Layout Extinct

Cumming, GA 
Central Park DGC - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: whalaw Hole #10 (Taken 4/2011)
3 / 245ft.   3 / 150ft.   3 / 331ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 43
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 My Home Course

5+    5/11/2012   6/11/2012
Review By: DiscBeast.com
Played: 15  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.5 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course offers tons of variety from woods holes to wide open bombs. The course is well maintained by the park service. 27 holes!
Cons: No concrete pads. The tees are rubber mats and can be uneven at times. The course can be hard to find your way around the first time - the woods course is particularly difficult to navigate.
Other Thoughts: I have come to realize how lucky I am to have this course around the corner. All around, this is my favorite course that I have played. If there were concrete pads, this would be rated a 5. If you enjoy the opportunity to air out your arm, this is a great course.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 My favorite Course

2-4    5/6/2012   5/6/2012
Review By: blabbee
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.4 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course is huge. Alot of open baskets and tees. A couple of shots in very light woods, but the trees can get in the way. The open shots are beautiful. Alot of hiking up and down. Such a great course. Every open shot is either a short turn or a straight shot.
Cons: The course can be confusing. But they do have the markers showing which way to go if you do get lost.
Other Thoughts: If your around this course check it out.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 My hometown favorite

5+    10/6/2011   10/7/2011
Review By: GavinSexton
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.2 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Easy to find stray discs. 27 holes. Good parking. Most every hole is a challenge, that is achievable with a good throw. Very clean, well maintained
Cons: Course can be confusing on a first visit, especially the 9 holes in the woods after hole 12. Can be easy to throw in shallow creeks.

A few tee's are pretty worn out.
Other Thoughts: I play here as often as possible. I highly enjoy it. It is beginner friendly, and FUN!

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/18/2010   5/18/2010
Review By: BACKhand13
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is my home course and I love it. It has the normal 18 holes but also comes along with an extra "middle 9" (starts after you play the 12th hole) as my friends call it. These holes are extremely technical compared with the actual 18. There is a lot of variety, not only with the layout of the holes, but how you can play the holes. There's the normal 18 but once or twice a month the grounds crew removes a few of the baskets and you can play a "Giant Course." For example, you would play from the first tee to the second basket.

If you are a player who enjoys wide open holes where you can just let a disc fly and a few holes that test your skills and make you play smart...then this is the course for you!
Cons: As some other people have said, the rubber tee pads are pretty worn and can be annoying at times. Maybe concrete pads sometime in the future. The maps do need some updates and were pretty confusing the first time I played the course.
Other Thoughts: Try Cumming Central Park DGC out and you'll fall in love with it. Just no speeding through the parking lots because the Forsyth County Police Precinct is in the park. haha
Come out, have fun, and enjoy yourself!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Impressed to say the least

1    11/8/2009   11/8/2009
Review By: Psalman
Played: 10  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 11/10/2009
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is the only course in Metro Atlanta with over 18 holes. I'm adding 1/2 star just for that. Even if you don't particularly like a certain hole, there's so many to choose from it is hard not to like this course. The course is very easy to find. Just take exit 17, go West and look to your left. If you can't find it, you just fail IMO.

There are at least three sets of tee boxes per hole. The tips are great, but we played the mids to save some gas for the last few holes. You walk about two miles to play every hole, so unless you've played the tips for all 27, you may want to save that for your second trip to make sure you don't wear out your arm.

Holes 7-8, A-B have some great elevation. I won't spoil them, but I'm sure you'll love them. Holes 3-4 are two of the best wooded holes I've played on. They are very secluded which I enjoy as a former ball golf player. Fortunately, they have cleared enough of the bushes that you aren't crawling through a jungle like at some places (cough, cough Sequoyah).

The alternate nine holes have a stream that weaves through it. Unlike the stream at Oregon Park, you won't be jumping across stones. Since you never throw over the stream, it's not really a factor. The stream is clear with shallow banks so retrieving a disc is easy if you actually find yourself in it.
Cons: This may be my new favorite course, but with that said there is still room for improvement.

The signs are there, but are old and the colors don't match the tee boxes. It's just annoying. The short tee is white, the mid is red and the back is blue. Some of the tee pads are badly worn and need to be replaced. Some of the tee box markers have been mischievously moved. Also, it can be hard to find the next hole especially on the alternate nine. There is no map for those, and the layout is not very intuitive. After you learn the course, this won't matter. Newer signs would be nice though for new players (like me).

There is no water fountain anywhere. Most players carry a bottle in their disc bag, but with the extra holes consider a larger or second bottle. You can always throw it away in the numerous trash cans. We were all dying 2/3 of the way through.
Other Thoughts: If you look at the map, you'll notice that a lot of the holes have trees really close to them on the right. The underbrush is very thick on the back nine, so locating discs is almost impossible.

Several other holes are on the side of hill sloping downward from left to right. As a sidearm thrower, I was often unable to throw my standard anhyzer drive, since the disc would hit the hill or fade right into the trees. In my opinion, RHBH players have an overall advantage to RHFH and LHBH players on this course.

This course is definitely one of the best near Atlanta. It could still be better, but if the course were perfect then we'd have to admit it's our fault on a bad shot and not the course's.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.