Steamboat Springs, CO 
Haybro Red Tail DGC Share
Uploaded By: bobmcnelly Hole #1 (Taken 9/2014)
3 / 218ft.   3 / 218ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee

Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
One of Colorado's great "hidden gems"

1    11/14/2015   11/14/2015
Review By: ninjalectual
Played: 21  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *One of the most technically challenging courses I've played. In short: the course makes creative use of elevation and any other natural features the land provides. It forces a variety of different throws, using a variety of different discs to get the job done. It also demands a higher level of physical fitness than front range courses.

*Several holes had beautiful natural fairways leading up to the basket, usually on a slope perpendicular to the initial direction of the drive, and with trees crowding the entrance to the fairway, adding difficulty. A variety of forehand and backhand throws are all but mandatory here.

*Only one or two holes give you a straight line at the basket (and even those have complicating factors precluding anything too straightforward). You're constantly forced to lean on the disc's natural hyzer (or anhyzer) movement, usually with no good option besides putting a lot of air under the disc to allow for enough turn and/or fade to get you where you need to be. This is something I don't get to practice on any of my home courses.

*Most of the blind drives feature a mini-basket displayed prominently in-line between the tee and the basket, providing guidance on where to aim.

*I didn't feel like the final stretch was monotonous at all, as others have complained. I quite enjoyed it, and I found dealing with the huge elevation drops quite challenging (then again, maybe people complain *because* it's so challenging? And if it's not that hard, why isn't anyone scoring aces? ).

I had to learn quickly that on an average length hole (say, 230 ft), a large elevation drop (between 40 and 90 vertical ft) changes EVERYTHING. It plays more like a short 120 ft hole, but one that requires all the contol and none of the power you would expect.
Cons: Not much to complain about without picking nits, and pretty much all of these problems stop being relevant once you've played the course a few times.

*Navigating some of the blind holes can be tough for first timers, but the course did take measures (like the mini-baskets) to mitigate it.

*Several holes had steep drop-offs immediately past the basket that weren't apparent from afar, constituting unfairly severe penalties for near misses in the wrong direction.

*Though there are clearly visible signs marking each teepad, they are handmade, and discerning the meaning of each sign isn't always obvious, notably on holes with separate "high" and "low" tees. It's unclear which tee is more challenging, aka which to consider "pro" and which is "am."

Other Thoughts: This course perfectly illustrates a reoccurring debate I've been having with friends: is it better to throw a tomahawk over everything to get the lowest possible score on a round at all costs, or is it better to face challenging, closed, or curving lines head-on, aiming to navigate them "properly" with finesse? Personally I fall squarely into the latter camp, as I think nailing a challenging line with a memorable shot is what it's about. I can fondly recall lots of great shots I'm proud of, but I don't have anything enduring or interesting to say about any of my lowest scoring rounds.

I had lots of fun playing this course on a day that probably shouldn't have been nearly so much fun. The course was under 6+" of melting snow, and what wasn't snow was probably mud slicks, but I didn't have any trouble walking between holes or finding errant drives. Finding traction on the snowed-in tee pads was a different story, though. Run-ups were all but impossible without slipping and sliding during your wind-up or release.

After dropping off my signed waiver form, I was planning on playing a couple holes before deciding whether to leave a donation, as I sort of expected to get sick of fighting the conditions after a hole or two. But a local dude arrived and ended up taking me through all 18, and of course by the end all that mattered was changing into warm and dry clothes, and I forgot to go back and leave a donation. I feel awful about it, since the owner of the land was extremely nice over the phone, and the course itself is great fun. Of course if he even noticed he's way too chill to say anything about it, which to me only makes it worse. Don't let yourself make the same mistake I did!

If nothing else, at least it's an excuse to make it a point to come back for another round the next time I'm anywhere near this part of the state!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Nice to be away from the city.

1    8/20/2015   9/25/2015
Review By: thatdirtykid
Played: 51  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 11.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is obviously evolving still, my guide who is local even was unaware of some of the newer work.

The baskets are nice and there are fun trinkets to be found around the course.

Good use of the elevation, some good up, down and across shots.

The greens offered good challenge when it comes to putting. The style of growth was fun to navigate.

Quiet. The course and the landscape was quite serene.

Its not overplayed. Some of the mountain courses on the front range reminded me of La Mirada in the sense that everything is worn down and discs bounce and roll away and there is more hardpan than grass.
Cons: The vegetation here was relatively short, and aside from a few well placed tees over the top was always a choice.

It was hard to find discs at times, and having some one spot is a good idea on a few blind holes.

The course got a little monotonous on the final stretch. All the holes were putter length hyzers over the top of the short growth.

It could be difficult but far from impossible to navigate the first time.
Other Thoughts: The area is still improving, and has a bit of potential. The designer mentioned the possibility of some longer tees.
This was a great change of pace from the golf on the front range especially in the city. I will play it again when in steamboat. I look forward to seeing the course evolve.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Date: 9/30/2015 Designer Response by: mmueller
Thank you for playing Red Tail and posting your comments. Nothing has produced more debate between players on the course than the section of holes that you call "monotonous". It has created a divide between players that love them because of the high demand for accuracy paired with a big risk/reward factor, and the players that usually dominate with a strong arm, like on other holes at Red Tail. I've played with a lot of people on this course and, though it's common on other holes at Red Tail, it's pretty much a given that players will attempt 2 or more drives whenever they can on those holes in search of their own elusive line to a look on the basket. 16 has had an implied mando through the tunnel of trees, and that is likely to be come permanent soon, which will significantly reduce any feeling of monotony there while making the need for accuracy more obvious.

We've done our best to compensate for the short vegetation along the fairway by creating many more hazards on the greens that increase the risk on the over the top throws and, as the course matures, that will become more obvious. Given the feedback and average score seen on the course, it's pretty clear that it is much more challenging then many other courses out there.

Newer course maps indicate holes where spotters are highly recommended and the best place to spot. Hopefully that will reduce the lost disc problem.


Beautiful Land for a Great Course

1    5/29/2015   6/3/2015
Review By: Wise Fool
Played: 125  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 6.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Elevation is a very strong point of this course. There are uphill, downhill and even quite a few side-hill shots. The majority of holes have some sort of elevation change on them.
-The first two holes are a great way to open up a course. You start out throwing straight uphill on a guarded basket position on Hole 1. Hole 2 is a big downhill hole to the basket in a small meadow. It was quite a memorable way to start the course.
-Lots of memorable holes on this course. Hole 8 is a short very steep hole, 7 is a very memorable hole that throws over the trees across the hillside.
-The flow of the course makes a lot of sense and it is really easy to follow. Between the holes there are painted circles that point you in the direction of the next hole. We never got lost while navigating the course.
-Lots of really tight holes. There are very wide open holes on this course (Hole 3 is a fairly open but it also has a water obstacle on it). You definitely have to hit your line in order to score well, or you will be hitting a lot of trees.
-I like the idea of using old disc golf discs as the tee-signs. It was a nice unique touch for the hole. I also liked how each of the holes had a name, that's always a nice small touch.
-In a very secluded area outside of town in a beautiful setting.
-Baskets were like new and caught very well.
Cons: -The tee-pads need some improvement. They were mostly dirt, and a few were really muddy.
-Overall, the course was quite muddy and several sections especially some of the steeper areas could use some stone steps to help make traversing it a little easier. (To be fair we did play this course after a very wet spring comparatively for Colorado, so the mud was probably worse than usual).
-While I love the disc tee-signs, much of the writing on them was starting to fade, so a little more permanent option on them and they would be perfect.
-I loved the really tight holes, but a couple of them seemed a little too tight and could use a little more clearing.
-There is quite a bit of underbrush on this course, so you might be looking for your disc for a while on some holes, but we used a spotter on several holes and had very few issues.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this was a great course. It is still a little rough around the edges but it is already a great course and it looks like it will continue to improve. Make sure you break lots of water and are ready for a hike as this course will definitely get you breathing a bit with all the up and downhill. If you are anywhere near Steamboat, make sure you hit this course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Date: 9/30/2015 Designer Response by: mmueller
Thank you for playing Red Tail and for the thoughtful review. You played at the tail end what Steamboat calls mud season and on what happened to be the wettest mud season on record. Your timing must have been particularly bad because we've been able to hold frequent tag matches throughout the rainy mud season without issue, but it looks like the ground finally decided enough is enough. The tee-signs have been updated and over 1000 hours of brush clearing have been accomplished since you were here so hopefully you'll get a chance to see the improvements some time soon.

 great for the area

5+    5/2/2015   5/3/2015
Review By: razorado
Played: 10  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 10.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Great views
-Mix of up and down
-New baskets
-Close-ish to Steamboat
-Great owner
-Lots of elevation change
-Has tons of working potential
Cons: -Lots of underbrush (young course)
-Similar length shots
-Blind shots, hard to pick a consistent line till you are much more familiar with layout.
Other Thoughts: Great course, great owner, tons of possibility of change and improvement. Would love to see more people playing and showing initiative to help shape this into a Championship course. Continuous interest will and donations will really do lots for this community.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

1    5/2/2015   5/2/2015
Review By: TheWCG
Played: 299  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 7.5 Years
This review was updated on 5/3/2015
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Course is set on a private property
-Fairly easy navigation
-Flat/level natural tee pads
-Risk reward shots
-Elevation shots
-Demanding fairways
-Beautiful views
Cons: -Fairway length on some holes
-Brush covered landing zones
Other Thoughts: I had the opportunity to throw this fine course today. The course plays on a scenic piece of private property placed on a mountain side. Most of the holes here are on the short side of things but that doesn't mean the holes aren't challenging. The course has a lot of elevation and the possibility of wind to contend with. I personally enjoyed this course and it did have a decent amount of fun factor involved. This course was fun.
Things I would slightly alter on this course to give it a better rating would be to lengthen some of the holes and maybe to use the elevation in a different way. A mixture of fair length and from par 4's to par 3's with a good risk/reward factor with cleared landing zones are what I believe makes for better ratings. I gave this an honest 3.5 as it stands. I believe this course is going to be ever changing and developing into something great.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Date: 10/15/2015 Designer Response by: mmueller
Thanks for your comments and great input. Red Tail was first conceived a year ago in May and we've come a long way since then, yet clearing of the brush can't be rushed or too heavy handed to avoid creating a scorched sterile course. Improvements will come over time, yet Red Tail DGC is not meant to be a course with pristine, manicured tees, greens, and fairways, but a chance to play a great game in a peaceful, back country and natural setting. It has quickly become my favorite way to get away from it all.

Longer professional tee positions are possible on all but a couple holes, and one for is 15 already in the works. You are the first to express such a strong interest that I am aware of (especially when it comes to par 4), but turnout in the last month has already well exceeded the whole of last year.

[15 October 2015] 3 is now 80' longer; 6: 100' longer; and 9 is almost twice the length (310') and twice the elevation (+100'), making it a par 4. A par 4 and par 5 tee are in the works for 6, and a par 4 pin placement and fairway has been added to 13.

5+    11/7/2014   11/10/2014
Review By: bobmcnelly
Played: 89  Reviewed: 69  Exp: 4.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Brand new disc catcher baskets
- the first 2 holes feature "deck" style tee pads made out of wood, very unique
-this course uses elevation better than any course I have ever play, lots of unique shots with extreme elavation change
- good variety of distance with shots ranging from short 175' shots to around 350' but those are uphill 350' shots that feel more like 450'
-lots of challenging and unique holes with lots of high risk high reward type shots
-beautiful views of the Sleeping Giant and Hahns Peak
-the layout of the course brings you right back to where you park, very little unnecessary walking required
-the owner of the course is a great guy!
Cons: -dirt tee pads, which for the most part of great as far as dirt tees go, but I'll put it in as a con
- signage could be improved upon
- lots of rough terrain to battle and lots of thick bushy areas
- fairly easy to loose a disc on an errant shot
Other Thoughts: This is a great course with tons of potential. I would highly recommend checking this course out, but be ready for a hike. Bring boots and lots of water!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Date: 4/9/2015 Designer Response by: mmueller
Thank you for the review of Red Tail DGC. Improved signage is a top priority for this years course upgrades. Yet, given the natural setting, signage on the course itself will remain discrete and generally take a back seat to the great views and local plant life. Detailed course maps are available at the start of the course and I check stock daily. Score cards with hole information like on will be available at the course start soon.

Red Tail

5+    8/31/2014   9/18/2014
Review By: bpredmon1
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 10.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Challenging course through a wide variety of terrain. Lots of elevation change and great views. The course has vastly improved since opening early this spring. Teepads are coming along and fairways have been cleared out. This is quickly moving towards a professional caliber course and will be so in coming years.
Cons: A few blind holes can be challenging or frustrating to new or beginner players. Once you have played through a couple times these holes become much easier to navigate.
Other Thoughts: Mark is a great host and welcomes all to come check out this amazing course on a great piece of property! Peace, Love, and Disc Golf!

Check out for local updates!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 great new course

1    7/20/2014   7/22/2014
Review By: phunkytao
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 8/25/2014
5 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Challenging and unique throws everywhere
beautiful setting. All of the teepads, fairways, greens and even much of the roughs are now cut back
Cons: if you are weak of spirit the up and down of the hills will challenge you
Other Thoughts: This is a brand new course (first review!) and has a rustic feel. Dirt tee pads except for two holes which have cool wooden ones. Mark and Greg have done a TON of work to get this course going. It was a ton of fun going up and down the hills of Red Tail valley. We had a group of 5 and didn't lose a single disc. Only played holes 1-11 due to time constraint. This has the potential to be a world class course on par with the likes of Beaver Ranch in Conifer and Phantom Falls. I recommend wearing pants to shield yourself from all the brush you'll be walking through, bring some water, and expect ~2-3 hours of some awesome disc golf.

5 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.