Disc Golf Store
St. Louis (Maryland Heights), MO 
Creve Coeur Lake Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #12
4 / 401ft.   4 / 425ft.   4 / 456ft.   4 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee



Reviews: 31
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4
If You Love to Bomb Shots...

1    5/12/2014   5/17/2014
Review By: Wise Fool
Played: 119  Reviewed: 111  Exp: 5.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Really nice long concrete tee-pads that provide a lot of room for the run-ups you will need on all of the long holes.
-Innova Discatcher baskets that are in very good shape and easy to see because they have the yellow top.
-Course navigation was very easy. The flow made sense, and there are paths mowed into the grass between the baskets to the next tee-pad.
-Three pin positions on each hole.
-If you like long bomber holes that really let you air it out this is the course for you.
-I like that there are fairways cut into the grass. Playing the long grass as out of bounds helps to add a little more challenge to some of the longer more open holes.
-Very beautiful park and great views of the lake.
-Disc golf only area of the park.
Cons: -The distance on this course is ridiculous. There are only four or five holes on the this course under 500 feet. I enjoy super long holes, but in moderation, this course lacks a balance of different distances and all of the holes just start to feel really long.
-There are really no technical holes on this course. Every holes is a mostly open fairway with some trees on each hole, but most of the trees were pretty easy to avoid without too much shot shaping. This con is alleviated a little bit by the mowed fairways.
-The course starts to feel very repetitive. On most of the holes, you basically throw a couple long drives before you make it to the basket and then putt. There aren't really enough trees on this course to make shot placement on the first shots of a hole important.
-Hole 12, the only hole, that is technical feels a little unfair. It is an open shot down to a basket enclosed in some trees, but the two entrances to the enclosed basket are very tight and it feels like getting to the basket on this hole involves a lot of luck, to avoid a tree or three.
-No multiple tee-pads. I feel like some shorter tee-pads on the longer holes would help make this course more fun for people who aren't a huge fan of super long holes.
-Wish the course had tee-signs that showed the layout of the hole. Since a lot of baskets are so far away from the tee-pad, it is hard to tell where the basket is on some holes, which leads to some long walks up the fairway to find the basket.
-A couple of the holes throw close to the road that runs to the park, which causes a few safety issues.
-This course is as flat as a board
Other Thoughts: This is an average course that really has only one type of hole. If you like throwing super long holes, you will enjoy this course, but if you are looking for something that requires some more shot placement, shot shaping and technical shots, you are best playing somewhere else.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 LOOOONG

5+    4/29/2014   4/29/2014
Review By: esaitta3
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -concrete tee pads
-ability to let you bomb it
- easy to walk
- good signage
- good baskets
Cons: - not very well groomed
- should have a better mix of short and long holes
- not too much variety in hole design
- grass is getting a bit long
- can be extremely windy from the nearby lake

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Long

1    9/9/2013   12/9/2013
Review By: jasonrigler
Played: 28  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 1.8 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Huge open holes. Easy to navigate
Cons: weeds. Boredom. So flat and somewhat repetitive.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed playing here. Florida courses i play are mostly 300ft holes, I enjoyed the opportunity to unleash my drivers.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Under Utilized

5+    1/21/2013   11/21/2013
Review By: discdanny
Played: 37  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 1.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This place is really cool and extremely under utilized. As previously stated in other reviews.. If you like an opportunity to air your arm out, this is the place for you. Something very unique about this place is the lake that spans the entirety of this huge course. The lake also makes for some really stellar sunrise/late evening golf that cant be found anywhere else in the STL area. Another pro in my opinion (though this may be a feeling shared by others) is the amount of wind. Wind gusts here can be extreme!!.

Other Pros Include:
-Concrete Tee Pads
-Multiple pin locations
-Trash Cans
-Loops after 9
-Bulletin Board
-Relatively easy to navigate
Cons: - Not well maintained anymore
- land is just a bit flat for my taste
- Not played enough due to lack of care (mowing)
-For some unknown reason.. there is huge pile of concrete in the middle of the field on the back 9
Other Thoughts: I wish this course would get a bit of a rejuvenation

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


5+    9/19/2012   8/20/2013
Review By: Broll
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: if you like to throw a disc and watch it fly , this is the course. very long and somewhat challenging if you find yourself off the fairway. good location next to the lake with hiking trails to walk after a round or you can hit the casinos!
Cons: Grass can be high at times, it seems to gone down hill after mowing retreated.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Big Arm Park

1    7/2/2013   7/28/2013
Review By: bschuff
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Great park for people that like to let em fly.
-Nice baskets.
-Concrete pads.
-Kiosk for disc golfers near tee 1 and score cards with map on the back.
-Decent signage.
-Going to need some shot variety to get to the pin on some holes.
Cons: -Everything off the fairway is knee high grass.
-Lots of bugs.
-Basically just wide open fairways for every hole... makes for a very long course.
-Easy to lose a disc in the weeds or even on a few of the holes bc they are right on some fiercy tree lines.
-If its windy it will make for a long day.. with it being so wide open wind really effects the course.
-Need a map to play this if you are a first timer.
-Really long repitative course. Gets boring.
-Some holes play next to fences, streets and walk ways.
Other Thoughts: All in all I really didn't enjoy this course very much. Felt like I was playing the same holes over and over. The bugs are not fun to deal with and the knee high grass sucks to play out of. I will play this course again, if I happen to be out that way.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


5+    12/29/2012   1/2/2013
Review By: birdman101
Played: 49  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 5.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is one of the longest courses in the St. Louis area, so if you like to let em fly/ have a big arm its your kind of course.
It is an extremely flat track of land that has tons of mature trees, and sits across from the lake.

The baskets are in great shape and some of them are surrounded by the trees, and shrubs adding some need for accuracy aside from the grip it and rip it feeling you get standing on the tee.

The wind off the lake changes and can be strong one day and calm the next allowing the course to play completely differently from day to day.

Several holes have interesting aspects to them. Holes 1 and 18 have trees planted to force you to throw away from the road. Hole 3 has a tunnel affect coming off the tee. Hole 4 is a long par 5 that requires an accurate upshot due to OB around the basket. Hole 7 forces a throw between 2 trees off the tee.
Hole 12 is probably the most interesting hole. It forces a RHBH turnover or RHFH shot to get to an opening into the woods with the basket tucked 50+ft back in to them. There is a huge tree guarding that opening

concrete tees are huge and in great shape.

Tee signs are still the old ones with the 3 pin placements listed with a distances and a bolt telling which position it was currently in.

There are 3 pin placements on each hole. Some change the hole others just make it shorter or longer.

There are some trashcans throughout the park, and benches on most holes.

The course does loop back on after 9 holes to the parking lot, so you can play 9 or 18 and end up at the start.
Cons: THIS PAST SUMMER THE PARKS DEPARTMENT CLOSED THE PARK TO AVOID HAVING TO MOW IT. (not sure if that will happen again or not). There was also talk of building a maintenance shed on part of the back 9.
So its winter only and the grass is still sort of long in spots.

This is a grip it and rip it type course (with some shot shaping) but for the most part every hole takes at least 2 good shots for an average player to get within putting range. And most tee shots have the same wide open just chuck it feel to them.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course and worth playing, but it does lack some of the "fun" / variety of shots that other courses in the area provide.

I would not advise taking a beginner out here unless they are already hooked it may turn them off to the game.

I will updates this when i hear info about the spring/ summer plans for this year.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Creve Coeur DGC

5+    3/17/2012   12/26/2012
Review By: smokey102977
Played: 22  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 9.5 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This was my favorite course for a long time. Super long, tight greens, and flat. Trees come into play but are easily avoidable.
Cons: The course is no longer open during the summer. I only play in the summer. The parks dept. doesn't maintain the course anymore.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Long Walk

1    4/6/2012   4/7/2012
Review By: trvsjnr
Played: 14  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.8 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Open area with mature trees, long holes, maps available to navigate course, all fairly close to parking lot
Cons: Grass needs to have a date with a lawn mower, around a foot tall in spots. Hole 12 is a joke, with the basket being about 50 feet in the woods. We would have never found it had another player not told us where it was. Flat course, no elevation changes at all. Really not sure why there are several areas roped off on the back 9.
Other Thoughts: A group of us came over from Mt. Vernon, IL to play this course because we heard it was about to be taken out. We wanted to play it before it was gone. Now we can say we did. Not much else to say about it.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Safari!

1    2/25/2012   2/25/2012
Review By: TreeHate
Played: 14  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 15.3 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Awesome course for safari! Tee pads and goals well labeled.
Very flat which gives you the opportunity to really test out your arm.
Cons: With a lake so close by being very open most of the days I have been out there have been very windy.
Right along side a golf course for a couple of holes which has many signs clearly stating "no trespassing" "prosecution" and with high winds, good luck.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.