Princeton, WV 
Glenwood Park Share
Uploaded By: greg_b_4 Hole #7 (Taken 7/2014)
4 / 235ft.   4 / 260ft.   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #7 White Tee



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

2-4    8/23/2014   8/31/2014
Review By: scruggzilla
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1
Pros: Beautiful course, right by the lake. Winds through a pretty nice public park. Good variety of holes. Extremely fun course to play. Course designer is really nice guy.
Cons: As some have mentioned, several of the holes have a long-ish walk from basket to tee. However, it seems like a brief walk is necessary at some parts to cross roads and avoid other park fixtures. Water is in play on several holes. Also could be some poison ivy. Paying any amount also kinda is a bummer, even if it is $2. Natural tees are kind of eh, but i think there could be plans to get new ones so... we'll see.
Other Thoughts: This is the closest course to my home (for now) and I'm pretty excited about it! I've played several times and will probably play many, many more!

The Beast

5+    8/26/2014   8/27/2014
Review By: The Rookie9
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
Pros: -The pros are that its an affordable and nice course to play on.
-More difficult holes than the course at pipestem, but thats a good thing.
-Beautiful scenic shots.
-Friendly staff
-They allow you to rent discs at an excellent rate, and the discs you get to rent, float on water. (Definately comes in handy)
-You will often see animals
Cons: -Extensive distances between the holes
-Could use a few more open holes as well
-More par 4's and 5's would be amazing
-No player that plays this course on a regular basis, will be able to avoid losing at least 1 disc in the water at some point
-The briars are harsh, and rather dangerous, especially if you bring childeren to play

From a Beginner

2-4    8/14/2014   8/19/2014
Review By: cbittler
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
Pros: I'm a beginner with disc golf, but thought Glenwood was great. 1) The views and scenery are great. The park is beautiful. 2) For a beginner, the course offers a nice challenge, but doesn't challenge you so much that you become disheartened and want to give up. 3) There is great variety to the holes. Some open. Some wooded. Even a water hazard or two mixed in.
Cons: Although I don't have much to compare it to Glenwood does involve a fair amount of walking in between holes. Also, I would suggest playing with someone who knows the course well for your first time. Some holes can be tricky to find.

Great DG In The South

1    8/16/2014   8/16/2014
Review By: knettles
Played: 63  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 4.1 Years
Pros: - Better variety than most courses I play. Alot of holes had a unique feel to them.
- Great mix between wooded and open shots.
- Water in play on a few holes.
- Nice park setting that really showcases WV.
- Two to three tees per hole.
- Appropriate distances for various tees.
Cons: - Only major con for me was the natural tees with the block markers. While they all provided enough room to do a runup, many of them weren't quite level.
- There were a couple places with a bit of a walk in between holes, but it didn't bother me much.
- A $2 fee to play, but it's worth it.
Other Thoughts: Considering this course is brand new, I'm hoping the tees will get worked on sometime in the not too distant future. Having tees that aren't level is a pretty huge deal. Not everyone uses a runup, but a decent percentage of disc golfers do. And not having a flat surface to throw from can really lower the quality/entertainment of a course. Still, even in the current condition, this course was a blast to play. I definitely recommend it to anyone in the area or someone looking for a mini road trip.
Also, I played this on a Saturday in good weather and didn't have much of an issue with park goers getting in the way. That's always a plus.

First take

1    7/15/2014   7/17/2014
Review By: Mando
Played: 100  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 7.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Picturesque 55 acre lake surrounded by 325 acres of beautiful land. Nice, new discatcher baskets. Great variety-half wooded and half open.
Three fantastic holes; #8 a 296'downhill bomb, #12 a 518' tasty open/wooded combo and #16 an epic 283' downhill wooded masterpiece. It also has a short throw over a narrow inlet of the lake on #10 to give you a water carry shot.Others good holes;7,9,13,14,15...giving you a great run of holes 7-16.
Basket locations were well thought out and have direction to next tee painted.There is also good course map in the links/files to help with navigation,print it out before playing...you will need it.
Two sets of pads;red and white.
Cons: The biggest con for me was the excessive distances from basket to next pad. Definitely the longest transitions I've ever experienced. Many of the holes could have been improved by being longer, so, lets throw instead of just walking to the next basket. ! It seemed like there was as much walking between holes as there was playing the holes. Consequently, the course in it's present condition does not flow well. Signs are not up and tee pads have not been installed, so locating the tees can be tricky on your first play since pad markers are flush with the ground and not visible from a distance. Without a guide, navigation would have been an issue.
All the really good stuff here is around the 4-h camp (holes 7-16). The other holes were basically filler holes in my book, but that may just be my preference for wooded holes. Poison ivy is vigorous here and good luck staying out of it on #4.
The par here is very generous...518' par 5 for example on hole 12...the five par 4's ranged from 260'-412'. Back home, the guys would call everything a par 3 and still shoot under par (like Hognosesucker did with a 52).
I thought the close proximity of the walking path might be an issue,but the designer does not seem to think so.
Other Thoughts: We had the good fortune to play with Greg, (the designer) and he is enthusiastic about disc golf at Glenwood and wants feedback, so here it is.
I hope he will consider shifting the hole numbers around, starting and finishing at the 4-h camp, if that is an option.

The first take was good, but Glenwood has enormous potential and could be a destination-worthy disc golf course. That's a big responsibility placed on the designer. My advice; don't let good prevent you from making it GREAT ! Tweak and revise until you get it right, then work on pads and signage.
On the other hand, Greg's target audience are the locals who appear to be at the novice level, so maybe it's fine as is.
I look forward to playing this course again and see how it evolves. A 3.5 now, but potentially a 4.5 down the road.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.