South Bend, IN 
Rum Village Park Share
Uploaded By: djext1 Hole #15
3 / 349ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee

Reviews: 35
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Best free course in South Bend

5+    9/26/2015   9/29/2015
Review By: Kylecoplen
Played: 20  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 12.6 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great mix if long and short. The pro par is challenging, w only 2 par 4s. Great clear lines through sometimes thick trees. Playing it safe is rewarding but limiting at this great public course.
Cons: May not be for fat fatties. Ton of hills, but less than Wilson.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Could be Northern IN's best course.

5+    9/7/2015   9/13/2015
Review By: Tony Koch
Played: 26  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 2.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Heavily wooded. Every hole you encounter numerous trees.
-Soild signage
-FREE to play!
-Buckets are older but in fair condition. Would love to see some Innova buckets in the near future.
-Variety in terms of hole distances and whether it plays straight, left, or right.
-Friendly to all throwing styles despite the hundreds of trees.
-Mixture of easy holes and very challenging holes. There is a stretch (holes 5, 6, 7, and 9) that are very birdie-able. But holes 3, 4, and 8 are tough to birdie. Especially 8. If anyone has ever gotten a two there I would be shocked! Gotten a few threes and I have been a okay with that.
-Difficult to lose a disc here. Unless you toss it into Safety Town over the barbed wire fence on hole 18.
-No rough so no need for pants/long socks.
-Good tee pads.
-Because of the many trees, wind normally doesn't play too much into effect here.
Cons: -Not the best area. Can be a bit sketchy.
-Though certain holes are challenging, the easier ones get even easier the more you play here. That is expected though I guess.
-The trim/mow crew does a nice job but sometimes garbage buildup can be a bit of an issue.
-Not exactly the most beginner friendly course because of the amount of trees!
Other Thoughts: -Numerous summer tourneys are held here. The doubles ones I have played in are very fun. Check it out.
-I normally shoot pretty well here, my best being a 48. But with all the trees it can play differently on any given day, I.E shanks haha! So the variety is a big plus.
-This place just has everything. Shocked that it doesn't have as good of reviews as I had imagined. Easy short holes, tough long holes, turn over holes, you name it and Rum pretty much has it!
-Plus, it's free which unfortunately can't be said of many of the nearby courses in northern IN. For sure if you are in South Bend and love to disc, go to Rum!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


1    8/10/2010   8/11/2010
Review By: esdubya
Played: 100  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 20.5 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Other Thoughts: Maybe I had low expectations going in (I had read the reviews here before going to Rum Village) but I thought this course was great. It exceeded my expectations. I think the designers did the most with what they had here.

Let's start with the property.
Rolling grassy hills with old oak trees provide constant shade and no undergrowth. Elevation plays a part on pretty much every hole. Some erosion around the tees and baskets but not too bad. Wood chips around the baskets would really help and make this course much nicer, maybe even raise the avg review. The people / players seemed OK, it wasn't too busy on a weekday evening. I didn't see any shady characters.

The course design: After 8 holes I was thinking "is this it?" then I step up to 9 and wowowowow!! what a sweet hole. long downhill bomb through trees. The remainder of the back 9 keeps things interesting. Good job, I will be back.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good times

2-4    10/18/2009   10/18/2009
Review By: MDeezy
Played: 101  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 12.5 Years
This review was updated on 2/5/2012
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Nice open course with beautiful oaks to play through. Great elevation changes, great views, awesome course to play. Course has nice cement tee pads, and is well marked. Rum Village requires you to use a variety of shots and discs. Close proximity to other great courses.
Cons: Could be a little hard to navigate your first time. Parking lots and pedestrians can come into play on some holes.
Other Thoughts: I live in Michigan and love traveling to South Bend to play here and George Wilson DGC. Rum Village is spread out over a great piece of land and uses the elevation and trees just perfect. Anyone who lives close to this course should feel lucky.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 I Love it

2-4    8/11/2009   8/15/2009
Review By: Frolfer4Life
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Concrete Teeboxes, Hard to lose a disc, always mowed, Challenging, Not crowded, Hilly, nice area, free to play
Cons: Very dusty around baskets, mostly par 3 holes, not many real tough holes
Other Thoughts: Needs new Teebox signs, Needs trash cans, great all around course, well placed baskets

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.