Dacula, GA 
Little Mulberry Park Share
Uploaded By: Bakenstine Hole #12 (Taken 9/2014)
3 / 235ft.   3 / 310ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Great course

2-4    12/15/2014   12/17/2014
Review By: Journeyman
Played: 23  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 18.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful new course in a huge, very nice county park. Well laid out through pines. Fairways are clean with sod. (We'll see if that lives. ) Woods are pretty well cleared, maybe too much. You can get into trouble but usually there is a good way out. Multiple cement tees with multiple pin placements! Offers wonderful flexibility.

Signs are some of the best I have ever seen. Huge graphics with length, elevation change and rings to mark current pin placement. Next tee signs every place needed. There are some cross over holes so next tee signs are a big help to newbies. Even with the cross over holes the course is not tight, never felt like I was on top of other players.

Playground, rest rooms are nice.

Tough course, not for the beginner. Easy to hit a lot of trees but the sides have been cleared pretty far back into the woods.

Some real interesting pin placements making good use of elevation.

A really fun, very challenging course. Played from the back tees, ended up with a 64 and felt pretty good about it. Went back a week later and the back nine pins had been changed, which was great!
One hole in the open, and it's a doozy! Long and down hill, but with tough pin placement in some pines with rolling humps and ditches around. Really nice hole, #10!
Cons: Picky, but even with varied pin placement it seems very RHBH friendly. RH Forearm throwers and lefties may find this course extra challenging.

I thought the builders could have left a little more undergrowth, but most will not agree with that.

Needs some trash cans on the course.

That is it, hard to find much wrong with Little Mulberry.
Other Thoughts: Front nine are much harder than the back nine, I thought. Depends on your point of view whether that is good or bad to have a course kind of slow down the challenge as you go. Only one hole in the open, so if you don't like tight, woody course do not play here!

This is a GREAT Course. The Designers should be applauded. The best course I have played in the Atlanta area. Like Roswell on steroids, but still very playable. Much more variety than Roswell too.

If you are int area and want to play a beautiful, well laid out challenging course, this is the one to play.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Beautiful grooming and park

1    12/12/2014   12/15/2014
Review By: jksenior
Played: 119  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 7.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First and foremost, the park and course are new and seem to be beautifully maintained. The neighborhood surrounding the park seems to be quite nice as well.
- There are multiple tees and multiple basket positions on each hole. Depending on the frequency of moving the basket, you could play a different course each time you play.
- Tees are great - big, flat PLUS there is a broom on every hole to sweep pine needles off - NICE.
- Tee signs are very good, including a small ring attached to an eye bolt to indicate what position the basket is in. This is quite nice since there are multiple holes where you can not see the basket.
- Navigation is much better than average, with a next ee sign on each hole. Sometimes they were a little tough to spot, but they were always there.
- Holes were generally good to very. Fairly traditional woods golf. Seemed to be a pretty equitable division of right to left and left to right. Although this could vary greatly depending on the basket position.
- Most holes were fairly tight, but there was one open "bomber" hole. Always a bonus for a predominantly wooded course.
Cons: Not too many cons at all, but if I have to nitpick, here they are:
- A few of the holes seemed to not have a clean line. Either luck shot required or a pretty advanced ability to manipulate a discs flight.
- There did seem to be a general lack of mid-range holes. For me they seemed to be driver or putter shots primarily.
- One or two spots where you can see another holes basket from the tee. Made for a confusing shot or two.
- A couple of next tees were close to the previous hole. Could come into to play with errant tee shots.
Other Thoughts: My review is based on playing the long tees, so I can't comment on the short tees.
Overall, this was as pleasant of a first time playing a course experience as I've ever had. As I said in the pro's section, the course and park are immaculate, and the amenities are as good as any course I've played.

This course is very close to a 4.5 rating for me. Just a few small issues with the hole design.

Go and play this course.

I look forward to coming down and playing a tournament here.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

A fun round of DG

1    11/30/2014   12/2/2014
Review By: thirstydisc
Played: 142  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 23.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: + Nice patio area at hole 1 tee
+ Great tee signs, pin position marked by key rings
+ Very nice concrete tee pads
+ Well groomed fairways, many with sod. I am curious how well they last in the woods and with foot traffic.
+ New Discatchers. Love the yellow band in the woods.
+ Very nice, busy park. The course is well separated form other park users. Nice restrooms, parking, and shelters.
+ Good shot mixture, up/dowm and left/right/straight. Several hidden basket locations reward learning the course.
+ All holes in woods with moderately tight lines, except for #10. Mostly fair shots punishing excursions into the rough.
+ Hole 9 loops back to parking lot.
+ Easy to navigate. I had a map and did not need it until going from 17 to 18.
+ Easy access from I-85 for those from out of town.
+ Nice benches on every third hole.
+ Construction material chosen are low maintenance and should last a long time.
Cons: - Few trash cans, but there was no trash on the course.
- Few chances to throw 100% drives, but that is the nature of wooded courses. Being from Western NC, I love it.
Other Thoughts: A great place to use most shots in your bag and to hone your technical and recovery game. Well done Gwinnett Co P&R. Good design, execution, and, so far, upkeep. I'll be back

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Best Course in Gwinnett

2-4    9/10/2014   10/23/2014
Review By: kasonmoody
Played: 9  Reviewed: 7
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -Great and well played out signage.
-Well groomed, well kept up.
-Great wide tee pads.
-Challenging.
-Pro level course!
-Great mix of routes. Plenty of holes for lefties/forehand heavy throwers. Will reward those that can bend discs both ways.
Cons: -Too many trees leave too much to chance.
Other Thoughts: Fantastic course. Couldn't be happier to have such a high level course near where I live!

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Great Course

1    10/21/2014   10/21/2014
Review By: ldtrainman
Played: 9  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4.6 Years
This review was updated on 10/27/2014
Pros: Well designed course through the forest.

Great use of terrain with several holes using significant elevation changes.

Awesome T-Box signs showing distance, elevation change, and which basket location is being used.

Good signage. This was my first time playing this course. No one was with us who had played before. We found our way around with only a little bit of difficulty.

Many Ace runs and at least one bomber out in the open (860 ft. par 5 from the Am T-Box).

Most of the course is fairly short but requires accurate shots.

The county and designers did a great job of making a great course. A lot of work went into the making of this course and I thank all those involved.

If visiting from out of town I would definitely recommend this course. It is now my favorite course in the local area.
Cons: Although navigation was good it could be improved with a couple of more signs showing the way to the next T-Box on holes where the walk is a little longer.

Shots that get off the fairway can be a little too troublesome as the "rough" is overly dense with small trees and thorny bushes. This leaves little opportunity to recover. Recovery should not be easy, but it should be possible.

Several (at least 3) of the Am T-Boxes had worse lines to the basket than the Pro T-Boxes. This hardly makes it worth the distance saved by using the Am T-Boxes.

Some baskets can not be seen from the T-Box because they are over a hill. A flag on a pole above the basket would help.
Other Thoughts: A few minor fixes and this course could get a 4.5 rating. The only things that keeps it from being a 5 are things that there is no control of, such as terrain and geology.

The course description calls this a course "designed with the advanced and intermediate player in mind". I disagree. I would say it is designed for the beginner and intermediate player. That coming from someone who is an intermediate player.

Played this course a second time on a Sunday. The course was crowded with people who were throwing discs at baskets but were not really playing disc golf. This is not a bad thing because it may turn some of them into disc golfers. It is a little distracting when a group is playing a hole in front of you, then behind you, then just tossing discs everywhere. It would be nice if they connected with the disc golf community and really learned how fun this sport is.

 

1    8/26/2014   9/3/2014
Review By: SkipperDean
Played: 18  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 10.6 Years
Pros: This place must have a lower rating to keep attendance down, and I've gotta say I only saw 3 people in the 3 hours I was there. Great course. Technical, being mostly wooded, but there are great lines for a variety of shots most of the time. I want to say there was only one hole that seemed unnecessarily tricky, but maybe after spending more than one go at it, the path will unfold to me...

My friend I was playing with pointed out the great flow of course in regards to each hole leading to the next. You won't catch yourself turning all the way around to find the next tee box or its path, something other course designers should take note of. You could easily show up there for the first time and not ever get turned around (as long as you realize 10 is beyond 17).

And then there are the HUGE, BEAUTIFUL TEE PADS, ACCURATE SIGNS with ELEVATION and SOD FAIRWAYS!!!!!!
Cons: Needs trashcans and sign to Hole 10.
Other Thoughts: This shiny, new play place feels like a disc golfer's course to me.

First place I've played and then gone on here to write about.

 east roswell and redan had a baby, her name is little mulberry!

1    7/26/2014   7/29/2014
Review By: JSAC
Played: 13  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.7 Years
This review was updated on 7/31/2014
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This course has everything! Gwinnett County has one of the best if not THE best park system in the state of Georgia. Amenities are clean and accessible for the disc golfers. The course has sod laid in the fairways, yes sod, like ball golf! The signage is clear and finding your way around the course is a breeze. The tee pads are plenty large with extra large pads on the BIG holes. They went the extra mile in the design and installation of this course. This course is exSACtly what Gwinnett county needed to round out all the open space of the nearby courses.
Cons: one hour from my house. no trash cans on course. remember guys pack it in pack it out to keep this place a 5 disc course!
Other Thoughts: I think that as the course matures and gets worn in the holes with less obvious lines will become more visible to the less imaginative eye. Great job to the designers and Gwinnett County! Thank You

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Best Course in Gwinnett!

1    7/25/2014   7/28/2014
Review By: cnalbers
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 31.8 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Extremely well designed course with nice little touches. Love the sod fairways in a forest! Tee signage is best I have seen anywhere. There are hole markers on the sign to indicate current pin placement, nice! Teepads are huge! Rocks painted yellow are nice touch for marking OB. Most of the ground is covered in pine straw, which makes cushioned walk through the course. Finally, a Gwinnett course that is truly challenging and long.
Cons: My only complaint is Hole #2. Getting through this fairway is more luck than skill. It could stand to have several trees removed.
Other Thoughts: Amenities in this park are nice. Restrooms are fairly close (about 75 yards) to 1st tee. There's a huge playground and pavilion. The course is removed from the rest of the park, there is little chance of hitting pedestrians on walking paths. There are several blind holes where it is necessary to walk down the fairway to see the hole, which is a minor inconvenience. Won't be an issue after playing several times. However, if you lose track of a disc, you might have a hard time finding it. While the course is very nice, it will play much better after a year or so when it becomes broken in. The parking lot could be bigger... if and when there is a tournament here, there will be issues.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 First Class Course

5+    7/23/2014   7/23/2014
Review By: PeggyAttaway
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Absolutely love this course! To keep this concise, I will go with bullet points…
*Brand new
*Challenging holes requiring a variety of shots
*Awesome concrete tee pads
*Well marked course using clear signage
*Nice area at hole 1 for folks to gather before teeing off..
*Sod being laid currently…Amazing!
*Clean, accessible restrooms close by
Cons: There are none in my review other than the course is an hour away from my home. That has not deterred me from playing. Ive been there 5 times since it opened a little over a week ago.
Other Thoughts: This course was designed by a professional course designer who is also a disc golfer. The course is definitely challenging and will be more so with the variety of pin placements as the baskets move from pin to pin.. I never understand the comments "not a fair line"…Its disc golf…it has trees… A fair line is created by using different technical shots and skills. I love this course…Wished these guys who designed this one would build one near my home.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Love it!

2-4    7/21/2014   7/22/2014
Review By: threej21
Played: 17  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - gorgeous course on gorgeous land
- can tell a lot of thought and money went into the design
- great area by hole 1 teepad to gather for leagues or wait for your turn
- nice pavilion close by that can easily hold 100 + people
- nice, clean bathrooms that are close by
- nice mix of elevation both up hill and down hill
- heavily wooded course with sod being laid on a lot of fairways. will make for a beautiful and unique 'wooded' course
- raised level of difficulty from other local courses
- AMAZING tee signs and other signage to navigate course
- well thought out loop with 18 finishing very close to hole 1
- benches at every teepad I believe. if not every, definitely most
- high and a lot of times open ceiling allowing for a wide range of shot options
- multiple paths to pin from almost every teepad. ie. hyzer, anhyzer, straight at it, etc
Cons: not too many cons in my opinion but lets see...
- yellow jackets - its a new course so it has yet to be taken over by mankind. this should get better as time goes by but as of now there are MULTIPLE in ground nests throughout the course.
- needs more trash cans as there are hardly any spread around the course
- could possibly use a little more grooming as the course ages. A few trees here or there that are a bit in the way of intended lines. Nothing major, but good they left them as you cant replant them.
Other Thoughts: Absolutely love this course. it is a great addition to the choices in the metro Atlanta area. Adds a level of difficulty not seen at many other local courses. I think this course will be a great future sight for some B Tier or better tournaments

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.