Disc Golf Store
High Point, NC 
Johnson Street Park Share
Uploaded By: Plankeye Hole #1 (Taken 7/2010)
3 / 228ft.   3 / 301ft.   3 / 320ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 White Tee



Reviews: 44
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Solid Course Plays Short

5+    7/2/2009   7/5/2009
Review By: axl_rose
Played: 13  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 16.3 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great mix of wooded and open shots

Centrally located in the Triad area

Plays short for 18 holes

All holes par 3
Cons: Always trash and litter around. It seems like the trash never gets emptied. Some times this makes the course look dirty and detracts from the playable experience.
Other Thoughts: I've been playing this course for well over five years and it still one of my favorites. Most holes can be had in par or one over even for new players. This course has even mix of open and tunnel shots. There are several shots that have a creek water hazard as well. As of late some improvements are being made with addition of wood chips on the fairway. I enjoy every hole on this course time and time again...the only thing that would make this a better course is if they could keep the litter picked up and prohibit alcohol.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 johnson st park

5+    5/8/2009   5/9/2009
Review By: braxtynh
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.5 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This course is the best i've played. it is my home course. it has triple tee locations (beginner, pro, and expert). it has excellent pin location and a variety of length. great variety of wooded and open holes. this course also has good hyzer and anhyzer paths to throw. this course is well designed.
Cons: there isn't much wrong with this course..

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 pleasant surprise

1    5/8/2009   5/8/2009
Review By: dobsonr
Played: 22  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 6.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has a great mix of open and wooded holes. The course really seems to make a good use of space - the terrain is nicely varied and each hole is different from the next. Each hole has several tees which allow players of all skill levels to enjoy playing here. The course is easy to navigate without a map - each basket is right by the tee for the next hole.
Cons: There really aren't many cons to this course - it isn't the most interesting course in the world, but it's designed well and is enjoyable to play. If you're in the High Point area it is definitely worth checking out.
Other Thoughts: I played this course while in town for my sister's graduation. I wasn't expecting much, but was pleasantly surprised. The course is well-maintained, easy to find, easy to navigate, fun to play, and the locals were friendly - what more can you ask for?

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A little bit of everything

5+    4/26/2009   4/29/2009
Review By: zbyrd
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.6 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Johnson street is approachable for beginners and entertaining for intermediate and advanced players. There are three well maintained tees for each hole, with the golds being quite challenging. This course is solely dedicated to DG so it is easy to not be bothered. Many holes require the thrower to make a considerably narrow gap close to the tee, after which, the fairway opens up. This can be frustrating at times, but it mostly comes across as intelligent, challenging course design. The landscape is beautiful and it is hard to lose a disc here.
Cons: Many holes are short. There are lots of holes where you have to hit a gap off of the tee. Hardly any holes where you can bomb it if that's your thing. I understand it can get busy, but I've never had that experience.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 B+ = Interesting and addicting

5+    4/14/2007   4/23/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 366  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 20.3 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up:
1) Holes with good risk/reward -- B+
2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities -- A
3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography -- A
4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion -- B+
5) Multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them -- C
Other Thoughts: It's all about feeding the addiction, so I ranked this course subjectively based on my own "personal addiction factor". The grades above tell how well the course will draw me back to itself again and again and again. Since I have played a decent number of courses (115 18-hole, 50 9-hole as of early 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar addiction tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they choose courses to play and explore.

Over time, I expect to fill some of my reviews in with more descriptive verbiage…if what I can add anything to what has already been written. For now, my list is more important to me than the verbiage of my reviews.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me….that's the fun of things here. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 From a Johnson Park Regular

5+    3/6/2009   3/6/2009
Review By: JLKeip
Played: 25  Reviewed: 3
This review was updated on 8/5/2011
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Multiple tees offers a nice choice between challenging and relatively easy for beginners, makes it easy to have a competitive round against someone of different skill level.
Well maintained tee boxes
Often has 'greens' marked by a red circle.
Close to civilization
Recently added Tee signs are EXCELLENT
Park is 100% dedicated to disc golf.
Play flows very well
Cons: Can be very muddy, it doesn't recover quickly from inclement weather.
Easy to miss the entrance when looking for the course
Other Thoughts: Some of the gold tees (5, 7, 15 esp) border on ridiculous, but I like that. It's not clear, but the gold tee for hole 9 plays to the front hole on 18. Gold on 13 plays easier for me than blue 13. My first (and only, so far) ace came on blue 11.
Gold 7 fairway crosses the 6th hole fairway, be nice to, and aware of, others.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Absolute favorite park

5+    2/14/2009   2/19/2009
Review By: THORNBURG
Played: 17  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 14.3 Years
1 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: This course is the funnest course i've ever played it doesn't matter what kind of day your having you always walk away a happy golfer. It's challenging but yet tuff
Cons: It's to far from my house i wish it was next door
Other Thoughts: My second ace i ever hit was hole 7 it rocked BUZZ

1 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Very Nice Course

5+    10/30/2008   1/14/2009
Review By: _.-Dut-._
Played: 50  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 15.8 Years
This review was updated on 1/21/2009
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great course with a variety of shots and multiple teepads make this park a must play if given the oppurtunity. Great mixture of open/wooded holes and requires a variety of shots from tight fairways to open air it out shots. The park is very clean and offers trashcans throughout park. This is also the only disc golf park I know of that was created strictly for disc golf. There is no non disc golfers to slow play or interfere with certain holes. Also, couldnt ask for better locals, great group of guys that play in this area and this park inparticular.
Cons: Park can be quite busy, especially on weekends. Not all holes have tee signs.
Other Thoughts: A very fun course to play, and with three sets of teepads you dont get burnt out on playing it. Short tees are great for beginners, while blue and gold can challenge the best of players. Also a great park for practice as you will be asked to use every shot you have at some point or another.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    11/23/2008   11/23/2008
Review By: hycard
Played: 49  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 6 Years
This review was updated on 2/26/2010
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: So many options with this course. Easy to follow layout allows for a variety of shots and more importantly a good mixture of tee pads for both easy and challenging play.
Great local interest keeps course in decent shape, especially around tournament time.
All ages and skill levels should enjoy playing this course.
Cons: Signage is adequate but could be improved.
Other Thoughts: Well thought out - great use of the land provided.
Multiple tee placement makes the course a favorite to play consecutive rounds.

White Tees: ace and duece round / beginners should enjoy.

Blue Tees: intermediate players will see longer distance, more difficult angles, and elevation changes.

Gold Tees: narrow openings, even longer distance, great risk/reward.



5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course, Try the Luds if you are good.

5+    11/11/2008   11/11/2008
Review By: Tyson
Played: 61  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 13.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/14/2010
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is a great course that has a good amount of activity. In our area this course is where you will find most on the weekdays after work and wanting to get in a good round of golf before the sun goes down. There is a good mix of holes, from open to wooded and right/straight/left. I consider a 48 a good round from the whites and anything under par good from the blues. The "Ludacris" gold pads offer one of the more challenging layouts around. With three sets of pads, this course is great to practice all types of shots. Helps to have a course with diversity close by. With its popularity it is always easy to get in a group and find someone to throw with.
Cons: Some slow rounds on the weekends if at peak time, but usually no problems.
Other Thoughts: The people at this course rock, very friendly and great at disc golf! I went to HPU and there was always a pro around or someone good to play with and it was easy to get in a local event. They hold Tuesday night singles in the summer months, and singles/doubles on Sundays starting at 11am. Singles first then Doubles at 2pm.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.