Chesapeake, VA 
Northwest River Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: jkdisc Hole #11 (Taken 6/2014)
4 / 294ft.   4 / 341ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Red Tee



Reviews: 3
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
So far so good. Only a few cons

1    10/24/2014   10/26/2014
Review By: Gump
Played: 10  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 10/30/2014
Pros: Good layout for a wooded course. Tight but nice and well done.

Mach 5 baskets.

Multiple Tees. Paint marked out as to where each one is. Despite how wooded it is, each hole was easy to find.

If you know Northwest then you know that there's plenty to do there in case friends or family tag along that don't play.


Cons: Do note that this is still a new course so expect upgrades in the future.

No trash cans or benches yet through the course. There are logs placed around on a few holes at least to sit on. So don't throw trash wherever. There's cans towards the entrance.

Tee pads: They're done up with crush and run/loose gravel and are rather small and uneven on some holes. This course was delayed because of the winter storms being an issue for the concrete yet they're done how I mentioned.

Other Thoughts: After the grand opening there will be a fee to play there similar to N.N. New Quarter.

Until upgrades happen, keep it clean. It's an awesome course and campground.

Gonna be a good one

1    8/10/2014   8/11/2014
Review By: Longjonsilverz
Played: 32  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 8.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Layout is well planned and has a variety of holes. There is wide range of distances including some par 5's and short ace chances. A good challenge and relatively fair for a forest course. Multiple fairway options on many holes throughout the course. This course is most likely going to get better with time since construction is not finished yet.
Cons: Not very many, and too soon to know for sure, but for now the cons would be the uneven playing surface including the tees which are just a pile of gravel in a small rectangle. The tees are very short in length and some are very close to trees which are a danger for hitting on your follow-through. Some of the baskets are a little hard to see in the shade of the woods so hopefully they will put bright flags on them eventually. This is a heavily forested course and some may find it a little too much, but more trees may be removed in the future.
Other Thoughts: This course is still under construction at this time (August 10, 2014) There are a few minor issues to be ironed out, but for the most part this is a great course. The surrounding park is nice and the staff was very helpful. This course will be a nice contrast to the wide open nature of Munden Point nearby. At this point the trees are painted with arrows and numbers telling you where to go, so its pretty easy to figure out. There seems to be at least 2 tees per hole so far. The short tees have the signs and hole maps on them. I give this a 4/5 because the work done so far indicates that the small issues mentioned above will likely be addressed in the future, and even the unfinished version is fun to play.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


2-4    7/1/2014   7/1/2014
Review By: jkdisc
Played: 106  Reviewed: 103  Exp: 6.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is brand new and a well needed addition to the area. It plays through a totally wooded area of the park which used to be a ropes/ initiative course. Navigation is pretty easy and there are arrows painted on the trees to guide you to the next tee.
There are also "E" arrows pointing you towards the exit in case you need to cut the round short. Tees are marked at front corner of the hole number and tee color. Only red (short) tees have tee signs.

Other Pros:

- 2 tees per hole
- informative tee signs
- each hole has a nickname found on the tee signs
- practice basket
- variety of turns and distances
- on site campground and many other activities
-clean/ litter free, please keep it that way
Cons: TICKS! I got at least five ticks on me during my last round, still checking for more. With the course still new there are many stumps to trip on, also some holes that will be filled up. The tees are crushed stone which is fine but I'm not a fan of them being raised, they are also a bit narrow. Par is marked and it is what it is, I will let you decide what you think of that. The extras aren't in yet but I believe they will be (benches, trash cans, etc.)
Other Thoughts: My favorite hole is #17, it's a bit more open than the rest. If you look up you will see the old zip line. I actually hit the zip line before I knew it was there. Overall, the course is decent/ typical.

There is a rumor this will be a pay to play. As of right now, there is no charge. When you pull into the park, keep left at the fork. Go all the way to the last parking lot (lot #4.) Walk past bathrooms, and keep to the right of the pond. You will see a trail into the woods and should find the practice basket there.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.