Disc Golf Store
Thompsonville, MI 
Crystal Mountain Share
Uploaded By: Blazeski786 Hole #7 (Taken 6/2012)
5 / 420ft.   4 / 420ft.   3 / 420ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Crystal Mountain

1    10/15/2009   10/15/2009
Review By: tccrapsdealer
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Multiple tees. Great long shots on the last 2 holes. Not very busy.
Cons: "Next tees" not well marked. I was a little confused on which way to go on hole 2. Also, there was NO sign stating where the next tee was after #3. I shot for the only goal I saw, and it turned out to be #8. I totally missed holes #4-7 (including #6, which is supposed to be the crown jewel). Short course (only 9 holes).
Other Thoughts: A playable course, but nothing too special. It's an hour away from me, so I'll likely only go back to find the holes I missed.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    10/10/2009   10/12/2009
Review By: Mark R
Played: 84  Reviewed: 66  Exp: 12.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/20/2012
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Downhill holes 8 and 9 are similar in some ways to ski hill holes at Hickory Hills, but are longer and play like four regular length holes. Terrific Chainstar baskets. Holes are long and challenging. Very nice view of surrounding hills at Hole 6 basket. Hole 1 is an uphill 350 foot shot with a mowed fairway. Appears to have free admission.
Cons: Slippery grass tees. Terrible low-budget signage. gold tees hard to find, blue/red less so. Holes 2 and 3 follow a path up the hill and are very questionable. Holes 4,5,6 are tightly wooded and depend on luck. Windy conditions prevail.
Other Thoughts: A minimalistic course with odd degisgn features, but avoid unless you're in Crystal Mountain anyway.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Bring your longest drives!

2-4    10/19/2008   2/9/2009
Review By: volklgirl
Played: 76  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 6 Years
This review was updated on 5/24/2009
16 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Hole distances of 300 to over 1200 feet make this course a strong distance driver's dream. Even the distances from the shortest tees are longer than almost anything else in northern lower MI. Plenty of elevation change is inherent in this course as you go up Totem Park, loop around Nason's Trail, trudge up to the top of North Face, then slog down the bottom of Basin Street to the final basket under the Crystal Clipper. There are plenty of "Next Tee" signs and obvious tee markers making navigation pretty simple. The view from the top of the North Face (pin #6) is stunning at dusk.

While the distances on the red and blue tees are shorter, make no mistake; due to creative tee placement, the shorter tees have lost very little of the basic challenge of the hole. In some cases, they make the hole an almost totally different critter.

I only had difficulty finding one red tee marker, and that was for #6. Merely follow the path to the blue tee then veer right to the very edge of the drop off and you'll find it in the grass just to your left.

On #9, keep in mind that the prevailing winds will blow you disc to the left, directly into the steep slope under the chairlift.

The Mountain Adventure Center carries some plastic, including some Star discs, both with and without the custom Crystal Mountain stamp. We were pretty impressed with their selection of discs, considering.
Cons: Besides the distances, very few holes have any real challenge. Don't bother to stop at the Mountain Adventure Center to ask for a map, scorecard, or directions, because they seem to know nothing other than where the first tee is.

The hole overview signs are laminated inkjet printed paper and a couple of sesons' use means the distances and pars for the blue and red tees have gotten wet or bleached out and are now mostly illegible. However, almost all tee markers have direction and distance printed on them.
Other Thoughts: There's plenty of other stuff to do here for non-discers or after playing.....hit the alpine slide - it's mucho fun, hang out in the water park, work out or relax at the new Spa, check out the truly unique Michigan Legacy Art Park, or bring your mountain bike and hit the Crystal Mountain and Betsie River trails (maps available at the Lodge or Adventure Center). Lunch or dinner at The Thistle or pizza/subs from the Little Betsie Deli is a must-do. The gas station just south of the resort has killer 3-cheese bread, too!

16 of 16 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.