St. Louis (Maryland Heights), MO 
Creve Coeur Lake Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #17
3 / 337ft.   3 / 360ft.   3 / 420ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee



Reviews: 31
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Great Course for

5+    5/17/2011   7/21/2011
Review By: GatewayDiscSports
Played: 20  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 24.9 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: The course in this park challenges the best players to throw both long and short shots equally effectively. It is very long and will test your driving in that holes are strategically designed to force strategic driving instead of just "letting it fly." It is set in a beautiful park between a large lake and a wooded area/ball golf course over the fence.
Cons: Can be difficult for beginners due to its length, although there are a few fairly short holes.
Other Thoughts: This course is about as top-notch a course that could've been created out of a piece of land that doesn't have a whole lot of variety. The setting is nice, but the land is very flat. Still, the variety of shots and holes you'll see here is still very wide.

Trivia: this is top Gateway Disc Sports course designer David McCormack's first permanent design, built in 1989.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 creve couer

2-4    8/10/2009   12/10/2009
Review By: discdork
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 12.1 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: concrete pads, tee signs , long holes! , a st.louis classic
Cons: flat no elevation changes any where which leads to alot of wind off of the massive lake
Other Thoughts: a great course to go air the arm out at, depending on the hole you could ride a tailwind and feel like king kong or catch a headwind that makes you wanna cry

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Driving Range

5+    10/19/2009   10/19/2009
Review By: jartiv
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 9.2 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Beautiful park
- Easy to navigate
- Large obstructive trees... obstructive is the keyword.
- Its a Long course... a "pro" simply because Par 5s are in short supply.
Cons: - Annoying tall grass
- Can be repetitive (not necessarily a lack of variety)
- Lack of elevation - FLAT
Other Thoughts: I am one of those players who had to drive 2-3 times to get to the pin... this is one of the reasons why I thought the course was repetitive. The length of the course taught me to be smarter with my long shots. On many courses I have played, my goal for Par 3s and 4s was to simply drive as far as I could and than work from there. But the "obstructive" trees at creve ceour challenged me to be more selective. Since I knew that my second shots were going to be as long as my drives, I learned to identify targets that would make better tees, and worked to set up my second shot rather than simply driving as far as I could towards the basket. Also, I learned to become a better driver OFF the tee.

Creve Ceour challenges you to be a smarter more accurate driver.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 a good day frolfing

2-4    12/25/2008   12/25/2008
Review By: FENTONflyer
Played: 9  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.2 Years
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This is definitely one of my favorite course in the Saint Louis area. It has long open fairways mixed with some challenging mid-range shots. I really enjoy the woods hole on the back 9. A nice anhyzer or forehand will get you into good putting range. Also on the front 9 there is a hole that is 150+ feet right in between some tree which is cool.
Cons: I really do not have any cons to this course except for the wind sometimes. Due to the lake right next to the course the wind and cold can be worse than other places.
Other Thoughts: I would highly recommend going to the creve coeur course. On the back 9 one of the pin placements for one of the holes is 935 and the closest id 801. If you like to throw your discs long with some decent obstacles this is a really good course.

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 A Great Arm Stretcher

6/26/2008   6/30/2008
Review By: CaptainKickAss
Played: 23  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 12.3 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: If you like to throw long this is the course for you. This course, simply put, is really really long. Even at the shortest pin placements, this course will make you earn your pars, making you throw your arm off to attain the course's par of 69. That said, this course is still fairly forgiving for developing players. The front 9 is relatively wide open, and while it may take first timers a few more tosses to get the hole, even the most novice players should be able to enjoy this one without the fear of sacrificing any plastic to the disc golf gods. This course is also very dynamic. With three pin placements on each hole, no two visits to this course are ever the same.
Cons: The course is a tad difficult to navigate, and it is very easy to get lost or confused the first few times you play it. The course is also really flat, and has practically zero elevation change throughout.
Other Thoughts: There are a few other things about this course that could be considered either a pro or a con depending upon your perspective: 1) The course tends to be pretty windy, as a good breeze is almost always coming off the nearby lake. And with very few trees to block the wind, you really have to mind your shots. 2) The grass is not particularly well maintained, and can get very high. While this brings a new degree of challenge to an otherwise wide open course, it does make things a bit uncomfortable in the early morning and after a rain and can make it very difficult to find discs. 3) There is no water on the actual course.

Overall though this is a beautiful course, and one befitting of any level of disc golf player. Kudos to the designer for really making an inspired course from the land available!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.