Anchorage, AK 
Kincaid Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: akguanja Hole #4 (Taken 5/2012)
3 / 263ft.   3 / 380ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Approach



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Best Course in the State!

5+    12/28/2015   12/28/2015
Review By: Lou Dogg 31463
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
-Like my title says, this is without a doubt the best course in the state! If you're in Anchorage and can only play one course, this should be the one. I promise you that.

-18 holes with Pro and Am tees, A and B looks.

-Signature holes: 3's pro tee, 6b is a hanging basket, 14 may cause you to roll away, and 18b is a Goliath basket. You'll see what I mean :-)

-You will see moose there 85% of your rounds.

-I played the course on 3 different layouts in my 11 years there and only saw one bear (black). Many of my friends have seen them out there several times. Yes, this is a Pro, not a Con.

-Plenty of parking. However, Kincaid caters to DGers, hikers, bikers, walkers, soccer, viewers, archery, biathletes, weddings, etc. so it can be tough to find a place to park on certain summer evenings.

-Good use of elevation.

-The course has great flow. Number 1 starts 100 yards from the parking lot and 18 is a 150 yard walk back to your vehicle.

-Kiosk with a full color map and upcoming events.

-Bathrooms at the Chalet and there is usually a portapotty out side of the chalet.

-Lost and Found in the chalet.
Cons:
-It does get overgrown with all the rain and sun Alaska gets. Parks and Rec does not maintain the course. Volunteers of the Alaska DG Association do it all out there. Play the course after the State tournament to play it in its best condition of the year (minus early summer and before winter).

-Since the summer closure of Westchester Lagoon, Kincaid has unfortunately taken a toll from all the extra use.

-No garbage cans and too many people who pack it in but don't pack it out. It's quite sad.

-That damn Devil's Club and Stinging Nettles, haha. Keep it in the fairway and you won't have to worry about either.
Other Thoughts:
-Join them for their Wednesday Night Doubles between May and September. They easily draw 30+ people for their events which makes for a nice payout should you cash.

-Even if you're playing the Am tees, take a second to snap a picture of the view from 3's Pro tee. That will become your background FaceBook picture.

-My favorite course in the state is Peter's Creek but Kincaid is the best course in the state. Not an opinion, just a fact.

-Lastly, if you have your mountain bike with you, check out the single track trails at Kincaid. There are miles upon miles of single track out there and everything is clearly marked. Irrelevant but if I was attending Kincaid I'd want to know about this too!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 One of my all-time favorites

5+    7/10/2011   1/29/2013
Review By: xamathaonx
Played: 31  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 12 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: One of the most beautiful and challenging courses I have played. The constant elevation changes, ravines, cliffs, and wildly deep brush present plenty of obstacles.
Cons: Plenty of chances to loose your discs by over shooting some of the many ravines.
Other Thoughts: Really miss playing this course. It is one of my all-time favorites.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great course!

2-4    7/1/2011   7/2/2011
Review By: professorapoc
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great mix between long and short holes. Pro & Am tee pads. Maps of each hole at each tee. Plenty of benches to give you a break after climbing the hills and waiting for other people to throw. Challenging course, but fun.
Cons: Thick underbrush making it easy to lose discs. A couple instances of poor directions between hole and next tee, probably because of vandalism but it's not a huge deal.
Other Thoughts: Very advanced. Controlled throws a must! Can't even see the holes from the pads at times, check out the map on each tee for an idea of where to throw. Expect to spend about an hour and a half playing 18 holes casually with one other person. Lots of elevation and distance. Some holes aren't affected by wind because of trees. Great view of shoreline as well. Definitely will recommend this course!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Our favorite in alaska

5+    8/24/2010   8/29/2010
Review By: gdogg4250
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A combination of scenery and challenge make this our favorite course to play in Alaska. There is a good mix of short and long holes, plenty of benches at the holes to wait while your party tees off, and not to heavy on traffic.
Cons: Although well marked for a course this size, it wouldn't hurt to have a couple more signs between some of the holes that are a little farther apart. And be prepared to get your legs scraped up a bit if you go into the rough on some of the holes. Also, notice a lot of empty beer/alcohol containers...no problem having a drink here and there, but carry it out when you are done.
Other Thoughts: Gourgeous course, with plenty of challenge. My wife and I have been able to improve our scores each time out, but the improvements are slow enough that it is still a fun place to play; far from easy.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    7/15/2008   10/16/2009
Review By: CC35
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 9 Years
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: If you like a long tough course this is it. Excellent layout with creative basket placements (like a 10ft. basket on a hillside as you see in the profile picture). Quite possible you will see wildlife to go along with your round.
Cons: Again, wildlife. Be aware of your surroundings. Bear and moose are very common in this area. Mosquitos can be bad at times so always have bugdope.
Other Thoughts: Gates close at ten but you can still park outside, walk or bike in, and then play all night during the months of June and July.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/23/2008   10/23/2008
Review By: RraTim
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Beautiful scenery--I've seen moose and porcupines on this course; forces a lot of creative shot making; long summer days mean playing late (be out by 10!)
Cons: Bring water because this is a long course without any real ammenities nearby, particularly once you get going; very wild course--take spotters if you can; a lot of Devil's Club--consider wearing pants
Other Thoughts: This course was redesigned/relocated in '08, and they did a great job with it. As with much of AK, bring your bug dope if you play. If you don't like having to wait for others or don't like the "riff-raff" of other courses, this is a great course for you.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.