Layout Extinct

Cumming, GA 
Central Park DGC - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: whalaw Hole #A (Taken 11/2009)
3 / 288ft.   3 / 162ft.   3 / 308ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole A Tee Sign



Reviews: 43
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Updated for the Update

5+    4/14/2011   6/26/2009
Review By: nixonrocks
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2
This review was updated on 4/14/2011
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -I helped out some with the recent revamp and this is as close as I can get to an unbiased review....

-Good course with mix of woods for more controlled shots and open spaces to bring out the firepower. A great place to get started out.

-Multiple pin placements and different Tee Pads for different levels of players

-The alternate holes are great!

-The complex is real nice

-The wind flags are a new and welcome touch, especially since Central Park is some type of wind vortex!

-The fairways are well maintained and the park workers and volunteers love the disc golf course, and it shows.

-Benches on every couple of holes.

-The walk from 18 isn't as bad as it used to be....

-During baseball season the concession stands are open....so that's a HUGE plus

-Several holes have new pin placements for them

-Lots of new signs to help navigate the new stuff
Cons: -The rubber Tee Pads are a little uneven, some holes don't have any pad at all. Better laid rubber tee pads would be fantastic. Concrete isn't an option since the course changes around so much.

-Though not very many people play them, the white tees are harder to navigate now then they used to be.

-Some of the undergrowth surrounding the holes that run alongside the woods is real thick, and a breeding ground for poison ivey (trust me, I'm covered in it right now), but as revrawlins said it's not to hard to find your disc if you spot where it went

-Even though the course was redesigned to take pedestrian walkways out of the picture, the non disc golf traffic on and near hole 6 is still an issue since there is a creek and everyone loves creeks. I had to deal with kids playing on hole 17 and 18's fairways during football season this past season and it's really annoying. What's worse is the fact that there is nothing that there is no amount of redesigning you can do to eliminate all the pedestrians and dog walkers....

-The tee signs at several of the boxes aren't the one for the corresponding hole, (not an issue for locals, but for out-of towners this could be a make or break to make people want to come back)....hopefully some new tee signs will be in order soon.

-The new hole 18, from red if you throw something too flippy or understable, it still brings the pedestrian walkway into play. Since you're kind of downhill, you can't really see around the corner to see if you've hit someone or not.
Other Thoughts: The park is great. I love it here! A lot of my cons cannot be helped, but the FOCO Disc golf club has done a tremendous job with the amount of resources they had to redirect some of the course. The scene in Forsyth County is growing. And you better take some walking shoes, the elevation changes make for a great walk. Also on #12A, the words "Disc Golf" are spelled out in stone! That's a little cool touch here. I recommend people to come play here.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Home Sweet Home

5+    6/17/2009   6/23/2009
Review By: Revrawlins2158
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 13 Not
Pros: this course has a good mix of open holes and tight woods, great/challenging pin placements, great and easy to discern tee signs, decent elevation changes, talented and friendly groundskeepers.
Cons: The course has a crap ton of undergrowth on some holes, though if you pay attention to where it hits the brush then you'll be golden.
Other Thoughts: I've had some of the best games of my life on this course, i've met a lot of great folks who always seem to have solid advice and take the advice you give them. the old homeplace has a great community around it and if you havent played here yet, you need to.

0 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 3.75 stars

1    5/4/2009   5/4/2009
Review By: discNDav
Played: 293  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 28.3 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 27 baskets and very challenging shots are required. Very good use of elevation changes within the park.

Great tee signs and 3 tees on most holes. Benches were available on most holes.

#14 looks very intimidating yet played easier than it looked.

Challenging from the red tees and the blue pro tees are indeed pro caliber.

The winds flags on top of the baskets are very nice touch!

This park is in a great municiple complex.
Cons: White am tees are almost too easy. There is a longer walk between holes than the white tees themselves.

The rubber tees are are not in good condition because they are not installed properly. The ground should be leveled before the rubber is simply laided down.

This course does not hold water very well. I played here on 5/4/09 after a rainy day and the conditions were poor. Red mud and standing water were all over the course.

The extra holes 12a - 12i are more wooded and somewhat confusing to find, some next tee signs would help with these holes.

A few holes are too close to the ball fields and fences, I can envsison some discs going over the outfield fences.

After #18 you back track to the parking lot.

Other Thoughts: I'd like to rate this a 4 star course yet there are several cons as I listed. Last week I gave Idlewild only 4.5 stars and after playing 230+ courses, I admittedly grade courses rather hard.



There are signs all over stating to use the trash cans every few holes yet I saw only one trash can and it was an old cooler.

After #13 do not go left as I did to #17 behind the ball field, go up the hill towards the drainage pond/fence.

Traffic on 140 going north from Johns Creek,GA sucks at 4:30p,
once you're on GA 400 it's much better.




7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Fun but busy course

1    5/2/2009   5/3/2009
Review By: billnchristy
Played: 64  Reviewed: 60  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 5/27/2009
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: (Partial update to include new rating system)

Nice scenery, a good variety of holes.
(If you play the 9 wooded).
Wind flags on baskets makes them easy to spot.
Multiple tee positions and several holes have alternate basket positions.
Nice elevation changes.
Good mix of wooded and open holes.
Cons: Rubber tee mats in various stages of decay.
Muddy and marshy after rain (not really the course's fault though.)
Some traffic to deal with but people seemed more aware than at other parks.
Signs were decent, but could be better, especially for a course that hosts pro tour events.
Other Thoughts: We enjoyed our time out here.
Wind is a factor here and will cause interesting things to happen.
For beginners like us it was a good course with a good variety of wooded, hilly, and open shots.
The alternate 9 in the woods are awesome and a welcome change from the open holes.
While having several baskets in the middle of the busy park is sort of a negative, it was a very good use of the space. For instance 17 goes in a small valley between a couple ball-fields...otherwise useless space.

Using my new system this course scored a 68 out of 100.

Better tee-pads and better signs would certainly up the ante.
Ending the course where it ends is a necessary evil, but the walk can be minimized by going between ball fields.


7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 overrated

5+    4/18/2009   4/19/2009
Review By: Sea Bass
Played: 54  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 14.1 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Multiple tees for diffrent levels of play.

-Extra holes provide a nice change of pace from the open 18.

-The park has all the amenities you might need, and with a police station at the entrance, you and your car will be safe.

-Nice practice area near hole 1.

-Locals have recently made upgrades to signs, and installed wind flags on the baskets.You wont have any problem finding your way through the course.

-Good course to introduce a new player to the game.

-Good course for a experienced player to touch up on his wind game.
Cons: -Teepads.Most have rubber mats, but they are lumpy and rutted underneath.

-This park is extremely busy with non dg traffic, you will have to wait on joggers or bikers at some point during your round.

-No shot selection.For a RHBH you can throw a straight/hyzer shot on every hole except 3, H (The last extra hole) and 16 blue pad.

-Blue pad course design is not well thought out.Hole 10 plays over 9 long pin basket.16 also plays directly over 15 basket.Hole 1 plays over the park entrance road, and on hole 2, if you go left you will hit a car.

-On holes 9,18 and 16 (more so on 16) Is very possible that a bad shot will head towards a busy walking path.Please be aware of your surroundings.

-If you choose to play the woods holes, The first one forces you to throw over 12's fairway.The second holes BLUE pad is covered in ankle high grass.The 5th BLUE pad had a fallen tree blocking it when I was here on 4-18-09.

-After playing 18, you have to walk back towards the tee to get back to your car.
Other Thoughts: From the red pads this course is a typical try to put it under the basket on almost every hole course.From the blue pads most holes are longer but there is no danger, so most times you get a 3, due to a ho-hum easy upshot.

Others have mentioned the wind out here and they are right to do so.It is always a factor here.My favorite part is that it seems like whatever direction you are facing, on every hole, its a headwind.This place is a wind vortex or something.

This course is decent overall, but nothing special.For locals its a nice change from some of the other local courses, but to a out of towner, I would say dont worry if you miss it.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/15/2009   4/15/2009
Review By: sdecker
Played: 27  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 22.4 Years
This review was updated on 4/23/2009
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice layout and challenging for both open fairway shots and woods shots. Friendly locals. Good signage to direct you, showing all tee boxes and pin positions for every hole. Awesome flags with hole #/wind speed and direction indicators on every pin. Mowed fairways are always welcome!
Cons: No real cons of any significance. Most blue and all gold tees are very long for intermediate players like myself (not necessarily a con if you throw a 400+ driver, which I don't).
Other Thoughts: Overall an excellent course. Recently replaced Redan as my course of choice in the Atlanta area. You need to play this one. I will be back a LOT.

Edit: The park itself is dog friendly, but there are signs for holes 3 and 4 that indicate no dogs beyond this point. Not really a big deal as there are 27 holes anyway -- just something to note if you are bringing your four legged friend. Great course now that the grass and trees have come in!

Keep in mind that there is literally a police station right at the front of the park...which is why I didn't take my dog onto hole 3 & 4. Also, there were plenty of signs today indicating that alcohol is not permitted in the park and tickets are being issued to offenders. I'd keep that or anything else (ahem) under deep cover if I were you...

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Central Park, main 18 holes

2-4    3/8/2009   3/9/2009
Review By: craigd
Played: 92  Reviewed: 91  Exp: 6.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *Note* I have not played any alternate holes yet, this review is just the main 18 holes.

This is a very decent course worthy of the effort to go and play. The course roves around this large park through wooded areas and open fields. You will find a couple of holes running along and beside a small creek. Number six is especial fun with the basket placed on an "island" just past its banks following a nice downhill drive. There is nice elevation changes throughout the course and they're complimented with a nice variation of hole lengths. Some of the open holes are kept challenging by distance or out of bounds placements.

Multiple pin placements offer a change of pace and are complimented by the multiple tee pads. The whites are really short and I think it is a nice feature for children and new players to be able to earn a little confidence in their game. On the flip side there are still the red and blues for the advanced players as well. I saw a few golds also and they seemed appropriate for the professionals.

The baskets are in great shape and are fitted with some wind speed/direction flags. They are very helpful on the wind prone open holes. There are eighteen new signs at each hole and navigation is quite easy. You should spend no time searching around for the next hole. The grass is cut for defined fairways on the open holes and is also helpful.

A practice basket near hole number one is nice for a quick brush up on your putting.

I do like the fact that they have lots of "watch for flying discs" warning signs for the pedestrians and not "watch out for pedestrians" signs for golfers. They must really love disc golf!

Cons: Rubber tee pads are nice enough I just wish the ground below was leveled out a little more before they were laid. Most are ok but a few have some hidden "holes" beneath them. I would feel around a little before you take off. Most of the course does not interfere with other activities. A few holes do though, namely walking/bike trails. You will have to wait a couple of times here and there. Also I never really like playing near ball fields or playgrounds very much (17 and 18). Beyond that this is a solid course.
Other Thoughts: Hole number three has had some trees cleared out in the fairway and now has become a super nice hole. Along with the new signs it appears that lots of improvements are underway. The Atlanta open is playing here in March 2009 so I am sure they are going to spiff things up for that. Let's hope for concrete pads in the future.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Good, getting better

5+    2/15/2009   2/19/2009
Review By: Scotty
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I play this course very often and it continues to improve. New wind flags on all 27 holes and last time we played they were halfway done putting in new tee box signs, real nice and huge!
Cons: Tee boxes are in need of concrete. The rubber is too slippery after a rain and too uneven to trust not getting injured for an old guy like me.
Other Thoughts: Use the Satellite map as the other map here shows the old holes #1-4. The Hole Info Chart here also shows the old holes #1-4. Old holes 3-4 are the new 1-2 and there is no footage marked for the new 3-4 on the map. They have also cut down some trees on #3 making it much more playable.
For the "Woods" holes: After playing #12 turn around and look left into the woods for "Disc Golf" spelled in rocks. Just above that is the pin for #12A. The red & blue tees are up the hill to the right. With the new signs there should be no trouble finding your way any more.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Disappointing

5+    12/19/2008   1/30/2009
Review By: Redneck Machismo
Played: 126  Reviewed: 23
This review was updated on 2/4/2009
2 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: The course is longer making for some challenging holes especially in the wind. The multiple tee pads add some variety as well as the 27 hole layout.
Cons: The course is very poorly maintained and thought out. Several of the holes are long enough where virtually no one can reach them but easy enough where no one will make a four. When players make a three on a hole 90% of the time its just a bad hole. Holes 3 and 4 are perhaps some of the worst in Georgia. The course is not well marked at all on the main 18 holes and really, really poorly marked on the other nine.
Other Thoughts: The only reason I gave this course a 3 is because it does have potential based on the fact that most of it is not in the middle of the woods with no fairways like so many other courses. It needs a complete redesign to fix it correctly. The land there is perfect for a disc golf course. Playing there reminds me of River Phoenix, so much potential yet almost completely wasted.

2 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 

1    1/24/2009   1/24/2009
Review By: BLANTON
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is set in a beautiful area in a fantastic complex. The course is fairly long in my opinion and offers a variety of holes that cater to all games. There are 18 open holes as well as an additional 9 holes that are located in the woods (A-I).

The location of the course pretty much keeps to itself, but there are occasions you might have to yield to pedestrian traffic. Holes #3 & #4 are located in the woods and hole #6 plays to an island green which I particularly like.

The condition of the course is in relatively good shape, but I have only played during the late months of the year. Baskets are also in pretty good shape with the exception of the flags which would be nice.



Cons: One drawback I've found is that if you're not familiar with the course, it can be a little difficult to navigate. Signage is a little sparse, and the placards at each tee box are either hard to read or non-existent for the most part. There's really not much direction for the wooded holes (A-I) either.



Tee pads could be improved I guess, but the rubber pads are better than nothing.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is a good course in my opinion. I prefer a good variety, and I believe this course offers a little bit of everything. I guess I would call this my home course because of its proximity. Apparently there are weekly touneys there and Sunday morning doubles that I would like to check out.

It may not be the best course around the Metro, but it's definitely worth stopping by if you're in the north Georgia area.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.