Layout Extinct

Cumming, GA 
Central Park DGC - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: whalaw Hole #A (Taken 11/2009)
3 / 288ft.   3 / 162ft.   3 / 308ft. Par / Distance:
Hole A Red Tee: Short position and "Disc Golf" is spelled out in stones



Reviews: 43
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Wide open, Good fun

1    7/19/2011   8/5/2011
Review By: OneSiriusOkami
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/11/2011
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lots of fun holes on this one! On this course you really get your distance and left to right practice in.
The place is very well maintained. If you happen to love beautiful settings this is your kinda place to play. Could have sworn that a hobbit was going to jump out of the wilderness and steal my discs, but I was happy to say that I went the whole course without loosing one disc!
Some of the launching pads are insane! Like the one out of the woods on the giant hill was great! What a chalenge!
This was the first ever Disc-golf course that I've played, and it was the one that got me hooked!
Cons: I do believe that they could have done a bit better at atleast directing the course better. Got so turned around that we actually ended up missing two holes. :-(
The launches themselves are in very poor conditions. Some do not even have the rubber matts on them.
Some of the pins are hard to spot. We actually had to perform some recon on a few holes, so back tracking was also in the picture. I recomend printing out (or for our smartphone users out there) downloading the sourse map.
Other Thoughts: If you love wide open spaces, and room to stretch, this is your place! Lots of out of to into woods play! So yah get your share of shade and sun!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun, not too tough, can get hot

1    7/27/2011   7/27/2011
Review By: crandellfamily
Played: 26  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 10.6 Years
This review was updated on 9/11/2011
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pros: Overall interesting set of holes. Nothing too extraordinary or unfair in the sense of challenge. We played the reds, and just about every hole seemed like a fair par 3 at that distance, with a lot of decent birdie opportunities. There is some good use of the two main creeks through the course layout. Helped a lot to have flags on top of the baskets, in order to find them better on our first time through. Once we established where each tee was, the best route to the basket was almost always easy to see.

Favorite holes:

#3
a nice gradual uphill that encourages a fade right

#6
a very well placed basket to the right, across the creek

#9
fun to see the basket from the tee, through a decently wide channel in the woods. The creek starts to encroach from the left as you approach the basket

#16
short downhill again inviting a fade right. Basket set on a mound that slopes down to the creek on three sides. My drive skipped from pin high into the water long - tough break, but it highlighted the need to think through your shot.

#17
downill into a lot of thin trees. There's a decent channel for the drive, but you're still going to need some luck to get it close enough for a good birdie chance.
Cons: Tees are very uneven rubberized pads. Almost impossible to get a solid runup for the drive. Couldn't even see a blue tee pad for #1, although we could guess where it probably should have been, from the dirt patch that was there. That's one reason why we played the reds.

Some very confusing and long walks, with a limited sense of where to go on a few holes. I checked the map at the course bulletin board. It's significantly outdated. I also read the course description written here, but we still got ourselves turned around a few times. There's a huge unmarked walk into the woods from 2 to 3. You need to take the left fork of the bike trail, once you find it, and just keep going. It takes a bit of work to reorient yourself coming back out of the woods from 4 to 5. Look for the red tee to the left as you hit the mown grass, back across the creek and very slightly into the woods. The walk from 7 to 8 is a monster. Down into the woods to the right and far beyond the 7th basket. 9 to 10 is a long walk, once again across the creek and back out of the woods, but pretty easy to recognize from the lay of the land. Look high and to the left for the 16th tee. We walked all the way to the 16th basket before noticing where the tee was.

10th to the 15th is a series of relatively uninspiring straight open shots. Okay use of the elevation, but not much more than that. And on a hot summer day, hitting a consecutive stretch of open holes at that point took a bit out of us.

The walk from the 18th back to the parking lot is another haul. Again admittedly we made it worse on ourselves because of our choice to play in the heat.
Other Thoughts: Looks like a very active park - lots of baseball fields. But the course is well-designed to avoid crowds of wayward walkers. My sister-in-law says the mtn bike trails in the park woods are fun, including a technical "trick" layout.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Good course for the In Shape.

1    7/19/2011   7/19/2011
Review By: TheJackalope
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a large and in charge kinda course. Right-to-lefts, Left to Rights, and one pad up in the woods on the top of a hill, and a throw over 200 ft worth of scrub and underbrush. Insane. 27 holes is a massive number of holes. There is water on tap at the bathrooms. This course has some truly sick launch pad placements. Some holes are so beautifully set among old growth trees, and fish infused creeks, that you swear it has to be a magazine. Well groomed when I was there. Fresh cut fairways, downed trees seemed to be part of the hazards, and not left there due to inactivity.
Cons: Up a hill, down a hill, and repeat. this wouldnt be so bad except that the layout is not intuitive at all, and sometimes we had to wait for a car to drive by so we could launch off the road, because that is where the Pad marker was. This was NOT an easy course to traverse at all.
Other Thoughts: I would go back, and will go back. It is a really long drive for me, and well worth it.The police station located in the park really does a number on keeping the crime down, but never once did we see any of the Cities Finest walking the course. It was very relaxing and awesome, and the Oak tree at the 18th hole is the most amazing site, and a lifesaver at the end of your front 18.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 3.75 stars

1    5/4/2009   5/4/2009
Review By: discNDav
Played: 297  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 28.6 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 27 baskets and very challenging shots are required. Very good use of elevation changes within the park.

Great tee signs and 3 tees on most holes. Benches were available on most holes.

#14 looks very intimidating yet played easier than it looked.

Challenging from the red tees and the blue pro tees are indeed pro caliber.

The winds flags on top of the baskets are very nice touch!

This park is in a great municiple complex.
Cons: White am tees are almost too easy. There is a longer walk between holes than the white tees themselves.

The rubber tees are are not in good condition because they are not installed properly. The ground should be leveled before the rubber is simply laided down.

This course does not hold water very well. I played here on 5/4/09 after a rainy day and the conditions were poor. Red mud and standing water were all over the course.

The extra holes 12a - 12i are more wooded and somewhat confusing to find, some next tee signs would help with these holes.

A few holes are too close to the ball fields and fences, I can envsison some discs going over the outfield fences.

After #18 you back track to the parking lot.

Other Thoughts: I'd like to rate this a 4 star course yet there are several cons as I listed. Last week I gave Idlewild only 4.5 stars and after playing 230+ courses, I admittedly grade courses rather hard.



There are signs all over stating to use the trash cans every few holes yet I saw only one trash can and it was an old cooler.

After #13 do not go left as I did to #17 behind the ball field, go up the hill towards the drainage pond/fence.

Traffic on 140 going north from Johns Creek,GA sucks at 4:30p,
once you're on GA 400 it's much better.




7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Fun but busy course

1    5/2/2009   5/3/2009
Review By: billnchristy
Played: 64  Reviewed: 60  Exp: 5.8 Years
This review was updated on 5/27/2009
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: (Partial update to include new rating system)

Nice scenery, a good variety of holes.
(If you play the 9 wooded).
Wind flags on baskets makes them easy to spot.
Multiple tee positions and several holes have alternate basket positions.
Nice elevation changes.
Good mix of wooded and open holes.
Cons: Rubber tee mats in various stages of decay.
Muddy and marshy after rain (not really the course's fault though.)
Some traffic to deal with but people seemed more aware than at other parks.
Signs were decent, but could be better, especially for a course that hosts pro tour events.
Other Thoughts: We enjoyed our time out here.
Wind is a factor here and will cause interesting things to happen.
For beginners like us it was a good course with a good variety of wooded, hilly, and open shots.
The alternate 9 in the woods are awesome and a welcome change from the open holes.
While having several baskets in the middle of the busy park is sort of a negative, it was a very good use of the space. For instance 17 goes in a small valley between a couple ball-fields...otherwise useless space.

Using my new system this course scored a 68 out of 100.

Better tee-pads and better signs would certainly up the ante.
Ending the course where it ends is a necessary evil, but the walk can be minimized by going between ball fields.


7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Central Park, main 18 holes

2-4    3/8/2009   3/9/2009
Review By: craigd
Played: 95  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 6.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *Note* I have not played any alternate holes yet, this review is just the main 18 holes.

This is a very decent course worthy of the effort to go and play. The course roves around this large park through wooded areas and open fields. You will find a couple of holes running along and beside a small creek. Number six is especial fun with the basket placed on an "island" just past its banks following a nice downhill drive. There is nice elevation changes throughout the course and they're complimented with a nice variation of hole lengths. Some of the open holes are kept challenging by distance or out of bounds placements.

Multiple pin placements offer a change of pace and are complimented by the multiple tee pads. The whites are really short and I think it is a nice feature for children and new players to be able to earn a little confidence in their game. On the flip side there are still the red and blues for the advanced players as well. I saw a few golds also and they seemed appropriate for the professionals.

The baskets are in great shape and are fitted with some wind speed/direction flags. They are very helpful on the wind prone open holes. There are eighteen new signs at each hole and navigation is quite easy. You should spend no time searching around for the next hole. The grass is cut for defined fairways on the open holes and is also helpful.

A practice basket near hole number one is nice for a quick brush up on your putting.

I do like the fact that they have lots of "watch for flying discs" warning signs for the pedestrians and not "watch out for pedestrians" signs for golfers. They must really love disc golf!

Cons: Rubber tee pads are nice enough I just wish the ground below was leveled out a little more before they were laid. Most are ok but a few have some hidden "holes" beneath them. I would feel around a little before you take off. Most of the course does not interfere with other activities. A few holes do though, namely walking/bike trails. You will have to wait a couple of times here and there. Also I never really like playing near ball fields or playgrounds very much (17 and 18). Beyond that this is a solid course.
Other Thoughts: Hole number three has had some trees cleared out in the fairway and now has become a super nice hole. Along with the new signs it appears that lots of improvements are underway. The Atlanta open is playing here in March 2009 so I am sure they are going to spiff things up for that. Let's hope for concrete pads in the future.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Good, getting better

5+    2/15/2009   2/19/2009
Review By: Scotty
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.5 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I play this course very often and it continues to improve. New wind flags on all 27 holes and last time we played they were halfway done putting in new tee box signs, real nice and huge!
Cons: Tee boxes are in need of concrete. The rubber is too slippery after a rain and too uneven to trust not getting injured for an old guy like me.
Other Thoughts: Use the Satellite map as the other map here shows the old holes #1-4. The Hole Info Chart here also shows the old holes #1-4. Old holes 3-4 are the new 1-2 and there is no footage marked for the new 3-4 on the map. They have also cut down some trees on #3 making it much more playable.
For the "Woods" holes: After playing #12 turn around and look left into the woods for "Disc Golf" spelled in rocks. Just above that is the pin for #12A. The red & blue tees are up the hill to the right. With the new signs there should be no trouble finding your way any more.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    1/24/2009   1/24/2009
Review By: BLANTON
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is set in a beautiful area in a fantastic complex. The course is fairly long in my opinion and offers a variety of holes that cater to all games. There are 18 open holes as well as an additional 9 holes that are located in the woods (A-I).

The location of the course pretty much keeps to itself, but there are occasions you might have to yield to pedestrian traffic. Holes #3 & #4 are located in the woods and hole #6 plays to an island green which I particularly like.

The condition of the course is in relatively good shape, but I have only played during the late months of the year. Baskets are also in pretty good shape with the exception of the flags which would be nice.



Cons: One drawback I've found is that if you're not familiar with the course, it can be a little difficult to navigate. Signage is a little sparse, and the placards at each tee box are either hard to read or non-existent for the most part. There's really not much direction for the wooded holes (A-I) either.



Tee pads could be improved I guess, but the rubber pads are better than nothing.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is a good course in my opinion. I prefer a good variety, and I believe this course offers a little bit of everything. I guess I would call this my home course because of its proximity. Apparently there are weekly touneys there and Sunday morning doubles that I would like to check out.

It may not be the best course around the Metro, but it's definitely worth stopping by if you're in the north Georgia area.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    10/10/2008   10/16/2008
Review By: rgarcia140
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.4 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great course b/c of the variety. There's a little bit of everything here, from long straight power drives to finesse mid range hook shots.
Cons: The alternate holes are a little confusing to find, and figure out where to start.
Other Thoughts: Also, it appears that there might even be other alternate holes that I've never played before doesn't look like anyone has in a long time, but I might be wrong.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 the gem up north.

5+    6/2/2008   6/2/2008
Review By: Bornabuckeye
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 8.6 Years
This review was updated on 11/14/2008
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A good course layout. Family and animal friendly, an outstanding group of locals and weekly doubles tournaments.
I think you are going to here a lot about how "open" the course is, even though the course is not set up in the woods the whole time, you cannot simply throw with reckless abandon and expect to play well here. You have to take the right line.

always maintained in excellent condition
Cons: a little bit on the shorter side for an intermediate or a pro. But a solid challenge from the pro tee none the less.

Offers a chance to show off a full arsenal of shots, but doesnt really make you have to throw them. Holes set up to make you throw the same shot over and over again (which really isnt easy if ya think about it?) LOL

Can sort of get lost, with all of the tees and baskets. (this has to be the biggest problem.)


Course has multiple biking paths and walking paths and park is always full of people. So watch out or you might nail someone.
Other Thoughts: I have played here about 20 times and you will fall in love with the maitenance and the people. You can always seem to find someone to play with and show you around and its a pretty good course. If your on the north end of atlanta, this is a must.

~UPDATE~
I said the above statement before I really played this course in the summer time. It seems like in the summer they tend to let this course go and the grass can get pretty high especially in the wooded areas.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.