER THE PARKS DEPARTMENT CLOSED THE PARK TO AVOID HAVING TO MOW IT. (not sure if that will happen again or not). There was also talk of building a maintenance shed on part of the back 9.
So its winter only and the grass is still sort of long in spots.

This is a grip it and rip it type course (with some shot shaping) but for the most part every hole takes at least 2 good shots for an average player to get within putting range. And most tee shots have the same wide open just chuck it feel to them.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course and worth playing, but it does lack some of the "fun" / variety of shots that other courses in the area provide.

I would not advise taking a beginner out here unless they are already hooked it may turn them off to the game.

I will updates this when i hear info about the spring/ summer plans for this year.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Safari!

1    2/25/2012   2/25/2012
Review By: TreeHate
Played: 14  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 15.3 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Awesome course for safari! Tee pads and goals well labeled.
Very flat which gives you the opportunity to really test out your arm.
Cons: With a lake so close by being very open most of the days I have been out there have been very windy.
Right along side a golf course for a couple of holes which has many signs clearly stating "no trespassing" "prosecution" and with high winds, good luck.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Long Arm Heaven

5+    1/7/2012   1/9/2012
Review By: Gflap
Played: 319  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 11.2 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is in a beautiful park along a large lake with sailing and walking path bordering the course on the south side. Plenty of parking. DG course section is dedicated mostly to disc golf. Mature trees present on most holes as obstacles. Despite the flatness of the course there are some interesting holes that incorporate trees, OB areas and a bordering ball golf course fence line to provide a challenge. For the long arms, this is a great place to air it out. Multiple pin placements. Concrete pads of decent size.
Cons: As posted in previous reviews, navigation and signage is an issue. From what I've heard, new signs with hole descriptions should be ready by the STLO which will be held the 1st w/e in May. Tall grass is a problem as the parks dept have been cutting costs by only mowing the fairways during the spring and summer months. Lack of the more fun par 3s as there are only 5 of them. Can be very windy off the lake.
Other Thoughts: Creve Coeur Park is different than most of the area courses in that it is flat and very long measuring anywhere from 8500 to 10000 feet. The best time to play this course is in the winter when the grass is dormant. The CC ice bowl recently had 92 contestants with Nikko winning with a 56.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Incredibly Long

1    9/18/2010   9/22/2010
Review By: gkeberhart
Played: 36  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 6.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good amount of length and trees. This course really tested my ability to make a decision as far as what route I wanted to take such that I had a great lie for an approach or long putt. The fairways looked like they had been recently trimmed which was nice as it made it feel even more like a real golf course. #12 is a totally unique hole, it requires a perfectly placed tee shot along with a great approach for a 3, I left with a 6 on that hole and felt I had stolen it. The course is placed in a very peaceful and polite area; a ball golf course on one side and a lake on the other. I found it very enjoyable to play there.
Cons: TEE Signs again, the distances and pin position were often very accurate but it didnt help me at all when I didnt even know where to look for the baskets. Although I cought it on a day where it looked as though it had been mowed recently it doesnt appear that it gets mowed often so the rough was a little outrageous in some areas. It was painfully flat and the long grass masked some small pot holes that were perfect for turning an ankle in. There was a rather large tree that had fallen on #13 which altered the hole for the easier, but they chose not to remove it after it fell which still makes the hole tough but in my mind may become a safety hazzard with younger kids climbing around it (I only say it because I did it in an effort to get to my disc and managed a few good scrapes)
Other Thoughts: Despite the fact that I am only giving it a 3, I really enjoyed playing here and cant wait to make it back to the course again to play again. Even though I have a fairly big drive (on average 400+) I generally prefer shorter more densly wooded courses, but was not let down by the shot shaping provided on some of the holes on this course. I would like to see some of the fairways lined with more trees in the future but for now they have done quite well with the limited land they were given.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Long

5+    6/22/2010   7/13/2010
Review By: discoholic
Played: 87  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6.3 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is the longest course in St. Louis. It has 11 par 4's and 2 par 5's and plays over 10,000 feet in the long position. While there is a premium on distance, accuracy and placement are the key to a good score here. Most holes require two, or more, long drives. This course is perfectly flat and mostly open, but the few old growth trees provide enough challenge to keep you coming back.

Good concrete tee pads and baskets. There are score cards with a map at the first tee.
Cons: The flat and long is pretty repetitive. The grass can be up to your elbows. It can be windy because there is a lake right across the street. The signs are not much help, unless you are familiar with the course. Not enough benches or trash cans.
Other Thoughts: They recently put a couple of porta-pottys on hole two. On hole 7 and 8 you might lose a disk over the fence to the right on the 'ball golf' course. The "course info" says that there are multiple tee pads, but there is only one per hole. There is a blind draw doubles game on Wednesday at 4:30ish.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Creve Coeur Review

1    4/8/2009   4/9/2009
Review By: Brunked
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: good practice for long drives
very open course
close parking
easy to find next tee
good mix of pars
bright yellow baskets
great level concrete tees
Cons: long course for beginners
trees right in the fairways
no elevation change
no scenery change
somewhat hard to find baskets due to distance
close to roads and "NO TRESPASSING" fence...oops bounced off a tree...
didn't have score cards or maps (atleast while i was there)
Other Thoughts: not a good starting course
if you don't have your distance down this isn't the course for you

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Flat and weird

5+    12/30/2008   12/30/2008
Review By: lukegardner
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Long course with a good mix of pars.
Uses the space very well - obviously designed by someone who likes to throw around trees.
Takes a fairly long time to play (though that could be a con) as it's just huge.
Cons: Hole 12 or 13 has an absolutely silly "hallway" pin that's hidden in a narrow corridor of trees - it seems novel at first but is really unnecessary.
Completely flat. It's just in a field, basically.
Very old pins. Tees are also aging rapidly.
STL disc golf club's map is not clear enough on pin placement, especially since some of the pins are 600 feet away from the tee.
Other Thoughts: Good, if only because it offers a nice variety of shot possibilities. Could have been put in a better location with more interesting terrain. Absolutely worth playing, however, as there's enough variety here to keep you entertained for a while.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.