Bismark, AR 
DeGray Lake Resort DGC Share
Uploaded By: RUSSELL Hole #12 (Taken 6/2016)
3 / 210ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Great place to play

5+    1/9/2016   3/9/2016
Review By: Joshwest
Played: 53  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 3.8 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very beautiful place to play. Great layout and lots of different throws needed to have a successful round. The concrete teepads are in great condition and the tee signs are all well made and good looking. There are good, clean bathrooms at the 1st teebox, and you circle back to them at hole 9.

It's not a course that you will shoot under par unless you are an advanced player, but if you can hit your lines and be creative, you can certainly have a good round.

Even though it is near the lake and the rough can be very wooded in places, there isn't much chance of losing a disc.
Cons: My only really complaint about the course itself it thorns. Oh my word, thorns! If you throw one in the rough, go ahead and apologize to your legs. It's only bad on some holes, so I am overstating a little bit, some holes have little to no thorns, but the holes that do, are bad. I understand wanting to make players incentives for staying in the fairway, but give someone some gloves and hedgeclippers, and let them take some out.

One that cannot be fixed is the location. If yoyu are staying at DeGray State Park its a great place to play and have fun, but as someone who lived in Arkadelphia (the nearest larger sized town), it just isn't convenient to drive all the way out to it, there is a good course in Arkadelphia (Arkadelphia Sports Complex) and another one in Caddo Valley (DeGray Lower Lake), which you have to drive right by to go the State Park. Although if you lived on the south side of Hot Springs, I would imagine it be the best to drive to since Cedar Glades is north of town, and would be a pain to drive to.

There is a bike trail that runs near it, and there needs to be some better signage that keeps bikers off the course. There have been several times I've been standing on a teebox and a biker come rolling through the fairway.

Other Thoughts: Overall, it's a great course. Being someone who relies on throwing farther than everyone, it doesn't play to my strengths, but that doesn't stop me from recognizing how great it is. It also is a great step up in difficulty from the other courses near it. It would be a great course for beginners, since there is no chance of losing a disc and it requires all the throws. Just wish it was a shorter drive.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Nice round at Degray

1    8/6/2015   8/6/2015
Review By: bangmychains
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 21.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very nice location for a course on Degray lake resort. Good mixture of open and tight holes with different flight paths on many of the holes. It was well maintained when I played it. Good tee boxes of concrete. There is a visitor center at the start and turn to hole 10 where restrooms and drinks/snacks are available. It was a nice scenic course with well thought out holes with good range of distances. Like the long finish hole #18 with the elevated basket up on a pyramid of blocks.
Cons: Highly allergic to poison ivy and on I believe hole three I threw tight to basket within 15 feet on a blind shot, right in to a very large patch of it. Also saw it on most of the holes lingering in the toughs. Made me play a lot safer to stay in fairway. Also a bunch of small trees were cut a few inches above ground level to trip on. Actually hit one on hole 6 with a new Destroyer and took a large chunk out of it and made a good shot short.
Other Thoughts: Enjoyed my time here. Saw three different sets of deer in the timber and other wildlife. Didn't like the black snake right under hole 4 basket but it left with a little bit of encouragement.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

A Gem

1    7/7/2015   7/12/2015
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 306  Reviewed: 155  Exp: 28.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Gift shop has course maps/scorecards
Tee signs for all the holes
Tee Pads for all the holes
SWEET location for hole #1
Holes use the terrain very well, the more open the hole is, the longer the hole was.
Cons: On the short side, but not exactly an easy course
LOTS OF POISON IVY
Other Thoughts: I played this course because it was a hot day, I wanted to play a shorter course with plenty of shade on my drive between Little Rock and Dallas.

This course did not disappoint one bit.

Very well laid out, you can even play it as a shorter front nine, or longer back nine, as hole 9 ends near the parking area and 10 tees off next to the parking area.

LOTS OF SHADE which was a good thing on a very hot day that I played.

Not much I an say other than I will be playing this course again for sure.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 One of the best courses in SW Arkansas.

5+    3/14/2015   3/21/2015
Review By: AgriHawg
Played: 19  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 19.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice variety of shots required.
Easy to navigate.
Well maintained.
Great tee signs.
Number 18 would have to be the signature hole and its a fun end to a good round of disc golf.
Some very nice views of the lake.
Cons: Some stobbs are still sticking up in the fairways. So watch where you step to avoid tripping (minor issue)
Other Thoughts: When the lake is up above normal levels it really increases the level of difficulty of hole 10. If the lake ever reaches to far into flood pool levels, the path to #10's basket could get under water.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Little Course

1    12/6/2014   12/6/2014
Review By: treysonagras
Played: 9  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 2.5 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good tee pads and signs. Good layout...easy to follow.
Cons: None that I can think of.
Other Thoughts: The front nine is pretty easy. Short holes through pretty thick woods, but the holes have good lines to the basket. Number nine is about the only hole on the course where you can open up and throw.
The back nine is much more difficult in my opinion. The holes are a little longer with more doglegs and blind shots. Hole 18 is a fun finisher with a cool pyramid basket.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great course for what it is meant to be.

5+    7/4/2014   7/31/2014
Review By: acesinthehole
Played: 114  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 9.5 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This course was meant to be installed for the park visitors with the knowledge that there will be many people who play this course as their first course. Lots of campers, families, boy scouts, ect. visit this park and this course is perfect for learning the game. Here are a few highlights:
-restrooms, snacks and drinks available at the Visitor's Information Center where hole 1 starts. the front 9 also loops back to the VIC after 9 holes.
-brand new Innova DISCatcher Pro targets
-10 foot long concrete pads
-unique elevated basket on hole 18
-great signage
-benches on every other hole
-well maintained by the State Park
Cons: The course is relatively short. People looking to air it out in the open might want to look elsewhere.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.