High Point, NC
Johnson Street Park Share
Uploaded By: Plankeye Hole #3 (Taken 7/2010)
3 / 240ft.   3 / 334ft.   3 / 460ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 White Tee



Reviews: 44
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Home Course

5+    8/25/2011   8/26/2011
Review By: NCSU2002
Played: 38  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 14.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good Mix of Short and Long, Right and Left,.
There are 3 tees, White has lots of Ace and Birdie Ops, Blue is a little farther with tougher angles, and the gold are long and tight right off the tee, sometimes with absurd angles and lines.
All these are nice, concrete tees--how often do you see that?? 3 tees per hole??
This course flows well, tees are easy to find
Markers on most holes reflecting distance and elevation
There are several baskets with a creek, road, or drop behind them which adds to challenge.
Cons: If you slip up a bit it is easy to loose a disc in the OB areas, water, power station, residential backyards.
Alot of the bridges, benches, and upkeep are a bit behind
No water onsite
I tend to spend a lot of time looking for my disc on a couple of the back 9 holes
There is alot of traffic at this course compared to most others and you will have to join up with 2-3 other people to keep pace with the other groups at busy times.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course, I really like this as a home course. They have weekly tournaments and lots of cool guys to play with

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Best Course in the Triad

5+    7/14/2011   7/18/2011
Review By: avillion23
Played: 27  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 11.9 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Three tee pads - White, Blue, and Gold - keep the course interesting to even those that play it weekly and/or daily. The park is well taken care of and clean, for the most part. Good mix of wooded and open holes. Hole distance markers and maps are located at the blue tee pads and give the distances from white, blue, and gold pads.
Cons: No water source on site.
Other Thoughts: This is my home course, so I am a bit partial. If you are looking for a quick round with some quality ace runs, play it from the white tees. If you are looking for a round where you need to use some distance shots, play from the blues. If you are looking for a real challenge with small windows off of the tee box, play the golds. This course has a little of everything for all different levels of players. Only things that would make this course better would be a water source on site and maybe updated baskets.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/15/2011   6/3/2011
Review By: ckDiscItUp
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Fun, not too terribly challenging, anyone can play it, every hole is either birdie or par-able. One of my faves.
Cons: Hole 18 is a killer...even the shorter hole. The 3 times i played that hole, each time i got a 4. hardest hole on the course.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 High Point

1    3/19/2011   3/24/2011
Review By: BobStutts
Played: 19  Reviewed: 18
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A great use of tight shots through the woods and good use of Piedmont elevation. Also long shots available on 18 and a few other holes. Need to be able to curve both directions which is always good. No other activity except disc golf which is great. Good markings and plenty of benches.
Cons: A little erosion is making some of the pads capable of turning an ankle if stepping off. Other than that great.
Other Thoughts: It is a disc golf course only. Therefore the lack of amenities was of no consequence. There was a porta-john and a practice basket.

I went on a Saturday on my way home from Charlotte. There were around 8-10 groups playing. I was at least 40 years older than anyone on the course. If the young adults I met are typical of High Point someone is doing a great job of raising the next generation. What a pleasure to meet them.

As for finding the park when you turn off the highway it is a right turn just before the fire station. It does not have a big park sign.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    2/21/2011   2/22/2011
Review By: jksenior
Played: 108  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6.9 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Signs were good including distances from each pad and description when there was something different about the hole (i.e. different basket)
- Multiple tee pads provided a very diverse experience to accommodate all players and
moods.
- Great mix of open vs wooded holes
Cons: - Signs were located on the blue tee pads which sometimes required back-tracking to the gold tees (minor con)
- Tee pads could be longer, particularly for the open, bigger throw holes
Other Thoughts: Really enjoyed this course. I played the gold tees but also threw tee shots from the Blues. Provided a good change from one tee to the other.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/6/2010   7/15/2010
Review By: Plankeye
Played: 38  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 14.1 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1)Different layouts cater to the different skill level of players.

2)The transition from one hole's basket to the next hole's teepad is generally straight forward. The only two teepads that are hard to find from the previous hole's basket are Gold 7 and Gold 15.

3)This course only caters to disc golfers.

4)Teepads are a decent size for the shots that are required for this course. However the areas around the teepads coulld use some work(see cons).

5)Great mixture of open holes and tight wooded holes.

6)Different holes test different types of shots and several holes have different routes to the basket.
Cons: 1)The only amenities are a shelter and a port-a-potty.

2)The areas around some of the teepads are worn down from erosion. After a downpour, there are often puddles either behind or in front of the tee box.

3)Over the years, due to weather or casual players, many trees have fallen making several holes a lot easier.

4)Some of the benches need to be replaced or repaired
Other Thoughts: As mentioned earlier, this is a great course to test all of your disc golf skills.

The course just won a Innova Grant to have the signs replaced. This should probably be completed before mid August. The tee signs will include not only tee to basket distance but also elevation change, if any.

IMO, the most challenging holes are 11 and 15 Gold.

11 Gold is challenging as you have to make it through a gate of trees near the tee. I have seen many good players hit a tree early on this hole which causes them to scramble to save a 4, or if they are lucky a 3.

Gold is a downhill tunnel shot that eventually turns from left to right. What makes this hole difficult is just making it through the tunnel to a point where you can get up and down to save a 3. I have only heard of 1 or 2 guys make a 2 on this hole.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    4/15/2010   4/21/2010
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 148  Reviewed: 142  Exp: 9.9 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Classic, have-it-all disc golf course. Course uses the terrain to the best of its capability.
- This is a disc-golf only park. Yup, no sharing the space with other park users, especially the type who think the fairways are all extra walking trails. This gives a strong presence of solitude, even though you're right next to a main road, and houses that back up to the course.
- A perfect mix of holes, from tight, wooded holes (#8, 15) to wide open (#13 & 14) to uphill & downhills (#8 & 12 up; #2 &7 down), up-n-down holes, doglegs and everything in between. Some courses feel like they're forcing holes (we need another dogleg/tight/etc, so let's put a basket right here); these all flow great where you never feel your playing the same shot too frequently.
- Nice, big, angled tee pads. Very few courses have angled tee pads, which I think is an underrated benefit for players.
- Good, descriptive map available online. Course is pretty easy to navigate that you won't really need one.
- 3 sets of tees make the course playable for all skill levels. I was pleasantly surprised how much tougher the gold (long) tees played than the blue (middle) tees. A lot of times, when you play from different tees, you feel you're playing the same exact shot, only 50-100 feet longer. This presented a good variety of different, and tougher shots.
- Good flow to the holes. #9 & 18 both lead right back to the parking lot, allowing for you to easily tee off on #10 or only play 9 holes, if needed.
Cons: Course has no amenities at all, other than a covered picnic area. No water fountains or bathrooms - port-a-jon only. Be sure to bring your own drinks.
- As with many older courses, erosion starting to take places on hills. Wooded holes have essentially been reduced to all dirt fairways.
- Tee pads could use a fresh coat of paint. Each tee pad has a painted line on it, indicating it's layout - white, blue, gold. On most holes you can easily tell the 3 tees without the paint, but on several the blue & gold tees are essentially next to each other, so it's not as easy.
- Arrows or signs would be nice pointing towards the out-of-the-way gold tee pads. The tee pad for #7 gold is on the other side of #6 fairway, 200 feet from the other other tee pads. I couldn't find the gold tee for #9.
- Some holes cross close to other holes, so you have to keep an eye out for other players or discs suddenly appearing. #1 & 9 play toward each other in opposite direction, as do #11 & 17 and #13 & 16. Also the long tee for #17 is right in front of the short tee for #12.
Other Thoughts: I was pleasantly surprised by how much I liked this course. This is a very good, challenging course from the gold (long) tees. It was much easier from the blue (middle) tees.
- Course reminds me a lot of Yadkinville or a longer/tougher version of Reedy Creek.
- There are some good holes on this course, many with a great risk/reward factor. #2, 7 & 10 are all tough, narrow shots to baskets. Throw straight and birdie is a real possibility, hit a tree and you could be scrambling for par. #18 is a good, long closing hole, forcing you to throw a couple good shots for your par.
- My favorite hole, and one of the best visual holes anywhere, is #12. You tee off next to a creek, throwing an uphill shot through the trees to the basket. It's not a long hole (gold plays 266 ft), but an errant shot might ricochet off a tree into the creek. The hole is birdieable as long as you're willing to let the water come into play.
- Solid course that everyone in the area needs to play. Gold layout is in the 3.75 - 4 range; blue is in the 3 range, so it's a well-earned 3.5 overall for the course.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Try the Golds

1    3/25/2010   4/1/2010
Review By: windgodd
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I really enjoyed this course, and I look forward to playing it again. I started with 18 from the Blues, and then I did 18 from the Golds. Good flowing layout with some great alley shots. Good length from the longer tee pads.
Cons: Lots of erosion in the park, and watch where you step due to soft ground.
Other Thoughts: Met some locals at the course that were very helpful and down to earth. Stop by and give this park a try. You won't be disappointed.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 HOME OF WIGGINS

5+    3/31/2010   3/31/2010
Review By: mhdisc03
Played: 20  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 13.6 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: love this course. suits the all around golfer. has field mixed with woods. 3 sets of pads but the shorts pads are like junior pads. locals are cool.WOODS ARE NOT TIGHT OF HURTFUL IF YOU STRAY INTO THE RUFF.no woods hole over 350 and field over 450. great atmosphere out there
Cons: no water fountain.BRING PLENTY OF WATER
Other Thoughts: dont foget to take in the scenery of the future world champion david wiggins jr!

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    3/24/2010   3/28/2010
Review By: DSCJNKY
Played: 244  Reviewed: 128  Exp: 12.6 Years
This review was updated on 4/1/2010
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
- Open, Woods, Open, Woods. I love how the course transitions from the Open to the Woods and then back out into the Open and then back into the Woods every few holes; especially when the Open shots still contain the threat of accidentally throwing a bad shot into the Woods.
- Good Course. Although, on the whole, this course is probably average or slightly better than average… (i.e. Johnson Street is pretty good, but not the most EPIC course I've ever played)… there are some really good holes here. Holes 2, 3, 4, 6, 12, 14, 15, and 18 stand out to me… and several others were good too. There didn't really seem to be any, what I would call, Filler Holes.
- Multiple Tees. There were white, blue and gold tees on almost every whole. This allows people of various skill levels to choose the experience they want to have. And… there were lots of people out here with widely varying skill levels.
- DG Only. The entire park was dedicated to disc golf. Not a walking path, basketball court, baseball field… nothing for the non-disc golfer.
Cons:
- Erosion. It appears as though there is only 1 pin position per basket because the amount of erosion around a lot of the pins is substantial. Large sections of grass surrounding various tees and pins have been worn away… and judging from the "fossilized" muddy footprints, these areas appear to get very muddy after it rains.
- Tee-Signs. Most of the tee-signs were broken and/or missing. Even though most of the holes are pretty straight forward in that you can see the entire hole… having broken or missing equipment just isn't aesthetically pleasing. And determining the length of the Hole is hard for first time players (i.e proper disc selection).
Other Thoughts:
- Tons of Golfers. The course was packed. People were everywhere (which is a pro and a con)… Pro because more players is better than a ghost-town; and, Con because it could get impossibly backed-up. Although, from my experience there (2 rounds), the course had good flow and didn't seem to get as badly backed up as the number of players would indicate.
- Tee-Pads. The tee-pads were both a pro and a con for me. The pro is that they were concrete. The con in that they were too short. However, even though they were short, I was easily able to start off the backside of all the tee-pads and simply use the concrete portion of the tee-pad for the final 3 steps of my 5 step approach.
- Needs Sprucing Up. There definitely seemed to be enough locals that they could easily spruce this place up a little. Alternate pin positions, new tee-signs, spreading of mulch piles, etc… Schedule a work day and do a little preventative maintenance.
- My Score: -3 from the Blues

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.