High Point, NC 
Johnson Street Park Share
Uploaded By: axl_rose Hole #1
3 / 228ft.   3 / 301ft.   3 / 320ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Basket



Reviews: 44
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Now That's a Mix

1    11/16/2013   11/20/2013
Review By: reposado
Played: 176  Reviewed: 175  Exp: 3.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Johnson Street really does provide some of everything. It's got wooded holes, with tight but not overly tight fairways and it has some open holes, where the big dogs will get a chance to eat. It's got some shorter holes, (200 feet) where shots will need to be placed carefully, and its got longer holes, (450 feet) so it's possible to bomb on a few tees. It's got sharp climbs, gradual descents and even a few flat ones. It's got holes that finish to the left, to the right and one (15) that can be played either way. It's got tunnel shots, blind throws and a few that pass over a creek. And that's just for the blue tees.

Before I get more specific, I should say that the three sets of tees at Johnson Street are among the best at providing three sets of difficulties that I have seen. I played the blues and while those made for a great round, I could see other players preferring the options here. The white tees, from what I saw, looked very easy. Much easier lines. Much better ace opportunities. They're probably a lot of fun. The gold tees, meanwhile, looked very challenging. Playing from appropriate tees, players of almost any ability could enjoy this course. At the same time, it provides a ton of variety for locals.

But back to the blue layout, which i found to be chock full of interesting lines and fairways. It starts out with a long open run across a well-kept meadow. Then bam, a tight, 280-foot funnel shot with a slightly-rightward finish. From there is to continues to mix up open holes with tightly-wooded ones and some that have a bit of both. It flows very well between the different types and it's just a nice variety that makes for a solid round.

My favorite hole, other than the tunnel on 2, is 12. Players descend from the 11 basket to the bed of a creek. (for both blue and gold) The water bubbles past as the golfer tees of up, over the creek as it bends away to the right and then up a sharp incline and around a grove of tees to a basket that is only 234 feet away, but plays much longer.

I also like how on many of the holes the difficulty comes from a narrow gap somewhere in the fairway. The whole fairway isn't as tight as sections of it. (Not that this is something I love in general, but it's a nice change-up from many area courses that feature mostly consistent fairway width.) All in all, a solid course that I'd like to get back to and have a try at the other sets of tees.
Cons: The main thing that I didn't like is the hole(14) that goes by the electrical equipment. There is a mando informing you to go around it but my disc is unfortunately illiterate and once its left my hand, its out of my control. It probably doesn't affect too many rounds but it not something I like to think about on the course.

That also ties somewhat into the atmosphere being not great. It's not a bad area or anything but in many ways the park shows its age. It's not out of the way, really and roads are somewhat close to some of the holes. Not to the point where they affect play but the course doesn't have the wilderness feel that many in the state do.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A Perfect Mix

5+    2/28/2012   2/29/2012
Review By: kvillegreek
Played: 18  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.6 Years
This review was updated on 3/6/2012
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Perfect mix of open, wooded, up hill, down hill, and length
- Well maintained
- Challengening enough for all skill types
Cons: - Hole 18 should be a par 4 from the whites
- Can be very crowded
Other Thoughts: I would consider this my home course. I've played it many times and each time it's very enjoyable. The beauty of this course is it never gets old.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Home Course

5+    8/25/2011   8/26/2011
Review By: NCSU2002
Played: 46  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 15 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good Mix of Short and Long, Right and Left,.
There are 3 tees, White has lots of Ace and Birdie Ops, Blue is a little farther with tougher angles, and the gold are long and tight right off the tee, sometimes with absurd angles and lines.
All these are nice, concrete tees--how often do you see that?? 3 tees per hole??
This course flows well, tees are easy to find
Markers on most holes reflecting distance and elevation
There are several baskets with a creek, road, or drop behind them which adds to challenge.
Cons: If you slip up a bit it is easy to loose a disc in the OB areas, water, power station, residential backyards.
Alot of the bridges, benches, and upkeep are a bit behind
No water onsite
I tend to spend a lot of time looking for my disc on a couple of the back 9 holes
There is alot of traffic at this course compared to most others and you will have to join up with 2-3 other people to keep pace with the other groups at busy times.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course, I really like this as a home course. They have weekly tournaments and lots of cool guys to play with

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 High Point

1    3/19/2011   3/24/2011
Review By: BobStutts
Played: 19  Reviewed: 18
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A great use of tight shots through the woods and good use of Piedmont elevation. Also long shots available on 18 and a few other holes. Need to be able to curve both directions which is always good. No other activity except disc golf which is great. Good markings and plenty of benches.
Cons: A little erosion is making some of the pads capable of turning an ankle if stepping off. Other than that great.
Other Thoughts: It is a disc golf course only. Therefore the lack of amenities was of no consequence. There was a porta-john and a practice basket.

I went on a Saturday on my way home from Charlotte. There were around 8-10 groups playing. I was at least 40 years older than anyone on the course. If the young adults I met are typical of High Point someone is doing a great job of raising the next generation. What a pleasure to meet them.

As for finding the park when you turn off the highway it is a right turn just before the fire station. It does not have a big park sign.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/6/2010   7/15/2010
Review By: Plankeye
Played: 40  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 14.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1)Different layouts cater to the different skill level of players.

2)The transition from one hole's basket to the next hole's teepad is generally straight forward. The only two teepads that are hard to find from the previous hole's basket are Gold 7 and Gold 15.

3)This course only caters to disc golfers.

4)Teepads are a decent size for the shots that are required for this course. However the areas around the teepads coulld use some work(see cons).

5)Great mixture of open holes and tight wooded holes.

6)Different holes test different types of shots and several holes have different routes to the basket.
Cons: 1)The only amenities are a shelter and a port-a-potty.

2)The areas around some of the teepads are worn down from erosion. After a downpour, there are often puddles either behind or in front of the tee box.

3)Over the years, due to weather or casual players, many trees have fallen making several holes a lot easier.

4)Some of the benches need to be replaced or repaired
Other Thoughts: As mentioned earlier, this is a great course to test all of your disc golf skills.

The course just won a Innova Grant to have the signs replaced. This should probably be completed before mid August. The tee signs will include not only tee to basket distance but also elevation change, if any.

IMO, the most challenging holes are 11 and 15 Gold.

11 Gold is challenging as you have to make it through a gate of trees near the tee. I have seen many good players hit a tree early on this hole which causes them to scramble to save a 4, or if they are lucky a 3.

Gold is a downhill tunnel shot that eventually turns from left to right. What makes this hole difficult is just making it through the tunnel to a point where you can get up and down to save a 3. I have only heard of 1 or 2 guys make a 2 on this hole.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    4/15/2010   4/21/2010
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 160  Reviewed: 156  Exp: 10.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Classic, have-it-all disc golf course. Course uses the terrain to the best of its capability.
- This is a disc-golf only park. Yup, no sharing the space with other park users, especially the type who think the fairways are all extra walking trails. This gives a strong presence of solitude, even though you're right next to a main road, and houses that back up to the course.
- A perfect mix of holes, from tight, wooded holes (#8, 15) to wide open (#13 & 14) to uphill & downhills (#8 & 12 up; #2 &7 down), up-n-down holes, doglegs and everything in between. Some courses feel like they're forcing holes (we need another dogleg/tight/etc, so let's put a basket right here); these all flow great where you never feel your playing the same shot too frequently.
- Nice, big, angled tee pads. Very few courses have angled tee pads, which I think is an underrated benefit for players.
- Good, descriptive map available online. Course is pretty easy to navigate that you won't really need one.
- 3 sets of tees make the course playable for all skill levels. I was pleasantly surprised how much tougher the gold (long) tees played than the blue (middle) tees. A lot of times, when you play from different tees, you feel you're playing the same exact shot, only 50-100 feet longer. This presented a good variety of different, and tougher shots.
- Good flow to the holes. #9 & 18 both lead right back to the parking lot, allowing for you to easily tee off on #10 or only play 9 holes, if needed.
Cons: Course has no amenities at all, other than a covered picnic area. No water fountains or bathrooms - port-a-jon only. Be sure to bring your own drinks.
- As with many older courses, erosion starting to take places on hills. Wooded holes have essentially been reduced to all dirt fairways.
- Tee pads could use a fresh coat of paint. Each tee pad has a painted line on it, indicating it's layout - white, blue, gold. On most holes you can easily tell the 3 tees without the paint, but on several the blue & gold tees are essentially next to each other, so it's not as easy.
- Arrows or signs would be nice pointing towards the out-of-the-way gold tee pads. The tee pad for #7 gold is on the other side of #6 fairway, 200 feet from the other other tee pads. I couldn't find the gold tee for #9.
- Some holes cross close to other holes, so you have to keep an eye out for other players or discs suddenly appearing. #1 & 9 play toward each other in opposite direction, as do #11 & 17 and #13 & 16. Also the long tee for #17 is right in front of the short tee for #12.
Other Thoughts: I was pleasantly surprised by how much I liked this course. This is a very good, challenging course from the gold (long) tees. It was much easier from the blue (middle) tees.
- Course reminds me a lot of Yadkinville or a longer/tougher version of Reedy Creek.
- There are some good holes on this course, many with a great risk/reward factor. #2, 7 & 10 are all tough, narrow shots to baskets. Throw straight and birdie is a real possibility, hit a tree and you could be scrambling for par. #18 is a good, long closing hole, forcing you to throw a couple good shots for your par.
- My favorite hole, and one of the best visual holes anywhere, is #12. You tee off next to a creek, throwing an uphill shot through the trees to the basket. It's not a long hole (gold plays 266 ft), but an errant shot might ricochet off a tree into the creek. The hole is birdieable as long as you're willing to let the water come into play.
- Solid course that everyone in the area needs to play. Gold layout is in the 3.75 - 4 range; blue is in the 3 range, so it's a well-earned 3.5 overall for the course.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 HOME OF WIGGINS

5+    3/31/2010   3/31/2010
Review By: mhdisc03
Played: 20  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 13.9 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: love this course. suits the all around golfer. has field mixed with woods. 3 sets of pads but the shorts pads are like junior pads. locals are cool.WOODS ARE NOT TIGHT OF HURTFUL IF YOU STRAY INTO THE RUFF.no woods hole over 350 and field over 450. great atmosphere out there
Cons: no water fountain.BRING PLENTY OF WATER
Other Thoughts: dont foget to take in the scenery of the future world champion david wiggins jr!

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 A solid Carolina course

5+    9/20/2009   3/9/2010
Review By: Olorin
Played: 302  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 35.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/28/2010
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
My Enjoyment Rating: 7.5 (out of 10)
This is the first 7.5 I've given because I was torn. I like a it little more than a 7 but just a little less than an 8. So here on DGCR I'd give it a 3.75 if I could.

Design:
I really enjoy the variety of having 3 course layouts with varying degrees of difficulty. If I want a birdie fest I'll play the White tees. If I want a challenge suitable to my skill level I'll play the Blue tees (my drives average about 280 ft). If I want to test myself with a real challenge (and be humbled) I'll play the Gold tees. The fairways offer good variety, are well shaped, and have many fun shots. There's also good foliage variety with many of the holes in the woods, but many with scattered trees, and a few that are relatively open. In the woods the undergrowth isn't thick, so your discs don't get lost very easily. There's also good elevation variety with lots of ups and downs, but mostly moderate elevation changes.

As for Amenities, there are tons of bunches and trash cans, a decent message board, and an average map online (but it doesn't have the Gold layout on it). The basket for 18 Gold can also be used for warming up your putting.
Cons:
The course is showing some sings of age, and this is mostly in the Basics:
-Signs: some are broken, some are old with a very basic hand painted map.
-Tees: concrete, but mostly too short, even though some are trapezoids (a design that I like).
-Baskets: average. Some are kind of old, and since they're gray Mach IIIs, a few in the woods are a bit hard to find.

Amenities
-Online Scorecards need hole lengths
Other Thoughts:
White Tees Course Level: White (most suited for Intermediate players rated 900.)
Blue Tees Course Level: Blue (most suited for Advanced players rated 950)

There are a variety of left and right dogleg holes, but with each layout over half are straight, and that's more than I usually prefer. Also, long throwers will probably think that the White and Blue tee layouts are too short.
OK, the course is showing some signs of age here and there; it's like a guy in his mid 40s with some gray around the temples. But I've played here many times over the years and I always enjoy the course. It's still a fun NC course that's well worth playing.

A note about my rating: My rating is a subjective measure of my enjoyment of the course, on the day I played it, and it is NOT intended to be a measure of the quality of the course. My ratings are given "on the curve" in relation to all other courses I've played.
-More detailed "Overall Rating" notes and "Hole-by-hole Ratings" are available in the Files section.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Trey133

5+    1/2/2010   1/14/2010
Review By: Trey133
Played: 15  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 6.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 3 sets of teepads for beginner to advanced.
Course is well broken in, tight wooded lines with clear paths to the basket.
Small elevation changes keep away monotomy.
Some very scenic shots, Hole 4, 12, 14, come to mind.
Disc golf only park!
Good league action, Tuesdays 5:30pm
Cons: This course is short, you can not really practice many open bombs.
Signage has been lagging, steps are being taken to fix that.
The residents on some holes aren't very recieving of disc golfers, try not to pull one OB on 13 and 14.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course for those serious about disc golf as the course is centered around a good club with several top amatuers and pros. David Wiggins Jr's home course!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Sweet little gem

1    12/29/2009   12/29/2009
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 199  Reviewed: 145  Exp: 5.6 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Three concrete tee pads for almost every hole. You can play the one that best fits your ability or mood. Signs on most holes giving distance and an indication of basket placement. Fairways that were tight, but had an achievable line to target. Wooded holes with a few wide open bombs available. Fair to both RHBH and RHFH players. Exclusively used for disc golf so no other park users to mess with your round. Nice gazebo for lunch or a rest. Small creek in play on some holes, but not big enough to be a real disc eater.
Cons: Some signs were missing at teepads. Baskets were sometimes hard to spot. Need better flags or colored marker to distinguish them in the woods.
Other Thoughts: Nothing bad about this course. Everything was very good. Fix the signs and make the baskets more visible and I might even bump this up to a 4 someday. No truly great holes, but they are all pretty good. Next time I go I will have to try the longest pads. I played the blue and they were good. Long pads look real tough in some spots.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.