Littleton, CO 
Fehringer Ranch Share
Uploaded By: rezdawg8 Hole #16 (Taken 8/2014)
3 / 302ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Maybe this ranch should be used for cattle

1    9/7/2014   9/14/2014
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 219  Reviewed: 206  Exp: 11.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: One of my pet peeves in course design is designers not using the land they have available. Not every designer gets amazing property but you have to work with what you have. The designer(s) of this course did an excellent job of using what they had at their disposal to make the best course they could make. Driving in I was very skeptical that this site could make for an even decent 'crappy' course but was surprised later when I actually played it.

Most of the holes are under 400 feet and are reachable for most advanced players. The small elevation change that is present is used amazingly well and isn't apparent right away; you land short or long and try to figure out why and then it hits you, BAM! ELEVATION! Small as it might be it makes a lot of difference.

Hole number seven is probably the signature hole for me, downhill, long hole, throwing over obstacles (trees/bushes) to a basket (not there currently but coming so I hear) underneath a large tree with a small dry creek behind it. I talked to some locals and they say they are playing the tree as the basket until it's put in so that's the way we played the hole our first time out.

One of the things I've learned about mostly open courses is that navigation is usually easy as you have more visibility and this course is the same way. You can plot your way across the course from the first couple of holes if you are smart and look around a little. The course flows back around to hole one and your car in a big circle.
Cons: Many of the throws require the same thing over and over; you throw over the top of some small trees or bushes to a basket in an open field. If they planted a bunch of trees in the fairways and then wait ten years this course would be awesome but until then it gets stale by the time you reach the last quarter of the holes.

This could be good or bad depending on your outlook but you could play this course with a straight control driver or mid range and a putter and probably score better than your buddy and his backpack full of 30 warp speed drivers.
Other Thoughts: Others speak of nasty rough which I didn't really experience. Maybe I played it right after they mowed or maybe I've lived in Washington too long and am used to our nasty underbrush on every course that this didn't bother me. I never looked for a disc for longer than 30 seconds if that. I like the idea that they are mowing a fairway and leaving the rest long, you could even play the long stuff as out of bounds if your heart desires.

The previous reviewer summed up this course best in his header when he said "Solid but not Spectacular". I would agree.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Solid but not Spectacular

1    9/6/2014   9/6/2014
Review By: Wise Fool
Played: 122  Reviewed: 114  Exp: 5.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Course is very easy to navigate. There are mowed paths between each basket to the next tee-pad. The fairways are mowed and lead straight to the basket so even if you can't see the basket from the fairway its pretty easy to have an idea of where to throw. Also each tee-pad has a posted painted white and the posts are tall enough that they are easy to pick-out.
-The baskets are brand new, in awesome shape and catch very well.
-The tee-pads are nice and long and allow for a good run-up.
-Good use of the available trees and terrian. Hole 4-6 use the trees well to make some narrow fairways and then holes 14-16 make good use of the trees near the dry creek. Holes 12 and 13 use an available mound very well. Hole 12 is situated on top of the mound and hole 13 plays through a dip in the mound to make a somewhat narrow tee-shot.
-While the land doesn't have a huge amount of elevation change, what is available was incorporated well into the course.
-The fairways are mowed, which helps with the tall grass and adds a little challenge to some of the holes.
-Practice basket and driving range available
Cons: -There is lots of tall nasty grass and reeds if you go off of the mowed fairway. There are quite a few good opportunities to lose a disc on this course.
-The tee-pads are dirt and after a rain get really muddy and can lead to some bad footing.
-No tee-signs, since some baskets can blend in with the surroundings it would be nice to have a layout of the hole, but since this a a new course, hopefully those are in the works.
-While the available land was used well, this is still at times not the most ideal land for a course. There are a lot of straight shots and the course doesn't require a huge variety of shots. And a few holes can repetitive at times
-Overall, I didn't feel like any of the holes on this course felt extremely long, though there are a couple over 400, even though they didn't feel like they were over 400.
-Hole 7 basket is missing but from what I hear that is coming with the grand opening of the course, so the missing basket should just be temporary.
-At times the banks of the dry creek can be really steep and having to climb up the slopes can be a little slippery.
-A few of the mowed fairways seemed a little narrow, it would be nice if they could be mowed a little wider.
Other Thoughts: When I first heard there was a course going onto this piece of land, I was a little skeptical because having driven by it quite a few times, it didn't seem like a good fit for a course. The designers did a good job of using the available terrain well and this is an enjoyable course if you are in the area. With concrete tee-pads, tee-signs, and a more beatdown of the tall brush this course could easily earn a higher score.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Review of new littleton Course

1    8/19/2014   8/20/2014
Review By: TheBrownZombie
Played: 46  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 0.3 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -Great mix of long and short holes
-Nicely groomed fairways
-Posts with 4 hooks to hold things like your bad or your dogs lease
-Nice natural tee boxes
-Nice mix of new and mature trees to make the course harder
-Great views of the foothills
Cons: -Could be hard to play during a windy day
-Hole 7 is still not in but they have a stake in place of where the basket will be
-Wasnt an issue for me, I was able to drive straight down the fairways but if you release to early or late and your disc goes into a field you may have a hard time finding your disc so make sure you watch the exact area your disc lands and it should be pretty easy to find your disc since the grass is not too high
-Would be nice to see some nice tee box signs with pictures and distances to make it official
-They should put in a course map when you first pull into the parking lot to start the course for people who have never played there before
Other Thoughts: I have lived in Littleton for over 4 years and there are a lot of 9 holes courses that are ok like Arapahoe CC DGC, Schaefer. The only other 18 hole that is within town is the David Lorenz DGC and I have gotten bored of these courses and I am glad to say that this new course has a great mix of short/long holes and has tons of Obstacles and this will now become my new favorite hometown course.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Fun Course

2-4    8/15/2014   8/16/2014
Review By: ihdisc
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 19.7 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Fun course with some variety, placement shots for birds, long holes for hucking, trees (what exist) are used for good effect, total distance of course including between holes/tees makes for a fun day of chucking, most holes the vegetation is low grass so even without mowing discs are easy to find
Cons: Teepads are dirt and will get rutted out if not maintained, not too terribly technical, still pretty wild on some holes where tall/thick grass finding discs can require searching
Other Thoughts: When I heard about this course and the location, I was thinking another wide-open course, I was surprised at how fun this course was. For most Pro players, the challenge will not be that great to finish under par. I can see rec/am players who play this course alot will gain tons of skill and improve their game. Overall, worth playing regardless of skill level

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

GREAT LOCATION

5+    7/28/2014   7/28/2014
Review By: MIkeyMikeCO
Played: 9  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 0.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I love the fact that this course was built and designed by volunteers. They did a great job with the space available.

The course is very easy to walk and easy to go from hole to hole. The bag hooks on each tee bad are very nice to have.

Great views of the foothills on every hole. The course sits next to a road but you do not hear the traffic while you are playing at all.

The use of the land is great. There are some nice long holes and some technical stuff.

The location is great. Just on the edge of the city in Littleton and very easy to get to.
Cons: The grass is very long. Once the vegetation is knocked down by foot traffic and a good snow this course will be a lot of fun to play and easier to find you disc if it lands in the long stuff.

I appreciate there being a practice basket put it was put in crooked so that is a little challenging to practice.
Other Thoughts: This course will only get better the more it is played. I would love to see some man made OB's to add some challenge and a mando here or there would be awesome. I love that it is 5 minutes from my house and will play again.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Nice course in the city

1    7/18/2014   7/21/2014
Review By: JesseA303
Played: 27  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Challenging course. There are quite a few long holes but there is also a nice mix of short holes that require a good throw from the tee to hit that birdie. Nice bag holders at every tee box. Tee boxes were fairly close to the previous basket.
Cons: Long grass could definitely use a mowing. Keep an eye on where your disc lands as we had to search for discs in the long stuff a few times. Missing baskets on a few of the holes. The tee boxes are clay rather than concrete which isnt a big con, just not sure they are going to hold up all that well over time.
Other Thoughts: The designers did a great job using the land provided. It is fairly wide open the first few holes but they did a good job after those making sure the trees along the creek came into play. The course could use some trash cans every few holes. Signage needs to be installed at all holes to show distance. Once the remaining baskets are put in this will be a really nice course, but dont let that deter you as the basket placements are in place. We just used the wood stakes as a temp basket. Look for orange flagging tape when a basket isnt visible from the tee box. Will definitely review again and give a higher rating when the missing baskets are installed.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Not to shabby

1    7/20/2014   7/20/2014
Review By: jjwall
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Great setup, lots of variety, good length. Is set up for right handers that throw front handed. Would be tougher for right hand back hand throwers or leftys
Cons: Dissapointing it is missing baskets, there is no water so need for a brdige.

Really needs signs for distance
Other Thoughts: Cant wait to see it finished

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Needs work

1    7/11/2014   7/14/2014
Review By: Gumby23
Played: 102  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 19.3 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Lots of land. Nice course and pin layout on a few holes. Good distance.
Cons: Missing 4 baskets, tee 17 hard to find. No signage. Needs mowing badly.
Other Thoughts: Wear boots and long pants. Keep s close eye on your disc, heavy brush/tall grass. I don't think the course should be opened until more prepared.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

has great potential

1    7/13/2014   7/14/2014
Review By: Sarahbellum
Played: 25  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 1.3 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great course layout, logs to sit on throughtout, bag hanger/hooks are always a nice touch :-) terrain varies as well as basket placement. Course has mixture of short distances, long distance and technical shots.
Cons: Baskets are missing at #4,#5 & #6. Major disc hazards at #12 & #18. #12 has lots of thick brush and water. While #18 has lots of brush. Could benefit from a little terrain cleanup between baskets 13 to 16. Walked away from course with shoelaces full of stickers.
Other Thoughts: I think once this course wears in, it will be much more enjoyable. Could benefit from some maps/ signage. Overall I enjoyed it!

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Fair

1    7/13/2014   7/14/2014
Review By: seancapps
Played: 24  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.3 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Close to our home. It has bag hooks. The next tee is close to the basket of last hole. There are some long holes and a couple short holes. It is kind of challenging and yet easy to play.
Cons: Two or three baskets are missing right now. It needs to be mowed pretty bad.
Other Thoughts: It could use some signage. Put the missing baskets up and it will be complete. It can be easy to loose a disc if you don't watch where they land.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.