Disc Golf Store

Layout Extinct

Cumming, GA 
Central Park DGC - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: whalaw Hole #4 (Taken 9/2010)
3 / 270ft.   3 / 145ft.   3 / 350ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Basket to Tee (Long Position)



Reviews: 43
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Bring your hiking boots

5+    2/17/2013   2/23/2013
Review By: Alejandro01
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very accessible for people living in the area.
This course has lots of variety which allows you to practice different obstacles.
The park is well maintained by the city, and due to the other sports in the park, there are always people around.
Cons: The pads are not very well maintained.
The signs where the targets are are not accurate.
The course will get you muddy, some areas are not graded very well, so they have random puddles in the walkways.
Other Thoughts: If the city would invest/maintain this course as well as it maintains it's tennis, soccer, and baseball fields, this would rank a lot higher.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Some fun, some not so much

1    4/23/2011   6/13/2011
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 749  Exp: 12.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through various terrains and foliage, which keeps it pretty interesting. There are open holes, holes through pine forest, holes through nice deciduous trees with some rough, and some that play into or out of the woods. There's a nice variety of hole lengths, especially if you consider all four sets of tees. Many holes have tees that offer very different lines, adding a little more variety and replayability.

You'll need to shape some different shots here, the wooded holes call for a nice balance of left, right and straight shots. There are lots of minor elevation changes throughout the course, and they're used pretty well overall. A small stream comes into play, and adds a little bit of ob challenge without the risk of losing a disc.
Cons: The tees are in pretty poor shape. They're a mix of poorly laid lumpy rubber pads (some that are falling apart) and rutted out natural tees. Many aren't all that level, and few offer a very nice spot to do much of a run up. The signage is inconsistent, at the various tees and between holes, which makes navigation a little frustrating at times. This is especially true of the letter holes, they're hard to find and play in the right order. There is a long walk back to the parking lot after the end of the course, not a huge deal but worth mentioning.
Other Thoughts: There are some really nice holes here, but there are also several that are wide open and boring, or just feel like filler shots. The various tees aren't always easy to find, and none are in great shape. Beginners will find the shortest tees approachable, though several still have thick rough if you miss your line. More experienced players will find some variety and challenge from the longer sets of tees, though it's mixed in with some pretty uninteresting holes.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Fairly Good

1    7/25/2009   7/26/2009
Review By: Michael Lawrence
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Clean course. Wind flags were a plus. I liked the variety of the holes being that some are very open, while others are tight and challenging.
Cons: There were a couple of holes that are missing baskets altogether. I found that very disappointing. The placement of the holes could be better. Also, it was sometimes hard to know where the next holes were. Hole 16 is terrible. There is a mandatory right of the tree but if you throw it a little bit off, then it is lost in a very large amount of brush. It took me 30 minutes to find my disc.
Other Thoughts: I find this course to be more geared towards the advanced players. If you play more for the sport, such as myself, this may not be the best course. However I only played the first 18. I didn't have enough time to play the other 9.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 27 hole versatile course

5+    4/2/2008   7/2/2009
Review By: WAS1
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros:
The course has 27 holes
The course is versatile with a variety of possible configurations, including some very challenging 18 hole configurations
Cons:
Several of the holes are to close together
Several of the holes are to close to park roads, parking lots and ball fields

Other Thoughts: The course has a variety of open and wooded holes that can be configured into wide variety looks and skill levels.

Signature hole : 6

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Disappointing

5+    12/19/2008   1/30/2009
Review By: Redneck Machismo
Played: 126  Reviewed: 23
This review was updated on 2/4/2009
2 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: The course is longer making for some challenging holes especially in the wind. The multiple tee pads add some variety as well as the 27 hole layout.
Cons: The course is very poorly maintained and thought out. Several of the holes are long enough where virtually no one can reach them but easy enough where no one will make a four. When players make a three on a hole 90% of the time its just a bad hole. Holes 3 and 4 are perhaps some of the worst in Georgia. The course is not well marked at all on the main 18 holes and really, really poorly marked on the other nine.
Other Thoughts: The only reason I gave this course a 3 is because it does have potential based on the fact that most of it is not in the middle of the woods with no fairways like so many other courses. It needs a complete redesign to fix it correctly. The land there is perfect for a disc golf course. Playing there reminds me of River Phoenix, so much potential yet almost completely wasted.

2 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 good potential

2-4    4/8/2009   12/4/2008
Review By: StPaulie
Played: 100  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 5.9 Years
This review was updated on 4/9/2009
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There has been a lot of work done on this course since Nov. The park was extreemly clean I did not see any trash laying around at all. There are benchs and trash cans around.
Very nice variety of holes here, both wooded and wide open. The new signs are great, I did not have any problem navigateing the course. I particularlly like the new flags on the baskets. This really helped locate baskets that would be very hard to find otherwise. You will need every shot in your bad here. A very nice use of the hills available also. You will find yourself teeing from one hill throwing to another. You can find yourself either at the crest or bottom of a hill putting either up or down. But to truly experience the best of this course you must play the alternate 12 holes. Very good variety of wooded holes and a pretty walk in the woods besides. Great risk / reward, you will have to earn a good score.
Cons: There not really many cons here, the tees are rubber. For the most part this was not a problem, but a few are rather rough. A couple of the holes run very close to either the road or one of the ball diamonds. The course shares space with walking and bikeing paths but did not cause a problem.
Other Thoughts: In the intrest of honesty I had to list the "Cons" but I saw them as minor. There is plenty of challenge and fun for all here. I plan to be back soon.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Solid course, but...

6/9/2008   6/9/2008
Review By: jdawg24
Played: 92  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 16.2 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *27 holes; great mix of open bomber holes & tight wooded
*Nice terrain - rolling hills, elevation change on most holes
*Multiple teepads on every hole (white, red, blue, kinda have golds as they're very overgrown)
*Good signage; starting with kiosk @ hole 1 that has map; most tees have hand-drawn hole maps
*Good facilities @ park & located conveniently close to I-400
Cons: *Maintenance can be concern during the summer -- I've got to disagree with the previous reviews as I played this past weekend after not visiting for the better part of year to find many of the holes very overgrown....hole #15 is nearly completely blocked by trees & #2 is being overrun by tree limbs as well...grass is always cut though!
*Exposure -- it can be very windy or extremely hot (summertime in GA!). Most of the holes have little to no shade and tree cover, with the exception of the tree holes
*Most of the holes are very open and don't punish bad shots
Other Thoughts: This is a good course, but when I compare it to other area courses it always ranks well behind Redan, east roswell, Perk, JP Mosley and even fayetteville. I can't quite put my finger on it, but I think it's the fun factor. There are a few holes that emphasize risk/reward and require accuracy -- hole #2 (tight corridor with OB right and pavement left), and hole #5 (great pin placement on island with OB creek in front)...but many of the other holes are rather boring....

Don't drink/smoke here -- there have been issues in the past with it and some of the baskets were even temporarily pulled. Be discreet if you do!

Worth playing, but if in ATL this should be 4th or 5th priorty!

Also -- It's miserably hot to play here in the summer as there is no shade & this is a long course. If you even consider it you should think twice and head to ERP.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.