High Point, NC
Johnson Street Park Share
Uploaded By: Plankeye Hole #1 (Taken 7/2010)
3 / 228ft.   3 / 301ft.   3 / 320ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Gold Tee



Reviews: 44
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Great mix, great course!

1    2/21/2008   3/21/2014
Review By: luckypeak
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Great flow
- challenging
- Good mix of shots
- Course was clean
Cons: -pro tees are challenging, but i see that as a pro.
Other Thoughts: One of the first courses i played when i started playing back in 1998. Great course.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Still wonderful, but now even better.

5+    8/9/2013   8/9/2013
Review By: Tenacious EJ
Played: 24  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 20.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Good mix of open and wooded holes
-Nice elevation changes
-Excellent course that requires skill at tight fairways, turns both right and left, and the need for a powerful arm.
-Beautiful new signage, tee pads, and extra benches
Cons: -Can get damp
-One of the busiest courses around
-The difficulty curve between the blue and white tees is very high
-Hole 14 has been ruined, where once it was one of the coolest holes in disc golf
-The fairways can come very close together and come into play with each other due to errant shots off of thick trees
Other Thoughts: I first played Johnson St on a cold, snowy, Winter day in December 1993. Since then, it has undergone few changes, but most of them have been vast improvements. Without question its the most technically challenging course in the area. It has white, blue, and gold tees which allows for varying levels of play, which is always appreciated, but I feel like some of the blue tees are closer to gold throws (hole 10 especially) and as a result it seems there is a very high jump in difficulty from white to blue. One of the most difficult aspects of Johnson St is that due to the elevation changes, even the shorter holes feel long. Add in a fairly wooded course and you've got a really tough course. When it gets busy, as it does on weekends between March and November, you'll be sitting between holes, so if you're the type of golfer whose arm gets cold quickly when you have to wait on others, expect this to factor into your play. Thankfully, due to a recent number of course improvements by the Oak Hollow Disc Golfers, there are additional benches for those forced to wait. Speaking of improvements, the new tee signs are beautiful. In fact, the whole course is beautiful, its just too bad that so many people abuse the course- the trash left around this course is unacceptable, and the graffiti left on the picnic tables, the benches, and on the shelter itself is vulgar and unnecessary (really?!? throwing away a can of coke under the first basket?). Many of the golfers here must have missed the fact that many holes have dedicated trash cans. It doesn't make the golfing any worse, but its a shame that littering is so common in our sport.

As I said, there are a fair amount of wooded holes. Since there hasn't been much change besides hole 14 in 20+ years, most have been worn down by foot traffic so heavy underbrush isn't really an issue. However, as many of the holes are quite close together, there is a definite possibility of finding the neighboring fairway after bouncing off one of the many large, beautiful trees of the course.

Hole 14. It once required a strong arm and a spectacular throw under a large powerline tower. Now there is a mando on the near side and the hole was shortened considerably. It was a signature hole, now its a simple one.

All in all, Johnson St is one of the nicest walks around. Its really beautiful, challenging, and fun, and if you're travelling through its definitely not the course to pass up.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


2-4    9/15/2012   9/15/2012
Review By: der Turkey Vulture
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -White, Blue, & Gold tee boxes give lots of playing options. Furthermore, they're well marked and each is concrete.
-Strong mix of open and wooded holes.
-DG dedicated park so everyone is there for the same purpose
-Well manicured lawn area, particularly reflected on holes 1, 5, 6 & 9
-Reasonable elevation changes
-In town, but accessible quickly by highway
Cons: -The tee markers are laminated paper and starting to show weather damage
Other Thoughts: Though a bit of a drive, this is my favorite 'local' course. It's got some challenging, tight demands off the tee on multiple holes and almost as many open and forgiving holes.
What makes this significantly better for me is the detail taken on keeping it looking sharp. It's a beautiful area and manicured to keep it so. Glad to see a dedicated park in the area, maintained by the county and looking so good.
The only drawback for me is the tee markers really don't do justice given the calibre of everything else.
Still, a pleasure to play.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great Mix - Must Play

1    3/28/2012   3/29/2012
Review By: grhomes
Played: 44  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5 Years
Pros: Wide variety of shots: hyzers and annies*(sp?) both up and down. Great mix of uphill and downhill, wooded and open. Risk and reward shots. Mando hole as well. Very well designed, optimal and efficient layout (holes 9 and 18 finish near each other, next to where 1 tee pad/parking lot are. Three sets of pads all concrete (huge bonus for that)
Cons: I played from the blues (middle pads, probably considered the pro pad). The golds are the insane pads, which is alright I guess, but from looking at the basket from each gold tee (some holes share blue/gold) there were a few standalone gold pads that weren't even remotely realistic. Also the blue pad on 1 seems to be a nuisance for those waiting to play from whites (because they are going to have to get out of the way) and the shelter at 1 could feasibly be in play as well. Signage was well done, where there were still signs (maybe 8 holes total with signs?)
Other Thoughts: Very nice people in the groups ahead and behind me, those in front allowed me to play through, and when I had trouble finding a disc the group behind me understood and had no problem playing down while I searched. The course was also pretty easy to find, and the holes weren't difficult to locate from one to the other.

 Best Course in the Triad

5+    7/14/2011   7/18/2011
Review By: avillion23
Played: 27  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 11.9 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Three tee pads - White, Blue, and Gold - keep the course interesting to even those that play it weekly and/or daily. The park is well taken care of and clean, for the most part. Good mix of wooded and open holes. Hole distance markers and maps are located at the blue tee pads and give the distances from white, blue, and gold pads.
Cons: No water source on site.
Other Thoughts: This is my home course, so I am a bit partial. If you are looking for a quick round with some quality ace runs, play it from the white tees. If you are looking for a round where you need to use some distance shots, play from the blues. If you are looking for a real challenge with small windows off of the tee box, play the golds. This course has a little of everything for all different levels of players. Only things that would make this course better would be a water source on site and maybe updated baskets.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/15/2011   6/3/2011
Review By: ckDiscItUp
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Fun, not too terribly challenging, anyone can play it, every hole is either birdie or par-able. One of my faves.
Cons: Hole 18 is a killer...even the shorter hole. The 3 times i played that hole, each time i got a 4. hardest hole on the course.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    2/21/2011   2/22/2011
Review By: jksenior
Played: 108  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6.9 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Signs were good including distances from each pad and description when there was something different about the hole (i.e. different basket)
- Multiple tee pads provided a very diverse experience to accommodate all players and
moods.
- Great mix of open vs wooded holes
Cons: - Signs were located on the blue tee pads which sometimes required back-tracking to the gold tees (minor con)
- Tee pads could be longer, particularly for the open, bigger throw holes
Other Thoughts: Really enjoyed this course. I played the gold tees but also threw tee shots from the Blues. Provided a good change from one tee to the other.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Try the Golds

1    3/25/2010   4/1/2010
Review By: windgodd
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I really enjoyed this course, and I look forward to playing it again. I started with 18 from the Blues, and then I did 18 from the Golds. Good flowing layout with some great alley shots. Good length from the longer tee pads.
Cons: Lots of erosion in the park, and watch where you step due to soft ground.
Other Thoughts: Met some locals at the course that were very helpful and down to earth. Stop by and give this park a try. You won't be disappointed.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Triad Royalty

2-4    3/9/2010   2/6/2010
Review By: BrotherDave
Played: 94  Reviewed: 92  Exp: 6.7 Years
This review was updated on 3/9/2010
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Superb mix of wooded and open. Three sets of tees, all of which are fairly well designed, i.e. no real "impossible" shots. Easily navigated as course flows very well with nicely thought out, defined fairways. Disc golf only park so no pesky dog walkers and picnic'ers to worry about. Quite simply some of the best wooded holes in the area. Great scene, locals, etc. Good hole variety as well and the fun factor is cranked to 11 Spinal Tap style by the lovely NC foliage. Tees are small but they're very well poured out, even and smooth. Baskets are numbered via number plate atop of the basket. Has a port-a-john on site, may not sound like a pro but it's better than crapping your pants after your Burger King storms your innards like the Mexicans at the Alamo. Most wooded holes are moderately wooded with defined fairways and occasionally multiple lines to the tee. One of the best courses around from the short/white tees, ample ace runs without the lack of challenges.
Cons: Shows some age and use, i.e. tee signs were in some disrepair but no biggie. Can get pretty congested with the noobs but the course is designed well enough that it flows great even when it's swamped with people. First timers might be misled on which hole to throw to on #18, the farthest one is the practice basket, 18 holes out to the left near the shelter at the end of the tree line. This is a very popular course so congestion is a possibility. A couple of holes run the risk of grip locking your drive into a neighborhood.
Other Thoughts: There's nothing extremely remarkable about this course, it's not a supermodel, it's more like a cute girl you marry because of substance, personality, and b/c it's never ho-hum. The duck definitely flies at midnight. Fave hole: # 2, a lovely downhill tunnel shot with the basket slightly to the right, perfect for those floaty mids or putters and flippy hyzer-flips. There's been some flack about erosion, honestly it's not that bad considering all the rain this course has gotten. I think I saw epic beard man there but wasn't sure b/c he wasn't wearing a fanny pack.

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 A great challenge

5+    10/27/2009   12/27/2009
Review By: ARock
Played: 31  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 10.9 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A long course with many tee shots requiring a big arm to get to the pin. Also, a nice combination of wooded and open holes requiring both left to right and right to left plays. The balance on this course is very nice and I've enjoyed every round I've played here. The 18th hole is a big throw through a wide fairway lined with woods on either side. The uphill nature makes it play very long and you absolutely have to hit the fairway to have any chance at a three.
Cons: Not a whole lot of birdie chances so you better make a bunch of pars and avoid mistakes. There are at least a couple of "chuck and pray" holes and any mistake can be very costly. Be aware of the fences and dogs on the back 9. The hole with the powerlines can have forehands, turned over shots, or wind all take errant discs into someone's back yard.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course and is worth checking out. I love the courses that really challenge the big arms but with accuracy and power, you can make some very rewardings deuces.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.