South Bend, IN
Rum Village Park Share
Uploaded By: djext1 Hole #8
4 / 605ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Pour me another

1    3/29/2013   11/19/2013
Review By: B3NDER
Played: 84  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 8.9 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: ***FREE TO PLAY***

A lot going on here in terms of other activities. Playground in one corner, with hiking/walking trails and picnic areas about.

- There is a large, fenced off village in the middle of the park that the course plays around. There is no real risk of your discs getting lost over the fence unless taking wild shots is your thing, or if you're having a REALLY off day. This also just adds a nice feel to the course, as it seems like you're playing around a ghost town.

Mach 3 metal baskets, mostly in good shape.

The elevation change here is a large focal point of the course. I'd say it adds an entire disc rating to it by itself, as it really makes for a variety of shot placement options as well as a good risk/reward for putting and laying up.

-Variety of shots here, from some longer bombers (Hole 8: 605'/ Hole 12: 700')

- The pads here are concrete which is a huge plus, and are actually located at each hole. Some of the bigger pads I've seen before (I play with no run-up so the size of pads wasn't a blunder for me)

Fairly obvious lines present here, but still with all the trees and elevation changes you'll do well to pay attention to accuracy and placement for your next shot. Just because the line is clear, doesn't mean you're going to hit it every time.





Cons: This course was a DISASTER in terms of trash and debris everywhere. I realize it was technically a "winter"ish month we were there and not exactly in season, so hopefully this has since been addressed, as it could look beautiful here with some simple trash pickup.

Also, as apdrvya mentioned the routing and signage here was downright terrible. Without the map he had on his phone we would have probably missed out on half the teepads etc. The signs that WERE present were either drawn all over and basically ruined anyway. A few signs had been drawn on with sharpie to try to correct the awful signage, but even that barely helped

A good portion of the course plays along the road running through the park which could be dangerous for those walking or driving down the path - exercise caution here please.

Also, the neighborhood the parks rests in itself isn't the nicest, so again use caution if you're playing a solo round.

Other Thoughts: There you have it, I tried to touch on the key points for this course. This is the first course I played out of state and was pleasantly surprised with the amount of variety and elevation changes here.

I would love to play this course again to see if maybe the trash/debris issue was simply because of the "off season" time we played, but I probably won't be back down that way anytime soon.

With some work and clean up this place could be great someday. If this course were closer to me (thinking home course distance or within 20 minutes drivewise) I would frequent this place.

PLEASE don't miss out on a chance to play this city park, as it really may surprise you how much fun you find yourself having.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course to Learn On

5+    8/13/2013   8/14/2013
Review By: CoganDG
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful setting
Very hard to lose a disk
Good use of elevation
Well thought out course design
Giant tee pads
Cons: Not the best area of town
Signs are constantly being vandalized
Can be confusing due to lack of signage
Lack of trash cans means that people leave trash near the tees
Other Thoughts: This is the course I learned to play on and that I spend the most time on because FREE is great! I noticed some people saying that hole 4 is missing the basket this is not true. They removed that hole several years ago I believe because the pin sat in an area where a lot of rain run off went through and it kept eroding the area around the pin. They added a new ( and in my opinion better) hole after the 700 ft. monster. So when playing through the holes labeled as 5-13 are actually holes 4-12 a new hole 13 was added and is obvious because the pad is made a brick pavers not poured concrete. When you finish what is now hole 12 (the 700ft one) follow the tree line up the hill and you will spot the new hole 13 at the top. Holes 14-18 are all labeled correctly. Keep this in mind if you look at the pictures on this site, they are of the old layout and do not include the new hole 13.

Love this course give it a try if you are in the area!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

I'm being generous but elevation saves this place!

1    3/29/2013   3/29/2013
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 195  Reviewed: 191  Exp: 4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Aesthetic/elevation- This park is certainly multi-use but the areas that are for DG are pretty much away from all the little kids and their activities. there are holes that are close to the enclosed "village" but it shouldn't really be much of an issue. The elevation really saves this place. this course reminds me of Riverside (here in grand rapids) but with elevation and no river. Old growth trees abound and provide a relatively high canopy making it damn near impossible to lose discs.

Teepads- BIG and in decent repair. some are a little wonky but they're not terrible or missing parts and hey, they're all present and accounted for.

pin placement- Great! love the roll away potentials here, forcing you to decide If you want to lay up or play it safe. great for a city park!

Variety/challenge- The variation in hole length, elevation changes and rolling fairways provide a truly unique challenge here.

#12- this 700' hole is truly beautiful with it's rolling fairways and old growth trees. a very fair par 4.
Cons: Routing/Navigation/Signage- Awful. I nearly gave the course a 2.5 based solely on this fact. If it weren't for the map that someone posted I would have been incredibly lost. we played the "extinct" teepad 4 to basket 7 then realized that wasn't right... the map is truly the only thing that saved our asses. The signage is terrible. With vandals ruining the signs, it's impossible to know what basket you are on/throwing to/direction to throw? the sharpie is helpful but somewhat confusing in and of itself.

Upkeep (current)- there is a LOT of trash on the course, sled pieces, whiskey bottles, treasures chests with acorns in them and a lot of other miscellaneous garbage. I'm sure that once the season fully starts, it will improve.
Other Thoughts: For a free to play course in the "inner" city this is a nice course. With some tweaks and TLC, this place could be wonderful!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner/Intermediate

1    4/30/2011   5/1/2011
Review By: notapro
Played: 386  Reviewed: 279  Exp: 10.7 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set in a large, hilly park that is littered with tall mature trees. Doesn't seem like any other park activities would interfere with the discing.
- Biggest pro here is the constant elevation changes found on nearly every hole. Lots of downhill shots that make for some fun longer holes, as well as some treacherous shorter ones. A couple uphill shots too, but nothing too crazy. A few sloped greens as well, with serious rollaway potential.
- Accurate line shaping is a must to avoid the large number of tall trees. Holes range from pretty open, with a few different lines, to very thick, with some obvious lines and other local routes. Considering how bare the trees are at hole level, large clumps or sheer numbers can take away lines very effectively. A good RHBH hyzer and anhyzer goes a long way.
- Great variety in hole length, with some shorties around 200', a lot in the 300's, and even two in the 500' range. Anyone but the biggest of arms will be using drivers on this course, guaranteed. Accuracy is needed to get the deuces, but nothing too hard.
- Good teepads and baskets.
Cons: - Major con at this course is the out of date signage. A minor redesign was done, but the signage was not changed. After the first few holes, they can't be trusted (though some have the "correct" hole number on them in sharpie). Getting around for the first time will take a lot of guesswork, and seriously detracts from a first time visit.
- This course can get a little repetitive after a while, as the terrain hardly ever changes. Hills with a lot of trees is the norm. The lines are tough at times, so it helps to make it interesting, but I would get bored playing more than one round here.
- Only other hazard here involves OB roads, which frequently have traffic. Playing next to busy roads is never fun.
- Heads up at some spots, with baskets close to teepads and some adjacent fairways.
Other Thoughts: - This course does one thing, but it does it very well. Lots of elevation changes and lots of trees make for some very tough and interesting holes. Choosing between the "easy" route and the sneaky route can be a lot of fun, and getting good distance without losing accuracy is key. Other easier holes balance it a bit, including some ace runs. Advanced players will like finding the lines, but will probably be able to hit them again and again. Everyone else should enjoy some challenging yet rewarding golf.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

extended course is better

5+    9/4/2009   2/15/2009
Review By: discNDav
Played: 289  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 27.9 Years
This review was updated on 10/18/2013
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Since being extended a few years ago, this course is not the pitch and putt it once was (in the '96 Worlds) which now makes it much better. Old holes 5 & 6 are now combined into one. Hole 8 is now about 600' down hill twice and between large trees.

Great elevation changes (the pix here don't reveal this) along with mature oak trees. Not a tight course, considering it is in the woods. Mach 3 baskets and cement tees. The back 9 is a lot longer than the front 9.

Newly planted oak trees since 9/2008 will make this course even harder in the years to come.

Note the red tape on top of each basket, it points you in the right direction for the next tee.
Cons: Was poorly marked for years. The tee signs now at least have the correct hole # on them with the distance listed. Some were vandalized or #13 missing. You cross a park road twice, between 8 and 9 plus for 3 holes (12/13/14) and then cross back.
Other Thoughts: Being a native from SB as a kid I used to take train rides through this park, now I play DG on these grounds at least once a year, amazing!

Rum Village in SB on Ewing Av and Wilson Pk in Mishawaka on Dragoon Trail are 2 courses located on the same road yet in different cities. They are less than 15 minutes apart and both a very worthy play.

The number plates are painted green. I'm not sure this helps you seeing the basket or not.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Rum Village

5+    2/13/2009   2/13/2009
Review By: mmyersdisc
Played: 14  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 5.7 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great beginner course, lots of trees but somewhat open fairways. Has a playground for kids and nature hikes around the course, also has mountain bike trails across the street. I recently met the guy who helped design this course way back when and they held the '96 worlds there! Take your beginner friends here and they will appreciate the game much more! Has a few blind shots and some challenging holes!
Cons: Feb 13, 2009--hole #3 is still missing its basket and alot of the signs are vandalized. Course can be confusing becuase the holes are kind of spread out...gets very muddy when it rains and hole #2 floods.
Other Thoughts: If you are in the area, I would drive down to wilson park for a very open back 9 and make it up to bertrand in niles michigan another great course if you liked rum village you will LOVE these courses.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 One of my local favorites

5+    6/7/2010   6/7/2008
Review By: djext1
Played: 15  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 17.9 Years
This review was updated on 8/22/2010
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a nice mixture of challenging short holes (front nine) and challenging long to longer holes (back nine). The park is generally kept up very well, and with no admission price that's saying something.

There are a couple holes that are blind long shots that may set your disc rolling while out of site, so keep that in mind mainly on hole 3 of the front nine.

I play this course the most of any, not only because I live right nearby, but because it is a challenging nice course.

Basically if you're only looking for short quick holes, play the front, but if you want to play long, then do the full course.
Cons: There are a couple holes that are blind and long. While that isn't such a big deal to me, for someone that doesn't know the layout of the course, that can mean problems.

Also, there are a couple holes that may easily send you out into traffic, or across the street for OB, or "sticky situations" with traffic ;)
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is one of my favorite courses because of all it has to offer; elevation shots, hill shots, wood shots, doglegs, bunny hops....you name it.

If you're coming through or near South Bend, shoot off the bypass and come check it out, you won't be disappointed!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.