Layout Extinct

Cumming, GA 
Central Park DGC - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: whalaw Hole #A (Taken 9/2010)
3 / 288ft.   3 / 162ft.   3 / 308ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole A Basket to Tee (Short Position)



Reviews: 43
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5
Bring your hiking boots

5+    2/17/2013   2/23/2013
Review By: Alejandro01
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very accessible for people living in the area.
This course has lots of variety which allows you to practice different obstacles.
The park is well maintained by the city, and due to the other sports in the park, there are always people around.
Cons: The pads are not very well maintained.
The signs where the targets are are not accurate.
The course will get you muddy, some areas are not graded very well, so they have random puddles in the walkways.
Other Thoughts: If the city would invest/maintain this course as well as it maintains it's tennis, soccer, and baseball fields, this would rank a lot higher.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 My Home Course

5+    5/11/2012   6/11/2012
Review By: DiscBeast.com
Played: 15  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.2 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course offers tons of variety from woods holes to wide open bombs. The course is well maintained by the park service. 27 holes!
Cons: No concrete pads. The tees are rubber mats and can be uneven at times. The course can be hard to find your way around the first time - the woods course is particularly difficult to navigate.
Other Thoughts: I have come to realize how lucky I am to have this course around the corner. All around, this is my favorite course that I have played. If there were concrete pads, this would be rated a 5. If you enjoy the opportunity to air out your arm, this is a great course.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 My favorite Course

2-4    5/6/2012   5/6/2012
Review By: blabbee
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.1 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course is huge. Alot of open baskets and tees. A couple of shots in very light woods, but the trees can get in the way. The open shots are beautiful. Alot of hiking up and down. Such a great course. Every open shot is either a short turn or a straight shot.
Cons: The course can be confusing. But they do have the markers showing which way to go if you do get lost.
Other Thoughts: If your around this course check it out.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 This good course continues to develop.

5+    1/5/2012   2/9/2012
Review By: Lewis
Played: 16  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 7.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Central Park in Cumming has a lot to offer an intermediate to advanced disc golfer without running off the recreational players. Of the courses I've played, Central produces the greatest variety of distance from its tee pads, featuring a set of blue, red, and white pads. The blue pads are nasty tough on a number of holes, while the whites are accessible to beginners. Most disc golfers will probably prefer the red pads. I'm not sure this is a good course for children or raw beginners, but someone with plenty of energy and a willingness to cut their teeth on a relatively tough course can certainly learn to play here without losing all their discs or getting frustrated out of playing.

Central also has enough land for disc golf that they've installed 27 roomy holes. The "extra" nine loop through the woods near the middle of your round, so if you're not feeling up for 27, it's easy to play 18 and finish at the end of the course.

The slope of the hills here is not particularly steep, but there is definitely enough contour in the land to make it interesting. There are a number of open holes on the front nine, and this part of the course is usually very windy. On the back 2/3 of the course, you see more woods, but the holes in the woods all offer what I'd call "legitimate" fairways. Even in the woods, there are no "plinko" holes, and a number of them offer multiple lines to the basket. There is a sizeable creek running through the property that you have to account for on several holes, which adds an element of interest.

Probably the best "add-on" equipment on this course is the set of wind socks that are installed on many of the holes. Since Central Park is always windy, it's helpful to get a view of what the wind is doing at the basket.

This course keeps changing for the better, so it definitely looks like this course has stewards who are taking good care of it and are always looking for ways to tweak the layout to improve it.
Cons: The one significant con on this course -- the one thing that bothers me -- is the quality of the tee pads. Yes, there are rubber mats on just about every hole, but no, they are not all level. Check the condition of the pad before stepping up to drive.

Another factor that might bother first-timers is that this course is not easy to navigate without a map or a guide. This is mainly because the course is so spread out around the land, but a few more queues on where to turn after you hole out would be helpful.

I also see a few places in the more open sections of the course where the tee pads are a bit too close to the baskets of adjacent holes for comfort. Although the tee pads are numbered on the tee signs, more cues before I walk all the way to the wrong one would be nice where a couple or three holes converge in the open section. In places it can be tough to tell which pad throws to which basket.

Finally, a design flaw that is minor to me, but might be significant to some players, is that the 18th hole is not at all near hole 1. You've got to hike several hundred yards uphill to get back to the parking area near the start of the course. No big deal for me, but some people on dgcr are awfully picky about that kind of thing.
Other Thoughts: Central is rather long, so you don't want to play the full 27 unless you have plenty of energy. Also be aware that this is a VERY windy park, at least in the open fields. You're going to want to bring at least a few discs that are good wind fighters, and you will want to have at least a windbreaker if the weather is not hot. You won't need to pack a lunch here, but it's definitely not going to be a 1-hour round.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 It's On the Weekly Rotation

5+    11/12/2011   11/13/2011
Review By: GSquare44
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.1 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: There are multiple tees (with multiple signs), so you can make this course as long as you want. Openness of the course will allow you to work on your drives. Out of bounds (pavement, water, and some ropes) will test your accuracy. Hole variety is very nice with 5 holes that are wooded and the rest open or on wooded fringes. There are a quite a few elevation changes on the course, so it makes for a great workout.
Cons: Download the course map because you will be confused the first time you play the course.
Launchpads. Sometimes they are on uneven earth or roots underneath the the rubber pads.
Other Thoughts: Not as busy as Wills or E Roswell if your a local.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 My hometown favorite

5+    10/6/2011   10/7/2011
Review By: GavinSexton
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.9 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Easy to find stray discs. 27 holes. Good parking. Most every hole is a challenge, that is achievable with a good throw. Very clean, well maintained
Cons: Course can be confusing on a first visit, especially the 9 holes in the woods after hole 12. Can be easy to throw in shallow creeks.

A few tee's are pretty worn out.
Other Thoughts: I play here as often as possible. I highly enjoy it. It is beginner friendly, and FUN!

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Wide open, Good fun

1    7/19/2011   8/5/2011
Review By: OneSiriusOkami
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.1 Years
This review was updated on 8/11/2011
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lots of fun holes on this one! On this course you really get your distance and left to right practice in.
The place is very well maintained. If you happen to love beautiful settings this is your kinda place to play. Could have sworn that a hobbit was going to jump out of the wilderness and steal my discs, but I was happy to say that I went the whole course without loosing one disc!
Some of the launching pads are insane! Like the one out of the woods on the giant hill was great! What a chalenge!
This was the first ever Disc-golf course that I've played, and it was the one that got me hooked!
Cons: I do believe that they could have done a bit better at atleast directing the course better. Got so turned around that we actually ended up missing two holes. :-(
The launches themselves are in very poor conditions. Some do not even have the rubber matts on them.
Some of the pins are hard to spot. We actually had to perform some recon on a few holes, so back tracking was also in the picture. I recomend printing out (or for our smartphone users out there) downloading the sourse map.
Other Thoughts: If you love wide open spaces, and room to stretch, this is your place! Lots of out of to into woods play! So yah get your share of shade and sun!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun, not too tough, can get hot

1    7/27/2011   7/27/2011
Review By: crandellfamily
Played: 26  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 10.2 Years
This review was updated on 9/11/2011
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pros: Overall interesting set of holes. Nothing too extraordinary or unfair in the sense of challenge. We played the reds, and just about every hole seemed like a fair par 3 at that distance, with a lot of decent birdie opportunities. There is some good use of the two main creeks through the course layout. Helped a lot to have flags on top of the baskets, in order to find them better on our first time through. Once we established where each tee was, the best route to the basket was almost always easy to see.

Favorite holes:

#3
a nice gradual uphill that encourages a fade right

#6
a very well placed basket to the right, across the creek

#9
fun to see the basket from the tee, through a decently wide channel in the woods. The creek starts to encroach from the left as you approach the basket

#16
short downhill again inviting a fade right. Basket set on a mound that slopes down to the creek on three sides. My drive skipped from pin high into the water long - tough break, but it highlighted the need to think through your shot.

#17
downill into a lot of thin trees. There's a decent channel for the drive, but you're still going to need some luck to get it close enough for a good birdie chance.
Cons: Tees are very uneven rubberized pads. Almost impossible to get a solid runup for the drive. Couldn't even see a blue tee pad for #1, although we could guess where it probably should have been, from the dirt patch that was there. That's one reason why we played the reds.

Some very confusing and long walks, with a limited sense of where to go on a few holes. I checked the map at the course bulletin board. It's significantly outdated. I also read the course description written here, but we still got ourselves turned around a few times. There's a huge unmarked walk into the woods from 2 to 3. You need to take the left fork of the bike trail, once you find it, and just keep going. It takes a bit of work to reorient yourself coming back out of the woods from 4 to 5. Look for the red tee to the left as you hit the mown grass, back across the creek and very slightly into the woods. The walk from 7 to 8 is a monster. Down into the woods to the right and far beyond the 7th basket. 9 to 10 is a long walk, once again across the creek and back out of the woods, but pretty easy to recognize from the lay of the land. Look high and to the left for the 16th tee. We walked all the way to the 16th basket before noticing where the tee was.

10th to the 15th is a series of relatively uninspiring straight open shots. Okay use of the elevation, but not much more than that. And on a hot summer day, hitting a consecutive stretch of open holes at that point took a bit out of us.

The walk from the 18th back to the parking lot is another haul. Again admittedly we made it worse on ourselves because of our choice to play in the heat.
Other Thoughts: Looks like a very active park - lots of baseball fields. But the course is well-designed to avoid crowds of wayward walkers. My sister-in-law says the mtn bike trails in the park woods are fun, including a technical "trick" layout.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Good course for the In Shape.

1    7/19/2011   7/19/2011
Review By: TheJackalope
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a large and in charge kinda course. Right-to-lefts, Left to Rights, and one pad up in the woods on the top of a hill, and a throw over 200 ft worth of scrub and underbrush. Insane. 27 holes is a massive number of holes. There is water on tap at the bathrooms. This course has some truly sick launch pad placements. Some holes are so beautifully set among old growth trees, and fish infused creeks, that you swear it has to be a magazine. Well groomed when I was there. Fresh cut fairways, downed trees seemed to be part of the hazards, and not left there due to inactivity.
Cons: Up a hill, down a hill, and repeat. this wouldnt be so bad except that the layout is not intuitive at all, and sometimes we had to wait for a car to drive by so we could launch off the road, because that is where the Pad marker was. This was NOT an easy course to traverse at all.
Other Thoughts: I would go back, and will go back. It is a really long drive for me, and well worth it.The police station located in the park really does a number on keeping the crime down, but never once did we see any of the Cities Finest walking the course. It was very relaxing and awesome, and the Oak tree at the 18th hole is the most amazing site, and a lifesaver at the end of your front 18.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A course in decline

5+    6/19/2011   6/19/2011
Review By: stg1020
Played: 32  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: As already mentioned-good terrain change, good mix of left, right, open and narrow shots. Mix of wooded and open holes. Many holes have well thought out catch placements. The elevation changes make for a vigorous walk.
Cons: Over the last few years the course has fallen into disrepair. Too often the course is over grown. The T-pads are in bad shape.Some holes are a little more than catches placed among trees.
Other Thoughts: As is the case with several Ga. courses the DG community is welling to work on the courses but the park and rec folks are not responding

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.