Pottstown, PA 
Kenilworth Park Share
Uploaded By: zapplayer12 Hole #4 (Taken 10/2014)
3 / 224ft.   3 / 224ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Great Local Course

1    5/8/2016   5/9/2016
Review By: Philly_DG
Played: 13  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Shorter course; smaller arms will love this course
- great upkeep
- concrete pads
- great signage
- easy to follow course layout
Cons: - shorter course; not too many opportunities to open it up
Other Thoughts: Don't have too many bad things to say about this course. It's a great local course and much less crowded than Sedgley, etc. I would recommend this course to anyone in the area, fun little course with some tricky holes.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Beginners Paradise

1    2/22/2016   2/24/2016
Review By: Zunz
Played: 79  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 2.6 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: VERY beginner friendly
Huge map by hole 1
Concrete tee pads
Good signage including 'next tee' arrows on every basket
Variety of wooded and open holes
Practice basket near the parking lot (on the opposite side of the lake from the course)
Cons: Might have been the muddiest round (course?) I've ever played.
1's and 4's tee boxes are close and in griplock/early release/tree ricochet lines
Other Thoughts: This is a fun little course that would make a great place to introduce new players to the game. It has wooded shots, open shots, hyzers, anhyzers, uphills, downhills and even a straight shot or two. There is as much disc golf as possible packed into this little piece of property without sacrificing safety other than where the tee boxes for holes 1 and 4 line up. An errant throw or early tree can send a disc full speed at the other pad leaving little time to react. My drive from 4 landed on 1. There were a couple of places where I felt like I was getting too close to the houses but as soon as I would start to think that, the course had me turning my back on them and throwing in the opposite direction.
Looking at the pictures on here and then playing the course shows a lot of recent work having been done. All of the tee pads were upgraded to concrete. From the looks of it, they drove heavy equipment along the wooded fairways, perhaps to pour the pads. The fairways are wider than they look in the pictures and any trees that were in the actual fairways are now gone. The work was probably recent as there was hay and sprouting grass seed. Because it's late February, the ground is still frozen so there's not much drainage but frequent rains and warm days have turned the woods fairways into sloppy mud slicks. My duck boots were sinking as much as 3 or 4 inches before getting down to the frozen layer. None of the grassy holes (6-18) on the hillside looked wet or muddy, but much of it was like walking on a floating carpet. Hopefully the wooded fairways will mature and the grassy hillside is dry most of the year.

There's nothing overly challenging here (hence the noob friendly), the longest hole is 395 and it's a downhill that even us noodle arms can reach. What there is here is a lot of fun and a chance to score well. I came here on my way home from French Creek so I really appreciated the opportunity to air it out a little, have some ace runs, including a beauty of a sky annie on 11 that spiked in 3' in front of the basket, and card a pile of birdies. With all but 4 of the holes playing 250 or under, this might be a putter course for higher level players, probably nothing faster than a mid. required.

The course is well thought out though, taking advantage of what the property had to offer. Many of the baskets are tucked into or next to the little patches of trees dotting the field, nothing gimicky or silly, just things that make the throws more interesting. 11's sky annie at a guarded basket, for example or the even bigger anhyzer throw on 12 because you're throwing around trees at the tee as well as up by the basket. 14 is a doorway shot through a wall of trees 1/3 of the way to the basket.

Overall this is just a fun little course to play. Newer players will appreciate the wide fairways in the woods and open field throws, more advanced players will probably enjoy the variety of upshot practice and us bottom/middle of the pack players have a great chance to card that elusive sub par round on what looks and feels just like a real course (I jest). I will absolutely be back to Kenilworth!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Short, but fun.

5+    1/28/2016   1/28/2016
Review By: SpacemanSpiff23
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -New concrete teepads at all the holes (Couldn't find a couple in the deep snow, but I assume they are there somewhere).

-Good signage at every hole.

-Good use of the limited trees and bushes. They made a very wide open course challenging and interesting.
Cons: -It is a little bit of a walk from the course to parking lot. Not too far, but just enough that it would be a bother if you forgot something in the car.

-There are some thorns if you end up in the tree groves.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course if you wanted to play a short round, or if you wanted to try the sport for the first time. Most of the holes are just a little over 200 feet, which is just right for new players. The first 5 holes are in the woods, after that you are in a field for the rest dotted with groups of trees. The Basket placement in and around the trees makes this short course interesting and fun. There are very few wide open, big dumb hyzer holes. With the new teepads, signage, Discatcher baskets, and excelent use of a small space, I can't think of any negatives for this course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Putting in Pottstown

1    12/28/2015   12/30/2015
Review By: adlacro
Played: 89  Reviewed: 86  Exp: 10 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 hole par 3 course with nice concrete teepads and easy to see DIScatcher baskets. Course starts out tighter for the first handful of holes before opening up into a field with pockets of trees here and there. Decent mix of lefty and righty holes and some elevation change as well. There is potential to have some really low scoring rounds with clean drives and solid putting. Tee signs are nice and (mostly) accurate. Navigation is pretty easy with arrows below the bottom of the basket to point the way. Grass short enough to get down a roller if you so like.
Cons: Some of the open holes leave you looking at two baskets with no clarity as to which basket you're throwing at. Nine might be the best example. Both baskets look to be similar in length, one straight and one slightly right, and the tee sign says the hole is straight (when the basket to the right is the one you are throwing). Tees do collect water and get hard to brush off. Not a true con, but there is no real signature hole here. They were putting in a PVC pipe on four when I played, so that hole is all torn up (it's playable, but really muddy down the fairway, just to note).
Other Thoughts: It's no destination course, but if you're looking for short game work, or something to warm you up for, say French Creek, then Kenilworth is what you want. Good job to whoever designed it in utilizing some land. Also, be considerate of the neighbors that border the course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Pitch and Putt

2-4    7/3/2015   7/3/2015
Review By: Shamis
Played: 47  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 5.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The first 4 holes are great gentle putter lines that require some precision to birdie.

Nice baskets.
Cons: Teepads are a bit small and gravel. Not very well maintained, most teepads had big dips in them where people had planted their release foot. Some pads had a little mini rubber pad at the end which prevented that.

The signage was remarkably confusing for such a small course. 3 times I threw at the wrong basket on my first round.

Holes 5-15 were mostly boring open field shots. Only about 3 of them actually require a driver. Mostly putter shots an some mid ranges. Even the par 4's were very easy. I got 2 eagles on my 2nd round..

Many of the holes are really close to houses, that will probably cause issues if the course gets really popular as nobody wants degenerate disc golfers in their back yard.

Other Thoughts: Good course to work on putter drives and up shots. It's basically miniature golf, but without the excitement of a windmill hole.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Home course # 2

5+    11/5/2014   11/5/2014
Review By: Onenationunderpar
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: This is an ace race course if I've ever played one. Front five are very tight and technical wooded shots. The rest of the course includes a number a varying field shots. Its a fun course that isn't very demanding physically to play. Great for beginners learning how to achieve distance accuracy.
Cons: Lots of spots on the sides of the fairways that make it easy to loose a disc or get caught up in briar patches
Other Thoughts: I currently have holes #3 #13 & #15 aced. My current par score for this course is -12. Anyone top that yet?
The par for this course is very forgiving. Its a 58 (four fours) but really should just be a straight three average course.

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Interesting short course

1    11/4/2014   11/5/2014
Review By: Afropirg
Played: 25  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 1.9 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Some challenging shots
- Good to work on your midranges and putters
- Fun little course
Cons: - Teepads are well beat in, uneven on some. Some have a mix of rocks and dirt
- Middle of the course can be a little bit confusing on what basket is for which tee
Other Thoughts: Played this with someone who was experienced at playing here, so navigation wasn't that much of an issue.

From my understanding, this is a boy scout troop built course. Some very short holes at the start, that open up to some longer shots on the later holes.

It was very enjoyable round, good course to test your short game. Will be back to play again.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Bait-n-Switch

1    9/18/2014   9/21/2014
Review By: swatso
Played: 421  Reviewed: 356  Exp: 7.8 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Even without a map, fairly easy to navigate, assuming you pay attention to the "next tee" information at the current tee, and the surveyor tape at the bottom of the baskets is still there.
Cons:
Single tee/basket. While the tees are framed by wood, they're still natural, and can pose as a bit of a tripping hazard.

From the tee, at times you'll see several baskets - make sure you play to the correct one!
Other Thoughts:
Don't let the first five holes fool you into thinking you're playing an entirely wooded course. These first few holes are all short (225' or less), have been carved out of a dense (smaller tree) wooded area, and are primary straight tunnels requiring a turn or fade at the end.

The remainder of the course is located in what can best be described as a large, open, grassy field, with a slight slope to it, and bordered by a combination of trees (mostly), back lawns of houses (somewhat), and a pond (minimally). Then, take a mixture of hardwoods, evergreens, and bushes, and combine them into pockets, with footprints ranging from a small shed to a large house, and scatter them across the open field. These thirteen holes, while longer than the first five, are not overly long (I rarely used a distance driver), and play up/down/across the slope, around and/or between the scattered copses of trees/brush. Right-turners are certainly more common than lefties, although the sharpest-turning hole is #16, a spike-hyzing lefty (too short, find a dense copse of trees, too long and find the pond).

A very solid course, with decent variety, considering the relatively small area it is set upon.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Beginner friendly & good deuce challenge for others

1    8/8/2014   8/9/2014
Review By: Js_TechX
Played: 50  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice beginner friendly course, mostly open, good deuce challenge for more experienced players. The off-fairway rough is not bad in most areas of the course. The course is in pretty good shape for being so new. The course map helps to navigate through the course and hole layout for first timers.
Cons: Some thick rough and poison ivy near some fairways but only in limited areas. On some holes, the course map has a better hole layout than the tee signs.
Other Thoughts: Could use signs from parking area to hole-1 tee

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Watch Out for Bees

2-4    7/19/2014   7/22/2014
Review By: Mountainman24
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/4/2014
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Each hole has brand new baskets and nice gravel tee boxes. The course makes good use of the land available and is well designed. It is located away from the pedestrian travel in the park. On one hole, a pond filled with snapping turtles is even in play. Many holes have the potential to be aced. One of the players in my group hit the basket on hole 18.
Cons: As of late July 2014, about 3/4 of the holes have maps and next tee locations at the tee boxes. Even with this said the course was still relatively easy to navigate. Dense vegetation is in play on several holes.
Other Thoughts: The course is only a few weeks old as of July 2014. The vegetation is very thick off of the narrow fairways for the first few holes in the woods. If you don't want to loose a disc, make sure you mark its landing location well. After the first four or so holes, the course opens up substantially with the remaining holes playing through a large grass field with "islands" of trees in play. Brush is only in play on a few of the remaining holes. However, when my friends and I played the course, a group of players warned us about a bee's nest located on hole 14. The group had thrown their tee shots and went to look for their discs in the brush. One of them must have disturbed a nest along the way, because they each got stung multiple times while fleeing the hole.

The course will be much more enjoyable as the brush thins out from more people playing. The course has great potential and is an excellent addition to the courses already in the area. I plan on updating my review as I play the course again.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.