Dacula, GA 
Little Mulberry Park Share
Uploaded By: Bakenstine Hole #17 (Taken 9/2014)
3 / 285ft.   3 / 270ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

1    8/26/2014   9/3/2014
Review By: SkipperDean
Played: 18  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 10.3 Years
Pros: This place must have a lower rating to keep attendance down, and I've gotta say I only saw 3 people in the 3 hours I was there. Great course. Technical, being mostly wooded, but there are great lines for a variety of shots most of the time. I want to say there was only one hole that seemed unnecessarily tricky, but maybe after spending more than one go at it, the path will unfold to me...

My friend I was playing with pointed out the great flow of course in regards to each hole leading to the next. You won't catch yourself turning all the way around to find the next tee box or its path, something other course designers should take note of. You could easily show up there for the first time and not ever get turned around (as long as you realize 10 is beyond 17).

And then there are the HUGE, BEAUTIFUL TEE PADS, ACCURATE SIGNS with ELEVATION and SOD FAIRWAYS!!!!!!
Cons: Needs trashcans and sign to Hole 10.
Other Thoughts: This shiny, new play place feels like a disc golfer's course to me.

First place I've played and then gone on here to write about.

 east roswell and redan had a baby, her name is little mulberry!

1    7/26/2014   7/29/2014
Review By: JSAC
Played: 13  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/31/2014
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This course has everything! Gwinnett County has one of the best if not THE best park system in the state of Georgia. Amenities are clean and accessible for the disc golfers. The course has sod laid in the fairways, yes sod, like ball golf! The signage is clear and finding your way around the course is a breeze. The tee pads are plenty large with extra large pads on the BIG holes. They went the extra mile in the design and installation of this course. This course is exSACtly what Gwinnett county needed to round out all the open space of the nearby courses.
Cons: one hour from my house. no trash cans on course. remember guys pack it in pack it out to keep this place a 5 disc course!
Other Thoughts: I think that as the course matures and gets worn in the holes with less obvious lines will become more visible to the less imaginative eye. Great job to the designers and Gwinnett County! Thank You

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Best Course in Gwinnett!

1    7/25/2014   7/28/2014
Review By: cnalbers
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 31.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Extremely well designed course with nice little touches. Love the sod fairways in a forest! Tee signage is best I have seen anywhere. There are hole markers on the sign to indicate current pin placement, nice! Teepads are huge! Rocks painted yellow are nice touch for marking OB. Most of the ground is covered in pine straw, which makes cushioned walk through the course. Finally, a Gwinnett course that is truly challenging and long.
Cons: My only complaint is Hole #2. Getting through this fairway is more luck than skill. It could stand to have several trees removed.
Other Thoughts: Amenities in this park are nice. Restrooms are fairly close (about 75 yards) to 1st tee. There's a huge playground and pavilion. The course is removed from the rest of the park, there is little chance of hitting pedestrians on walking paths. There are several blind holes where it is necessary to walk down the fairway to see the hole, which is a minor inconvenience. Won't be an issue after playing several times. However, if you lose track of a disc, you might have a hard time finding it. While the course is very nice, it will play much better after a year or so when it becomes broken in. The parking lot could be bigger... if and when there is a tournament here, there will be issues.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

First Class Course

5+    7/23/2014   7/23/2014
Review By: PeggyAttaway
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Absolutely love this course! To keep this concise, I will go with bullet points…
*Brand new
*Challenging holes requiring a variety of shots
*Awesome concrete tee pads
*Well marked course using clear signage
*Nice area at hole 1 for folks to gather before teeing off..
*Sod being laid currently…Amazing!
*Clean, accessible restrooms close by
Cons: There are none in my review other than the course is an hour away from my home. That has not deterred me from playing. Ive been there 5 times since it opened a little over a week ago.
Other Thoughts: This course was designed by a professional course designer who is also a disc golfer. The course is definitely challenging and will be more so with the variety of pin placements as the baskets move from pin to pin.. I never understand the comments "not a fair line"…Its disc golf…it has trees… A fair line is created by using different technical shots and skills. I love this course…Wished these guys who designed this one would build one near my home.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Love it!

2-4    7/21/2014   7/22/2014
Review By: threej21
Played: 16  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - gorgeous course on gorgeous land
- can tell a lot of thought and money went into the design
- great area by hole 1 teepad to gather for leagues or wait for your turn
- nice pavilion close by that can easily hold 100 + people
- nice, clean bathrooms that are close by
- nice mix of elevation both up hill and down hill
- heavily wooded course with sod being laid on a lot of fairways. will make for a beautiful and unique 'wooded' course
- raised level of difficulty from other local courses
- AMAZING tee signs and other signage to navigate course
- well thought out loop with 18 finishing very close to hole 1
- benches at every teepad I believe. if not every, definitely most
- high and a lot of times open ceiling allowing for a wide range of shot options
- multiple paths to pin from almost every teepad. ie. hyzer, anhyzer, straight at it, etc
Cons: not too many cons in my opinion but lets see...
- yellow jackets - its a new course so it has yet to be taken over by mankind. this should get better as time goes by but as of now there are MULTIPLE in ground nests throughout the course.
- needs more trash cans as there are hardly any spread around the course
- could possibly use a little more grooming as the course ages. A few trees here or there that are a bit in the way of intended lines. Nothing major, but good they left them as you cant replant them.
Other Thoughts: Absolutely love this course. it is a great addition to the choices in the metro Atlanta area. Adds a level of difficulty not seen at many other local courses. I think this course will be a great future sight for some B Tier or better tournaments

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

What a Great Course

2-4    7/19/2014   7/22/2014
Review By: Matt
Played: 33  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 10.8 Years
This review was updated on 7/23/2014
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: So many... This course has the best amenities that I've ever seen at a course other than the IDGC. It features a beautiful pavilion very close to hole #1,a drinking fountain next to hole #1's teepad and some of the most detailed and accurate tee-signs I've seen. It also has benches at some of the holes, DiscCatcher baskets and well made concrete teepads.

Almost every hole gives the thrower multiple options because of the many split fairways. The gaps are generally not that tight except on a couple of the shortest holes, so that good shots are rewarded (the shots don't have to be perfect or super lucky like at East Roswell Park), however if you do shank a drive It can be very hard to save a par on many of the holes. I consider this a positive thing because this is where scoring separation comes from. This course features straight shots as well as sweeping left and right shots. The one field hole is nice as well because it has a tree line down the right side that definitely adds a risk reward element to the hole.
Cons: As someone else mentioned it doesn't have any holes that really stick out as a signature hole.
Other Thoughts: The reviewer below may have played some other course because this course is 100% fair.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Beyond Sad

1    7/19/2014   7/20/2014
Review By: Redneck Machismo
Played: 126  Reviewed: 23
4 Helpful / 41 Not
Pros: Some of the best signs I have ever seen and the tee pads are great.
Cons: Where do I start? This is perhaps the worst course in Georgia. I tried to be generous with my assessment while playing but I could only find three or maybe four fair holes on this course. Keep in mind that does not mean "good," just fair. The rest of the "holes" are just flat out horrible. There are no legitimate lines on most of them or if there is kind of a line there it's at an angle that is completely invalid. Many holes were also blind for some reason as well so that I could not even enjoy seeing which tree in the middle of the "fairway" I hit. One thing I want to point out is that this kind of course is just not fun. Even if the course was fair it still would just be miserable. Let's face it: it's built in a tick infested scrub forest. What makes it really sad is that this course could have been so much better because it's clear that the "designer" had the ability to cut trees but choose to leave them for no reason. I am sorry to be negative but it took all I could do to not run from this course and pray that I don't even visit it again in a bad dream.
Other Thoughts: I wish I could give this course a better rating but as players we have to start standing up against these awful excuses for disc golf courses. There is so much cronyism and herd-like thinking in this game that everyone is afraid to speak up. This course should be pulled.

4 of 45 people found this review helpful.

Little Mulberry Park

1    7/15/2014   7/20/2014
Review By: craigd
Played: 92  Reviewed: 91  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/22/2014
17 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Gwinnett County Park and Rec department's follow up to the popular Alexander Park was a two-year work in progress that was well worth the wait. Little Mulberry Park's disc golf course is a nice feature and in my view it sits near the top of the list of Atlanta's favorite courses.

The park itself is beautiful and has lots to offer. You'll be greeted by plenty of parking just a short distance from hole one's tee pad. Clean bathrooms are also in the area. A roomy pavilion with a great view of hole 10's fairway makes for a perfect meeting place and works well for tourney central. There is also a nice view of the rolling hills in the backdrop creating a pleasant setting as well. Just up the stairs to one's tee area you will find a nice seating/waiting patio that actually incorporates tee one's long pad into the structure. There is plenty of room for folks to wait and watch in case there are multiple groups starting at once.

The added features continue throughout the course itself. First off, there are dual concrete tee pads on every hole. It should mention, according to the designers, that this course was not built with the rec players in mind. Instead, the course caters to the intermediate and advanced/open players. Although there are shorter pads, that does not necessarily mean they are designed for new players. Even so, the pads do seem to make the course much more manageable, especially if you struggle in the woods. Having said that, I believe a newer player or even a person unfamiliar with the sport should still enjoy the course. Do not forget there is an area with a practice basket to the right of one's basket and two's tee pad for a quick pre-round warm up.

Moving on you will notice some of the nicest tee signs around. Not only do they map the fairways well, they have distances and even elevation indications. They also have a simple but effective ring system marking the basket locations. Speaking of basket locations, you will find multiple pin placements on every hole. At a minimum, there are two pin locations but on some of them, there are three to mix up the variations. There are at least three predetermined layouts. Playing off the fact that the course is located off Hog Mountain and "HAM"ilton Mill Roads, there are three swine themed/named layouts. There is the par 59 "Bacon" layout (easiest), the par 59 "Pork Chop" layout (a little harder), and lastly, the toughest layout, is the par 60 with everything in the long positions dubbed the "Fatback" layout. No matter the pin placements, you are sure to notice the brand new Innova DISCatchers. Many of them have flags and help you spot them, especially when playing the blind shots when you have to take a quick walk up the fairway to sight the basket.

As far as the layout goes, this is a wooded course lover's dream. Seventeen of the eighteen holes give you a steady diet of wooded fairways. There is a mix of open lanes to some tightly wooded shots asking for precise lines. Often there are multiple tight lines and split fairways to the baskets. They give players options from the tees, or on the longer holes, from their second shot. There is a good mix of hole lengths and shapes as well. Throughout a couple of ace runs to the challenging par 4's you will see some moderate elevation changes. There are strait shots, sweeping left and right turns, doglegs, and even a few snaking shots. Hole ten, the only open hole, is a long downhill par 4/5 depending on the basket location. It will probably offer some reprieve from the woods, especially if you are having a rough time finding your lines. The course is ideal as far as the flow is concerned. Two virtual nine hole loops both bring you right back up to the front of the course as you play through.
Cons: Well it is tough for me to criticize this course as I absolutely love wooded courses and this is no exception. Nevertheless, I have heard some chatter from other players of all skill levels that there are still some trees that, in their opinion, should be removed in order to add validity to the fairways. Moreover, those who love throwing bombs during a round may wish for a better mix of open and wooded hole combinations.

Considering some of the tightly wooded holes and the likelihood of getting a bad kick, some of the rough off the fairways can be punishing. Getting a bad kick is probably going to give you an extra stroke anyway, having to pitch out, especially if you are barely off the fairway, is sometimes tough to swallow. But then again, that's part of a wooded course experience.

Look out for ticks and yellow jackets.

Other Thoughts: Gwinnett County really went all out with this course and it seems they have spared no expense. As others have mentioned, the county is now rich with disc golf courses and all of them have something to offer. The open course at Lenora, the mixed layout at Alex, and now the wooded advanced level course here at Mulberry are sure to cover all the bases of what any disc golfer will be looking for. It's also worth mentioning another new course in Gwinnett in the City of Suwanee, Suwanee Creek Park.

The large park also has plenty of other activities to keep non-disc golfing friends and family busy while you play. Look for playgrounds, walking trails, a lake, and even an equestrian area.

17 of 17 people found this review helpful.

Play this course!

1    7/16/2014   7/17/2014
Review By: casualdiscgolfer
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 1) Great signage and flow. You will not have any trouble navigating the course.
2) Nice mix of holes with long holes, short holes, hyzer, and anhyzer.
3) A more challenging course for Gwinnett County.
4) Not much interference from other parts of the park. The course is set on its own part of the park.
5) Multiple basket positions with a spiffy little ring system on the signs that tell you what position that basket is in. Very cool.
6) Signs that are actually accurate!
7) The course plays through a mostly pine forest which makes most of the forest floor pine straw which keeps the brush down (easier to find your disc in the rough).
Cons: 1) A little too wooded...every single hole is through the woods except 10.
2) Most of the holes have decent lanes cut so that with a good throw you can get through save two. I don't recall the hole numbers but there were two that seemed to have no lane and I just threw and hoped for the best.
3) The rough is rough. Lots of small, spindly trees that make getting out of the woods very difficult.
4) I don't recall seeing many trash cans.
5) Nothing super unique about any of the holes that makes them stand out individually though this isn't necessarily a bad thing (10 is pretty fun).
Other Thoughts: I am very happy to have such an awesome course open in Gwinnett. I love Alex and Lenora but this course adds the technical difficulty that those two are missing. What keeps this course from getting a 4.5 or 5 is the lack of a really unique thing that makes it stand out. Don't get me wrong, I loved to play it and I look forward to playing again it just isn't that original.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

The new standard

2-4    7/17/2014   7/17/2014
Review By: damtroll
Played: 98  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.8 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The extras on the course are all top notch.

Multiple pin positions on each hole.

Great tee signs showing the hole layout and elevation difference, with a key ring showing which pin position is in play.

Good sized tee pads with brooms. Larger trapezoidal pads for the long pads, with smaller rectangular pads for the shorts.

Benches on some of the holes

Ample paved parking with rest rooms and water available, with good meeting areas for dubs or tournaments.

Good course flow, with next tee signs and loops heading back to the parking area.

Brand spanking new Discatchers, some with flags as needed.

The course has a good mix of par 3's and 4's, with several ace run opportunities. (3 and 13 especially)

The course seems pretty fair in its current set up, with a good mix of hyzer, anhyzer, and straight shots needed.

There are available lines for all of the wooded holes. There are plenty of trees in the woods, and interspersed in the fairway, but there always seems to be an available line (not that I could hit it, but it was there).

Cons: Some would say the rough is pretty rough. I don't really see that as a negative. If you get a bad kick off a tree or throw a bad shot, you may be required to just pitch back to the fairway. I'm not sure that's a con, just something to be aware of.

There are a lot of pre-existing ditches that ended up being in the rough. If you end up in the rough, it will definitely affect your next shot.

The course builders did a really good job on the construction, but there are still a lot of small stumps cut flush to the ground. Just be cognizant of that and watch your step.

The course just didn't have that signature hole. I can't really think of a bad hole, but there wasn't that wow factor on any of the holes. Some might say 10, but that is just an open field downhill hole that is fun after 9 in the woods.

Other Thoughts: As an intermediate golfer, I thought the course was tough but fair, Hit your lines and not the trees, and you have a good shot at par or better, with the several birdie holes available.

The course designer should be commended on a well designed course given the land available. All the bells and whistles are there, and I think the course is well set up for tournaments.

For overall rating, I loved the course, but there are several courses that I have played that impressed me more (North Georgia Canopy Tours, Steady Ed at IDGC, Ashe County) Hence the 4, and not anything higher. Still a great addition to the Atlanta disc golf scene.

I think the course will definitely become the new standard for courses in the Atlanta area.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.