St. Louis (Maryland Heights), MO 
Creve Coeur Lake Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #17
3 / 337ft.   3 / 360ft.   3 / 420ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee



Reviews: 34
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 the course that breaks your heart and your score

2-4    5/3/2010   5/17/2010
Review By: hognosesucker
Played: 415  Reviewed: 87  Exp: 17.3 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -CC is a distinct St. Louis that offers golfers a different feel than every other course in the area.
-A lot of par 4 and par 5 holes, many that require an accurate, placement type drive to offer chances at a birdie 3. Distance thrown is a significant factor on these holes but it is possible to throw really far on these holes and not have a second shot.
-New to 2010, OB islands (delineated with ropes) have been added to increase difficulty on hole 4, hole 5 and 6, and hole 12
-Several pin placements with unique features including wooded greens, a mogel(sp?) green and several pins close to OB.
-Most greens are well protected by bushes or trees making for a tricky upshot.
-Hole 10 (par 4) is an interesting hole with a short layup to a well guarded, nasty upshot up the gut or a big, over-the-top hyzer shot. It reminded me of a shawshank style hole.
Nice concrete tees, decent baskets (but need an update on many of the catchers)
-Brutal winds come off the lake often, making a lot of challenging shots even more so.
-Around midday on a weekend watch all the cute chicks jogging on the lakeshore....always a bonus!
Cons: -Flat as a board, no way to get around it. Luckily as I said in the "pros" section this is a plus to get a full flavor of the STL disc experience, because it is different than every course in STL.
-Like almost every course in St. Louis county(At least the big 4: Sioux, Endi, JB, CC), the signs suck. Just a list of pin placement distances and a bolt by the position the hole is currently in.
-No bathrooms, just a portajohn
-Fairly boring in comparison to the other courses in STL.
Other Thoughts: I like this course a lot. Certainly, it has it's lack of flavor, but it is a unique course for the area, not really unique in the scheme of things though and thus the 2.5 rating. However, it is one of the few upper 60's par courses around so in that way it is on the edge a bit more, and is certainly championship worthy. But just for visiting the area, unless you have time to play the course, I'd pass it up for the other 3 of the STL big 4.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Ho Hum

2-4    3/7/2009   1/6/2010
Review By: odysseus81
Played: 87  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 19.2 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I really feel like they maximized the land that was there to work with. The course is situated next to a beautiful lake which is one of the pluses and minuses because the wind off the lake adds some much needed variance to the shots on the course depending on what it is doing that day. The course has a nice scattering of mature trees to add some challenge to shots. It was very easy to move from hole to hole (although there were no scorecards when I went). Good course if you like to reach back and chuck it over and over and over again. No finesse is required on this course.
Cons: This has to be one of the most redundant courses I have ever played. Literally almost every hole plays the same because the land is so flat. To me, the course would have been better if they had just accepted the fact that the course would be better suited as a mostly par 3- course instead of making holes longer simply for the sake of boosting the course par. They didn't change the holes' difficulty at all by extending them, they simply made the same hole longer.
The grass is rarely well kept when I have been out there. The park is a pretty high traffic park, so you have to be on your toes at times when throwing.
Other Thoughts: In general, the course is okay to play, but with all the other choices in StL, this definitely ranks towards the bottom of the list for me.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 creve couer

2-4    8/10/2009   12/10/2009
Review By: discdork
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 14.1 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: concrete pads, tee signs , long holes! , a st.louis classic
Cons: flat no elevation changes any where which leads to alot of wind off of the massive lake
Other Thoughts: a great course to go air the arm out at, depending on the hole you could ride a tailwind and feel like king kong or catch a headwind that makes you wanna cry

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Driving Range

5+    10/19/2009   10/19/2009
Review By: jartiv
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 11.2 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Beautiful park
- Easy to navigate
- Large obstructive trees... obstructive is the keyword.
- Its a Long course... a "pro" simply because Par 5s are in short supply.
Cons: - Annoying tall grass
- Can be repetitive (not necessarily a lack of variety)
- Lack of elevation - FLAT
Other Thoughts: I am one of those players who had to drive 2-3 times to get to the pin... this is one of the reasons why I thought the course was repetitive. The length of the course taught me to be smarter with my long shots. On many courses I have played, my goal for Par 3s and 4s was to simply drive as far as I could and than work from there. But the "obstructive" trees at creve ceour challenged me to be more selective. Since I knew that my second shots were going to be as long as my drives, I learned to identify targets that would make better tees, and worked to set up my second shot rather than simply driving as far as I could towards the basket. Also, I learned to become a better driver OFF the tee.

Creve Ceour challenges you to be a smarter more accurate driver.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 LOOOONG

2-4    6/15/2008   8/15/2009
Review By: klenglfr
Played: 17  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 11.2 Years
3 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Beautiful park. Mostly open area with scattered trees. Great if you need practice on drives.
Cons: Boring. Too long. Most shots are 400+ and not reachable in one. Whole course in a flat area with lots of some big trees.
Other Thoughts: Most players would take 2-3 drives to get to the hole. You will see a barn to the right of one of the holes that might have discs on it. Don't throw it there! I am a long driver and I didn't like this very much. No variety.

3 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Creve Coeur Review

1    4/8/2009   4/9/2009
Review By: Brunked
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: good practice for long drives
very open course
close parking
easy to find next tee
good mix of pars
bright yellow baskets
great level concrete tees
Cons: long course for beginners
trees right in the fairways
no elevation change
no scenery change
somewhat hard to find baskets due to distance
close to roads and "NO TRESPASSING" fence...oops bounced off a tree...
didn't have score cards or maps (atleast while i was there)
Other Thoughts: not a good starting course
if you don't have your distance down this isn't the course for you

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Flat and weird

5+    12/30/2008   12/30/2008
Review By: lukegardner
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Long course with a good mix of pars.
Uses the space very well - obviously designed by someone who likes to throw around trees.
Takes a fairly long time to play (though that could be a con) as it's just huge.
Cons: Hole 12 or 13 has an absolutely silly "hallway" pin that's hidden in a narrow corridor of trees - it seems novel at first but is really unnecessary.
Completely flat. It's just in a field, basically.
Very old pins. Tees are also aging rapidly.
STL disc golf club's map is not clear enough on pin placement, especially since some of the pins are 600 feet away from the tee.
Other Thoughts: Good, if only because it offers a nice variety of shot possibilities. Could have been put in a better location with more interesting terrain. Absolutely worth playing, however, as there's enough variety here to keep you entertained for a while.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 a good day frolfing

2-4    12/25/2008   12/25/2008
Review By: FENTONflyer
Played: 9  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 9.2 Years
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This is definitely one of my favorite course in the Saint Louis area. It has long open fairways mixed with some challenging mid-range shots. I really enjoy the woods hole on the back 9. A nice anhyzer or forehand will get you into good putting range. Also on the front 9 there is a hole that is 150+ feet right in between some tree which is cool.
Cons: I really do not have any cons to this course except for the wind sometimes. Due to the lake right next to the course the wind and cold can be worse than other places.
Other Thoughts: I would highly recommend going to the creve coeur course. On the back 9 one of the pin placements for one of the holes is 935 and the closest id 801. If you like to throw your discs long with some decent obstacles this is a really good course.

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Not Worth the Trip

2-4    11/16/2008   11/16/2008
Review By: REDARMY
Played: 35  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 8.2 Years
This review was updated on 10/20/2009
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: LONG. If you like to air it out, this is definately your course.

Not a lot of foot traffic.

Except for holes 12 and 13, there's no place to lose discs really.

Wind off the lake can do screwy things to your shots.

Reasonable balance of left/right shots.

Hole 6 (i think) has a neat mando mentioned in an earlier review (throwing between two trees not 30 feet from the teepad).

Usually plenty of eye candy exercising around the lake.
Cons: BORING! Drive, drive, maybe another drive, approach, putt. Rinse, repeat. The holes are all basically in front of you, flat, and far away. Makes for a very sore arm if you can't drive 300+.

Not enough benches or trash cans, but at least the grass has been mowed.

No course map.

No sign to send you to the first tee.

No scorecards at the first tee.

No help at the tees (a simple 8x11 map would be great) to show you where you're shooting. The group of 4 I was in ended up shooting at the wrong pin twice. (and we only played 12 holes before we ran out of light)

About half the baskets have had the hole number worn/weathered/ripped off. Makes identifying the right pin that much harder.

As big as this park is, there no reason whatsoever for the back 9 holes to be so close together (relative to the front 9). This adds yet another element of difficulty to finding correct pins.
Other Thoughts: If you have a GPS course map and a big arm, you'll have a blast.

UPDATE 10/20: Hole 6's mando has been removed for some reason, allowing players to throw big looping hyzers over the road/pedestrian path to the right of the fairway. Certainly not the safest plan and i've yet to hear why the tree was removed.

STILL no scorecards at hole 1.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Do you like par 4's?

1    10/15/2008   10/24/2008
Review By: jdawg24
Played: 97  Reviewed: 54  Exp: 18.2 Years
This review was updated on 3/11/2009
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *Long course! par ~69, set in flat section of massive park
*Dull terrain - perfectly flat with sporadic big trees & grass everywhere
*Concrete pads, 3-4 pin positions
*nice park with tons of other features & scenic setting
Cons: *Weak signage. I was playing blind so this mattered. It's nice to label A, B & C positions...but they're useless without a diagram
*Around #10 it gets confusing - i got turned around for a minute & couldn't tell which basket I was playing to
*many pins not visible from pad; paths not at all obvious
*bad shots go unpunished - making par very/too easy
*only 2 holes under 300'; maybe 3 or 4 total par 3's
*repetitive holes - most were 550-700 -- which would be great if they were different shots...it was wraith, teebird or wraith, putt or short approach
Other Thoughts: I found this course to be somewhat boring after throwing the same shots over & over. At the same time it was very cool to see someone doing a par 69 course - not the typical DG course.

Definitely worth playing, but i'm gonna try all the other STL courses before returning.

Shot -4

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.