Dacula, GA 
Little Mulberry Park Share
Uploaded By: Bakenstine Hole #1 (Taken 9/2014)
3 / 240ft.   3 / 300ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Beginner review of a great course

1    5/27/2015   5/27/2015
Review By: BluePhish
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
Pros: Very clean and well maintained.

Nice woodland setting, peaceful and serene.

Holes are fairly newbie friendly while still presenting challenges and interesting lines.

Signage is good, next tee signs on every hole and accurate hole layouts on signage.
Cons: Some holes have a LOT of trees, which leads to newbies like myself feeling like they have no clear line. This is possibly a PRO for experienced players.

Hole 10 has some heavy brambles that can catch an errant tee shot. I lost my first disc ever here. Again, experienced players will probably never notice.

No bathrooms on the course that I could see, although you are never TOO far from the parking lot if it is an emergency.
Other Thoughts: As a new player I found this course challenging but doable, rewarding strategy and accuracy. I really enjoyed the setting, nice woods with manicured fairways were a real joy to play in. Will definitely be back to play again despite the longish drive from ITP Atlanta.

Greens in the Forest

1    1/11/2015   5/26/2015
Review By: SpatialT
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 29.3 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great mix of types of shots (forest, clear, mixed) and distances
World class park facility
Easy to navigate
Greens in the forest! For real. First time I have ever seen that. Obviously there is very active management of the course. Some holes feel very secluded despite the proximity to other park uses.
Cons: In the boondocks! Not easy to get to from the interstate.
Other Thoughts: Gwinnett parks are leading the way in building and maintaining good disc golf courses in Metro Atlanta. This course is designed for experienced players.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

I love this course

5+    5/10/2015   5/10/2015
Review By: cjbsr
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: This course offers some of the best golf in North Georgia!! It was well designed.. it forces a series of many nice shots to birdie all 4 par fours... it also demands that you hit your tee shots or you can definitely take a big number ...hole 10 is just awesome in so many ways..this course offers a challenge that many don't and is very rewarding when played well...
Cons: Still needs some debris cleared that the ice storm left in a few of the fairways.. needs a sign in hole 10's fairway informing non discgolfers that they are in a fairway...
Other Thoughts: Ryan Harris and Ryan Fickel did an amazing job on this course!!!

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Definitely An Advanced Course

2-4    4/25/2015   4/26/2015
Review By: SD86
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
This review was updated on 5/5/2015
2 Helpful / 18 Not
Pros: Layout - designers sought to make this a course for advanced players -- and they succeeded.
- technical/wooded course on 17 of 18 holes. Different basket locations from different tee boxes give different looks.
- Signage at each hole is good, with rings showing which basket location is in play.
- In general, path to the next tee box is well marked.
- For the most part, no long walks between holes.
- 850-ft.-long 10th hole is a lot of fun for those who like to "grip it and rip it".
- Unlike many other courses, playing from the back tees isn't just adding length; it often means a completely different shot selection (this is neither good nor bad, just interesting).
- Sod fairways give landing zones.
- Someone recently went through and cleared out some trees, making the fairways a bit wider, clearer and therefore a bit easier to throw into.
Cons: Layout - designers sought to make this a course for advanced players -- and they succeeded!
- Signage is only at blue (back) tees, and some are a long way from the white (front) tees, so if you want to see yardage, you have to go out of your way to the back tees.
- Might want to put in 'wrong way' signs from some baskets, as the "intuitive" path is the wrong direction.
- Having only one hole that's open and long means no breaks from tree-lined holes, which means:
- When time and again one throws a great shot out of the hand going great down the fairway only to hit a tree in the middle of said fairway, it beats you down over time.
- When a disc nicks a tree and goes three feet into the "rough", and there is no outlet throw even backwards because the trees are so thick, over time it really beats you down.
- It's not "risk/reward" or "reward/punishment", it's pure and simple "punishment"... even when one throws a good shot in the fairway. Often a good throw leaves a poor (or no) good approach to the basket, even down the tree-choked "fairway".
- The extra-long hole is such that amateurs/beginners need ten shots to play (I did par it, but others who don't throw as far were just grinding).
- Course is new, so paths aren't yet beaten in. This means negotiating rough, uneven terrain, and when it's wet the footing can be very treacherous. I strongly recommend hiking shoes/boots when walking this course.
- Restrooms are on other end of parking lot, not very close at all.
- Sod fairways are nice when it's dry, but they're really messy and soggy right after rains. Also, if they're meant to be landing zones, they're not well-placed landing zones.
Other Thoughts: Again, I strongly recommend hiking shoes/boots with ankle support for navigating this course, especially after it's rained.
Advanced players probably will love this course. I'm a casual player that plays with a group of casual players, and this course can be exceptionally rough on them.
If you want to see a "fair" technical/wooded course, go to East Roswell DGC. They have tight but fair fairways, whereas Little Mulberry has trees right in the middle of fairways. East Roswell did it right; Little Mulberry has a lot of work to do to improve the fairness of the course.
Of the courses in Gwinnett County, GA, this is my least favorite. I only play it when my group wants to play it. It's 17 holes of tree torture that just beats a player down, with one extra-long hole that casual/beginner players don't find to be fun.

2 of 20 people found this review helpful.

Little Mulberry, Big on Style

1    10/31/2014   1/26/2015
Review By: New013
Played: 150  Reviewed: 101  Exp: 4.8 Years
14 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Layout - Overall the course is tightly wooded and requires solid line shaping to score well.

Two tees and rotating pin positions.

Little Mulberry is really balanced in terms of offering up different lines throughout the course and changing up the distances to keep the round fresh and evolving. A good many of the tee shots give you options to use different shots on different paths.

The difficulty of tee shots alternating helps create more fun factor than just beating you down like some courses of this type tend to do.

It also mixes in more technical par 4's throughout that require mostly shorter placement shots while also navigating some early and late gaps.

The elevation changes throughout the course tend to be short and quick creating some craggy fairways. The par 4's seem to utilize elevation really well in making you think about where you're landing and the angle of your disc.

Some really interesting green locations, I think a good many were really well done in positioning and using the elevation changes to create challenge.

Getting off fairway can be really punishing which further emphasizes hitting your line. A lot of fairways have late twists which usually means hitting early makes your approach from distance much more difficult.

There is one big open hole that lets you rip a disc a couple of times. I thought it was done really well, probably better than some open courses you see.

Atmosphere - It's definitely the most well groomed and accessorized public course I've played. The entire course was trimmed out well and all of the stuff taken out is pretty much gone. It gives the course a look as if it's been there for a while.

Some fairways have sod laid down to enhance the beauty of it. It feels more like a well taken care of private course than a public one.

Once you're on the course you quickly get away from the rest of the park and for the most part it stays secluded which is a huge plus.

Equipment - Again, some top notch accessories that goes along with the atmosphere. The tee signs are some of the best there are. Gives you distances to each pin from both pads along with the elevation changes. The hole maps are well done and accurate.

Really nice concrete pads of ample size. Brooms at the pads to help clean them off.

The alternate pins not in use were marked with rocks which was a nice touch. There was a course map and info at the beginning. There's probably more I'm leaving out.
Cons: Layout - If you enjoy letting discs rip there's a lack of that here. A bit more holes that let you really drive would of given the course even more balance and raised the rating up for me.

There's two or three holes that don't really make a solid play on the green area due to the initial gap being too tight/awkward or a pin position being to far back or tucked in.

There was like one hole where I felt like hey this is kind of a filler hole.

Atmosphere - None I can think of at present.

Equipment - None I can think of at present.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed Little Mulberry. If you're in to wooded golf this place is right up your alley and it comes with a touch of style seldom seen on this type of setting.

It's definitely worth a stop if you're in the area.

14 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Amazing course!!

2-4    1/19/2015   1/20/2015
Review By: kevinturner73
Played: 39  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.9 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The people that designed this course put a lot of thought into the shots. I played it yesterday and I love courses where I use every shot possible. Backhand, forehand, hyzer bomb, anny, skips, tomahawks and rollers. I used all of them. This is a tough course but still has a fun factor to it. The course is in tip-top shape and love the selection of trees left in the fairways to make/stop lines. Instantly in my top 10 or even top 5.
Cons: Had to wait a while on hole 10 to try and get kids out of the "sand boxes." Not sure if those are there to slow rollers or what, but may want to consider moving the sand or place lots of "caution" signs by the sand for the kiddos. Finally gave up and just threw a short drive to get moving.

Hole 2... I like the first part of the fairway and had two great "placement" drives off the tee. But when I got to my disc in the landing zone, I did not have a clean second shot. No anny line, no clean hyzer line (got a lucky sneak hyzer to work the second time.)

That's about it, and that is just trying to find something to whine about. =)
Other Thoughts: Curious to see how the sod holds up from shade, traffic and acidic pine needles.


Maybe a few more trash cans over time.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Top Course in Gwinnett County

1    12/26/2014   12/29/2014
Review By: kylemoody
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Excellent course all around. So glad I was finally able to make it out to the course and play a round.

- This course's signage is the best I've seen. It is very easy to find the next tee at most holes.
- Very challenging for a beginner/amateur (like myself). I was pleased to play +10...
- Best mix of right and left doglegs I've seen.
- Most "epic" hole in Gwinnett County goes to hole 10. Well over 900'. Very impressive.
- This course awards accurate drives from the tee-pad. The fairways are actually "real" here. The woods are thick and nasty, definitely want to stay away from them.
- Good amount of elevation variation.
- Beautiful course!
Cons: It's hard to say anything negative about this course. But here are a couple negatives.

- There are two entrances to the park. You will definitely want to go with the "Hog Mountain Road" entrance. I drove to the "Fence Road" entrance and it took me around 7 or 8 minutes to get to the other entrance.
- I felt as though some of the par 3's were "filler" holes. Every hole had character except for a couple holes.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is without a doubt the best course in Gwinnett County. It is definitely worth the drive. I am a "grip it and rip it" kind of disc golfer, as my finesse game needs some major improvement. There are not many chances to let it rip here though. Most holes are very tight and reward tight, accurate drives with a mid-range or putter. I throw backhand almost exclusively, and really appreciated my assortment of mid-ranges. You will definitely need an assortment of stable, over-stable, and under-stable discs.
The course is beautiful and another disc-golfer complimented the course saying it was the best he had ever played. He was from Ft.Myers, FL, and was very impressed with the course.
I took a couple of my friends with me to the course and we couldn't stop talking about our round all the way home (45 minute drive).
Definitely get out there and play a round!!!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Great course

2-4    12/15/2014   12/17/2014
Review By: Journeyman
Played: 34  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 19 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful new course in a huge, very nice county park. Well laid out through pines. Fairways are clean with sod. (We'll see if that lives. ) Woods are pretty well cleared, maybe too much. You can get into trouble but usually there is a good way out. Multiple cement tees with multiple pin placements! Offers wonderful flexibility.

Signs are some of the best I have ever seen. Huge graphics with length, elevation change and rings to mark current pin placement. Next tee signs every place needed. There are some cross over holes so next tee signs are a big help to newbies. Even with the cross over holes the course is not tight, never felt like I was on top of other players.

Playground, rest rooms are nice.

Tough course, not for the beginner. Easy to hit a lot of trees but the sides have been cleared pretty far back into the woods.

Some real interesting pin placements making good use of elevation.

A really fun, very challenging course. Played from the back tees, ended up with a 64 and felt pretty good about it. Went back a week later and the back nine pins had been changed, which was great!
One hole in the open, and it's a doozy! Long and down hill, but with tough pin placement in some pines with rolling humps and ditches around. Really nice hole, #10!
Cons: Picky, but even with varied pin placement it seems very RHBH friendly. RH Forearm throwers and lefties may find this course extra challenging.

I thought the builders could have left a little more undergrowth, but most will not agree with that.

Needs some trash cans on the course.

That is it, hard to find much wrong with Little Mulberry.
Other Thoughts: Front nine are much harder than the back nine, I thought. Depends on your point of view whether that is good or bad to have a course kind of slow down the challenge as you go. Only one hole in the open, so if you don't like tight, woody course do not play here!

This is a GREAT Course. The Designers should be applauded. The best course I have played in the Atlanta area. Like Roswell on steroids, but still very playable. Much more variety than Roswell too.

If you are int area and want to play a beautiful, well laid out challenging course, this is the one to play.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Beautiful grooming and park

1    12/12/2014   12/15/2014
Review By: jksenior
Played: 128  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First and foremost, the park and course are new and seem to be beautifully maintained. The neighborhood surrounding the park seems to be quite nice as well.
- There are multiple tees and multiple basket positions on each hole. Depending on the frequency of moving the basket, you could play a different course each time you play.
- Tees are great - big, flat PLUS there is a broom on every hole to sweep pine needles off - NICE.
- Tee signs are very good, including a small ring attached to an eye bolt to indicate what position the basket is in. This is quite nice since there are multiple holes where you can not see the basket.
- Navigation is much better than average, with a next ee sign on each hole. Sometimes they were a little tough to spot, but they were always there.
- Holes were generally good to very. Fairly traditional woods golf. Seemed to be a pretty equitable division of right to left and left to right. Although this could vary greatly depending on the basket position.
- Most holes were fairly tight, but there was one open "bomber" hole. Always a bonus for a predominantly wooded course.
Cons: Not too many cons at all, but if I have to nitpick, here they are:
- A few of the holes seemed to not have a clean line. Either luck shot required or a pretty advanced ability to manipulate a discs flight.
- There did seem to be a general lack of mid-range holes. For me they seemed to be driver or putter shots primarily.
- One or two spots where you can see another holes basket from the tee. Made for a confusing shot or two.
- A couple of next tees were close to the previous hole. Could come into to play with errant tee shots.
Other Thoughts: My review is based on playing the long tees, so I can't comment on the short tees.
Overall, this was as pleasant of a first time playing a course experience as I've ever had. As I said in the pro's section, the course and park are immaculate, and the amenities are as good as any course I've played.

This course is very close to a 4.5 rating for me. Just a few small issues with the hole design.

Go and play this course.

I look forward to coming down and playing a tournament here.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

A fun round of DG

1    11/30/2014   12/2/2014
Review By: thirstydisc
Played: 145  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 24.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: + Nice patio area at hole 1 tee
+ Great tee signs, pin position marked by key rings
+ Very nice concrete tee pads
+ Well groomed fairways, many with sod. I am curious how well they last in the woods and with foot traffic.
+ New Discatchers. Love the yellow band in the woods.
+ Very nice, busy park. The course is well separated form other park users. Nice restrooms, parking, and shelters.
+ Good shot mixture, up/dowm and left/right/straight. Several hidden basket locations reward learning the course.
+ All holes in woods with moderately tight lines, except for #10. Mostly fair shots punishing excursions into the rough.
+ Hole 9 loops back to parking lot.
+ Easy to navigate. I had a map and did not need it until going from 17 to 18.
+ Easy access from I-85 for those from out of town.
+ Nice benches on every third hole.
+ Construction material chosen are low maintenance and should last a long time.
Cons: - Few trash cans, but there was no trash on the course.
- Few chances to throw 100% drives, but that is the nature of wooded courses. Being from Western NC, I love it.
Other Thoughts: A great place to use most shots in your bag and to hone your technical and recovery game. Well done Gwinnett Co P&R. Good design, execution, and, so far, upkeep. I'll be back

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.