Chesapeake, VA 
Northwest River Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: jkdisc Hole #9 (Taken 6/2014)
3 / 208ft.   3 / 279ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee Sign



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers

1    5/24/2015   5/27/2015
Review By: dg_morgan
Played: 15  Reviewed: 8
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -The baskets and tee signs were high quality and pretty.

-The fee is very cheap ($2 day pass).

-There were two tees for each hole, though they switched the color of the tees from convention. (The pro and amateur tees were white and red respectively, and all other courses I have seen have been the reverse.)

-While finding the first tee was a different story, once in the woods it was easy to navigate from the basket to the next hole. (Arrows directing to the next tee are spray painted onto the trees.)

-A few discs are available for sale in the park office.
Cons: -The signage for the start of the course is atrocious. None of the maps of the campgrounds indicate any disc golf course, and there are no signs posted directing to the first hole.

-There were no trash cans or benches, and while the spray painted arrows did help with navigation, they are done rather crudely. These things can be easily addressed, but I feel compelled to rate the course as it stands the day I play it and not based on its potential.

-Every hole was in the woods, and while trees can be a fun element to any course, these were demoralizing. There were many thin, young trees that added zero tactical value to the course and just made it like trying to throw through a cheese grater. Some holes had only about 5 feet of fight path room, which is simply unreasonable for players that are not at the professional level. Difficult tree shots always have their place, but the entire course is a series of holes where the "fairway" has not been adequately cleared, to the point that the shots can't hardly be attempted. This is the main reason for my low rating, as the course was not at all enjoyable due to the trees.
Other Thoughts: -To find the park entrance, go to parking lot #4 after paying the fee. To the left as you face the woods there is a clearing with a playground. Go towards the playground and double back on the far side of the water. There is an opening into the woods that marks the entrance of the course.

-There are an incredible number of ticks at this park. I recommend people with long hair wear some sort of covering for peace of mind. If you seriously can't stand bugs, then avoid this park altogether. Over the two hours it took to play the course and drive home, I picked 27 ticks off of my shoes and socks. None had bitten yet, but I can say that gradually finding that many ticks on my person was a traumatizing experience. Bug spray and long articles of clothing are your friends here.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


1    5/24/2015   5/27/2015
Review By: jastaff
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: •Well designed & thought-out course that plays entirely through a wooded and shady area.
•A good balance between risk and reward that keeps each hole fun and challenging
•Flows nicely with holes that are easy to follow.
•Course map on scorecard is very accurate in guiding you through the course
•For 1st time players unfamiliar with course, tee signs show suggested flight paths through trees from both white and red tees. NOTE: Tee signs are located at red tee positions only.
•Sitting benches and post to hang bags
Cons: •Only a few white tees were sometimes difficult to see or find as the well-traveled paths mostly lead to the frequently played red tee locations.
•Just couple holes with soggy spots
•A few trash cans strategically place would be nice
•Watch out for tripping hazards although many have been painted to help you see them
•Once in the park, parking lot #4 is the designated parking area for the disc golf course although I saw no directional, roadside "Disc Golf" signage to lead me to this lot. Additionally, once parked in lot #4, there was no signage guiding you the 6-700' hike though an open field, past the children's playground and pavilions then, around the water's edge to the course entrance.
Other Thoughts: •Make sure that you sign in at the park office/camp store, pay your $2.00 and receive your "Disc Golf Day Pass" with a 4-digit number on it. A park ranger did ask to see my pass midway through my round. If you are over 55 and a Virginia citizen, you can sign up for a free annual membership that entitles you to unlimited play on the course for free!
•I suspect that as the warm summer months approaches and like most wooded areas; ticks, mosquitoes and poison ivy could be a problem but very manageable and preventable with proper clothing, a good DEET spray and ivy block barrier skin-care product.
•This course has a lot of potential to become Southeast Virginia's premier disc gold course for league and tournament play!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

johnny4put

1    11/10/2014   11/10/2014
Review By: johnny4put
Played: 17  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice easy to see baskets. Arrows on trees makes finding the next tee easy. Holes are challenging yet fun to play. Trees make for a shady round.
Cons: Finding the first tee was difficult. The terrain was challenging, lots of tripping hazards. No benches. No garbage cans. The tee pads were lumpy and a mess. Nothing that cant be fixex. One bad tee shot can lead to a 6 on a par 3.
Other Thoughts: After entering the park, stay left at the fork, follow road all the way go lot 4 at the end ... head towards the play ground equipment on the right...then the 2 pavilions to your left will lead you to a path entering the woods. A practice basket will be on your left. Continuing down the path will lead you to the first tee..

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 So far so good. Only a few cons

1    10/24/2014   10/26/2014
Review By: Gump
Played: 10  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 10/30/2014
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good layout for a wooded course. Tight but nice and well done.

Mach 5 baskets.

Multiple Tees. Paint marked out as to where each one is. Despite how wooded it is, each hole was easy to find.

If you know Northwest then you know that there's plenty to do there in case friends or family tag along that don't play.


Cons: Do note that this is still a new course so expect upgrades in the future.

No trash cans or benches yet through the course. There are logs placed around on a few holes at least to sit on. So don't throw trash wherever. There's cans towards the entrance.

Tee pads: They're done up with crush and run/loose gravel and are rather small and uneven on some holes. This course was delayed because of the winter storms being an issue for the concrete yet they're done how I mentioned.

Other Thoughts: After the grand opening there will be a fee to play there similar to N.N. New Quarter.

Until upgrades happen, keep it clean. It's an awesome course and campground.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Gonna be a good one

1    8/10/2014   8/11/2014
Review By: Longjonsilverz
Played: 39  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 9.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Layout is well planned and has a variety of holes. There is wide range of distances including some par 5's and short ace chances. A good challenge and relatively fair for a forest course. Multiple fairway options on many holes throughout the course. This course is most likely going to get better with time since construction is not finished yet.
Cons: Not very many, and too soon to know for sure, but for now the cons would be the uneven playing surface including the tees which are just a pile of gravel in a small rectangle. The tees are very short in length and some are very close to trees which are a danger for hitting on your follow-through. Some of the baskets are a little hard to see in the shade of the woods so hopefully they will put bright flags on them eventually. This is a heavily forested course and some may find it a little too much, but more trees may be removed in the future.
Other Thoughts: This course is still under construction at this time (August 10, 2014) There are a few minor issues to be ironed out, but for the most part this is a great course. The surrounding park is nice and the staff was very helpful. This course will be a nice contrast to the wide open nature of Munden Point nearby. At this point the trees are painted with arrows and numbers telling you where to go, so its pretty easy to figure out. There seems to be at least 2 tees per hole so far. The short tees have the signs and hole maps on them. I give this a 4/5 because the work done so far indicates that the small issues mentioned above will likely be addressed in the future, and even the unfinished version is fun to play.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


2-4    7/1/2014   7/1/2014
Review By: jkdisc
Played: 111  Reviewed: 107  Exp: 6.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is brand new and a well needed addition to the area. It plays through a totally wooded area of the park which used to be a ropes/ initiative course. Navigation is pretty easy and there are arrows painted on the trees to guide you to the next tee.
There are also "E" arrows pointing you towards the exit in case you need to cut the round short. Tees are marked at front corner of the hole number and tee color. Only red (short) tees have tee signs.

Other Pros:

- 2 tees per hole
- informative tee signs
- each hole has a nickname found on the tee signs
- practice basket
- variety of turns and distances
- on site campground and many other activities
-clean/ litter free, please keep it that way
Cons: TICKS! I got at least five ticks on me during my last round, still checking for more. With the course still new there are many stumps to trip on, also some holes that will be filled up. The tees are crushed stone which is fine but I'm not a fan of them being raised, they are also a bit narrow. Par is marked and it is what it is, I will let you decide what you think of that. The extras aren't in yet but I believe they will be (benches, trash cans, etc.)
Other Thoughts: My favorite hole is #17, it's a bit more open than the rest. If you look up you will see the old zip line. I actually hit the zip line before I knew it was there. Overall, the course is decent/ typical.

There is a rumor this will be a pay to play. As of right now, there is no charge. When you pull into the park, keep left at the fork. Go all the way to the last parking lot (lot #4.) Walk past bathrooms, and keep to the right of the pond. You will see a trail into the woods and should find the practice basket there.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.