High Point, NC 
Johnson Street Park Share
Uploaded By: axl_rose Hole #1
3 / 228ft.   3 / 301ft.   3 / 320ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Blue Tee



Reviews: 44
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Solid Course

1    4/28/2009   7/23/2012
Review By: timbur3
Played: 75  Reviewed: 51  Exp: 7.3 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Nice concrete tee pads and great baskets. The course was very well kept up. Not many long holes but making them go through the woods made them challenging
Cons: The one hole was underneath a huge powerline which was kinda scary but otherwise not much to complain about except some of the signs are gone.
Other Thoughts: Great challenging course. If you are nearby I would recommend anyone play it.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/21/2012   6/22/2012
Review By: SkipAce
Played: 64  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 12.1 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Like the layout with optional pads.
You can make this a easy or difficult course.
Great group of local players.
Cons: Signs have been missing on most holes for over a year. Trash cans are always full. The new benches are nice but some are in flight path.
Other Thoughts: We should add a sign up sheet for work days. Have several chores that local players can sign up to do. If just a few people pitched in every week we could turn this into a nicer place to throw.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 An oldy but goody

1    5/19/2012   5/20/2012
Review By: New013
Played: 136  Reviewed: 91  Exp: 4.1 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Layout - Perhaps the most obvious plus to this course is its nice blending of hole types. You go in and out the woods seemlessly and the course has a really good flow. It also does a nice job of mixing up hole lengths as well as offering multiple teepads for different skill levels.

The course does an okay job of forcing different shots, it won't test every shot in your bag. There are a lot of holes where throwing straight and accurate is pretty much all it takes, especially from the gold tees which uses tight early gaps to create most of the difficulty.

Equipment - The teepads are nice and large, plus flush with the ground. When there were signs still on the post they were very informative and easy to understand.

Atmosphere - The course is just there for disc golf from what I could tell so it's just you and other discers out there, always a plus. The course flowed really well and it was easy to tell where you were going next.
Cons: Layout - The course only does an okay job of forcing different throws. It would be nice if the multiple pads created much different holes but essentially the golds were made hard by sticking you behind a tight gap at the beginning. Most of the fairways are gap hitting types and a lot of holes only had one route.

The green designs aren't the best, the baskets aren't in positions that really make your accuracy on approach key. There's also not very much risk/reward within the course, you either hit the gap or you don't. Not a lot of elevation change on the course either,

Equipment - Baskets are old and should probably be updated. Most of the signs were ripped down and thus it was hard to find the gold tee in some situations; sometimes I couldn't find it or tell if I was on the gold or blue.

Atmosphere - The park is older and not the most pristine place you'll ever go. It wasn't dirty but you can tell it's aged. There's not really one hole you can look at and say this is the signature hole.
Other Thoughts: My plan was to play this course twice, once from both blue and gold. After I was done playing I didn't really feel like playing it again. I enjoyed it but it's nothing so spectactular that you have to come back.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    3/24/2010   3/28/2010
Review By: DSCJNKY
Played: 274  Reviewed: 130  Exp: 13.1 Years
This review was updated on 4/1/2010
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
- Open, Woods, Open, Woods. I love how the course transitions from the Open to the Woods and then back out into the Open and then back into the Woods every few holes; especially when the Open shots still contain the threat of accidentally throwing a bad shot into the Woods.
- Good Course. Although, on the whole, this course is probably average or slightly better than average… (i.e. Johnson Street is pretty good, but not the most EPIC course I've ever played)… there are some really good holes here. Holes 2, 3, 4, 6, 12, 14, 15, and 18 stand out to me… and several others were good too. There didn't really seem to be any, what I would call, Filler Holes.
- Multiple Tees. There were white, blue and gold tees on almost every whole. This allows people of various skill levels to choose the experience they want to have. And… there were lots of people out here with widely varying skill levels.
- DG Only. The entire park was dedicated to disc golf. Not a walking path, basketball court, baseball field… nothing for the non-disc golfer.
Cons:
- Erosion. It appears as though there is only 1 pin position per basket because the amount of erosion around a lot of the pins is substantial. Large sections of grass surrounding various tees and pins have been worn away… and judging from the "fossilized" muddy footprints, these areas appear to get very muddy after it rains.
- Tee-Signs. Most of the tee-signs were broken and/or missing. Even though most of the holes are pretty straight forward in that you can see the entire hole… having broken or missing equipment just isn't aesthetically pleasing. And determining the length of the Hole is hard for first time players (i.e proper disc selection).
Other Thoughts:
- Tons of Golfers. The course was packed. People were everywhere (which is a pro and a con)… Pro because more players is better than a ghost-town; and, Con because it could get impossibly backed-up. Although, from my experience there (2 rounds), the course had good flow and didn't seem to get as badly backed up as the number of players would indicate.
- Tee-Pads. The tee-pads were both a pro and a con for me. The pro is that they were concrete. The con in that they were too short. However, even though they were short, I was easily able to start off the backside of all the tee-pads and simply use the concrete portion of the tee-pad for the final 3 steps of my 5 step approach.
- Needs Sprucing Up. There definitely seemed to be enough locals that they could easily spruce this place up a little. Alternate pin positions, new tee-signs, spreading of mulch piles, etc… Schedule a work day and do a little preventative maintenance.
- My Score: -3 from the Blues

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 oldy but goody

2-4    2/25/2010   2/25/2010
Review By: 1978
Played: 178  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 6.1 Years
This review was updated on 8/24/2010
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice beginner course for all levels. Holes vary left,right, and straight with a little bit of elevation. It is nice to have a disc golf only park. 3 sets of tee pads per hole create a lot of variety for the local disc golfers. Course seems to be well maintained and the holes are defined. There are some holes that I imagine would be very pretty in the summer. You can watch your disc flight to the basket on more than half of the holes. The layout is good and pretty easy to follow, even with the damaged tee signs.
Even though we have had A LOT of rain lately the course was in really good condition. I saw no trash on the course.
Tee pads have a really rough texturing. A few holes are long enough to air out a shot, especially with a mid range or shorter driver. The big bomb guys wont be able to however.

Tee Signs look great. Hopefully the local Am's take care of them.
Cons: The Oak Hollow crew has done a lot here so I have updated this a bit.
Pads:
Tee boxes are really short, most are somewhere around 6ft long. I cannot believe that no one has mentioned how short they are. Everyone I know that has played there mentions this. To get a normal run-up on many of them you have to start then step up onto the pad. I would almost prefer natural pads. Most of the pads are shaped in a trapazoid but with the narrow end in front. You have to start on a short pad and then you get funneled to the middle of a pad too. *THe club has added some retaining walls to help with step offs after throws.
Layout:
Probably my biggest problem was with the proximity of pads to nearby fairways. I would say 60% of the teep pads are directly off the fairway of another hole, not near a pin but where short shots would come in hot. I have read that this can be a very crowded course. It must be pretty dangerous too then. The last tournament I played here we had discs almost hit us on 7 different holes and our group had to yell "fore" at least 6 more times. Please stay vigilant if you play here.
Design and Upkeep:
Because of the amount of play there is a lot of erosion. Recently work has been done to shore up greens, fairways, and tee pads. This however was done a little late and you can see that in some areas 6-12" of topsoil has eroded. A few holes you are throwing into ring of rotted logs and sticks that were placed there to stop erosion. I actually had to push a basket back to straight up and down because a green had lost so much soil. Now that walls and erosion controls are in place. A few loads of fill dirt would do wonders to level greens and give the tree roots something to dig into. This course will continue to lose trees until all erosion issues are fixed and some of the dirt is replaced.
Asthetics:
This was a negative, but now a positive in my edit.
Baskets:
The old style baskets can be hard to see in the woods, but thats not a real problem. I found hole 12's basket pushed over at a 30 degree angle and straightened it. The loss of soil has allowed 4-5 pole anchors to be weakened and the baskets are tipped at various angles.

No actual bathrooms.
Other Thoughts: I have increased my review from 2.5 to 3 with the erosion control and signage updates. Unfortunatly the erosion control was done with rotted fallen trees so this solution is temporary. I can see a big issue in the future with rotted trees gone and rebar poking up out of the ground. The course just doesn't stack up in any area (pads, length, difficulty, layout, "extras") to any of the 3.5-4* rated courses that I have played or reviewed. I review based on my experience on all courses I have played not just with a narrow view of local area courses. If I lived in the area, I would play here often. I, however, have seen a lot of courses that are in better shape than this course. This is why I gave it a "good" rating. Not great, not terrible just middle of the road 3. Real thought needs to be put into how to prevent erosion from the fairways and around baskets. Even with the erosion and signage fixed, I would not be able to rate this course a 4 or over. The tee pads are just way too small and the layout is too dangerous. Remember a 5 is a perfect course that cannot be made better.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Johnson Street Park

2-4    12/28/2009   12/29/2009
Review By: richardmmill
Played: 48  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 12.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good use of land. Nice elevation changes and a little creek runs through some of the back nine. Nice moving in and out of woods. Concrete tee pads, with multiple tees, a white blue and yellow. Baskets were in pretty good condition. Good elements of difficulty, mostly just trees and where the tees were placed. From hole to hole it wasn't too hard to find the next tee.
Cons: Signs, I hate to say but they were pretty awful. Not very helpful when there were there, and most of them did not exist. If they did they they did not give the distances for all three tee. Most of the time just distance of the blue maybe the blue and the white tees. Course was very muddy due to poor drainage. One hole on the back nine was long in an open field with a giant power line tower in the middle of it unnatural obstacle. Even though the course had concrete tees they were very short. This might be fine when it is not very muddy but with the mud you could hardly even take two steps on the tee pad.
Other Thoughts: Even though I had a lot of gripes about the course the lay out and the holes are very well set up. All the cons really brought it down for me but the few pros were very nice. Thats why I gave it a 3.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 pleasant surprise

1    5/8/2009   5/8/2009
Review By: dobsonr
Played: 22  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 6.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has a great mix of open and wooded holes. The course really seems to make a good use of space - the terrain is nicely varied and each hole is different from the next. Each hole has several tees which allow players of all skill levels to enjoy playing here. The course is easy to navigate without a map - each basket is right by the tee for the next hole.
Cons: There really aren't many cons to this course - it isn't the most interesting course in the world, but it's designed well and is enjoyable to play. If you're in the High Point area it is definitely worth checking out.
Other Thoughts: I played this course while in town for my sister's graduation. I wasn't expecting much, but was pleasantly surprised. The course is well-maintained, easy to find, easy to navigate, fun to play, and the locals were friendly - what more can you ask for?

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

6/17/2008   6/17/2008
Review By: joshdarkstar
Played: 9  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 19.4 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Course is very easy to find. Three tee setups at each hole gives you a nice change in difficulty. Very nice looking course
Cons: The next tee can be difficult to find at times. Pretty buggy in the wooded areas. Not every pin is mapped out at the tee which can make it difficult to see.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.