St. Louis (Maryland Heights), MO
Creve Coeur Lake Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #13
4 / 457ft.   4 / 511ft.   4 / 551ft.   4 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee



Reviews: 29
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Long

1    9/9/2013   12/9/2013
Review By: jasonrigler
Played: 21  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 1.5 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Huge open holes. Easy to navigate
Cons: weeds. Boredom. So flat and somewhat repetitive.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed playing here. Florida courses i play are mostly 300ft holes, I enjoyed the opportunity to unleash my drivers.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Under Utilized

5+    1/21/2013   11/21/2013
Review By: discdanny
Played: 37  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 0.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This place is really cool and extremely under utilized. As previously stated in other reviews.. If you like an opportunity to air your arm out, this is the place for you. Something very unique about this place is the lake that spans the entirety of this huge course. The lake also makes for some really stellar sunrise/late evening golf that cant be found anywhere else in the STL area. Another pro in my opinion (though this may be a feeling shared by others) is the amount of wind. Wind gusts here can be extreme!!.

Other Pros Include:
-Concrete Tee Pads
-Multiple pin locations
-Trash Cans
-Loops after 9
-Bulletin Board
-Relatively easy to navigate
Cons: - Not well maintained anymore
- land is just a bit flat for my taste
- Not played enough due to lack of care (mowing)
-For some unknown reason.. there is huge pile of concrete in the middle of the field on the back 9
Other Thoughts: I wish this course would get a bit of a rejuvenation

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


5+    9/19/2012   8/20/2013
Review By: Broll
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: if you like to throw a disc and watch it fly , this is the course. very long and somewhat challenging if you find yourself off the fairway. good location next to the lake with hiking trails to walk after a round or you can hit the casinos!
Cons: Grass can be high at times, it seems to gone down hill after mowing retreated.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Big Arm Park

1    7/2/2013   7/28/2013
Review By: bschuff
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Great park for people that like to let em fly.
-Nice baskets.
-Concrete pads.
-Kiosk for disc golfers near tee 1 and score cards with map on the back.
-Decent signage.
-Going to need some shot variety to get to the pin on some holes.
Cons: -Everything off the fairway is knee high grass.
-Lots of bugs.
-Basically just wide open fairways for every hole... makes for a very long course.
-Easy to lose a disc in the weeds or even on a few of the holes bc they are right on some fiercy tree lines.
-If its windy it will make for a long day.. with it being so wide open wind really effects the course.
-Need a map to play this if you are a first timer.
-Really long repitative course. Gets boring.
-Some holes play next to fences, streets and walk ways.
Other Thoughts: All in all I really didn't enjoy this course very much. Felt like I was playing the same holes over and over. The bugs are not fun to deal with and the knee high grass sucks to play out of. I will play this course again, if I happen to be out that way.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


5+    12/29/2012   1/2/2013
Review By: birdman101
Played: 47  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 4.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is one of the longest courses in the St. Louis area, so if you like to let em fly/ have a big arm its your kind of course.
It is an extremely flat track of land that has tons of mature trees, and sits across from the lake.

The baskets are in great shape and some of them are surrounded by the trees, and shrubs adding some need for accuracy aside from the grip it and rip it feeling you get standing on the tee.

The wind off the lake changes and can be strong one day and calm the next allowing the course to play completely differently from day to day.

Several holes have interesting aspects to them. Holes 1 and 18 have trees planted to force you to throw away from the road. Hole 3 has a tunnel affect coming off the tee. Hole 4 is a long par 5 that requires an accurate upshot due to OB around the basket. Hole 7 forces a throw between 2 trees off the tee.
Hole 12 is probably the most interesting hole. It forces a RHBH turnover or RHFH shot to get to an opening into the woods with the basket tucked 50+ft back in to them. There is a huge tree guarding that opening

concrete tees are huge and in great shape.

Tee signs are still the old ones with the 3 pin placements listed with a distances and a bolt telling which position it was currently in.

There are 3 pin placements on each hole. Some change the hole others just make it shorter or longer.

There are some trashcans throughout the park, and benches on most holes.

The course does loop back on after 9 holes to the parking lot, so you can play 9 or 18 and end up at the start.
Cons: THIS PAST SUMMER THE PARKS DEPARTMENT CLOSED THE PARK TO AVOID HAVING TO MOW IT. (not sure if that will happen again or not). There was also talk of building a maintenance shed on part of the back 9.
So its winter only and the grass is still sort of long in spots.

This is a grip it and rip it type course (with some shot shaping) but for the most part every hole takes at least 2 good shots for an average player to get within putting range. And most tee shots have the same wide open just chuck it feel to them.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course and worth playing, but it does lack some of the "fun" / variety of shots that other courses in the area provide.

I would not advise taking a beginner out here unless they are already hooked it may turn them off to the game.

I will updates this when i hear info about the spring/ summer plans for this year.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Creve Coeur DGC

5+    3/17/2012   12/26/2012
Review By: smokey102977
Played: 22  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 9.1 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This was my favorite course for a long time. Super long, tight greens, and flat. Trees come into play but are easily avoidable.
Cons: The course is no longer open during the summer. I only play in the summer. The parks dept. doesn't maintain the course anymore.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Long Walk

1    4/6/2012   4/7/2012
Review By: trvsjnr
Played: 14  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.4 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Open area with mature trees, long holes, maps available to navigate course, all fairly close to parking lot
Cons: Grass needs to have a date with a lawn mower, around a foot tall in spots. Hole 12 is a joke, with the basket being about 50 feet in the woods. We would have never found it had another player not told us where it was. Flat course, no elevation changes at all. Really not sure why there are several areas roped off on the back 9.
Other Thoughts: A group of us came over from Mt. Vernon, IL to play this course because we heard it was about to be taken out. We wanted to play it before it was gone. Now we can say we did. Not much else to say about it.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Safari!

1    2/25/2012   2/25/2012
Review By: TreeHate
Played: 14  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 14.9 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Awesome course for safari! Tee pads and goals well labeled.
Very flat which gives you the opportunity to really test out your arm.
Cons: With a lake so close by being very open most of the days I have been out there have been very windy.
Right along side a golf course for a couple of holes which has many signs clearly stating "no trespassing" "prosecution" and with high winds, good luck.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Long Arm Heaven

5+    1/7/2012   1/9/2012
Review By: Gflap
Played: 307  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 10.7 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is in a beautiful park along a large lake with sailing and walking path bordering the course on the south side. Plenty of parking. DG course section is dedicated mostly to disc golf. Mature trees present on most holes as obstacles. Despite the flatness of the course there are some interesting holes that incorporate trees, OB areas and a bordering ball golf course fence line to provide a challenge. For the long arms, this is a great place to air it out. Multiple pin placements. Concrete pads of decent size.
Cons: As posted in previous reviews, navigation and signage is an issue. From what I've heard, new signs with hole descriptions should be ready by the STLO which will be held the 1st w/e in May. Tall grass is a problem as the parks dept have been cutting costs by only mowing the fairways during the spring and summer months. Lack of the more fun par 3s as there are only 5 of them. Can be very windy off the lake.
Other Thoughts: Creve Coeur Park is different than most of the area courses in that it is flat and very long measuring anywhere from 8500 to 10000 feet. The best time to play this course is in the winter when the grass is dormant. The CC ice bowl recently had 92 contestants with Nikko winning with a 56.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Long, but no signs

1    9/2/2011   9/26/2011
Review By: Awol
Played: 9  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 10.9 Years
This review was updated on 10/3/2012
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Good place to really air it out. If you have a big arm, you will love this course.

A couple holes offer a little bit of shot variety to keep it interesting
Cons: - No signs showing hole design whatsoever.

- Most of the holes are "throw it really far" and that can get old if you don't have a big arm.
Other Thoughts: Just like with Endicott. No signs showing the layout of the hole. Almost impossible for a newbie to get around. We were fortunate enough to have a local offer to show us the course. Otherwise we would have been guessing at which basket to go to next.

Really fun place if you want to show off a big arm, but good luck navigating the course.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.