St. Louis (Maryland Heights), MO 
Creve Coeur Lake Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #18
4 / 630ft.   4 / 660ft.   4 / 669ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee



Reviews: 31
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Long Arm Heaven

5+    1/7/2012   1/9/2012
Review By: Gflap
Played: 324  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 11.4 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is in a beautiful park along a large lake with sailing and walking path bordering the course on the south side. Plenty of parking. DG course section is dedicated mostly to disc golf. Mature trees present on most holes as obstacles. Despite the flatness of the course there are some interesting holes that incorporate trees, OB areas and a bordering ball golf course fence line to provide a challenge. For the long arms, this is a great place to air it out. Multiple pin placements. Concrete pads of decent size.
Cons: As posted in previous reviews, navigation and signage is an issue. From what I've heard, new signs with hole descriptions should be ready by the STLO which will be held the 1st w/e in May. Tall grass is a problem as the parks dept have been cutting costs by only mowing the fairways during the spring and summer months. Lack of the more fun par 3s as there are only 5 of them. Can be very windy off the lake.
Other Thoughts: Creve Coeur Park is different than most of the area courses in that it is flat and very long measuring anywhere from 8500 to 10000 feet. The best time to play this course is in the winter when the grass is dormant. The CC ice bowl recently had 92 contestants with Nikko winning with a 56.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Long, but no signs

1    9/2/2011   9/26/2011
Review By: Awol
Played: 9  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 11.6 Years
This review was updated on 10/3/2012
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Good place to really air it out. If you have a big arm, you will love this course.

A couple holes offer a little bit of shot variety to keep it interesting
Cons: - No signs showing hole design whatsoever.

- Most of the holes are "throw it really far" and that can get old if you don't have a big arm.
Other Thoughts: Just like with Endicott. No signs showing the layout of the hole. Almost impossible for a newbie to get around. We were fortunate enough to have a local offer to show us the course. Otherwise we would have been guessing at which basket to go to next.

Really fun place if you want to show off a big arm, but good luck navigating the course.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course for

5+    5/17/2011   7/21/2011
Review By: GatewayDiscSports
Played: 20  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 25.3 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: The course in this park challenges the best players to throw both long and short shots equally effectively. It is very long and will test your driving in that holes are strategically designed to force strategic driving instead of just "letting it fly." It is set in a beautiful park between a large lake and a wooded area/ball golf course over the fence.
Cons: Can be difficult for beginners due to its length, although there are a few fairly short holes.
Other Thoughts: This course is about as top-notch a course that could've been created out of a piece of land that doesn't have a whole lot of variety. The setting is nice, but the land is very flat. Still, the variety of shots and holes you'll see here is still very wide.

Trivia: this is top Gateway Disc Sports course designer David McCormack's first permanent design, built in 1989.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Flat and long

1    9/5/2010   9/23/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 817  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 12.8 Years
10 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course plays through a large grassy area scattered with mature trees and surrounded by various OB. A couple holes bring a more wooded area into play, for a nice change of pace and little more line shaping. There is lots of good length here, if you like to rip longer drives this is a great course for it, there are a couple shorter holes but most require a long rip (or two). There are enough trees that you have to do some shot shaping, and many baskets are close enough to trees and bushes that some placement skill is called for.

There are good concrete pads for all the holes that are large enough for a run up on the long holes. The baskets are older discatchers that still catch fine. The hole signs have a nice washer system showing which of the pin placements are in use, and the multiple pin locations looked like they would change up the course enough to keep it more interesting.
Cons: The holes get really repetitive, nearly every hole is basically straight, long, and mostly open with just a few trees to avoid. It's fun to throw hard and watch the disc fly, but that gets old when it's every hole on the course. The grass was pretty long, it was often shaggy enough that we had to look for discs that we knew landed right in the middle of the fairway, that gets a little frustrating. In general the course felt pretty scruffy and unkempt.

Too many of the holes play near roads and fences, there are some safety issues and some places where it's too easy to lose a disc where you can't get it back. The tee signs are useful if you know the course, but they have no information on direction or shape of the hole. When the basket is 800 feet away and several are visible out in the distance, it's a little frustrating to walk that far to read the number on the basket.
Other Thoughts: This is a course where big arms can really let loose and bomb some drives. Newer players will be pretty frustrated by the combination of lots of length and long grass on the fairways (and lots of hidden holes) pretty frustrating. More experienced players won't find much variety or any challenges other than length. This one isn't at the top of the list of courses in the area, but is a good place to work on longer throws.

10 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Incredibly Long

1    9/18/2010   9/22/2010
Review By: gkeberhart
Played: 36  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 6.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good amount of length and trees. This course really tested my ability to make a decision as far as what route I wanted to take such that I had a great lie for an approach or long putt. The fairways looked like they had been recently trimmed which was nice as it made it feel even more like a real golf course. #12 is a totally unique hole, it requires a perfectly placed tee shot along with a great approach for a 3, I left with a 6 on that hole and felt I had stolen it. The course is placed in a very peaceful and polite area; a ball golf course on one side and a lake on the other. I found it very enjoyable to play there.
Cons: TEE Signs again, the distances and pin position were often very accurate but it didnt help me at all when I didnt even know where to look for the baskets. Although I cought it on a day where it looked as though it had been mowed recently it doesnt appear that it gets mowed often so the rough was a little outrageous in some areas. It was painfully flat and the long grass masked some small pot holes that were perfect for turning an ankle in. There was a rather large tree that had fallen on #13 which altered the hole for the easier, but they chose not to remove it after it fell which still makes the hole tough but in my mind may become a safety hazzard with younger kids climbing around it (I only say it because I did it in an effort to get to my disc and managed a few good scrapes)
Other Thoughts: Despite the fact that I am only giving it a 3, I really enjoyed playing here and cant wait to make it back to the course again to play again. Even though I have a fairly big drive (on average 400+) I generally prefer shorter more densly wooded courses, but was not let down by the shot shaping provided on some of the holes on this course. I would like to see some of the fairways lined with more trees in the future but for now they have done quite well with the limited land they were given.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Long

5+    6/22/2010   7/13/2010
Review By: discoholic
Played: 87  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6.6 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is the longest course in St. Louis. It has 11 par 4's and 2 par 5's and plays over 10,000 feet in the long position. While there is a premium on distance, accuracy and placement are the key to a good score here. Most holes require two, or more, long drives. This course is perfectly flat and mostly open, but the few old growth trees provide enough challenge to keep you coming back.

Good concrete tee pads and baskets. There are score cards with a map at the first tee.
Cons: The flat and long is pretty repetitive. The grass can be up to your elbows. It can be windy because there is a lake right across the street. The signs are not much help, unless you are familiar with the course. Not enough benches or trash cans.
Other Thoughts: They recently put a couple of porta-pottys on hole two. On hole 7 and 8 you might lose a disk over the fence to the right on the 'ball golf' course. The "course info" says that there are multiple tee pads, but there is only one per hole. There is a blind draw doubles game on Wednesday at 4:30ish.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Good, Long Course

1    6/13/2010   6/14/2010
Review By: Tyler J
Played: 50  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.6 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course provides a different feel than Endicott or Jefferson Barracks in the sense that it is a flat course. The teepads and signs are the same as most other courses in St. Louis, with the 3 distances and bolt showing which placement. The course uses the trees in the park well to give each hole a different feel. If you like to power drive your discs, this will be a great course for you. This course has some nice scenery as well, with a lake right on the other side of the main road. The park was in great shape overall which make any game better.
Cons: The course lacks a lot of variety due to the flat surface and hole distances. Half the holes when I played were over 500 feet, some well over that. This made the course feel kind of redundant though like I said they manage to make each hole its own the way they use the natural obstacles provided. The St. Louis course signs like the ones here could provide a little more information, but this is not a big deal in the sense that after one trip through the course you'll be fine every other time.
Other Thoughts: I'm relatively new to the area, having just played 3 of the 18 hole courses so far. I have enjoyed each one so far and like how every course has a different feel to it. While flat, open and constantly long may not always be the best, I liked it because the other St. Louis courses have that to my knowledge. Also, while the signs don't show where the holes are. It's easy to spot each one. My only problem finding a hole was 12 due to the placement in use being away from the other 2. I'm not best power thrower in the world, and it did take me more than 1 drive on a lot of holes, but this course still gave me a great game of disc golf. If you are from this area and have not played here yet, I recommend that you do.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 the course that breaks your heart and your score

2-4    5/3/2010   5/17/2010
Review By: hognosesucker
Played: 388  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 15.7 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -CC is a distinct St. Louis that offers golfers a different feel than every other course in the area.
-A lot of par 4 and par 5 holes, many that require an accurate, placement type drive to offer chances at a birdie 3. Distance thrown is a significant factor on these holes but it is possible to throw really far on these holes and not have a second shot.
-New to 2010, OB islands (delineated with ropes) have been added to increase difficulty on hole 4, hole 5 and 6, and hole 12
-Several pin placements with unique features including wooded greens, a mogel(sp?) green and several pins close to OB.
-Most greens are well protected by bushes or trees making for a tricky upshot.
-Hole 10 (par 4) is an interesting hole with a short layup to a well guarded, nasty upshot up the gut or a big, over-the-top hyzer shot. It reminded me of a shawshank style hole.
Nice concrete tees, decent baskets (but need an update on many of the catchers)
-Brutal winds come off the lake often, making a lot of challenging shots even more so.
-Around midday on a weekend watch all the cute chicks jogging on the lakeshore....always a bonus!
Cons: -Flat as a board, no way to get around it. Luckily as I said in the "pros" section this is a plus to get a full flavor of the STL disc experience, because it is different than every course in STL.
-Like almost every course in St. Louis county(At least the big 4: Sioux, Endi, JB, CC), the signs suck. Just a list of pin placement distances and a bolt by the position the hole is currently in.
-No bathrooms, just a portajohn
-Fairly boring in comparison to the other courses in STL.
Other Thoughts: I like this course a lot. Certainly, it has it's lack of flavor, but it is a unique course for the area, not really unique in the scheme of things though and thus the 2.5 rating. However, it is one of the few upper 60's par courses around so in that way it is on the edge a bit more, and is certainly championship worthy. But just for visiting the area, unless you have time to play the course, I'd pass it up for the other 3 of the STL big 4.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Ho Hum

2-4    3/7/2009   1/6/2010
Review By: odysseus81
Played: 72  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 17.6 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I really feel like they maximized the land that was there to work with. The course is situated next to a beautiful lake which is one of the pluses and minuses because the wind off the lake adds some much needed variance to the shots on the course depending on what it is doing that day. The course has a nice scattering of mature trees to add some challenge to shots. It was very easy to move from hole to hole (although there were no scorecards when I went). Good course if you like to reach back and chuck it over and over and over again. No finesse is required on this course.
Cons: This has to be one of the most redundant courses I have ever played. Literally almost every hole plays the same because the land is so flat. To me, the course would have been better if they had just accepted the fact that the course would be better suited as a mostly par 3- course instead of making holes longer simply for the sake of boosting the course par. They didn't change the holes' difficulty at all by extending them, they simply made the same hole longer.
The grass is rarely well kept when I have been out there. The park is a pretty high traffic park, so you have to be on your toes at times when throwing.
Other Thoughts: In general, the course is okay to play, but with all the other choices in StL, this definitely ranks towards the bottom of the list for me.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 creve couer

2-4    8/10/2009   12/10/2009
Review By: discdork
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 12.5 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: concrete pads, tee signs , long holes! , a st.louis classic
Cons: flat no elevation changes any where which leads to alot of wind off of the massive lake
Other Thoughts: a great course to go air the arm out at, depending on the hole you could ride a tailwind and feel like king kong or catch a headwind that makes you wanna cry

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.