Layout Extinct

Cumming, GA 
Central Park DGC - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: whalaw Hole #A (Taken 9/2010)
3 / 288ft.   3 / 162ft.   3 / 308ft. Par / Distance:
Hole A Basket to Tee (Short Position)



Reviews: 43
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Some fun, some not so much

1    4/23/2011   6/13/2011
Review By: mashnut
Played: 817  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 12.8 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through various terrains and foliage, which keeps it pretty interesting. There are open holes, holes through pine forest, holes through nice deciduous trees with some rough, and some that play into or out of the woods. There's a nice variety of hole lengths, especially if you consider all four sets of tees. Many holes have tees that offer very different lines, adding a little more variety and replayability.

You'll need to shape some different shots here, the wooded holes call for a nice balance of left, right and straight shots. There are lots of minor elevation changes throughout the course, and they're used pretty well overall. A small stream comes into play, and adds a little bit of ob challenge without the risk of losing a disc.
Cons: The tees are in pretty poor shape. They're a mix of poorly laid lumpy rubber pads (some that are falling apart) and rutted out natural tees. Many aren't all that level, and few offer a very nice spot to do much of a run up. The signage is inconsistent, at the various tees and between holes, which makes navigation a little frustrating at times. This is especially true of the letter holes, they're hard to find and play in the right order. There is a long walk back to the parking lot after the end of the course, not a huge deal but worth mentioning.
Other Thoughts: There are some really nice holes here, but there are also several that are wide open and boring, or just feel like filler shots. The various tees aren't always easy to find, and none are in great shape. Beginners will find the shortest tees approachable, though several still have thick rough if you miss your line. More experienced players will find some variety and challenge from the longer sets of tees, though it's mixed in with some pretty uninteresting holes.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Home Course Praise

5+    2/5/2011   2/5/2011
Review By: KrayzeeD
Played: 17  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *Great hole variety with elevations, distances, and obstacles (trees, creeks, OBs, etc.)

*Good scenery all around despite the giant landfill-cover mountain bordering 8 & 9 and a walk underneath the powerlines on the lettered 9.

*Pin location variety. Some tee variety.

*Some signs, some high quality.
Cons: *If the weather has been bad, this course can get mushy - though this obviously holds true with many DG courses.

*If the other DG courses you play don't get you in shape, this one will, especially if you play from blue - though this could easily be a pro too.

*Some tee variety.

*Some signs, or lack thereof.

*Pretty long walk back to the car from 18, especially if you've gone the distance and played all 27.

*Rubber/Natural teepads.
Other Thoughts: Central Park is a fantastic course. Don't question it, just go play it. However, understand that when you do, you will be presented with an enduring walk amongst BIG hills (especially if you're playing from blue) with many elevation changes, digging through thick brush, and potentially getting lost or turned around in the lettered 9 if you're not with an experienced CPDGC player.

There's not a lot of signage at Central to keep you moving in the right direction, however steps have been taken over the past couple months to improve this. The lettered 9, however, seem to keep being neglected. Also hole signage is somewhat limited, and in some instances is just downright unhelpful or unreadable.

Almost every hole has 2 or more pin locations - unfortunately they aren't moved often enough for this to be a major plus, but it's a plus nonetheless. A few people have discredited the tee locations/variety. In some instances I agree with this, but in most I do not. I view tee locations as a method of training for new players. Obviously people new to the game will probably play from the shorter tees, and Central's handling of this is just as good as any other course in most cases. However, the pads are a different story. There are a good handfull of rubber pads, unfortunately most are worn down or degrading. The rest are natural and after bad weather are no fun, but still manageable.

What wins at this course is the length and challenge of the holes and the great walk/scenery you get to enjoy while you're playing. No course feels like as much an adventure to me while I play as Central does. If you're the kind of player that doesn't care about what's around you while you're playing Disc, you probably won't enjoy Central as much as others. If you're looking for the cleanliness and amenities that places like Alexander Park offer, you probably won't enjoy Central as much as others. However, if you like a good hike through the woods and over tall hills while you play some well designed and challenging holes, Central has what you need.

And for players who have been around the Greater Atlanta DGC's - If you've played Sequoyah in Canton and read the reviews and thought those people were crazy for the way they bashed the course, understand that Central gets the same treatment in it's reviews. I loved Sequoyah and decided that it's reviewers must be lazy, out of shape, whiny players who run from anything remotely challenging. If you feel the same, come to Central and give it a go - you won't be disappointed.

Favorite holes (from blue):

3 - challenging tight drive through skinny pines that opens smack into the face of a hill you must cross completely to the pin on the far side.

7 - your tee shot is about 40 feet higher in elevation than the pin and between the two is a depression that drops probably 120 feet. This is a beautiful view from blue.

8 - new hole with a great new pad (wish they would have gone ahead and done concrete since they just made this pad about 2 months ago), tight fit into the channel off to the right - aceable.

A - another high elevation tee over a deep depression - this one has trees and a creek in it though.

H - blind drive from blue, bad shots will end up in the creek not 15 feet from the tee, pin nestled in tall bushes

I - this drive just scares you (the blue tee is over the creek and back towards E's fairway/tee), only the best drives will make it to a good approach location beyond the creek.

15 - I love and hate this hole all at the same time - we used to think the wind killed drives on this hole, now we realize that somehow it's just the hole.

17/18 - favorites because of the challenge - this is possibly even a con of Central - you just went through 25 holes and are ready to head home and Central finishes you off with one last 2-hole F-You to ruin whatever score you had so far.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 So many tees, so little focus

1    11/26/2010   11/30/2010
Review By: skamasterhenrik
Played: 44  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 6.7 Years
This review was updated on 3/24/2011
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: *Review is for blue tees, and to some extent reds
-Signs! Wow, these were very very nice and informative in terms of distances, tee, and pin locations
-Tee variety (white, red, blue, gold)
-The usual benches, trash cans, etc were sufficiently available
-Course is on a decent piece of land
-Something for everyone at CPDGC
Cons: -Tee variety, whites are practically useless
-Teepads were either crap, becoming crap, or not even there
-Course suffers from inconsistency
-New holes #8 and #9 were no good, felt way too forced
Other Thoughts: Central Park was enjoyable, but there are caveats. Why have four sets of tees if you can't provide proper tee pads? Anyone can pick a spot, tee off, and call it the whatever color they want. I can see the idea behind four tees, but I felt that red and blue would be sufficient enough for 99% of players. Perfect those and move forward with gold tees (whites were useless).
The holes here were really hit and miss:

#3 to #4- three was picturesque with the pines, with your line drive past the trees landing in field like grass sloping downhill left.....transitions to hole four which has no fairway and a ridiculous pin position behind a cluster of trees
#8 and #9 are new sure, but I did not like them at all. Put a pin behind some trees, run it next to a creek and its supposed to be a good hole? Hmmm.

There were some decent holes here and there:
#3- neat hole, in some picturesque pines
#7- from the blues, you're up on a hill shoot down only for your drive to stop dead from another hill with the pin tucked away on the side of the that hill, elevation here is used well.
#13- downhill with OB woods protecting the right side of the fairway into a "gulch" of sorts where you'll find the pin

There is something for everyone here, and you will find yourself looking the occasional different shot. You might also find some holes to be boring grip and rip, depends on what you find challenging and fun. Like I said before, the tee variety is both a pro and con and would benefit from some more attention to the red and blue tees. I recommend playing here, because dg in the area is scarce and the course does have good intentions, but could use a tune-up if you will.

*I would really like to play the course in tournament conditions from the gold tees, as I feel like this course could benefit from a little shaping up to focus on "problem" areas. This, in turn, would potentially increase my rating. The course has a lot of potential (at least a 3* star course) if they could just fine tune the tee issue, and establish some type of identity for itself. Keep this in mind when reading this review and considering my current rating of 2*'s. Thanks!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/18/2010   5/18/2010
Review By: BACKhand13
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is my home course and I love it. It has the normal 18 holes but also comes along with an extra "middle 9" (starts after you play the 12th hole) as my friends call it. These holes are extremely technical compared with the actual 18. There is a lot of variety, not only with the layout of the holes, but how you can play the holes. There's the normal 18 but once or twice a month the grounds crew removes a few of the baskets and you can play a "Giant Course." For example, you would play from the first tee to the second basket.

If you are a player who enjoys wide open holes where you can just let a disc fly and a few holes that test your skills and make you play smart...then this is the course for you!
Cons: As some other people have said, the rubber tee pads are pretty worn and can be annoying at times. Maybe concrete pads sometime in the future. The maps do need some updates and were pretty confusing the first time I played the course.
Other Thoughts: Try Cumming Central Park DGC out and you'll fall in love with it. Just no speeding through the parking lots because the Forsyth County Police Precinct is in the park. haha
Come out, have fun, and enjoy yourself!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great Disc Golf Course

2-4    4/8/2010   4/8/2010
Review By: maynes35
Played: 25  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 5.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is really nice. I wasn't sure on my rating, but I knew it was at least a 4.0. The holes have great versatility. No real repetative holes. There is even a practice basket with a sort "around the world" set up, with markers at further distance as you move around the basket. There are wide open holes to bomb off of and some very tight "technical shots". The park is well maintained and it seems like they really care about the disc golf course out there. Multiple tee pads, white, red, blue, and some yellow. I played mostly red and some blue and my wife played mostly white and some red. You can really change the perspective from the different tee boxes. The "grounds crew" were all really nice to us and advised us the outlook on incoming rain. The first 18 holes were very fun to play. When you get back to the alternate holes, things change a bit. I still enjoyed them but it was a little more "wildreness golf" than the regular 18. Nice signs at each tee so you knew what you were getting into if you were new to the course.
Cons: Although I love this course there are some improvements. The course map is well out of date and can mess you up on the first couple holes. The alternate holes aren't even on the map. The tee boxes need work. I love concrete tees, but it you can't have concrete at least keep the rubber pads in good shape in all spots. Some of the whites didn't have pads at all, and were pretty tough to find on some holes. Sometimes it was hard to find our way from hole, especially on the alternate holes. I could imagine having some issues due to where holes finish and the next tee box is located if the course was busy. There is some overlap. We played at 8 am on a Thursday so there was no traffic.
Other Thoughts: This course is great, so if they fixed the tees, maybe slapped some new paint on the tee box markers, and made a new map with all the current hole layouts this could be a 4.5 or maybe a 5. The park is really awesome for other things too. Biking, walking, batting cages, tennis. We don't live here, but if we did we'd be up there all the time! There are some "watch out for flying disc signs" which I thought was awesome. So other people have to watch out for you, not the other way around!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  One of the best around...

5+    3/16/2010   3/17/2010
Review By: Cush
Played: 13  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 17.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good wide open holes with a few in the trees. Rolling terrain good for leftys and rightys. Away from park traffic most of the time. Lots of tee pad options. Multiple hole locations.
Cons: Tee boxes are starting to show their age. Can become crowded on nice days and weekends. Moderate course wear due volume. Lots of speedy mountain bikers and wandering pedestrians.
Other Thoughts: Watch out for fenced in areas and disguruntled park and county employees who are sick of getting bombarded with discs.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Big Fan!

1    2/27/2010   3/15/2010
Review By: slengel82
Played: 10  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 12.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Layout is similar to an actaul golf course. Feels bery professional. Really enjoy the versatility of the holes. Never repetative and keeps you on your toes throughout the game. Some nice stream pass thourghs and some great hole placements, one on the edge of a stream so if you overshoot you're putting from 7 feet below the basket. Really different!
Cons: Pretty busy. Lots of folks playing course.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Impressed to say the least

1    11/8/2009   11/8/2009
Review By: Psalman
Played: 10  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.4 Years
This review was updated on 11/10/2009
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is the only course in Metro Atlanta with over 18 holes. I'm adding 1/2 star just for that. Even if you don't particularly like a certain hole, there's so many to choose from it is hard not to like this course. The course is very easy to find. Just take exit 17, go West and look to your left. If you can't find it, you just fail IMO.

There are at least three sets of tee boxes per hole. The tips are great, but we played the mids to save some gas for the last few holes. You walk about two miles to play every hole, so unless you've played the tips for all 27, you may want to save that for your second trip to make sure you don't wear out your arm.

Holes 7-8, A-B have some great elevation. I won't spoil them, but I'm sure you'll love them. Holes 3-4 are two of the best wooded holes I've played on. They are very secluded which I enjoy as a former ball golf player. Fortunately, they have cleared enough of the bushes that you aren't crawling through a jungle like at some places (cough, cough Sequoyah).

The alternate nine holes have a stream that weaves through it. Unlike the stream at Oregon Park, you won't be jumping across stones. Since you never throw over the stream, it's not really a factor. The stream is clear with shallow banks so retrieving a disc is easy if you actually find yourself in it.
Cons: This may be my new favorite course, but with that said there is still room for improvement.

The signs are there, but are old and the colors don't match the tee boxes. It's just annoying. The short tee is white, the mid is red and the back is blue. Some of the tee pads are badly worn and need to be replaced. Some of the tee box markers have been mischievously moved. Also, it can be hard to find the next hole especially on the alternate nine. There is no map for those, and the layout is not very intuitive. After you learn the course, this won't matter. Newer signs would be nice though for new players (like me).

There is no water fountain anywhere. Most players carry a bottle in their disc bag, but with the extra holes consider a larger or second bottle. You can always throw it away in the numerous trash cans. We were all dying 2/3 of the way through.
Other Thoughts: If you look at the map, you'll notice that a lot of the holes have trees really close to them on the right. The underbrush is very thick on the back nine, so locating discs is almost impossible.

Several other holes are on the side of hill sloping downward from left to right. As a sidearm thrower, I was often unable to throw my standard anhyzer drive, since the disc would hit the hill or fade right into the trees. In my opinion, RHBH players have an overall advantage to RHFH and LHBH players on this course.

This course is definitely one of the best near Atlanta. It could still be better, but if the course were perfect then we'd have to admit it's our fault on a bad shot and not the course's.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Fairly Good

1    7/25/2009   7/26/2009
Review By: Michael Lawrence
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Clean course. Wind flags were a plus. I liked the variety of the holes being that some are very open, while others are tight and challenging.
Cons: There were a couple of holes that are missing baskets altogether. I found that very disappointing. The placement of the holes could be better. Also, it was sometimes hard to know where the next holes were. Hole 16 is terrible. There is a mandatory right of the tree but if you throw it a little bit off, then it is lost in a very large amount of brush. It took me 30 minutes to find my disc.
Other Thoughts: I find this course to be more geared towards the advanced players. If you play more for the sport, such as myself, this may not be the best course. However I only played the first 18. I didn't have enough time to play the other 9.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 27 hole versatile course

5+    4/2/2008   7/2/2009
Review By: WAS1
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros:
The course has 27 holes
The course is versatile with a variety of possible configurations, including some very challenging 18 hole configurations
Cons:
Several of the holes are to close together
Several of the holes are to close to park roads, parking lots and ball fields

Other Thoughts: The course has a variety of open and wooded holes that can be configured into wide variety looks and skill levels.

Signature hole : 6

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.