Dacula, GA 
Little Mulberry Park Share
Uploaded By: Bakenstine Hole #4 (Taken 9/2014)
3 / 270ft.   3 / 390ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
Little Mulberry Park

2-4    7/4/2016   7/7/2016
Review By: lazrman778
Played: 87  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 5.8 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Has practice basket

Has concrete tee pads for both tees

Has nice tee signs with most indicating basket placements

Multiple basket placements on every hole

Has many benches throughout course

More wooded than open fairways with doglegs and elevations - which will be challenging to the casual player

Most of the holes are under shade where this can be really appreciated in the hot and humid summers

Nice split of the front and back nines in case you want to start on hole #10 (that comes in handy when there's a large group teeing off on hole#1)

Well-maintained

Restrooms

Water fountain

Free parking
Cons:
Lots of trees where some fairways can be quite unfair and deflect discs into other trees

Watch out for small, exposed tree stumps as they're easy to trip on

Course can get crowded at times as it's popular with the locals

Course design and flow could use improvement as there are awkward transitions between holes 5&6 and 10&11

Most of the holes are in a pine forest so there are lots of pine straw that makes the footing slippery to shoot on
Other Thoughts:
This is a nice course that I enjoy playing and is my favorite to play while in Gwinnett County. Lots of trees will test you to hit your lines or your score will rise. This course is really good if you want to test your skills in control and accuracy. This course is the polar opposite of Lenora Park where that is much more wide open. I do wish this course had more open fairways to give it some variety though. This course has a little of Alexander Park and East Roswell Park combined in that it has wooded fairways plus multiple basket placements. I highly recommend playing this course if you're in the area.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Diamond in the rough

1    4/25/2016   4/25/2016
Review By: ProOffense
Played: 22  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 7.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Disc golf at its most basic centers around the concept of FUN. To walk into a park and it completely nod its hat to the disc golfer is a beautiful thing to witness. This particular acreage on Little Mullberry Park seems to have been completely allotted to the disc golf community. A very clean entrance onto the course with a water fountain right on the first tee shows this park welcomes the disc golfer. Being 2 years old and still maintaining the fairways, rough, tee pads, and signage also shows their dedication. Before reviewing a course, i like to read all the other reviews as to not become redundant on particular subject matter. That being said i found that most of the reviews heckled the grounds crew for not cutting down enough trees or clearing the "rough" out around fairways and chains. I found this course to be designed and maintained to a distinct specification. the fairway lines and flight paths of players disc should be strained at times. there were times i wished a particular tree would walk itself a little left or right for my drive or approach, but where is the fun in that? at no point however did i think there were any obtrusive trees or group of trees keeping me from playing a shot. the fairways are wide enough with multiple lanes to throw on 90% of the holes. Having a few bombing par 4s and even a super exciting par 5 makes this course challenging to all skill levels. Mingling within these 18 holes are also a few ACE race pin placements. Disc golfers from beginners to PDGA tourney regulars will appreciate all this course offers. I appreciate courses as parks first. Then ill scrutinize the layout of their disc golf course. The course rolls through the woods so effortlessly with gradual doglegs, sharp doglegs, landing zones on Par 4 and 5s, and the ever challenging elevation changing approaches. No hole is the same. its one of the very few courses I've played where all the shots i have in my bag were pulled out and tested. some do to the fact that i flubbed up a line and decided to try another shot for fun. This course allows for a great practice course for players. Lastly, i must address the fact that there is a massive playground right next to the course. BRING THE WIFE AND KIDS! i played fairly quickly and knocked this course out in about 1.5-1.75 hours. this is a dog friendly course as well.
Cons: Without being redundant as i mentioned above, i feel as though if enough is said online about the lack of TRASH CANS on the course someone from Little Mullberry will see it! Other than that easily remedied problem, this park leaves me with nothing but satisfaction.
Other Thoughts: I will be back, and i will ACE those race holes! Killed me today getting so close to the pins without the sound of chains being thrashed by my disc while im still planted on the teepad!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Growing on me

5+    1/25/2016   1/25/2016
Review By: Drakeab
Played: 89  Reviewed: 7
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Clean park and clear layout- This is a great location for a course- somehow you feel like you are part of a park, but on your own at the same time. This course has some of the most defined wooded fairways that I have seen. On almost all holes, it is clear what the course is asking you to do.

Challenging- Understand that this is not going to be a round where you can get away with a lot of bad throws. Almost every drive needs to hit the line or else you will be punished.

Two sets of tees- If you aren't up for the tough challenge of the back tees, go ahead and step up to the short tees and work on your putter/mid game. Two different experiences. Also almost every (if not every) hole has a bench at the back tee.

Great signage- metal rings indicate pin positions and are all kept up with. Signs also include elevation change which I don't recall seeing at any other courses.
Cons: Difficulty- Before you give me a "not helpful" click, hear me out. I feel that there are a few holes here that leave a bit too much to chance here. I've found myself thinking "that was exactly what I was going for" and being in trouble too many times.

Variety- Course can get a bit repetitive. It would be nice to have at least 2 or 3 more open or semi-open holes. Also, there are two holes (4 and 12) that are hard doglegs, both to the right. In the pin positions that I have played, there isn't a big need to be able to turn it hard right. Except maybe hole 5.
Other Thoughts: After the first time I played this course, I was left wondering why so many people loved it. After going back a few times, I am seeing why. My suggestion to those who will be able to play it multiple times would be to play the short tees first and then move back once you have the feel for the course... and maybe a little big of your confidence intact still.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

So much fun

1    9/15/2015   9/15/2015
Review By: beeyang78
Played: 148  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5.9 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Multiple pins and dual tees. There are par 3's, 4's, and one par 5. The fairways are tight on some holes but very fair. Only the short ones are super tight. There was a lot of variety in the shots and it doesn't favor righties or lefties. Great signage and all the long tee pads had brooms to sweep debris off the pads. The flow for the most part is very good and there were next tee posts after every basket. Immaculate condition.
Cons: Not many cons, but there could have a few more trash cans so people would not leave empty bottles and cans laying around. The walk from ten to eleven is a very long one.
Other Thoughts: I had so much fun playing this course. I enjoyed all the different holes and think that the course should be a solid 4. It is definitely in the top 10 for me.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Best Course In NE Metro Area

2-4    7/18/2015   8/4/2015
Review By: lukethenuke
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: As other reviews have covered in more detail, each hole is well designed and has its own character.

Markers and signs are kept visible and up to date. The hole pictures are detailed so you can see exactly where you want to go. There's also a great map of the whole course right by hole 1.

The land the course is on is also incredible to walk. There are huge gullies which can be frustrating if your disc rolls into them, but are quite visually impressive and can be fun to climb into and out of. At times it feels like you are deep into the forest, which is a welcome escape from the suburbs which surround the park. Plenty of shade means that even on hot summer days it's not that difficult to play.

The fairways are very clean, but even if you miss the fairway there's not too much brush to struggle through.
Cons: On several holes the basket is not really visible from the tee.

There aren't many trash cans throughout the course, so you have to be diligent if you bring anything with you. This does result in some scattered litter such as beer/soda bottles, but it's not very common.
Other Thoughts: Maybe not the best course for beginners, but a thoroughly enjoyable course (and for the time being less crowded than some other options in Gwinnett such as Alexander and Lenora). Probably my favorite course that I've played.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Mulberry Magnifico

1    5/10/2015   5/31/2015
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 296  Reviewed: 179  Exp: 13.5 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: LMP is a crazy good disc golf course with almost everything you could want on it. You'll notice on the first tee the lovely new signs with maps, noting distance to each pin from each tee, elevation change, and eyscrews marked A, B or C and a key ring hanging in one indicating current pin location. Very useful because the basket is not always visible from the spacious concrete tees. I liked the first hole as a warm up, although the numerous trees around the basket resulted in a 3 putt bogey effort. Made par on hole 2, the first par 4 (of four total). Beginning on hole 3 the significant elevation changes kick in. Had a nice run at the 230' basket and I thought it was an ace, but it wasn't, and I missed a very makable birdie putt. Hole 4 is crazy. Also very much downhill, but much longer. There are some wild contours on th fairway, a long dogleg left, covered in what I would call moguls if they had snow on them. Tough par 3 where I made bogey again. 5 start back up the strange terrain, through some bigger trees. Another hard par 3 I couldn't handle first time out. I won't go hole by hole, but I will tell you to expect wooded fairways, defined well and giving access to the pin, but punishing errant throws with dense growth in many places. Hole 8, 9, and 10 is a hard way to make the turn, with back to back par 4's, then a par 5. Made bogey on 9, however I managed to come through it even, after an awesome approach shot parked my birdie bid right under the bucket on the 10th hole. 10 is the par 5 that is over 900' long, and traverses a much more open grassy meadow. The remainder of the back 9 is into the woods for more tricky placement shots. Could have layers up for an easy 3 on hole 18 and finished at 63, but I didn't and the 3 putt took me to 64.
Cons: This is not a beginner friendly course, some may be frustrated by high degree of difficulty. There are no serious gripes for me, aside from lack of trash cans. Saw some litter, please pack out what you bring in, there is a receptacle near the 10th tee. No water hazards, but some soft ground was left from good rainfall a couple days prior.
Other Thoughts: I think LMP is a top 5 in the state quality course, and Georgia has so many great ones. I was surprised how well established it felt for a fairly recent course placed in the often dense woods. I loved the challenging play, and feel like I could post a much better score with a few repetitions. I would give this course top priority to anybody who is thinking about their next disc golf trip in this area. Reminds me of a longer and more hilly version of Chester State Park.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Beginner review of a great course

1    5/27/2015   5/27/2015
Review By: BluePhish
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very clean and well maintained.

Nice woodland setting, peaceful and serene.

Holes are fairly newbie friendly while still presenting challenges and interesting lines.

Signage is good, next tee signs on every hole and accurate hole layouts on signage.
Cons: Some holes have a LOT of trees, which leads to newbies like myself feeling like they have no clear line. This is possibly a PRO for experienced players.

Hole 10 has some heavy brambles that can catch an errant tee shot. I lost my first disc ever here. Again, experienced players will probably never notice.

No bathrooms on the course that I could see, although you are never TOO far from the parking lot if it is an emergency.
Other Thoughts: As a new player I found this course challenging but doable, rewarding strategy and accuracy. I really enjoyed the setting, nice woods with manicured fairways were a real joy to play in. Will definitely be back to play again despite the longish drive from ITP Atlanta.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Greens in the Forest

1    1/11/2015   5/26/2015
Review By: SpatialT
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 30.8 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great mix of types of shots (forest, clear, mixed) and distances
World class park facility
Easy to navigate
Greens in the forest! For real. First time I have ever seen that. Obviously there is very active management of the course. Some holes feel very secluded despite the proximity to other park uses.
Cons: In the boondocks! Not easy to get to from the interstate.
Other Thoughts: Gwinnett parks are leading the way in building and maintaining good disc golf courses in Metro Atlanta. This course is designed for experienced players.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 I love this course

5+    5/10/2015   5/10/2015
Review By: cjbsr
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: This course offers some of the best golf in North Georgia!! It was well designed.. it forces a series of many nice shots to birdie all 4 par fours... it also demands that you hit your tee shots or you can definitely take a big number ...hole 10 is just awesome in so many ways..this course offers a challenge that many don't and is very rewarding when played well...
Cons: Still needs some debris cleared that the ice storm left in a few of the fairways.. needs a sign in hole 10's fairway informing non discgolfers that they are in a fairway...
Other Thoughts: Ryan Harris and Ryan Fickel did an amazing job on this course!!!

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Definitely An Advanced Course

2-4    4/25/2015   4/26/2015
Review By: SD86
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
This review was updated on 5/5/2015
5 Helpful / 22 Not
Pros: Layout - designers sought to make this a course for advanced players -- and they succeeded.
- technical/wooded course on 17 of 18 holes. Different basket locations from different tee boxes give different looks.
- Signage at each hole is good, with rings showing which basket location is in play.
- In general, path to the next tee box is well marked.
- For the most part, no long walks between holes.
- 850-ft.-long 10th hole is a lot of fun for those who like to "grip it and rip it".
- Unlike many other courses, playing from the back tees isn't just adding length; it often means a completely different shot selection (this is neither good nor bad, just interesting).
- Sod fairways give landing zones.
- Someone recently went through and cleared out some trees, making the fairways a bit wider, clearer and therefore a bit easier to throw into.
Cons: Layout - designers sought to make this a course for advanced players -- and they succeeded!
- Signage is only at blue (back) tees, and some are a long way from the white (front) tees, so if you want to see yardage, you have to go out of your way to the back tees.
- Might want to put in 'wrong way' signs from some baskets, as the "intuitive" path is the wrong direction.
- Having only one hole that's open and long means no breaks from tree-lined holes, which means:
- When time and again one throws a great shot out of the hand going great down the fairway only to hit a tree in the middle of said fairway, it beats you down over time.
- When a disc nicks a tree and goes three feet into the "rough", and there is no outlet throw even backwards because the trees are so thick, over time it really beats you down.
- It's not "risk/reward" or "reward/punishment", it's pure and simple "punishment"... even when one throws a good shot in the fairway. Often a good throw leaves a poor (or no) good approach to the basket, even down the tree-choked "fairway".
- The extra-long hole is such that amateurs/beginners need ten shots to play (I did par it, but others who don't throw as far were just grinding).
- Course is new, so paths aren't yet beaten in. This means negotiating rough, uneven terrain, and when it's wet the footing can be very treacherous. I strongly recommend hiking shoes/boots when walking this course.
- Restrooms are on other end of parking lot, not very close at all.
- Sod fairways are nice when it's dry, but they're really messy and soggy right after rains. Also, if they're meant to be landing zones, they're not well-placed landing zones.
Other Thoughts: Again, I strongly recommend hiking shoes/boots with ankle support for navigating this course, especially after it's rained.
Advanced players probably will love this course. I'm a casual player that plays with a group of casual players, and this course can be exceptionally rough on them.
If you want to see a "fair" technical/wooded course, go to East Roswell DGC. They have tight but fair fairways, whereas Little Mulberry has trees right in the middle of fairways. East Roswell did it right; Little Mulberry has a lot of work to do to improve the fairness of the course.
Of the courses in Gwinnett County, GA, this is my least favorite. I only play it when my group wants to play it. It's 17 holes of tree torture that just beats a player down, with one extra-long hole that casual/beginner players don't find to be fun.

5 of 27 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.