High Point, NC 
Johnson Street Park Share
Uploaded By: axl_rose Hole #1
3 / 228ft.   3 / 301ft.   3 / 320ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Blue Tee



Reviews: 44
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 A solid Carolina course

5+    9/20/2009   3/9/2010
Review By: Olorin
Played: 304  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 35.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/28/2010
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
My Enjoyment Rating: 7.5 (out of 10)
This is the first 7.5 I've given because I was torn. I like a it little more than a 7 but just a little less than an 8. So here on DGCR I'd give it a 3.75 if I could.

Design:
I really enjoy the variety of having 3 course layouts with varying degrees of difficulty. If I want a birdie fest I'll play the White tees. If I want a challenge suitable to my skill level I'll play the Blue tees (my drives average about 280 ft). If I want to test myself with a real challenge (and be humbled) I'll play the Gold tees. The fairways offer good variety, are well shaped, and have many fun shots. There's also good foliage variety with many of the holes in the woods, but many with scattered trees, and a few that are relatively open. In the woods the undergrowth isn't thick, so your discs don't get lost very easily. There's also good elevation variety with lots of ups and downs, but mostly moderate elevation changes.

As for Amenities, there are tons of bunches and trash cans, a decent message board, and an average map online (but it doesn't have the Gold layout on it). The basket for 18 Gold can also be used for warming up your putting.
Cons:
The course is showing some sings of age, and this is mostly in the Basics:
-Signs: some are broken, some are old with a very basic hand painted map.
-Tees: concrete, but mostly too short, even though some are trapezoids (a design that I like).
-Baskets: average. Some are kind of old, and since they're gray Mach IIIs, a few in the woods are a bit hard to find.

Amenities
-Online Scorecards need hole lengths
Other Thoughts:
White Tees Course Level: White (most suited for Intermediate players rated 900.)
Blue Tees Course Level: Blue (most suited for Advanced players rated 950)

There are a variety of left and right dogleg holes, but with each layout over half are straight, and that's more than I usually prefer. Also, long throwers will probably think that the White and Blue tee layouts are too short.
OK, the course is showing some signs of age here and there; it's like a guy in his mid 40s with some gray around the temples. But I've played here many times over the years and I always enjoy the course. It's still a fun NC course that's well worth playing.

A note about my rating: My rating is a subjective measure of my enjoyment of the course, on the day I played it, and it is NOT intended to be a measure of the quality of the course. My ratings are given "on the curve" in relation to all other courses I've played.
-More detailed "Overall Rating" notes and "Hole-by-hole Ratings" are available in the Files section.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 oldy but goody

2-4    2/25/2010   2/25/2010
Review By: 1978
Played: 185  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/24/2010
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice beginner course for all levels. Holes vary left,right, and straight with a little bit of elevation. It is nice to have a disc golf only park. 3 sets of tee pads per hole create a lot of variety for the local disc golfers. Course seems to be well maintained and the holes are defined. There are some holes that I imagine would be very pretty in the summer. You can watch your disc flight to the basket on more than half of the holes. The layout is good and pretty easy to follow, even with the damaged tee signs.
Even though we have had A LOT of rain lately the course was in really good condition. I saw no trash on the course.
Tee pads have a really rough texturing. A few holes are long enough to air out a shot, especially with a mid range or shorter driver. The big bomb guys wont be able to however.

Tee Signs look great. Hopefully the local Am's take care of them.
Cons: The Oak Hollow crew has done a lot here so I have updated this a bit.
Pads:
Tee boxes are really short, most are somewhere around 6ft long. I cannot believe that no one has mentioned how short they are. Everyone I know that has played there mentions this. To get a normal run-up on many of them you have to start then step up onto the pad. I would almost prefer natural pads. Most of the pads are shaped in a trapazoid but with the narrow end in front. You have to start on a short pad and then you get funneled to the middle of a pad too. *THe club has added some retaining walls to help with step offs after throws.
Layout:
Probably my biggest problem was with the proximity of pads to nearby fairways. I would say 60% of the teep pads are directly off the fairway of another hole, not near a pin but where short shots would come in hot. I have read that this can be a very crowded course. It must be pretty dangerous too then. The last tournament I played here we had discs almost hit us on 7 different holes and our group had to yell "fore" at least 6 more times. Please stay vigilant if you play here.
Design and Upkeep:
Because of the amount of play there is a lot of erosion. Recently work has been done to shore up greens, fairways, and tee pads. This however was done a little late and you can see that in some areas 6-12" of topsoil has eroded. A few holes you are throwing into ring of rotted logs and sticks that were placed there to stop erosion. I actually had to push a basket back to straight up and down because a green had lost so much soil. Now that walls and erosion controls are in place. A few loads of fill dirt would do wonders to level greens and give the tree roots something to dig into. This course will continue to lose trees until all erosion issues are fixed and some of the dirt is replaced.
Asthetics:
This was a negative, but now a positive in my edit.
Baskets:
The old style baskets can be hard to see in the woods, but thats not a real problem. I found hole 12's basket pushed over at a 30 degree angle and straightened it. The loss of soil has allowed 4-5 pole anchors to be weakened and the baskets are tipped at various angles.

No actual bathrooms.
Other Thoughts: I have increased my review from 2.5 to 3 with the erosion control and signage updates. Unfortunatly the erosion control was done with rotted fallen trees so this solution is temporary. I can see a big issue in the future with rotted trees gone and rebar poking up out of the ground. The course just doesn't stack up in any area (pads, length, difficulty, layout, "extras") to any of the 3.5-4* rated courses that I have played or reviewed. I review based on my experience on all courses I have played not just with a narrow view of local area courses. If I lived in the area, I would play here often. I, however, have seen a lot of courses that are in better shape than this course. This is why I gave it a "good" rating. Not great, not terrible just middle of the road 3. Real thought needs to be put into how to prevent erosion from the fairways and around baskets. Even with the erosion and signage fixed, I would not be able to rate this course a 4 or over. The tee pads are just way too small and the layout is too dangerous. Remember a 5 is a perfect course that cannot be made better.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Triad Royalty

2-4    3/9/2010   2/6/2010
Review By: BrotherDave
Played: 102  Reviewed: 99  Exp: 7.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/9/2010
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Superb mix of wooded and open. Three sets of tees, all of which are fairly well designed, i.e. no real "impossible" shots. Easily navigated as course flows very well with nicely thought out, defined fairways. Disc golf only park so no pesky dog walkers and picnic'ers to worry about. Quite simply some of the best wooded holes in the area. Great scene, locals, etc. Good hole variety as well and the fun factor is cranked to 11 Spinal Tap style by the lovely NC foliage. Tees are small but they're very well poured out, even and smooth. Baskets are numbered via number plate atop of the basket. Has a port-a-john on site, may not sound like a pro but it's better than crapping your pants after your Burger King storms your innards like the Mexicans at the Alamo. Most wooded holes are moderately wooded with defined fairways and occasionally multiple lines to the tee. One of the best courses around from the short/white tees, ample ace runs without the lack of challenges.
Cons: Shows some age and use, i.e. tee signs were in some disrepair but no biggie. Can get pretty congested with the noobs but the course is designed well enough that it flows great even when it's swamped with people. First timers might be misled on which hole to throw to on #18, the farthest one is the practice basket, 18 holes out to the left near the shelter at the end of the tree line. This is a very popular course so congestion is a possibility. A couple of holes run the risk of grip locking your drive into a neighborhood.
Other Thoughts: There's nothing extremely remarkable about this course, it's not a supermodel, it's more like a cute girl you marry because of substance, personality, and b/c it's never ho-hum. The duck definitely flies at midnight. Fave hole: # 2, a lovely downhill tunnel shot with the basket slightly to the right, perfect for those floaty mids or putters and flippy hyzer-flips. There's been some flack about erosion, honestly it's not that bad considering all the rain this course has gotten. I think I saw epic beard man there but wasn't sure b/c he wasn't wearing a fanny pack.

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Trey133

5+    1/2/2010   1/14/2010
Review By: Trey133
Played: 15  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 6.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 3 sets of teepads for beginner to advanced.
Course is well broken in, tight wooded lines with clear paths to the basket.
Small elevation changes keep away monotomy.
Some very scenic shots, Hole 4, 12, 14, come to mind.
Disc golf only park!
Good league action, Tuesdays 5:30pm
Cons: This course is short, you can not really practice many open bombs.
Signage has been lagging, steps are being taken to fix that.
The residents on some holes aren't very recieving of disc golfers, try not to pull one OB on 13 and 14.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course for those serious about disc golf as the course is centered around a good club with several top amatuers and pros. David Wiggins Jr's home course!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Sweet little gem

1    12/29/2009   12/29/2009
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 199  Reviewed: 145  Exp: 6 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Three concrete tee pads for almost every hole. You can play the one that best fits your ability or mood. Signs on most holes giving distance and an indication of basket placement. Fairways that were tight, but had an achievable line to target. Wooded holes with a few wide open bombs available. Fair to both RHBH and RHFH players. Exclusively used for disc golf so no other park users to mess with your round. Nice gazebo for lunch or a rest. Small creek in play on some holes, but not big enough to be a real disc eater.
Cons: Some signs were missing at teepads. Baskets were sometimes hard to spot. Need better flags or colored marker to distinguish them in the woods.
Other Thoughts: Nothing bad about this course. Everything was very good. Fix the signs and make the baskets more visible and I might even bump this up to a 4 someday. No truly great holes, but they are all pretty good. Next time I go I will have to try the longest pads. I played the blue and they were good. Long pads look real tough in some spots.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Johnson Street Park

2-4    12/28/2009   12/29/2009
Review By: richardmmill
Played: 48  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 12.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good use of land. Nice elevation changes and a little creek runs through some of the back nine. Nice moving in and out of woods. Concrete tee pads, with multiple tees, a white blue and yellow. Baskets were in pretty good condition. Good elements of difficulty, mostly just trees and where the tees were placed. From hole to hole it wasn't too hard to find the next tee.
Cons: Signs, I hate to say but they were pretty awful. Not very helpful when there were there, and most of them did not exist. If they did they they did not give the distances for all three tee. Most of the time just distance of the blue maybe the blue and the white tees. Course was very muddy due to poor drainage. One hole on the back nine was long in an open field with a giant power line tower in the middle of it unnatural obstacle. Even though the course had concrete tees they were very short. This might be fine when it is not very muddy but with the mud you could hardly even take two steps on the tee pad.
Other Thoughts: Even though I had a lot of gripes about the course the lay out and the holes are very well set up. All the cons really brought it down for me but the few pros were very nice. Thats why I gave it a 3.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A great challenge

5+    10/27/2009   12/27/2009
Review By: ARock
Played: 31  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 11.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A long course with many tee shots requiring a big arm to get to the pin. Also, a nice combination of wooded and open holes requiring both left to right and right to left plays. The balance on this course is very nice and I've enjoyed every round I've played here. The 18th hole is a big throw through a wide fairway lined with woods on either side. The uphill nature makes it play very long and you absolutely have to hit the fairway to have any chance at a three.
Cons: Not a whole lot of birdie chances so you better make a bunch of pars and avoid mistakes. There are at least a couple of "chuck and pray" holes and any mistake can be very costly. Be aware of the fences and dogs on the back 9. The hole with the powerlines can have forehands, turned over shots, or wind all take errant discs into someone's back yard.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course and is worth checking out. I love the courses that really challenge the big arms but with accuracy and power, you can make some very rewardings deuces.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Well balanced

5+    11/13/2009   11/14/2009
Review By: AdamCaudle
Played: 25  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5.4 Years
This review was updated on 12/22/2009
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Good mix of wooded/open holes.
- Woods aren't too thick to get out of
- Three sets of tees
- Lot's of birdie chances from white and blue tee's
- About half of the holes are pretty good for ace runs
- Hole 9 comes back to the entrance
-Well layed out
- Very challenging from the gold tees.
Cons: - Not much elevation change
- Can get pretty swampy after heavy rain
- Can get crowded on afternoons and weekends.
Other Thoughts: I play this course about 2-3 days a week and it is a great course to practice all aspects of your game. There's a porta-john and a shelter at hole 1.

Edit: After playing gold tees a few times I have a much greater appreciation of this course. I've bumped it up to 4 discs because of this. Also, 9 gold plays from the blue tee to the short 18 basket around the corner behind the regular 9 basket. And 18 gold plays from the blue tee to the longest 18 basket.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

5+    9/20/2009   10/8/2009
Review By: hookonwavs
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great challenges for all experiences. There is alot of variety in the open and wooded holes.
Cons: Could use more upkeep and the basket at hole 15 is broken and has been broken for 3 to 4 months now.
Other Thoughts: This was the second course I played at since I started 2 years ago and I still consider it one of my favorites.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Johnson Street DGC

5+    7/7/2009   7/11/2009
Review By: aj4heels
Played: 21  Reviewed: 3
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is one heck of a course, and it is the best (and by that I mean challenging and rewarding) course that I have played. It has 3 sets of tees which will challenge anyone. Also the course is only for disc golf so usually you don't have to fight off anyone or anything else. The baskets are all in good condition, and the grass and bushes are kept pretty tame. There is a nice shelter and picnic tables in the middle of the course if you need to take a break or want to pack a sandwich.
Cons: There are a lot of external things that make this course seem not quite as nice. There is no running water, although there is a porta john for a bathroom. There aren't many tee signs left standing so you should probably play from the whites your first time so you learn your way around. Some of the fairways don't handle water very well (7,8,11,17 basket) so just be aware of that.
Other Thoughts: Playing from the whites I say that you have a good look at birdie on every hole except maybe 9 and 18. The other 16 will give you good ace runs, and if you need a confidence booster then this should do the trick. Playing from the blues shooting 5-7 under is great, and taking no bogies would be great Some holes seem to play easier from the blue for me 16 & 18 esp. . Playing from the Golds a 54 is insane for most people, this layout will challenge anyone though so anyone who thinks that they are too good for their home course should shoot a round on the golds to be humbled. It's fairly hard to find some of the tees so try to play with someone who knows the golds if that's what you want to do. The first 5 are reasonable, then 6 won't give you a good look at the basket in any way. 7 Makes you hit 2 different gaps really well if you find that tee pad (it's back up 6's fairway on the far right) # 8 is nasty tight but a great hole. # 10 is very similar but plays a little easier. The backside will really test the big arms between numbers 13, 17, and 18. I would say 15 is for the big arms but that is a ridiculous hole from the gold, no other way to put it. If the course hadn't kicked you in the butt through the first 17 then just try to get a 3 on 18 gold. Some of the locals play the golds as a 60 which is much more accurate in my opinion.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.