Jackson, MS 
Lefleurs Bluff State Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #4
3 / 410ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee

Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Average Course

1    10/5/2015   10/7/2015
Review By: Richardstokes
Played: 11  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 0.5 Years
Pros: Open area.
Cons: 4x2 ft tee box
Could not find the back 9 after playing hole 8.
There was not a hole 9.
The tee box for 8 was to basket 7 and 7 tee box was hole 8.
Was not worth the money to pay to get into the park.

 Not worth the time

1    10/11/2014   10/11/2014
Review By: Flyerjuls
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The 8 total baskets are playable. 9 is gone. Signage is alright for most of the front side. Nice disc selection in guard house where you pay your entrance fee. Park closes at 5pm.
Cons: The back nine is not near the front nine. It's a 1.5 miles away by car. Security guard said his fellow guard got bitten by snake. So I didn't cut across the ball golf course to find the other nine. Park goers are playing on field. You must play around them or skip hole. $4.04 to enter the park.
Other Thoughts: I'd try another course. I'm from out of town and I didn't see any other disc golfers on a Saturday. Tons of huge spiders and a flood zone. Tried playing back course but not worth it. Wooded. But super short.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Good Family Park

1    6/20/2014   6/23/2014
Review By: Moose33
Played: 45  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 3.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is on the grounds of a sprawling park, with the Natural Science and Children's museums on the grounds as well. Not to mention picnic areas and a pretty awesome playground, it kind of made me wish I was 10 again so I could play on it.

Course is well marked with all concrete pads and easy direction. The baskets are newish and have bright yellow bands on top for easy spotting.

The course isn't too long or challenging but is Alford place for a fun relaxed round. The setting overall is pretty nice.
Cons: It's a busy place, kids will pick up your disc, people lounge in fairways and don't seem to notice you might hit them.

It plays short, and not overly challenging, you don't even really need a driver. Would make a good spot for a superclass event though.

The teepads are the smallest I have ever seen and pretty much pointless except on the foot plant.

It's pay to play, bit just $3 for park access
Other Thoughts: Like I said it's a fun place if you have a family take the kids I the museums and the throw a round.

The have a half decent disc selection at the gatehouse as well, all Innova when I was there but a buck or two under typical retail.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 LeFleur's Bluff / Mayes Lake

5+    4/28/2013   4/29/2013
Review By: WSP420
Played: 51  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 13.5 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Front 9 - LeFleur's Bluff
-Well Marked tees and pins
-Scorecards in the office/guardhouse
-Good variety of inexpensive discs (office/guardhouse)
-Great Beginner course

Back 9 - Mayes Lake
-Several Birdie/Ace opportunities
-Entire back nine is shaded

Cons: Front 9 - LeFleur's Bluff
-Park-goers have a tendency to chill out in the fairways.
-Very little elevation change.
-No benches & only 1 trash can, I think.
-Concrete tee pads are way too small.

Back 9 - Mayes Lake
-Flat, short, mosquitoes.
Other Thoughts: This course needs some maintenance and updating. The baskets are old and love to reject discs. Hole #9 is gone... or at least it's not where it used to be, and I can't find it. The basket on Hole #16 has slid down it's pole and is on the ground (the chains are still O.K., so the hole is playable). They sell a decent variety of discs at good prices in the guardhouse where you pay $3 to get in. All in all, don't go out of your way to play this course, but if you're close by and want a quick 9 or 18 (17 w/ 9 missing) stop by and maybe run by the Mississippi Natural Science Muesuem.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 review of the back 9

1    2/9/2012   2/15/2012
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 226  Reviewed: 167  Exp: 8.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -technical, wooded shots
-mostly short, easy to shoot under par
-discatchers in great condition
-tees marked by stakes and (broken) signs
-very close to the park entrance
Cons: -very short, 235' is the longest hole
-tee signs are mostly broken and a couple of them are installed in the middle of what should be the tee
-a few boggy areas that look like they always carry water
Other Thoughts: A fun little practice course in a seemingly deserted State Park in the middle of Jackson. Short, flat, and moderately wooded for a quick finesse round. Apart from the broken and improperly installed signs, the course is in good condition. A good place to play a quick round, try to shoot 9 down, or hit some aces (I got hole 17).

Looking up directions on this course was difficult. The directions on the course page here are totally wrong. I came by the course on foot and easily found the back 9 near the park entrance. After walking around for awhile I gave up on the front 9, even later after consulting a map I can't tell where those other holes could be. Oh well.

If you park somewhere out on the street or the gas station you can walk in and not pay the parking fee. There was no one at the gate when I came, just an honor box and no course maps.

The holes are not nearly as wooded now as the pictures show. Most of the bushes have been cleared out. I took some pictures and will try to get them posted.

**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 kinda worth the 3 dollars

5+    4/10/2011   4/23/2011
Review By: Rufio601
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.5 Years
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: i have only played the back 9 so my pros for that are great its alot of accurate shots that you need to hit certain lanes to get to the basket love it alot great practice
Cons: wat i dont like is the course is only worth the back 9 the front 9 isnt even worth anyones time not even a newbee. and for the back there needs to be more tee off locaters or signs to show were the tee box is
Other Thoughts: no other thoughts really still i like the course for good accuracy practice

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.


5+    11/8/2010   11/16/2010
Review By: jhhutchis
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 14.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I have played this course many times over the years b/c it is close. In the past it has been poor, but last year they cleaned out all of the brush around the back nine. It is much more desirable to play.
Cons: The front nine is in a park and is wide-open. My friends and I usually play the back nine twice

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 key word: Bluff

1    2/15/2009   2/25/2009
Played: 56  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 7.9 Years
This review was updated on 2/18/2010
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Front 9 has a couple of air it out shots. The park is safe. Back 9 all wooded and secluded. When you pay you get a map, just ask them for directions to the back 9.
Cons: Front 9 is a park with a 9 hole disc golf course put in after the fact and feels somewhat crammed in. Have to drive to back 9, but not far. I had never seen gimmicky wooded holes before. The back 9 has a few decent, but short holes. The rest are crammed in this little thickly wooded area that is kind of shaped like a box with holes running diagonally and horizontally to the edges of the box.
Other Thoughts: Wooded courses are my favorite type of course, but even I cannot suggest that anyone play this one. Mississippi has some good courses, this just is not one of them.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.


5+    7/17/2006   11/3/2008
Review By: JesusShoes
Played: 28  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 11.1 Years
This review was updated on 7/22/2009
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Easy for a novice and when I say easy I mean EASY. Can be fun for advanced people on the front 9 for long ace runs. It's easily walked.
Cons: Back 9 is not well marked due to a tornado coming through the area a few years ago. It really took out some baskets and tee signs. Hole 18 was smashed all the way to the ground. They put up a new 18 basket but it's still hard to find your way around back there. The last time I went they had clearcut EVERYTHING. Which made it far too easy. Watch out on Hole 2. Iv'e seen numerous people throw discs over the fence just to have them get in the pathway of cars. Heck one of my friends cracked some womans windshield one time.
Other Thoughts: This was my first course to ever play. It was where I learned to play disc golf so I still have somewhat of a attachment to it. I still haven't played it in forever though being The Rez is only 3 miles from my house.

The front 9 are well marked. The Back 9 are not. The front 9 are open. The Back 9 are not. The front 9 have mid-range shots. The back 9 are all putter holes. The front 9 are pretty much straight. The back 9 are as well! (now don't vote saying this review was not helpful)

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Fossil Peak

1    6/7/2008   6/7/2008
Review By: manglin
Played: 33  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 8.2 Years
This review was updated on 11/28/2015
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good mix of open and wooded holes. Little pedestrian traffic generally exists in the park. Great signs on the back nine now. The back nine is fairly well manicured.

Campground has nice facilities like pavilion, restrooms, grills, picnic tables, playground for the kiddos, boat launch and beautiful lake for kayaking.
Cons: Hole number 9 is gone. Back nine is disjoint from the front nine, and requires about a mile of driving. Bugs are very active, lots of mosquitoes. The back nine can flood after much rain.
Other Thoughts: The front nine has an open layout with some trees. The front nine is set in the park near the museum. The back nine is a totally different course, which is cool. It's heavily wooded in the camp ground area. This course has Innova Discatcher baskets.

Due to the decline of the front nine, I like to just play through the back nine twice.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.