Layout Extinct

Cumming, GA
Central Park DGC - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: whalaw Hole #F (Taken 11/2009)
3 / 295ft.   3 / 258ft.   3 / 346ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole F Tee Sign



Reviews: 43
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 good

5+    10/27/2008   12/27/2008
Review By: Galahad
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Some very long holes, some short, tight holes, good mix, and you get a lot of exercise here for sure, minimal interaction with other activities.
Cons: No much - worst thing to me are the teepads - if they had concrete here this course could be the bomb.
Other Thoughts: Overall one of my favorites in the Atlanta area - it's pretty darn hard to score well here - you have to be on your best game to shoot low scores, esp. from the farther back tee pads.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good 1st timer.

5+    12/18/2008   12/18/2008
Review By: jreeves16
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.4 Years
This review was updated on 12/20/2008
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course gives you a little bit of everything. Lots of open space and some thoughtful wooded holes. It's long but doesn't really play that way. Lots of variety of shots can be thrown and are highly recommended. It even plays well when it's wet. It has multiple tees which is friendly to all level players. Many of the holes are forgiving on a bad throw. There is a stream that runs through it and causes no problems. The people walking or running are great. The rarely get in the way. The dogs they have are great too. Both pets and owners like to watch the throws.
Cons: Overall it's a good course, but there could be some improvements. The signs are good, but could be better. Many are hard to read or have disappeared over time. The alternate (12a-i) holes could be easier to find. There is a bit of over-growth, but that comes with the territory. The walk back to the car after a long or bad round is no fun. The tees are hit and miss. Some are dirt and some are rubber. The dirt turns to mud after the rain making it tough to keep your balance on drives.
Other Thoughts: Many of the reviews complain about the walk. I'm not in shape at all and it's not so bad. It is built around all fields and bike trails after all. The worst thing is the walk back to the care after a long round. I just park closer to the last hole and take my time on the start. This is the course I started on and couldn't ask for a better one.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 YOU HAVE TO PLAY THIS!!!

5+    3/2/2009   12/18/2008
Review By: BobbyC13
Played: 27  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 5.4 Years
This review was updated on 12/19/2010
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This great course has been redsigned and made better.

Good baskets
wind flags
great signage
50/50 mix of open and wooded holes
several new holes that are tough
well thought out
great local club
sunday doubles
Cons: we need to work on some of the teepads
Other Thoughts: This course is a GREAT course in the ATL area. It may even be one of the best now. The ATL Open national event was here 3 times, hint hint, course is in GREAT SHAPE!!!! This is my home course and I am very thankful!!!!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Central Park DGC

1    12/13/2008   12/17/2008
Review By: warren1086
Played: 19  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 5.8 Years
This review was updated on 6/24/2009
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great course lay out, great variety of holes that require just about every shot you have in your bag. Anywhere from hyzer BH to thumbers and hammers, can use just about any shot you can think of. Great elevation changes throughout entire course. Some holes play through a creek with is always awesome. Locals are very friendly and also they host a weekly tourny or sunday doubles at 1. Mostly open course but also has a seperate 9 holes that extend off hole 12 that was heavily wooded. Majority of holes require some power so the weaker arms might be at a disadvantage somewhat, but they have 3 diff. tee selections for all skill levels. Newly added signs and tee pads are excellent!! A++
Cons: There was a biking path that intertwined with some of the course but nothing big just be careful and watch for bikers. The course comes pretty close to some other parts of the park but I didn't go when it was crowded so not much of a problem.
Other Thoughts: Bring plenty of liquids cause its a pretty long course and this course is so awesome that it is hosting the Atlanta Open this year! Yes, Climo aka the Champ will be there!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful Complex

1    12/14/2008   12/15/2008
Review By: Fender088
Played: 25  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 6.9 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has everything from tightly wooded holes to wide open fairways. You tee off from huge hills on some holes and then on others you're looking up a mountain. There are three tees for every hole and most holes have multiple placements. The first two holes are fairly open, straight shots, but then you're into the woods for two holes, until you start some longer, more complex holes. Hole six plays over a small creek which is a nice accent. After hole twelve there are nine holes that play through a more wooded area. If you're going to play all 27 holes then you better be ready to walk for a few hours.
Cons: This course might not be the best fit for low power players because a fairly large amount of holes are far away. However, the white tees do make teeing off a lot easier. The scenery isn't that great either on about half of the course, but Central Park is a very impressive complex.
Other Thoughts: This course is one of my favorite courses in the state of Georgia. It might not have the scenery that courses in Appling do, but it offers every kind of shot and makes you a very well rounded player. I can see why the PDGA has added this course to the tour and the Atlanta open was held here in 2007.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 good potential

2-4    4/8/2009   12/4/2008
Review By: StPaulie
Played: 88  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 4/9/2009
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There has been a lot of work done on this course since Nov. The park was extreemly clean I did not see any trash laying around at all. There are benchs and trash cans around.
Very nice variety of holes here, both wooded and wide open. The new signs are great, I did not have any problem navigateing the course. I particularlly like the new flags on the baskets. This really helped locate baskets that would be very hard to find otherwise. You will need every shot in your bad here. A very nice use of the hills available also. You will find yourself teeing from one hill throwing to another. You can find yourself either at the crest or bottom of a hill putting either up or down. But to truly experience the best of this course you must play the alternate 12 holes. Very good variety of wooded holes and a pretty walk in the woods besides. Great risk / reward, you will have to earn a good score.
Cons: There not really many cons here, the tees are rubber. For the most part this was not a problem, but a few are rather rough. A couple of the holes run very close to either the road or one of the ball diamonds. The course shares space with walking and bikeing paths but did not cause a problem.
Other Thoughts: In the intrest of honesty I had to list the "Cons" but I saw them as minor. There is plenty of challenge and fun for all here. I plan to be back soon.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    10/10/2008   10/16/2008
Review By: rgarcia140
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.7 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great course b/c of the variety. There's a little bit of everything here, from long straight power drives to finesse mid range hook shots.
Cons: The alternate holes are a little confusing to find, and figure out where to start.
Other Thoughts: Also, it appears that there might even be other alternate holes that I've never played before doesn't look like anyone has in a long time, but I might be wrong.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/30/2008   9/11/2008
Review By: JasonSteel
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: wide open course at times and playing in a jungle other times. liked it - some holes were hard to figure out when the tee box was busted but not too bad, lots of tee boxes to play from so my son got to play from the whites - which was closer then the reds and loved it
Cons: couple of holes are in the jungle and my son and I got sticker bushes that stuck us and made him cry for several holes after we got out of them - sticky sticker bushes - not really interested in playing those holes again - hole 3 and hole 4 I think
Other Thoughts: only played the first 18 - there were 9 more holes to play in the back - there were a couple of blind holes that were though the first time but looking forward to playing the next time. I think it is a good course.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Central Park DGR

7/7/2008   7/14/2008
Review By: shanman9
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Its a course where even if you are a beginner you can have a good time. The Central Park natives are very friendly. Central Park offers a nice course, fun doubles events every sunday. A must play if you are in the area. Offers 27 holes.
Cons: It is not very long. Hard to navigate through the holes. Bike course on some holes. Sidwalk path inteferes a bit. You may find yourself having to wait to throw on some holes. Not very challenging to professionals.
Other Thoughts: A must play. Very fun course. Doesn't require a lot of skill. You can pretty much throw one throw and complete the course fairly easy.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Solid course, but...

6/9/2008   6/9/2008
Review By: jdawg24
Played: 91  Reviewed: 49  Exp: 15.9 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *27 holes; great mix of open bomber holes & tight wooded
*Nice terrain - rolling hills, elevation change on most holes
*Multiple teepads on every hole (white, red, blue, kinda have golds as they're very overgrown)
*Good signage; starting with kiosk @ hole 1 that has map; most tees have hand-drawn hole maps
*Good facilities @ park & located conveniently close to I-400
Cons: *Maintenance can be concern during the summer -- I've got to disagree with the previous reviews as I played this past weekend after not visiting for the better part of year to find many of the holes very overgrown....hole #15 is nearly completely blocked by trees & #2 is being overrun by tree limbs as well...grass is always cut though!
*Exposure -- it can be very windy or extremely hot (summertime in GA!). Most of the holes have little to no shade and tree cover, with the exception of the tree holes
*Most of the holes are very open and don't punish bad shots
Other Thoughts: This is a good course, but when I compare it to other area courses it always ranks well behind Redan, east roswell, Perk, JP Mosley and even fayetteville. I can't quite put my finger on it, but I think it's the fun factor. There are a few holes that emphasize risk/reward and require accuracy -- hole #2 (tight corridor with OB right and pavement left), and hole #5 (great pin placement on island with OB creek in front)...but many of the other holes are rather boring....

Don't drink/smoke here -- there have been issues in the past with it and some of the baskets were even temporarily pulled. Be discreet if you do!

Worth playing, but if in ATL this should be 4th or 5th priorty!

Also -- It's miserably hot to play here in the summer as there is no shade & this is a long course. If you even consider it you should think twice and head to ERP.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.