Littleton, CO 
Fehringer Ranch Share
Uploaded By: rezdawg8 Hole #7 (Taken 8/2014)
3 / 471ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Typical Colorado Course

5+    4/9/2015   4/15/2015
Review By: AdamBarnard
Played: 12  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 10.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - A very open, native grass course but does incorporate some smaller trees and some topography on a few holes to create a little course variety
- Like to use those 13 speed drivers? This course is for you.
- Looking forward to future improvements
Cons: - Can get very busy on weekends
- Tee boxes are really beat up
Other Thoughts: I happen to live nearby so I consider this course to be my home course and I think it does pretty well with the given surroundings. The course has a some topography and lots of little trees and it attempts to include a lot of them in the design so that's to be commended. The tee boxes are truly awful and always rutted out, but that just goes to the popularity of this course in which it seems to be always busy! I try to get out and play early morning on a weekend and have the best luck then. Also course layout isn't too hard to figure out. Also, don't forget the sunscreen here.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Developing course

5+    1/20/2015   2/12/2015
Review By: AndyJB
Played: 49  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 24.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Huge upside potential with this course; the layout is superb and natural obstacles are in place
-Spread out over a decent sized piece of land, without any gnarly walks between holes
-Good variety of shots and use of the land for uphills, downhills, flats and everything in between
-The mix of short holes, long holes, left finishing and right finishing is good and logical
-Great informative sign at the beginning of the course; it's obvious that the local Parks Department has a vested interest in this course and will support further developments (which are in the works)
Cons: -Biggest and most glaring issue is the "teepads". They aren't so much a pad at the current time. Rather some odd clay mixture with wood borders.
-Parking isn't great. There's actually decent room but people tend to park oddly, especially when there aren't many people there
-This course has potential but right now it's pretty average
Other Thoughts: This course will be amazing five years from now. Playing it now, as is, will give you a good grasp on what is to come at Fehringer Ranch. If you enjoy it, please support the local clubs efforts to improve this course!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

OK, tee pads are terrible

1    12/6/2014   12/9/2014
Review By: Brian McFarlane
Played: 42  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 38.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Has a variety of distances. Not a lot of other "park" users to be concerned with. Has some fun holes.
Cons: Tee "pads" are in terrible shape, at least half have holes/pits in them, even if they didn't have the pits, they offer no grip for your feet... maybe they will get cement in the future?
Other Thoughts: Overall a decent course. I won't be going out of my way to play it though. Not bad but nothing special.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Taking Advantage Of What Is There

1    10/11/2014   10/14/2014
Review By: TalbotTrojan
Played: 108  Reviewed: 104  Exp: 6.8 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a very interesting course set in open space near a High School. There are some incredible views of the foothills and mountains behind them. The design of the course is close to amazing considering the piece of land that the course is on. The fun factor is extremely high, especially for people that can throw the disc a considerable distance. There is really good variety from short to long and from all kinds of shots. Every hole has some kind of unique feature. The baskets are brand new and quite nice, Mach 3's with trapper baskets. There are posts on most tee pads to mark the tee pad. They stand over six feet tall and are easy to find with white pain and numbers on them. The parks department is really behind this course and are looking to make significant improvements in the coming years. They have a long list of things that they want to do and in time I expect the improvements to make the course even better. There is a practice basket before the first tee that is consistent with the baskets on the course. The parks department has the course on the permanent mowing list so the fairways and walk ways between holes should remain well mowed.
Cons: The tee pads are almost worse than natural tee pads. They are made of some kind of clay that was supposed to set, but it didn't and there are already nice holes in all the tee pads. I believe hole 17 is missing its post, making one rely on the naturally formed trails to help one get to the tee pad. The tee signs are very basic at this point and are not well protected. There is one bridge installed and based on the water rights of the creek they really do not want anyone walking through the creek ditches. The bridge somewhat splits the two places where you cross the creek and is only mildly convenient for one of the crossings. There are literally no amenities, not even an outhouse. Parking lot is big enough for the daily crowd but may be too small for tournaments. There are some places where going off the fairway means high grass and lots of searching for discs.
Other Thoughts: While there are still many things that will change on this course over the coming years, I was very impressed with what the course is at this point. The parks department that put this course in did the job right and are even looking to make it better. They want to see disc golf succeed and they are going about it the right way. Some exciting things that I expect to happen: a more family friendly 9 hole course on site (baskets from Schaffer DGC to be used, play Schaffer now while you can if you are looking for check marks and more courses played) port-o-potty to make a permanent appearance, OB lines more clearly defined around creek areas, cement tee pads (though it may be a year or two), better signs on the course. Because of the design of this course there are a lot of signature type holes.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Nice 18 for SW Denver

5+    10/11/2014   10/11/2014
Review By: JohnPSI
Played: 45  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 18.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is situated conveniently off of US285, with excellent views of the foothills. Each tee is marked with a white tipped tall pole, which makes finding the next tee a breeze. The course makes good use of the available land space. 2 hills are incorporated into the course, the smaller one is used on hole 12, the larger one being in play on holes 4 - 7. There is also a ditch which runs through the back half of the property, which rarely has water in it. The course has a good mix of distances, from 150 - 470, with a fair amount of easy birdies to score. Course will play fairly quickly, usually finish a casual round in 1:15-1:30
Cons: The cons here are evident early in the round:
- clay-type material for tee boxes are not draining that well, and are rutted fairly quickly.
- the rough on 1, 2, and 7 is pretty thick, and may take up time searching for your disc - pay attention and aim for the mowed fairways
- plenty of sticker around the course. I've seen some recommend long pants, but I play frequently in shorts with no issue. Watch your step
- like many Denver metro courses, not many old growth trees, many smaller ones but not enough to give you the isolated experience required for a technical course
- severely lacking in trash cans and restroom facilities
- not much shade in the summer
Other Thoughts: This course is still new, so improvements are on going. Alternate tees and pin positions, improvements to tee pad drainage, and trash cans are in the works. I think this course could be compared to Birds Nest, but I easily prefer this course to it. Consider playing nearby 9 holer Schafer as a warm up prior to a round here

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Fun course, long walk to next tee box

1    9/27/2014   9/27/2014
Review By: chips n salsa
Played: 13  Reviewed: 6
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Challenging holes, some long some short. Two dogleg right holes that you must either flick or work some serious anny on if RHBH. A few easy birdie holes.
Cons: Basket missing on 7. Late afternoon sun totally blinding as about a third of the holes you must throw directly towards western horizon.
Other Thoughts: Nice stroll, not too crowded.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great New Littleton Course

2-4    9/14/2014   9/22/2014
Review By: age_before_beauty
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great hole placement with a high degree of difficulty.
Every hole looks like a fun hole from the view of the tee box.
Groomed-ish Fairways.
Good combination of easy and difficult holes.
Amazing views.
Gorgeous weather.
Bag Hooks.
Cons: Hole 7 without cage as of 9/22/2014.
Some deep rough - keep your eye on your disc.
If it's a warm day, it is hot on the course.
Other Thoughts: A great addition to the Littleton area, surrounded by some decent 9 hole courses. Only 18 hole course in SW Denver area without jumping the hills into Conifer, or heading further East to CC Reservoir or Badlands South.
Great level of difficulty, but playable enough to improve upon previous rounds.
Check it out!!

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Maybe this ranch should be used for cattle

1    9/7/2014   9/14/2014
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 226  Reviewed: 218  Exp: 12 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: One of my pet peeves in course design is designers not using the land they have available. Not every designer gets amazing property but you have to work with what you have. The designer(s) of this course did an excellent job of using what they had at their disposal to make the best course they could make. Driving in I was very skeptical that this site could make for an even decent 'crappy' course but was surprised later when I actually played it.

Most of the holes are under 400 feet and are reachable for most advanced players. The small elevation change that is present is used amazingly well and isn't apparent right away; you land short or long and try to figure out why and then it hits you, BAM! ELEVATION! Small as it might be it makes a lot of difference.

Hole number seven is probably the signature hole for me, downhill, long hole, throwing over obstacles (trees/bushes) to a basket (not there currently but coming so I hear) underneath a large tree with a small dry creek behind it. I talked to some locals and they say they are playing the tree as the basket until it's put in so that's the way we played the hole our first time out.

One of the things I've learned about mostly open courses is that navigation is usually easy as you have more visibility and this course is the same way. You can plot your way across the course from the first couple of holes if you are smart and look around a little. The course flows back around to hole one and your car in a big circle.
Cons: Many of the throws require the same thing over and over; you throw over the top of some small trees or bushes to a basket in an open field. If they planted a bunch of trees in the fairways and then wait ten years this course would be awesome but until then it gets stale by the time you reach the last quarter of the holes.

This could be good or bad depending on your outlook but you could play this course with a straight control driver or mid range and a putter and probably score better than your buddy and his backpack full of 30 warp speed drivers.
Other Thoughts: Others speak of nasty rough which I didn't really experience. Maybe I played it right after they mowed or maybe I've lived in Washington too long and am used to our nasty underbrush on every course that this didn't bother me. I never looked for a disc for longer than 30 seconds if that. I like the idea that they are mowing a fairway and leaving the rest long, you could even play the long stuff as out of bounds if your heart desires.

The previous reviewer summed up this course best in his header when he said "Solid but not Spectacular". I would agree.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Solid but not Spectacular

1    9/6/2014   9/6/2014
Review By: Wise Fool
Played: 124  Reviewed: 117  Exp: 6.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Course is very easy to navigate. There are mowed paths between each basket to the next tee-pad. The fairways are mowed and lead straight to the basket so even if you can't see the basket from the fairway its pretty easy to have an idea of where to throw. Also each tee-pad has a posted painted white and the posts are tall enough that they are easy to pick-out.
-The baskets are brand new, in awesome shape and catch very well.
-The tee-pads are nice and long and allow for a good run-up.
-Good use of the available trees and terrian. Hole 4-6 use the trees well to make some narrow fairways and then holes 14-16 make good use of the trees near the dry creek. Holes 12 and 13 use an available mound very well. Hole 12 is situated on top of the mound and hole 13 plays through a dip in the mound to make a somewhat narrow tee-shot.
-While the land doesn't have a huge amount of elevation change, what is available was incorporated well into the course.
-The fairways are mowed, which helps with the tall grass and adds a little challenge to some of the holes.
-Practice basket and driving range available
Cons: -There is lots of tall nasty grass and reeds if you go off of the mowed fairway. There are quite a few good opportunities to lose a disc on this course.
-The tee-pads are dirt and after a rain get really muddy and can lead to some bad footing.
-No tee-signs, since some baskets can blend in with the surroundings it would be nice to have a layout of the hole, but since this a a new course, hopefully those are in the works.
-While the available land was used well, this is still at times not the most ideal land for a course. There are a lot of straight shots and the course doesn't require a huge variety of shots. And a few holes can repetitive at times
-Overall, I didn't feel like any of the holes on this course felt extremely long, though there are a couple over 400, even though they didn't feel like they were over 400.
-Hole 7 basket is missing but from what I hear that is coming with the grand opening of the course, so the missing basket should just be temporary.
-At times the banks of the dry creek can be really steep and having to climb up the slopes can be a little slippery.
-A few of the mowed fairways seemed a little narrow, it would be nice if they could be mowed a little wider.
Other Thoughts: When I first heard there was a course going onto this piece of land, I was a little skeptical because having driven by it quite a few times, it didn't seem like a good fit for a course. The designers did a good job of using the available terrain well and this is an enjoyable course if you are in the area. With concrete tee-pads, tee-signs, and a more beatdown of the tall brush this course could easily earn a higher score.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Review of new littleton Course

1    8/19/2014   8/20/2014
Review By: TheBrownZombie
Played: 53  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 1.1 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: -Great mix of long and short holes
-Nicely groomed fairways
-Posts with 4 hooks to hold things like your bad or your dogs lease
-Nice natural tee boxes
-Nice mix of new and mature trees to make the course harder
-Great views of the foothills
Cons: -Could be hard to play during a windy day
-Hole 7 is still not in but they have a stake in place of where the basket will be
-Wasnt an issue for me, I was able to drive straight down the fairways but if you release to early or late and your disc goes into a field you may have a hard time finding your disc so make sure you watch the exact area your disc lands and it should be pretty easy to find your disc since the grass is not too high
-Would be nice to see some nice tee box signs with pictures and distances to make it official
-They should put in a course map when you first pull into the parking lot to start the course for people who have never played there before
Other Thoughts: I have lived in Littleton for over 4 years and there are a lot of 9 holes courses that are ok like Arapahoe CC DGC, Schaefer. The only other 18 hole that is within town is the David Lorenz DGC and I have gotten bored of these courses and I am glad to say that this new course has a great mix of short/long holes and has tons of Obstacles and this will now become my new favorite hometown course.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.