Thompsonville, MI 
Crystal Mountain Share
Uploaded By: Blazeski786 Hole #2 (Taken 6/2012)
6 / 360ft.   5 / 360ft.   4 / 360ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
I really don't get it.

1    9/25/2013   9/25/2013
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 245  Reviewed: 238  Exp: 4.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Aesthetic-- plays up and then down a BIG ski mountain. criss crosses several trails, both hiking and mountain bikes. keep your eyes out for other people.

Baskets-- DisCatchers. All there, some were massively rusty at the top of mountain. Some were bent.

Routing and Navigation-- not too bad. tons of signs to guide the way.

Teesigns-- not too bad. gave honest distances and "plays like" distances.

Cons:
Design- I thought that #2 was a brilliant hole, but everything else here is awful. #1 is borning, #3,4, 5 play UP two tracks with massive roll away potential everywhere. #6 plays across the top of the mountain with huge sweeping panoramic views. these were appreciated as the walk up there was one of the most miserible things I've ever done. #7 again plays down a GD two track. #8 and #9 are quite possibly the worst holes here. #8 is 900 feet around a corner and down a ski hill. Keep your eye on your disc. #9 (where to begin) 1200' of (plays like 1200') down a gentle slope and into a wide open field. no challenge. just huck it and hope for the best.

Teepads-- there is a ton of sand here and I thought the rubber teepads would be slick. they were not, but they were rubber.. I hate rubber teepads

I really should have read the rest of the reviews a bit more.
Other Thoughts:
there are honestly some good holes here but there are more honestly horrible holes here that destroy any hope of an enjoyable round.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Crummy

1    9/25/2009   9/25/2010
Review By: shaggz
Played: 11  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.4 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: nope... can't think of any
Cons: horrible signage sometimes missing or invisible to the naked eye. Horrible paths, uphill battle with no direction.
Other Thoughts: A thrown together disaster, someone could make a decent course here if they started all over cut all holes in half and make it a 18 hole course.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Worst course I've ever played

1    9/25/2009   9/25/2010
Review By: badmidget
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: they had baskets... only 9 of them though
Cons: no tee pads. REALLY long holes up hill along side of a two-track road. Holes signs were pieces of paper clipped to wire stuck into the ground. We were actually charged for this horrible experience.
Other Thoughts: The discgolf course seemed like an afterthought for this pristine ski resort. They don't seem to know how to make a descent course or care. When you are at this resort, it is obvious they have the money, and the scenery to build a FIRST RATE course, but don't have the time or the inclination. Don't play this course... it's a waste of your time and money.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Completely Unacceptable

1    9/19/2010   9/20/2010
Review By: deBebbler
Played: 72  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 19.6 Years
This review was updated on 10/28/2010
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Three different tees per hole, if you can find them.

Not too much loose sand as is common on other Michigan ski hill courses.

Baskets are in good repair.

I honestly can't think of anything else.
Cons:
Hole 2 fairway splits and is not signed where the hole is.

The course is completely devoid of informative signage. Not just tee signs, but next tees signs too. Tees are marked (sometimes) with colored whiffle balls.

I missed the tee for hole 7. I actually threw from what looked like a tee down the mountain, but without a basket, or signage telling me the length, I kept throwing. As a result, I ended up at the bottom of the mountain on the other side of the property.

This made for a LONG walk back, without the payoff of the long holes. I don't think I've ever been more angry after a round than this. The walk would have been longer, but the bike path I used was adequately signed showing the way to my car.

As you can imagine, this just pissed me off more.

No defined teepads. The length of these holes really demands concrete tees.

Course follows access roads for the first half, completely ignoring wonderful land around it.
Other Thoughts:
I find a course like this completely unacceptable.

DG courses are, on the whole, very cheap to begin with, and completely disregarding tee signs, next tee signs and concrete tees (or ANY type of defined tee) is pathetic for a business like Crystal Mountain, for whom a $300-$500 expenditure is peanuts.

I stopped in to the Mountain Adventure Zone to check out their selection, and with the intent of buying a few discs and maybe a T-shirt. They had no stock, and I mean the walls were bare.

Crystal Mountain may want to consider that the margin on these items is around 50% and with a few sales, they can make the money needed to turn their current piece of crap course into something approaching playable.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Crystal Mountain

1    10/15/2009   10/15/2009
Review By: tccrapsdealer
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Multiple tees. Great long shots on the last 2 holes. Not very busy.
Cons: "Next tees" not well marked. I was a little confused on which way to go on hole 2. Also, there was NO sign stating where the next tee was after #3. I shot for the only goal I saw, and it turned out to be #8. I totally missed holes #4-7 (including #6, which is supposed to be the crown jewel). Short course (only 9 holes).
Other Thoughts: A playable course, but nothing too special. It's an hour away from me, so I'll likely only go back to find the holes I missed.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    10/10/2009   10/12/2009
Review By: Mark R
Played: 84  Reviewed: 66  Exp: 12.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/20/2012
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Downhill holes 8 and 9 are similar in some ways to ski hill holes at Hickory Hills, but are longer and play like four regular length holes. Terrific Chainstar baskets. Holes are long and challenging. Very nice view of surrounding hills at Hole 6 basket. Hole 1 is an uphill 350 foot shot with a mowed fairway. Appears to have free admission.
Cons: Slippery grass tees. Terrible low-budget signage. gold tees hard to find, blue/red less so. Holes 2 and 3 follow a path up the hill and are very questionable. Holes 4,5,6 are tightly wooded and depend on luck. Windy conditions prevail.
Other Thoughts: A minimalistic course with odd degisgn features, but avoid unless you're in Crystal Mountain anyway.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Bring your longest drives!

2-4    10/19/2008   2/9/2009
Review By: volklgirl
Played: 76  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/24/2009
16 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Hole distances of 300 to over 1200 feet make this course a strong distance driver's dream. Even the distances from the shortest tees are longer than almost anything else in northern lower MI. Plenty of elevation change is inherent in this course as you go up Totem Park, loop around Nason's Trail, trudge up to the top of North Face, then slog down the bottom of Basin Street to the final basket under the Crystal Clipper. There are plenty of "Next Tee" signs and obvious tee markers making navigation pretty simple. The view from the top of the North Face (pin #6) is stunning at dusk.

While the distances on the red and blue tees are shorter, make no mistake; due to creative tee placement, the shorter tees have lost very little of the basic challenge of the hole. In some cases, they make the hole an almost totally different critter.

I only had difficulty finding one red tee marker, and that was for #6. Merely follow the path to the blue tee then veer right to the very edge of the drop off and you'll find it in the grass just to your left.

On #9, keep in mind that the prevailing winds will blow you disc to the left, directly into the steep slope under the chairlift.

The Mountain Adventure Center carries some plastic, including some Star discs, both with and without the custom Crystal Mountain stamp. We were pretty impressed with their selection of discs, considering.
Cons: Besides the distances, very few holes have any real challenge. Don't bother to stop at the Mountain Adventure Center to ask for a map, scorecard, or directions, because they seem to know nothing other than where the first tee is.

The hole overview signs are laminated inkjet printed paper and a couple of sesons' use means the distances and pars for the blue and red tees have gotten wet or bleached out and are now mostly illegible. However, almost all tee markers have direction and distance printed on them.
Other Thoughts: There's plenty of other stuff to do here for non-discers or after playing.....hit the alpine slide - it's mucho fun, hang out in the water park, work out or relax at the new Spa, check out the truly unique Michigan Legacy Art Park, or bring your mountain bike and hit the Crystal Mountain and Betsie River trails (maps available at the Lodge or Adventure Center). Lunch or dinner at The Thistle or pizza/subs from the Little Betsie Deli is a must-do. The gas station just south of the resort has killer 3-cheese bread, too!

16 of 16 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.