Louisville, KY 
Coyote Trace Share
Uploaded By: AdamE   (Taken 1/2014)
Course Logo



Reviews: 11
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Coyote Trace

2-4    8/9/2014   8/11/2014
Review By: Atvizory2000
Played: 25  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This brand new private course in the Louisville area is phenomenal! Great use of the land. The course has elevation changes, creeks, ponds, tunnel shots, and a few open shots. Owner is very hospitable and keeps the course very clean. You will use a lot of shots here and the course punishes you for not hitting your lines. Overall this is an awesome new course that will make you a better player.
Cons: The course has no concrete tee pads. Only mulch pads. Just takes some time getting use to them. Expect a few slips throughout your round. The rough here is really rough. Being a new course, there are piles of brush and logs throughout the course. Ticks and chiggers are really bad, but that's also to be expected from a course in the woods.
Other Thoughts: This course has championship capability! It's still a little rough around the edges but that's to be expected for a new course. Really the only thing I thought was missing, was 2 or 3 more open holes. Hole 5 is the only open hole you can let it rip. My rating could definitely move up from a 4.5 to a 5 when the course really gets settled in and all the edges get smoothed out!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


1    8/9/2014   8/10/2014
Review By: matthew pinkston
Played: 66  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: great course and long very technical will be a great course for a future a tier or even bring in the pros on there national tour be interesting to see them throw this course on the rating I give it a 5.
Other Thoughts: will love to see pdga tournaments here in the future.

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

The new best!

1    7/5/2014   8/7/2014
Review By: xTOMMYxIRISHx
Played: 39  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.3 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -The best of both worlds! This course has a great mix of short and long holes.
-The course will make you hit you're lines and you will also need to make a lot of placement shots.
-The course is private so you won't have any random people walking on the course.
-This course works great with CV and SL.
Cons: -They need some better tee pads and I know Eric and Kyle are working on that.
-I like to see some trash cans and benches.
Other Thoughts: -I plan on running one event here before the end of the year and I hope to see a ton of people there!

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Gold Mine

2-4    8/2/2014   8/3/2014
Review By: goosefraba1
Played: 46  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 2.8 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Let me preface this by noting that I have played several top notch courses including: Flip City, Idlewild, Mt. Airy, Lincoln Ridge, and Holler in the Hills. This course is not just on the level of those courses.... it exceeds them. From other golfers, I had heard that this was new gem for dg in the state.... but they had no way of explaining just how great the piece of land is. I had heard, "it's a short idlewild", "it's a long veterans park", or "it's like the good parts of CV mixed with the woods of Iroquis". None of these really held true. Coyote Trace is its own beast. We made a tee time the night before and met the owner, Eric, the morning of the round. Eric explained shortly how he got into dg and started building his dream (I will let you get that information on your own). His ball golf background quickly shows in the course... and that he really knows how force you to throw a placement shot. Among other things, he had a course map waiting for us, some bug spray (which was much needed), and told us that he had beverages for after our round. He then led us to hole 1. Without going into details of every hole (which you can read in the previous reviews) I must say that hole 1 is a tone setter for this course. It quickly shows you that in order to score well on this course, you have to hit technical lines and get the distance to boot. Just one more hole to talk about quickly.... Hole 5 makes the 1000 footer at Idlewild look funny. It is a 880ish footer that let's you throw about 400 feet before having you throw another 400+ feet downhill and over cedars. Just an amazing hole and very picturesque. The whole course is filled with holes that would be a signature hole on any other course in Kentucky. The wooded holes are tight and technical. The Openish holes make you hit lines to set you up for your approach. This is no ordinary course. The course offers several elevated baskets. These are well done so that if you miss the putt, you are probably going to have an even harder comeback putt. The risk/reward is probably better than most courses that I have played and I was constantly forced to throw shots that I was not necessarily comfortable with. I cannot believe that this course has only been open for a month, it looks like it is already broken in. I would be amazed if this course did not find its way into the top 10 courses on dgcr at some point. I am also amazed that it doesn't have more 5 star reviews... these guys must be playing much better courses than me.

Cons: There are very few cons to speak of. The first being that the cedar chip pads are not compacted yet. This is not something that I would knock a review down for because they will compact in the future. There is possible plans it seems for a different surface. Secondly, the bugs are serious here... I have 50+ bites on me. Not a big deal... something that I expect when I play a course during the dry months. Finally, I regret that this course is not in Lexington. I would play it constantly.
Other Thoughts:
This is a great addition to Kentucky disc golf. I see there being several huge tournaments here in the future... and possibly featuring some big names. My only fear is that this course becomes too popular for the owners to handle. I am not sure that they understand how awesome this course really is.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Coyote Trace

1    7/28/2014   7/31/2014
Review By: Ghov502
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great Course that will challeng all levels of disc golfers. Even the most seasoned players will find they will need to pull out all the shot shaping skills they have. The course has varied terrain with open shots and tunnel shots as well as long holes and short holes. Alot of thought went in to the layout and design and it shows.
Cons: Some of the rough is really rough but that will change as more people have played and knock some of it down
Other Thoughts: You need to make a tee time but the hospitality was awesome and you should go out of your way to make it out to this course

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

fair and honest challenge

1    7/4/2014   7/27/2014
Review By: g1nked
Played: 47  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5.4 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: i could repeat Russ Marcus and Adams reviews but they are spot on. Id just be repeating myself with the accuracy already aforementioned
Cons: cant call mulch teepads a con seeing as im sure with time that will be corrected. nothing else
Other Thoughts: The course is worth twice any pay course I have played I personally feel its worth the donation and them some.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Worth the trip

1    7/4/2014   7/16/2014
Review By: MarcusGresham
Played: 43  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 8.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First you have to start with the family who owns the land, the Parrs. They were absolutely wonderful and were accommodating to anything our group needed on the opening day of the course. They even had bug spray for us to use as we were told the ticks are very thick on the course (that being said, the spray must have been very good because I didn't see a single tick, nor do I recall any of the other three players in my group mentioning having one.)

Even if you have a terrible round you should enjoy your day, as your surroundings are beautiful. The course is on farmland that has been in the family for over 150 years and you'll feel like you've left civilization, as you don't really even see other houses or people while you're out there.

The course is a challenge for even the best of golfers. You will be punished if you are errant and you will need a wide variety of throws to successfully navigate these 18 holes. You have elevation changes on most holes.

Signs are adequate and they give you a pretty good idea of what you'll need to do from each teepad.
Cons: Even if you have a terrible round you should enjoy your day, as your surroundings are beautiful. The course is on farmland that has been in the family for over 150 years and you'll feel like you've left civilization, as you don't really even see other houses or people while you're out there.

The course is a challenge for even the best of golfers. You will be punished if you are errant and you will need a wide variety of throws to successfully navigate these 18 holes. You have elevation changes on most holes.

Signs are adequate and they give you a pretty good idea of what you'll need to do from each teepad.
Other Thoughts: *These descriptions are from the white tees, which were what was set up for us to play the opening day. Some holes have longer gold tees.

1. 384'. You tee from inside a grove of trees but they shouldn't be too much problem unless you release extremely high. The fairway is one of the most open you'll experience, but even it isn't a guarantee. There is a large cedar tree in the dead center of the fairway just over 200' from the tee (which currently holds a bright yellow TeeDevil in the extreme upper branches that I hope to get back,) which most will choose to pass on its right as the fairway slopes downhill from the tee and slightly to the left. You want to keep it right, as that left slope takes you into the trees and a stream bed. That stream bed from the left of the fairway runs very close behind the basket.

2. 354' slight dogleg left. There are stream beds along either side of the fairway that converge behind the basket.

3. 261' with a left turn at about 200'. Throw down a narrow valley and make the turn back up the hill.

4. 451' par 4. Long, straight hole. From the tee you're throwing uphill through a tunnel. The fairway does open up, but you'll have to throw back into the trees, as the basket is well-protected in a grove.

5. 855' par 5. This is the longest hole on the course--kind of the (slightly) smaller brother of the monster hole at Idlewild for those who have played there. Tall grass is on both sides of the fairway, although the grass on the right will most likely be what comes into play as the hole does a very slight turn about 400' down the fairway. At that 400' mark there is a large tree in the middle of the fairway that will force most people to stay to the right. Past that tree the fairway begins narrowing and going downhill. Another grouping of trees sits on the right side about 75' in front of the basket, which sits at the edge of the woods, sloping down to a stream bed.

6. 282'. Straight shot, but there's a stream bed to the right.

7. 297'. Stream bed runs along the left side the fairway and there's a very slight left turn at the end of the fairway.

8. 532' par 5. This is a tricky one, as most people won't be able to throw a full-power drive off the teepad. At about 250' the fairway makes a slight left turn, but at that point you have to get through several trees that are still in the center of the fairway which is a bit of a bottleneck. The fairway turns back to the right, and at the end of the fairway you have to cross a stream that is no more than 20' in front of the basket. To make this one even more difficult, there is an alternate gold tee that extends the hole to 567'.

9. 372' par 4. The fairway is narrow at first as you throw out of a group of trees, but opens somewhat to the left. The basket is set back in a group of trees to the right. This one plays slightly uphill.

10. 428' par 4 dogleg left. You throw over a valley that goes back uphill and there is a large cedar tree in the center of the fairway 150' from the basket.

11. 225'. Shortest hole but not the safest. The hole is a slight bit uphill and plays from left to right. The difficulty in this hole is that there is a pond about 15 feet to the right of the basket.

12. 246'. Fairly narrow. There is an extension of the fairway on the map that would indicate that this hole could become a dogleg right that would extend about another 60'-70' .

13. 642' par 5. There is a stream bed that crosses the fairway from about 175' on the left side of the fairway to about 250' on the right. Past that stream the fairway takes a bend to the right and the basket is tucked away with another stream bed behind it.

14. 402'. Dogleg left with two options. From the tee the fairway is a wide open field, slightly uphill. About 175' away there is a group of trees in the middle of the fairway, forcing you to choose to go the short route to their left or slightly longer past them to the right. Whichever choice you make, the fairway turns left there, continuing uphill to the basket.

15. 302' Straight shot with a stream bed about 280' away crossing the fairway.

16. 275'. Drive is across a short valley of high grass and then uphill a bit, with the basket tucked in to the right in an opening in the trees. This hole is listed as a par-4 on the scorecard but that may be a misprint unless there are plans to lengthen the hole. As there is a good distance between the #15 basket and the tee pad this is a possibility.

17. 425' par 4. Throw uphill from the tee and dogleg right about 150-175' into the fairway. If you go left (or even straight through the end of the fairway) you will be in extremely thick rough, much of it thorns & briers--have fun finding your disc, as two of the four in our group lost one here. The fairway widens significantly, and about 250' from the initial left dogleg you'll need to make a 90 degree left into the trees to get to the basket.

#18. Great finishing hole, 398'. The fairway is narrow for the first half of the hole and the entire hole plays uphill. There is a large tree in the middle of the fairway at about 250' that probably makes you play to the right of it, but that makes your second shot tricky, as you'll have to carry a pond that sits in front of the basket. Going directly over the pond is not recommended, as there is a tree on the front left edge and another directly behind the pond. Splitting these two trees to go straight at the basket is difficult (I did it, but it was an accident, as I was trying to go around and just had poor aim that turned out OK.) If you get left of the big tree in the center of the fairway you can throw a turnover, but if you're right of it (and have the arm to do so,) a big hyzer is probably your best bet.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

A MUST PLAY COURSE

2-4    7/13/2014   7/15/2014
Review By: Russell Gore
Played: 61  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 21.4 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course has the potential to get even better than it is over time. Of all the new courses I have played through the years this is the first one that looks like it had been in the ground for years. It well exceeded my expectations. The course is a tough one but fair to all styles of throwing. As long as you stay in the fairway and make your putts this course will flow smoothly for you. If you cant keep your shots in the fairway then its going to be a long day and a whole lot of shots. The course has everything you could ask for, open shots, wooded shots, long holes, short holes, elevation, creeks, ponds, holes where you should lay up rather tha going big. Holes where you can go big rather than laying up. Treacherous greens, and Multiple layouts. With all this being said this ranks right up there with some of the top courses in the country.
Cons: Mulch tee pads. Otherwise not a single other thing wrong with this course.
Other Thoughts: Given time this could very well overtake Idlewild as the Marquee course in the State. Look for big tournaments at this course in the future, packed with the top Pros in the Country.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.


5+    7/12/2014   7/14/2014
Review By: AdamE
Played: 215  Reviewed: 143  Exp: 11.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This private, championship caliber course opened the first week of July 2014 and is a must play!

This well designed wooded course takes advantage of the ample elevation changes. There are discatcher baskets which is a big plus making it much easier to locate the baskets at a distance. There are detailed tee signs on every hole that not only list the distance, par and multiple basket locations for each hole hole, they also list the distance to landing zones and easily identifiable objects so you can better gauge the distances. The large tee pads are wood chips framed in with cedar logs. There are also two ponds in play on holes 11 and 18.

This challenging course has it all; uphill, down hill, challenging putting greens, a wide variety of distances ranging from 250 to 850, pro par 4's and 5's, risk and reward, fair fairways, it forces you to hit your line to score, and it is the kind of challenge I've only encountered on a hand full of the 200+ courses I've played which is a big plus for me!

There are so many unique and incredible holes out there it's tough to say only one is the signature hole, so here's a few of my favorites.

Hole 4: This excellent par 4 is 450 ft uphill that starts out in a narrow fairway with the goal of the first shot to keep your disc in the middle of the fairway. The second shot is an uphill, slight turnover shot out of the woods, past a clearing to the basket protected in a grove of trees on the other side.

Hole 5: This is the most open hole on the course and it's a crusher, 885ft long! There's one clump of trees about 400 ft out in the middle of the field that you need to be mindful of so you don't land in or behind them and there's some taller grass on the right. As you approach the basket the land slops downhill and you have to navigate the gap to approach the basket that's guarded by pine trees. Once you get to the basket, watch out for the drop off right behind it!

Hole 8: This par 5 is a challenging wooded hole that takes you from landing zone to landing zone to get to the basket which lies just on the other side of an OB stream.

Hole 13: This is another incredible par 5 and definitely one of the coolest holes I've ever played. The first drive is to a landing zone 320-360 ft up the fairway. Hyzer off too soon and you'll be off the fairway with a difficult lie. As you approach the basket you come out of the woods to a basket perched on top of a small hill that drops off hard to the right and long of the basket. This hole really forces you to decide how risky you want to play it and will quickly punish you for poorly executed shots.

Hole 17: This one has a big uphill turnover drive then a hyzer approach on your second shot to a basket guarded by some big trees and sandwiched between two small sinkholes (the kind you can easily retrieve a disc from).
Cons: Coyote Trace is a championship caliber course that's very hilly, very wooded, and will challenge ever single person that plays it including 1000+ rated pro's. It can wear you out physically and mentally if you come unprepared for it. I personally love and seek out courses like this, but if this doesn't sound like the kind of course you're looking to experience then I suggest you play else where.

Considering how new this course is, there is little bad to say about it. Like all new courses the rough is a bit rough but that will change as it gets more play.

I heard people say the wood chips for the tee pads were too loose and had poor footing. I didn't have any problem with the tees here and I'm sure the chips will settle in and compact soon making this a non-issue.
Other Thoughts: This is a destination course that I would highly recommend going out of your way to play!

Currently this private course is asking for donations. A ton of work has gone into this course already and Eric has no plans to stop anytime soon so please be generous in your donation.

He also asks that you call to schedule a tee time before you play.

This course will get a 5 from me once the rough is beat in and the alternate tee and basket locations are added. I know it doesn't have concrete tees (maybe in the future?), but I don't think that's completely necessary to get a 5.With a little time the tees will settle in and I know for a fact the owner is committed to making this course the best it can possibly be!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 great course

1    7/12/2014   7/14/2014
Review By: clmiller2
Played: 12  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A very demanding course that will test your accuracy and ability to throw lines. Pay close attention to the maps on each hole as they will layout what path you should throw, and present you with your best shot at reaching par. Great use of elevation and the natural environment. Good mix of distance while still remaining playable for smaller arms.
Cons: Like most new courses if you get off the fairway it's probably a tomahawk or a roller to get out. Would like to see more risk vs reward decisions, as it currently stands there's really only one way to play most of the holes and it's all about your ability to throw a disc that one way. While the mulch tee pads were great aesthetically, we did have a few people slip while throwing their Tee shots.
Other Thoughts: A very fun and challenging course to play. The proprietor is very friendly, and VERY interested in making this course one of the best around. While playing (especially around the creeks) had some flash backs to Idlewild and while it's not quite on that level, it is very close.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.