High Point, NC 
Johnson Street Park Share
Uploaded By: Plankeye Hole #3 (Taken 7/2010)
3 / 240ft.   3 / 334ft.   3 / 460ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Gold Tee



Reviews: 50
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Sweet little gem

1    12/29/2009   12/29/2009
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 201  Reviewed: 147  Exp: 7.5 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Three concrete tee pads for almost every hole. You can play the one that best fits your ability or mood. Signs on most holes giving distance and an indication of basket placement. Fairways that were tight, but had an achievable line to target. Wooded holes with a few wide open bombs available. Fair to both RHBH and RHFH players. Exclusively used for disc golf so no other park users to mess with your round. Nice gazebo for lunch or a rest. Small creek in play on some holes, but not big enough to be a real disc eater.
Cons: Some signs were missing at teepads. Baskets were sometimes hard to spot. Need better flags or colored marker to distinguish them in the woods.
Other Thoughts: Nothing bad about this course. Everything was very good. Fix the signs and make the baskets more visible and I might even bump this up to a 4 someday. No truly great holes, but they are all pretty good. Next time I go I will have to try the longest pads. I played the blue and they were good. Long pads look real tough in some spots.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Johnson Street Park

2-4    12/28/2009   12/29/2009
Review By: richardmmill
Played: 48  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 14 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good use of land. Nice elevation changes and a little creek runs through some of the back nine. Nice moving in and out of woods. Concrete tee pads, with multiple tees, a white blue and yellow. Baskets were in pretty good condition. Good elements of difficulty, mostly just trees and where the tees were placed. From hole to hole it wasn't too hard to find the next tee.
Cons: Signs, I hate to say but they were pretty awful. Not very helpful when there were there, and most of them did not exist. If they did they they did not give the distances for all three tee. Most of the time just distance of the blue maybe the blue and the white tees. Course was very muddy due to poor drainage. One hole on the back nine was long in an open field with a giant power line tower in the middle of it unnatural obstacle. Even though the course had concrete tees they were very short. This might be fine when it is not very muddy but with the mud you could hardly even take two steps on the tee pad.
Other Thoughts: Even though I had a lot of gripes about the course the lay out and the holes are very well set up. All the cons really brought it down for me but the few pros were very nice. Thats why I gave it a 3.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A great challenge

5+    10/27/2009   12/27/2009
Review By: ARock
Played: 31  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 13 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A long course with many tee shots requiring a big arm to get to the pin. Also, a nice combination of wooded and open holes requiring both left to right and right to left plays. The balance on this course is very nice and I've enjoyed every round I've played here. The 18th hole is a big throw through a wide fairway lined with woods on either side. The uphill nature makes it play very long and you absolutely have to hit the fairway to have any chance at a three.
Cons: Not a whole lot of birdie chances so you better make a bunch of pars and avoid mistakes. There are at least a couple of "chuck and pray" holes and any mistake can be very costly. Be aware of the fences and dogs on the back 9. The hole with the powerlines can have forehands, turned over shots, or wind all take errant discs into someone's back yard.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course and is worth checking out. I love the courses that really challenge the big arms but with accuracy and power, you can make some very rewardings deuces.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Well balanced

5+    11/13/2009   11/14/2009
Review By: AdamCaudle
Played: 25  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 6.9 Years
This review was updated on 12/22/2009
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Good mix of wooded/open holes.
- Woods aren't too thick to get out of
- Three sets of tees
- Lot's of birdie chances from white and blue tee's
- About half of the holes are pretty good for ace runs
- Hole 9 comes back to the entrance
-Well layed out
- Very challenging from the gold tees.
Cons: - Not much elevation change
- Can get pretty swampy after heavy rain
- Can get crowded on afternoons and weekends.
Other Thoughts: I play this course about 2-3 days a week and it is a great course to practice all aspects of your game. There's a porta-john and a shelter at hole 1.

Edit: After playing gold tees a few times I have a much greater appreciation of this course. I've bumped it up to 4 discs because of this. Also, 9 gold plays from the blue tee to the short 18 basket around the corner behind the regular 9 basket. And 18 gold plays from the blue tee to the longest 18 basket.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

5+    9/20/2009   10/8/2009
Review By: hookonwavs
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great challenges for all experiences. There is alot of variety in the open and wooded holes.
Cons: Could use more upkeep and the basket at hole 15 is broken and has been broken for 3 to 4 months now.
Other Thoughts: This was the second course I played at since I started 2 years ago and I still consider it one of my favorites.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Johnson Street DGC

5+    7/7/2009   7/11/2009
Review By: aj4heels
Played: 21  Reviewed: 3
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is one heck of a course, and it is the best (and by that I mean challenging and rewarding) course that I have played. It has 3 sets of tees which will challenge anyone. Also the course is only for disc golf so usually you don't have to fight off anyone or anything else. The baskets are all in good condition, and the grass and bushes are kept pretty tame. There is a nice shelter and picnic tables in the middle of the course if you need to take a break or want to pack a sandwich.
Cons: There are a lot of external things that make this course seem not quite as nice. There is no running water, although there is a porta john for a bathroom. There aren't many tee signs left standing so you should probably play from the whites your first time so you learn your way around. Some of the fairways don't handle water very well (7,8,11,17 basket) so just be aware of that.
Other Thoughts: Playing from the whites I say that you have a good look at birdie on every hole except maybe 9 and 18. The other 16 will give you good ace runs, and if you need a confidence booster then this should do the trick. Playing from the blues shooting 5-7 under is great, and taking no bogies would be great Some holes seem to play easier from the blue for me 16 & 18 esp. . Playing from the Golds a 54 is insane for most people, this layout will challenge anyone though so anyone who thinks that they are too good for their home course should shoot a round on the golds to be humbled. It's fairly hard to find some of the tees so try to play with someone who knows the golds if that's what you want to do. The first 5 are reasonable, then 6 won't give you a good look at the basket in any way. 7 Makes you hit 2 different gaps really well if you find that tee pad (it's back up 6's fairway on the far right) # 8 is nasty tight but a great hole. # 10 is very similar but plays a little easier. The backside will really test the big arms between numbers 13, 17, and 18. I would say 15 is for the big arms but that is a ridiculous hole from the gold, no other way to put it. If the course hadn't kicked you in the butt through the first 17 then just try to get a 3 on 18 gold. Some of the locals play the golds as a 60 which is much more accurate in my opinion.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Solid Course Plays Short

5+    7/2/2009   7/5/2009
Review By: axl_rose
Played: 13  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 18 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great mix of wooded and open shots

Centrally located in the Triad area

Plays short for 18 holes

All holes par 3
Cons: Always trash and litter around. It seems like the trash never gets emptied. Some times this makes the course look dirty and detracts from the playable experience.
Other Thoughts: I've been playing this course for well over five years and it still one of my favorites. Most holes can be had in par or one over even for new players. This course has even mix of open and tunnel shots. There are several shots that have a creek water hazard as well. As of late some improvements are being made with addition of wood chips on the fairway. I enjoy every hole on this course time and time again...the only thing that would make this a better course is if they could keep the litter picked up and prohibit alcohol.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 johnson st park

5+    5/8/2009   5/9/2009
Review By: braxtynh
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.2 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This course is the best i've played. it is my home course. it has triple tee locations (beginner, pro, and expert). it has excellent pin location and a variety of length. great variety of wooded and open holes. this course also has good hyzer and anhyzer paths to throw. this course is well designed.
Cons: there isn't much wrong with this course..

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 pleasant surprise

1    5/8/2009   5/8/2009
Review By: dobsonr
Played: 23  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 8 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has a great mix of open and wooded holes. The course really seems to make a good use of space - the terrain is nicely varied and each hole is different from the next. Each hole has several tees which allow players of all skill levels to enjoy playing here. The course is easy to navigate without a map - each basket is right by the tee for the next hole.
Cons: There really aren't many cons to this course - it isn't the most interesting course in the world, but it's designed well and is enjoyable to play. If you're in the High Point area it is definitely worth checking out.
Other Thoughts: I played this course while in town for my sister's graduation. I wasn't expecting much, but was pleasantly surprised. The course is well-maintained, easy to find, easy to navigate, fun to play, and the locals were friendly - what more can you ask for?

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A little bit of everything

5+    4/26/2009   4/29/2009
Review By: zbyrd
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.3 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Johnson street is approachable for beginners and entertaining for intermediate and advanced players. There are three well maintained tees for each hole, with the golds being quite challenging. This course is solely dedicated to DG so it is easy to not be bothered. Many holes require the thrower to make a considerably narrow gap close to the tee, after which, the fairway opens up. This can be frustrating at times, but it mostly comes across as intelligent, challenging course design. The landscape is beautiful and it is hard to lose a disc here.
Cons: Many holes are short. There are lots of holes where you have to hit a gap off of the tee. Hardly any holes where you can bomb it if that's your thing. I understand it can get busy, but I've never had that experience.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center