Steamboat Springs, CO 
Haybro Red Tail DGC Share
Uploaded By: mmueller Hole #2 (Taken 8/2014)
3 / 361ft.   3 / 361ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Basket



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
great for the area

5+    5/2/2015   5/3/2015
Review By: razorado
Played: 10  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 10 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Great views
-Mix of up and down
-New baskets
-Close-ish to Steamboat
-Great owner
-Lots of elevation change
-Has tons of working potential
Cons: -Lots of underbrush (young course)
-Similar length shots
-Blind shots, hard to pick a consistent line till you are much more familiar with layout.
Other Thoughts: Great course, great owner, tons of possibility of change and improvement. Would love to see more people playing and showing initiative to help shape this into a Championship course. Continuous interest will and donations will really do lots for this community.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


1    5/2/2015   5/2/2015
Review By: TheWCG
Played: 295  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 7 Years
This review was updated on 5/3/2015
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Course is set on a private property
-Fairly easy navigation
-Flat/level natural tee pads
-Risk reward shots
-Elevation shots
-Demanding fairways
-Beautiful views
Cons: -Fairway length on some holes
-Brush covered landing zones
Other Thoughts: I had the opportunity to throw this fine course today. The course plays on a scenic piece of private property placed on a mountain side. Most of the holes here are on the short side of things but that doesn't mean the holes aren't challenging. The course has a lot of elevation and the possibility of wind to contend with. I personally enjoyed this course and it did have a decent amount of fun factor involved. This course was fun.
Things I would slightly alter on this course to give it a better rating would be to lengthen some of the holes and maybe to use the elevation in a different way. A mixture of fair length and from par 4's to par 3's with a good risk/reward factor with cleared landing zones are what I believe makes for better ratings. I gave this an honest 3.5 as it stands. I believe this course is going to be ever changing and developing into something great.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Date: 5/3/2015 Designer Response by: mmueller
Thanks for your comments and great input. Red Tail was first conceived a year ago in May and we've come a long way since then, yet clearing of the brush can't be rushed or too heavy handed to avoid creating a scorched sterile course. Improvements will come over time, yet Red Tail DGC is not meant to be a course with pristine, manicured tees, greens, and fairways, but a chance to play a great game in a peaceful, back country and natural setting. It has quickly become my favorite way to get away from it all.

Longer professional tee positions are possible on all but a couple holes, and one for is 15 already in the works. You are the first to express such a strong interest that I am aware of (especially when it comes to par 4), but turnout in the last month has already well exceeded the whole of last year.


5+    11/7/2014   11/10/2014
Review By: bobmcnelly
Played: 73  Reviewed: 51  Exp: 4.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Brand new disc catcher baskets
- the first 2 holes feature "deck" style tee pads made out of wood, very unique
-this course uses elevation better than any course I have ever play, lots of unique shots with extreme elavation change
- good variety of distance with shots ranging from short 175' shots to around 350' but those are uphill 350' shots that feel more like 450'
-lots of challenging and unique holes with lots of high risk high reward type shots
-beautiful views of the Sleeping Giant and Hahns Peak
-the layout of the course brings you right back to where you park, very little unnecessary walking required
-the owner of the course is a great guy!
Cons: -dirt tee pads, which for the most part of great as far as dirt tees go, but I'll put it in as a con
- signage could be improved upon
- lots of rough terrain to battle and lots of thick bushy areas
- fairly easy to loose a disc on an errant shot
Other Thoughts: This is a great course with tons of potential. I would highly recommend checking this course out, but be ready for a hike. Bring boots and lots of water!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Date: 4/9/2015 Designer Response by: mmueller
Thank you for the review of Red Tail DGC. Improved signage is a top priority for this years course upgrades. Yet, given the natural setting, signage on the course itself will remain discrete and generally take a back seat to the great views and local plant life. Detailed course maps are available at the start of the course and I check stock daily. Score cards with hole information like on DGCourseReview.com will be available at the course start soon.

Red Tail

5+    8/31/2014   9/18/2014
Review By: bpredmon1
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 10 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Challenging course through a wide variety of terrain. Lots of elevation change and great views. The course has vastly improved since opening early this spring. Teepads are coming along and fairways have been cleared out. This is quickly moving towards a professional caliber course and will be so in coming years.
Cons: A few blind holes can be challenging or frustrating to new or beginner players. Once you have played through a couple times these holes become much easier to navigate.
Other Thoughts: Mark is a great host and welcomes all to come check out this amazing course on a great piece of property! Peace, Love, and Disc Golf!

Check out https://www.facebook.com/SteamboatGolfers for local updates!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 great new course

1    7/20/2014   7/22/2014
Review By: phunkytao
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 8/25/2014
5 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Challenging and unique throws everywhere
beautiful setting. All of the teepads, fairways, greens and even much of the roughs are now cut back
Cons: if you are weak of spirit the up and down of the hills will challenge you
Other Thoughts: This is a brand new course (first review!) and has a rustic feel. Dirt tee pads except for two holes which have cool wooden ones. Mark and Greg have done a TON of work to get this course going. It was a ton of fun going up and down the hills of Red Tail valley. We had a group of 5 and didn't lose a single disc. Only played holes 1-11 due to time constraint. This has the potential to be a world class course on par with the likes of Beaver Ranch in Conifer and Phantom Falls. I recommend wearing pants to shield yourself from all the brush you'll be walking through, bring some water, and expect ~2-3 hours of some awesome disc golf.

5 of 15 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.