St. Louis (Maryland Heights), MO 
Creve Coeur Lake Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #5
3 / 195ft.   3 / 307ft.   3 / 344ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 31
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Driving Range

5+    10/19/2009   10/19/2009
Review By: jartiv
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 9.3 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Beautiful park
- Easy to navigate
- Large obstructive trees... obstructive is the keyword.
- Its a Long course... a "pro" simply because Par 5s are in short supply.
Cons: - Annoying tall grass
- Can be repetitive (not necessarily a lack of variety)
- Lack of elevation - FLAT
Other Thoughts: I am one of those players who had to drive 2-3 times to get to the pin... this is one of the reasons why I thought the course was repetitive. The length of the course taught me to be smarter with my long shots. On many courses I have played, my goal for Par 3s and 4s was to simply drive as far as I could and than work from there. But the "obstructive" trees at creve ceour challenged me to be more selective. Since I knew that my second shots were going to be as long as my drives, I learned to identify targets that would make better tees, and worked to set up my second shot rather than simply driving as far as I could towards the basket. Also, I learned to become a better driver OFF the tee.

Creve Ceour challenges you to be a smarter more accurate driver.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 LOOOONG

2-4    6/15/2008   8/15/2009
Review By: klenglfr
Played: 17  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 9.2 Years
3 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Beautiful park. Mostly open area with scattered trees. Great if you need practice on drives.
Cons: Boring. Too long. Most shots are 400+ and not reachable in one. Whole course in a flat area with lots of some big trees.
Other Thoughts: Most players would take 2-3 drives to get to the hole. You will see a barn to the right of one of the holes that might have discs on it. Don't throw it there! I am a long driver and I didn't like this very much. No variety.

3 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Creve Coeur Review

1    4/8/2009   4/9/2009
Review By: Brunked
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: good practice for long drives
very open course
close parking
easy to find next tee
good mix of pars
bright yellow baskets
great level concrete tees
Cons: long course for beginners
trees right in the fairways
no elevation change
no scenery change
somewhat hard to find baskets due to distance
close to roads and "NO TRESPASSING" fence...oops bounced off a tree...
didn't have score cards or maps (atleast while i was there)
Other Thoughts: not a good starting course
if you don't have your distance down this isn't the course for you

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Flat and weird

5+    12/30/2008   12/30/2008
Review By: lukegardner
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Long course with a good mix of pars.
Uses the space very well - obviously designed by someone who likes to throw around trees.
Takes a fairly long time to play (though that could be a con) as it's just huge.
Cons: Hole 12 or 13 has an absolutely silly "hallway" pin that's hidden in a narrow corridor of trees - it seems novel at first but is really unnecessary.
Completely flat. It's just in a field, basically.
Very old pins. Tees are also aging rapidly.
STL disc golf club's map is not clear enough on pin placement, especially since some of the pins are 600 feet away from the tee.
Other Thoughts: Good, if only because it offers a nice variety of shot possibilities. Could have been put in a better location with more interesting terrain. Absolutely worth playing, however, as there's enough variety here to keep you entertained for a while.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 a good day frolfing

2-4    12/25/2008   12/25/2008
Review By: FENTONflyer
Played: 9  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.2 Years
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This is definitely one of my favorite course in the Saint Louis area. It has long open fairways mixed with some challenging mid-range shots. I really enjoy the woods hole on the back 9. A nice anhyzer or forehand will get you into good putting range. Also on the front 9 there is a hole that is 150+ feet right in between some tree which is cool.
Cons: I really do not have any cons to this course except for the wind sometimes. Due to the lake right next to the course the wind and cold can be worse than other places.
Other Thoughts: I would highly recommend going to the creve coeur course. On the back 9 one of the pin placements for one of the holes is 935 and the closest id 801. If you like to throw your discs long with some decent obstacles this is a really good course.

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Not Worth the Trip

2-4    11/16/2008   11/16/2008
Review By: REDARMY
Played: 32  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 10/20/2009
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: LONG. If you like to air it out, this is definately your course.

Not a lot of foot traffic.

Except for holes 12 and 13, there's no place to lose discs really.

Wind off the lake can do screwy things to your shots.

Reasonable balance of left/right shots.

Hole 6 (i think) has a neat mando mentioned in an earlier review (throwing between two trees not 30 feet from the teepad).

Usually plenty of eye candy exercising around the lake.
Cons: BORING! Drive, drive, maybe another drive, approach, putt. Rinse, repeat. The holes are all basically in front of you, flat, and far away. Makes for a very sore arm if you can't drive 300+.

Not enough benches or trash cans, but at least the grass has been mowed.

No course map.

No sign to send you to the first tee.

No scorecards at the first tee.

No help at the tees (a simple 8x11 map would be great) to show you where you're shooting. The group of 4 I was in ended up shooting at the wrong pin twice. (and we only played 12 holes before we ran out of light)

About half the baskets have had the hole number worn/weathered/ripped off. Makes identifying the right pin that much harder.

As big as this park is, there no reason whatsoever for the back 9 holes to be so close together (relative to the front 9). This adds yet another element of difficulty to finding correct pins.
Other Thoughts: If you have a GPS course map and a big arm, you'll have a blast.

UPDATE 10/20: Hole 6's mando has been removed for some reason, allowing players to throw big looping hyzers over the road/pedestrian path to the right of the fairway. Certainly not the safest plan and i've yet to hear why the tree was removed.

STILL no scorecards at hole 1.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Do you like par 4's?

1    10/15/2008   10/24/2008
Review By: jdawg24
Played: 92  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 16.2 Years
This review was updated on 3/11/2009
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *Long course! par ~69, set in flat section of massive park
*Dull terrain - perfectly flat with sporadic big trees & grass everywhere
*Concrete pads, 3-4 pin positions
*nice park with tons of other features & scenic setting
Cons: *Weak signage. I was playing blind so this mattered. It's nice to label A, B & C positions...but they're useless without a diagram
*Around #10 it gets confusing - i got turned around for a minute & couldn't tell which basket I was playing to
*many pins not visible from pad; paths not at all obvious
*bad shots go unpunished - making par very/too easy
*only 2 holes under 300'; maybe 3 or 4 total par 3's
*repetitive holes - most were 550-700 -- which would be great if they were different shots...it was wraith, teebird or wraith, putt or short approach
Other Thoughts: I found this course to be somewhat boring after throwing the same shots over & over. At the same time it was very cool to see someone doing a par 69 course - not the typical DG course.

Definitely worth playing, but i'm gonna try all the other STL courses before returning.

Shot -4

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Long holes and long grass

7/16/2008   7/22/2008
Review By: ferretdance03
Played: 67  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 9.2 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A big arm's course with quite a few old growth trees lining the fairway.
- There is no shortage of length at Creve. Short pins total 8724...
- A few challenging pin placements
- Excellent tee pads
Other Thoughts: - I was told by a local that the Parks aren't cutting the grass due to high gas prices, and it shows. Shin high everywhere.
- A little difficult to find your way around, the map is only slightly useful.
- Most holes are side by side, and I imagine in a tourney round you'd be waiting on people left and right
- Some holes seem to be long just for the sake of being long

If you like to throw air bombs, this is the course for you. If you don't, I'd suggest one of St. Louis' other courses.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Might as well be a driving range!

6/17/2008   7/1/2008
Review By: An-Hyzer Bushes
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Extremely long course! Get out your long range and be prepared to throw it at least twice on every hole. The good thing is the holes are pretty much all straight ahead and flat, otherwise navigating through a 900 foot hole with rough terrain and trees in the way would make for a good par 6! Don't go if you don't have an arm, you will get frustrated quick! I'm giving it a 3.0 and not a 2.0 because I love to air it out!
Cons: Not much of a challenge, besides the fact that the holes are pretty much all over 500 feet. The grass seams to only be cut once a month, if you're lucky. Can barely see the hole you're shooting at, even though you know it's straight ahead. Just launch and hike!
Other Thoughts: Great view of Creve Coeur Lake! Excellent course to play during twilight. For comic relief there is a hole I think around 5 or 6 that is about 700 ft. but about 15 feet in front of the tee are two trees spaced about 15 feet apart that you must split before getting into the open. You can clearly see which one is hit the most, as all of the bark on the inside of the right tree has been chipped away from the ground all the way up about 20 feet on the trunk. Definitely a disc death trap!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 A Great Arm Stretcher

6/26/2008   6/30/2008
Review By: CaptainKickAss
Played: 23  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 12.3 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: If you like to throw long this is the course for you. This course, simply put, is really really long. Even at the shortest pin placements, this course will make you earn your pars, making you throw your arm off to attain the course's par of 69. That said, this course is still fairly forgiving for developing players. The front 9 is relatively wide open, and while it may take first timers a few more tosses to get the hole, even the most novice players should be able to enjoy this one without the fear of sacrificing any plastic to the disc golf gods. This course is also very dynamic. With three pin placements on each hole, no two visits to this course are ever the same.
Cons: The course is a tad difficult to navigate, and it is very easy to get lost or confused the first few times you play it. The course is also really flat, and has practically zero elevation change throughout.
Other Thoughts: There are a few other things about this course that could be considered either a pro or a con depending upon your perspective: 1) The course tends to be pretty windy, as a good breeze is almost always coming off the nearby lake. And with very few trees to block the wind, you really have to mind your shots. 2) The grass is not particularly well maintained, and can get very high. While this brings a new degree of challenge to an otherwise wide open course, it does make things a bit uncomfortable in the early morning and after a rain and can make it very difficult to find discs. 3) There is no water on the actual course.

Overall though this is a beautiful course, and one befitting of any level of disc golf player. Kudos to the designer for really making an inspired course from the land available!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.