Fort Thomas, KY 
Highland Hills Park Share
Uploaded By: sisyphus Hole #2 (Taken 6/2013)
3 / --   3 / 259ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
My Home Course

5+    6/25/2014   6/27/2014
Review By: esc1
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: + Uncrowded usually
+ Excellent facilities with several water fountains
+ Good exercise for a short course
+ Nice to work on fundamentals
+ Always well mowed

Cons: - Old or missing signage and old baskets.
- The public can slow you down or take you out of some throws
- Holes 2 and 3 are confusing. 3, 4, and 5 are blind throws.
- Hole 7 is extremely short and close to parking spaces
- Last hole is the only one you can really unwind on
Other Thoughts: Thanks to sisyphus for repairing some of the chains. Could really use some new baskets here. Would be nice if hole 7 was moved much farther out. It is a waste where it is now.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Troll's Review

5+    7/23/2013   10/5/2013
Review By: Eric troll Biscuits
Played: 31  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 26 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 9 baskets to shoot at
it has tee boxes
family friendly
good for brand new players or kids
its short, quick and painless, and easy
Cons: The area for Disc golf offers so much more than this course, so it receives little or no attention
Baskets are old and gone to rust
Other Thoughts: There's more courses around to play at, I suggest to find another one

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great Park Improvements Ignored Disc Golf?]

5+    6/21/2013   8/16/2012
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 155  Reviewed: 128  Exp: 2.9 Years
This review was updated on 6/21/2013
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This small, hilly, neighborhood park in northern Kentucky, just minutes from downtown Cincinnati, has had major infrastructure improvements in the past year or so. Beautiful pavilions, bathrooms, landscaping, a top-notch baseball field (with benches placed between shade trees overlooking the third base line, a wonderful scoreboard, etc), and play areas, have all been added or upgraded.
The DG course has some very interesting, hilly shots, starting with a 259 foot downhill where you'll want to put on the brakes, and not run long into the woods, through a series of right, then left-bending shots through this rolling terrain, and a finishing hole that will stretch out your arm (482', with OB roadway on the right, and trees to navigate, plus a downslope left to avoid: a tricksy challenge).

More editing: they've clearly made major gains in the infrastructure of this course just this spring. Holes 3-9 now have nicely sized poured concrete tees. Old hole two (over the path) was removed, and holes 3-7 have been redesigned somewhat.

There is a decent range of distances here for the Rec to Int arm, requiring some thought to navigate the sometimes tight gaps through the park trees.
Cons: Edited! The baskets are variable, with some being bent, or with loose chains hanging. The second basket has a bottom ring gone, so your discs fall completely through the bottom of the "entrapment device").

There are some serious hazards, that may continue to be worked out: holes 2 & 3 are now almost sharing a fairway. They may be considering a pair of mandos, but that won't make it safe from casual players. Speaking of which, there is a picnic table in the left side of the #6 fairway (blind from the tee), so walk up and check to be sure it's unoccupied before you throw!!! There are also two tables to the right of the #9 fairway.

The seventh hole would be MUCH better if the basket was moved another 150' away: plenty of room to do so. And the 8th hole still requires a low, hard drive from a nearly blind angle to travel over the roadway for nearly 200' (and needing to wait, and sometimes wait a long time, for cars, pedestrians, joggers, and so on, to clear). Or a mando will be declared, but again, that won't stop the casuals...
Other Thoughts: This park is really looking great, and the DG course seems to be on its way back to being a really fun challenge. I plan to revisit and update this review again (and raise my rating) once they've finished the upgrades.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Nice rolling hills

1    1/17/2011   1/17/2011
Review By: zero_43502
Played: 50  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 10.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A technical course played on nice rolling hills .
The course has a good mix of long and short holes which were enjoyable to play .
The course offer nice basket placements that make for a nice challenge .
Cons: hole one plays close to a basketball court ,and some of the other holes plays very close to areas that other park goers use puts people at risk of being hit .
the baskets were some of the worst I have ever played on
Other Thoughts: Much better courses in the surronding areas

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Short And Sweet

5+    9/14/2010   9/29/2010
Review By: Ben17
Played: 61  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 4.4 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The one thing that this course does have is the elevation changes. They know how to use their surroundings. There are hills here so they put them to good use. It is also a great beginner course. There are the holes that the beginners will really enjoy. Very easy to navigate your way through this course. The park is never very crowded. You can come and get a quick round of nine down in no time. Great location located in Fort Thomas and is near nice courses. There is plenty of parking so you will never have to park all the way down the street. The trees here are very nice. They know how to use the trees very well.
Cons: First of all the tee signs are torn up and of to no use now. You are just going to have to look around the park to find the basket for this hole. The tee is nothing but grass, and sometimes pretty rough. It is not good to be on a bumpy surface while throwing. The thing that was the worst to me was the baskets. They had some of the chains unhooked, and the baskets were old and rusted. I actually hit the chains right down the middle and it fell through a hole in the basket. I have no idea where the seventh tee is. I looked all over for it and was still unable to find it. So i gave up and just threw.
Other Thoughts: Considering where this course is located near a bunch of other very nice one i dont recommend coming here. Unless you are just right in the area and want to get in a quick round dont go here. In particular this is not a very challenging course at all. I finished well under par. There are a couple of holes here that could be considered ace holes. So when you go bring alot of disc and go for the ace. This is just very short and sweet.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Highland Hills

5+    6/30/2010   7/8/2010
Review By: richardmmill
Played: 48  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 12.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Location is nice in Fort Thomas nothing else very close. Park is kept well. Nice elevation changes good mix of wooded holes(not heavily wooded) and open holes. As well as a mix of lengths. Good course to get people going/started playing.
Cons: Holes 1-6 are split from 7-9 by a small walk. The tee pads are the biggest con. They are stone to it is uneven with gaps. They are not level and some are in very bad condition. You have to be careful that you don't end up twisting your ankle or rolling it. Be careful. The tee signs aren't very accurate, they just moved a few holes without changing the tee signs. Condition of baskets is alright.
Other Thoughts: It is a nine hole course. Construction is happening near two of the holes. The first hole throws right by someone's back yard if your not careful/new players could end up in their yard.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Needs lots of work...

1    6/7/2010   6/7/2010
Review By: jammydee
Played: 46  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: +Good use of elevation changes

+Plenty of Parking

+Not crowded at all

+Decent hole lengths for an easy 9
Cons: - Horrible tee pads. Seriously they're a broken ankle waiting to happen, uneven stones are worse than just dirt.

-Couldn't find tee for #7, was looking all around the road as I knew it had to be somewhere around there, but eventually just made one up and threw towards the basket.

-As mentioned above, navigating the course is a bit tricky with the lack of signs. A sign for #9 is missing, and I don't know about #7, as I couldn't find the tee...
Other Thoughts: There was an active construction zone going on behind basket #3, so be wary of that if you go.

The hills can be very slippery especially from dew if you play in the morning. Be careful on the tee pads, too. Some of them are especially awful.

This could be a great course if it was well maintained and had better tee pads. If you can't spring for concrete, at least level the stones out of just go with natural tees...

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Unimpressive

5+    6/18/2008   9/15/2009
Review By: Dice
Played: 11  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course makes great use of space and natural obstacales.

This course is generally very empty, in the six or seven times I have played this course I have never seen anyone else doing so.

The location is nice for those living on the riverfront on the KY side of things.
Cons: When I started playing this was the closest course to my house. I played there four or five times before Surge got more established.

The maintenance of this course is some of the worst I have ever experienced, especially when you consider where it is.

Tee boxes are difficult to locate or to use if located.

Baskets are in atrocious shape.

The playground is in a bad location for errant throws.

Some tees feel as though you are in someones back yard.

Overall Lack of signage (indicating the start of the course) or a very detailed map as of the last time I played (over a year ago).

The last time I played the park seemed to be a construction zone.
Other Thoughts: If I still lived in NKY, I would play Surge as my "short" home course. Skip this course there are far better that are probably just as close.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Quick or Beginner Round

5+    5/5/2009   5/5/2009
Review By: kuhlbeans
Played: 48  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 9.2 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course makes good use of the land available in the park. It is very hilly so the elevation changes provide a lot of the variety. No holes are overly difficult and so makes a good course for beginners. I especially like #9, a great risk/reward hold with enough length to make for a great closer. All the tees have signs marking the length, par, and hole layout and are in decent shape. Course plays fast and is not crowded so it's easy to get in a quick 9 or 18.
Cons: Most holes do not interfere with the rest of the park but there are a couple. When there is a baseball game there may be problems with cars parked along the road, which is in the throwing area for #7. Not the fault of the course designers entirely, most of the blame is with people not willing to park in the parking lots available and walk to the field. Also, #9 has a couple of picnic tables that people sometimes will sometimes be sitting that are in range of most players' drive.

A couple of the tee pads need work, especially #4 as another reviewer mentioned. I think many people throw from the side of the tee in the dirt to avoid the uneven rocks that form the pad. Some of the baskets are in poor condition with a loose chain or two or a bent basket. Keep a close eye because some of these baskets make it possible for the disc to slip out of the bottom of the basket on an "in" shot.
Other Thoughts: Nice little park with playground, dog, picnic/shelter, and baseball areas. There are even some shuffle board and ill-maintained tennis courts near the first few holes.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    2/2/2009   2/4/2009
Review By: Chainchaser
Played: 36  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I really have found this course a great place for a beginner to cut their teeth on. Recently someone has did a little work to the baskets so they are not as bad a they were and the mud pit and rocks have been replaced with truck's. This course has some great elevation change with some challenging holes. I understand that the boy scouts built this course and they did a fine job. This course is close to downtown cincinnati so if you are like me you can leave work at noon and get 9 holes in and be back to work before lunch is over. Big plus in my book.
Cons: Some tees are getting bad especcialy 4 as most of the stone has slipped apart making it hard to tee off.. Some holes do not have tee markers. Baskets need work.
Other Thoughts: Not a bad beginner course that can help with most aspects of the game.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center