South Bend, IN 
Rum Village Park Share
Uploaded By: djext1 Hole #17
3 / 276ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee

Reviews: 35
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Oh the old rum village

5+    11/3/2015   11/19/2015
Review By: comeonbro73
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5
Pros: It's a fantastic first course. It's technical enough to force you to pick a specific line with your shot, but you're not looking for you disc in super thick woods if you miss your line by a foot. The tee signs have multiple pars on them for different skill levels which is SUPER nice. You can be competitive and actually figure out how well you did and your buddies who have never played before can have fun too and not get demoralized. They generally do a nice job with the upkeep here too.
Cons: It's really nothing special. The course design is unimaginative and pretty basic. As long as you don't hit a tree, you should be looking at a birdie on most holes. I feel like the par is pretty realistic here for most of the holes, but there are still some iffy ones that make me scratch my head.
Other Thoughts: It's a pretty solid course overall. You won't be blown away, but it won't make you hate yourself either. I like it a lot compared to George Wilson.

Best free course in South Bend

5+    9/26/2015   9/29/2015
Review By: Kylecoplen
Played: 20  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 12.6 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great mix if long and short. The pro par is challenging, w only 2 par 4s. Great clear lines through sometimes thick trees. Playing it safe is rewarding but limiting at this great public course.
Cons: May not be for fat fatties. Ton of hills, but less than Wilson.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

The Rum isn't Gone!

5+    8/31/2015   9/23/2015
Review By: Jiggy202
Played: 41  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 5.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
-Quality teepads with decent signs on every hole
-The park is kept up really well
-Almost impossible to lose a disc (no real rough/underbrush)
-A fair mix of easy and some tougher holes
-No clear indicator of where the course starts from the parking lot
-Course navigation can be confusing in a few spots for first timers. Some navigation signs would be welcomed.
-A few holes play somewhat close to roads but it's relatively minor hazard here
-The park isn't in the greatest of areas
Other Thoughts:
Rum Village Park is a course I frequent when I'm in town because it's a quality course and its free to play. The elevation use and course layout are great, no two holes feel the same. It is a good place for players of different skill levels, there is something for every type of player/throwing style. It is challenging enough for better players and isn't too harsh on beginners. This course has the potential to earn an even higher rating with just a few upgrades such as, better signage, additional teepads, and a onsite course map/info kiosk. I absolutely would recommend playing this course if you are in the area, it will not disappoint.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Could be Northern IN's best course.

5+    9/7/2015   9/13/2015
Review By: Tony Koch
Played: 26  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 2.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Heavily wooded. Every hole you encounter numerous trees.
-Soild signage
-FREE to play!
-Buckets are older but in fair condition. Would love to see some Innova buckets in the near future.
-Variety in terms of hole distances and whether it plays straight, left, or right.
-Friendly to all throwing styles despite the hundreds of trees.
-Mixture of easy holes and very challenging holes. There is a stretch (holes 5, 6, 7, and 9) that are very birdie-able. But holes 3, 4, and 8 are tough to birdie. Especially 8. If anyone has ever gotten a two there I would be shocked! Gotten a few threes and I have been a okay with that.
-Difficult to lose a disc here. Unless you toss it into Safety Town over the barbed wire fence on hole 18.
-No rough so no need for pants/long socks.
-Good tee pads.
-Because of the many trees, wind normally doesn't play too much into effect here.
Cons: -Not the best area. Can be a bit sketchy.
-Though certain holes are challenging, the easier ones get even easier the more you play here. That is expected though I guess.
-The trim/mow crew does a nice job but sometimes garbage buildup can be a bit of an issue.
-Not exactly the most beginner friendly course because of the amount of trees!
Other Thoughts: -Numerous summer tourneys are held here. The doubles ones I have played in are very fun. Check it out.
-I normally shoot pretty well here, my best being a 48. But with all the trees it can play differently on any given day, I.E shanks haha! So the variety is a big plus.
-This place just has everything. Shocked that it doesn't have as good of reviews as I had imagined. Easy short holes, tough long holes, turn over holes, you name it and Rum pretty much has it!
-Plus, it's free which unfortunately can't be said of many of the nearby courses in northern IN. For sure if you are in South Bend and love to disc, go to Rum!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great Northern Indiana Course

1    3/28/2015   3/28/2015
Review By: ajbova
Played: 94  Reviewed: 78  Exp: 9.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Challenging intermediate level course with lots of variety. Beginners may struggle with elevation and trees, advanced players will enjoy the longer holes.

Tees - One large concrete tee per hole that is about 4 x 12 feet. Very grippy. Easy to locate.

Signs - One sign at every hole that lists distance, part, hole number, a map of the hole, and shows how to get to next tee. Played with course groundskeeper, he said the signs were up to date and accurate. Also mentioned a few mandos that were not listed on signs. Definitely helpful. Once in park there is a sign pointing you to disc golf area.

Baskets - 18 Mach 3 baskets that catch great. Some of them still have the hole numbers on them.

Variety - Every hole here is different. Holes range from 180 - 650 feet. Distance changes keep the course flowing. Several mature trees and elevation changes on every hole. Many blind shots due to elevation and trees which add to the challenege. No two holes were the same. Enough trees to make or break your day.

Elevation plays a major factor at this course. Every hole had some sort of elevation whether it was uphill, downhill, rolling hills, or valley shots. Course would be tough on a windy day. I am from Indianapolis so any courses with elevation make me extra happy.

Trash cans present on holes 3, 4, 5, and 12.

Bench on hole 7 and nice little chair off hole 10.

Good view of the city. Can see golden dome at Notre Dame.

Once you find hole 1, course flows well. Some short walks between holes but normally you can see the next tee from the previous hole. Can see somewhat of a walking path when in doubt.

Course is in a very scenic and peaceful park. Cool little miniature village that some may find creepy. Playground for kids and a nature center on site. Things to keep the family busy while you play.

Course ends relatively close to where it starts.

Free to play. I have noticed that multiple northern Indiana / southern Michigan courses are pay to play. Free to play is more inviting to new players.

Room to expand, especially after hole 18.
Cons: Took a little bit to find hole one. A sign from the parking lot pointing to hole one or saying front 9 would be helpful. There was a back 9 sign but not a front 9.

Course could use a map at the start (perhaps near the tee for hole 1) to eliminate confusion for first time visitors.

Course could use a practice basket.

An alternate concrete tee per hole would do wonders for this course. Longer tee on the shortest holes, and shorter tees on the 600 footers. It would keep things fresh and give players an option.

Course could use a few arrows pointing to the next hole. Elevation can cause confusion.

On hole 9, I would have thrown towards basket 18 if I wasn't playing with course grounds keeper.

Not enough benches and trash cans. Course use some on the back 9.
Other Thoughts: I really liked this course and will definitely come back. Played it with my fiance and although it was a little too difficult for her, she enjoyed herself. Changes in variety of holes was nice. Got an ace on hole 6 which was an added bonus.

This course is worth checking out if in the area or on a road trip. Nearby George Wilson park is also a good one if you have the time. Courses compliment each other very well.

If this course had alternate tee pads, a map, practice basket, a few more signs, and added a few more holes, it would easily be a 4, maybe even 4.5 out of 5 in my opinion. I will be back when in town.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


1    4/2/2014   4/4/2014
Review By: Indiana574
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Free to play. I really liked the front nine
Cons: Some sign were deffinetly wrong like hole 12 says it tapers to the right when it's really left. Lots of trash hard to tell were to go. And it's missing basket 4
Other Thoughts: It's worth playing if ur over that way but it's not worth makin a trip out to in my opinion

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Pour me another

1    3/29/2013   11/19/2013
Review By: B3NDER
Played: 120  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 10.5 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: ***FREE TO PLAY***

A lot going on here in terms of other activities. Playground in one corner, with hiking/walking trails and picnic areas about.

- There is a large, fenced off village in the middle of the park that the course plays around. There is no real risk of your discs getting lost over the fence unless taking wild shots is your thing, or if you're having a REALLY off day. This also just adds a nice feel to the course, as it seems like you're playing around a ghost town.

Mach 3 metal baskets, mostly in good shape.

The elevation change here is a large focal point of the course. I'd say it adds an entire disc rating to it by itself, as it really makes for a variety of shot placement options as well as a good risk/reward for putting and laying up.

-Variety of shots here, from some longer bombers (Hole 8: 605'/ Hole 12: 700')

- The pads here are concrete which is a huge plus, and are actually located at each hole. Some of the bigger pads I've seen before (I play with no run-up so the size of pads wasn't a blunder for me)

Fairly obvious lines present here, but still with all the trees and elevation changes you'll do well to pay attention to accuracy and placement for your next shot. Just because the line is clear, doesn't mean you're going to hit it every time.

Cons: This course was a DISASTER in terms of trash and debris everywhere. I realize it was technically a "winter"ish month we were there and not exactly in season, so hopefully this has since been addressed, as it could look beautiful here with some simple trash pickup.

Also, as apdrvya mentioned the routing and signage here was downright terrible. Without the map he had on his phone we would have probably missed out on half the teepads etc. The signs that WERE present were either drawn all over and basically ruined anyway. A few signs had been drawn on with sharpie to try to correct the awful signage, but even that barely helped

A good portion of the course plays along the road running through the park which could be dangerous for those walking or driving down the path - exercise caution here please.

Also, the neighborhood the parks rests in itself isn't the nicest, so again use caution if you're playing a solo round.

Other Thoughts: There you have it, I tried to touch on the key points for this course. This is the first course I played out of state and was pleasantly surprised with the amount of variety and elevation changes here.

I would love to play this course again to see if maybe the trash/debris issue was simply because of the "off season" time we played, but I probably won't be back down that way anytime soon.

With some work and clean up this place could be great someday. If this course were closer to me (thinking home course distance or within 20 minutes drivewise) I would frequent this place.

PLEASE don't miss out on a chance to play this city park, as it really may surprise you how much fun you find yourself having.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  Great Course to Learn On

5+    8/13/2013   8/14/2013
Review By: CoganDG
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful setting
Very hard to lose a disk
Good use of elevation
Well thought out course design
Giant tee pads
Cons: Not the best area of town
Signs are constantly being vandalized
Can be confusing due to lack of signage
Lack of trash cans means that people leave trash near the tees
Other Thoughts: This is the course I learned to play on and that I spend the most time on because FREE is great! I noticed some people saying that hole 4 is missing the basket this is not true. They removed that hole several years ago I believe because the pin sat in an area where a lot of rain run off went through and it kept eroding the area around the pin. They added a new ( and in my opinion better) hole after the 700 ft. monster. So when playing through the holes labeled as 5-13 are actually holes 4-12 a new hole 13 was added and is obvious because the pad is made a brick pavers not poured concrete. When you finish what is now hole 12 (the 700ft one) follow the tree line up the hill and you will spot the new hole 13 at the top. Holes 14-18 are all labeled correctly. Keep this in mind if you look at the pictures on this site, they are of the old layout and do not include the new hole 13.

Love this course give it a try if you are in the area!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 I'm being generous but elevation saves this place!

1    3/29/2013   3/29/2013
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 261  Reviewed: 256  Exp: 5.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Aesthetic/elevation- This park is certainly multi-use but the areas that are for DG are pretty much away from all the little kids and their activities. there are holes that are close to the enclosed "village" but it shouldn't really be much of an issue. The elevation really saves this place. this course reminds me of Riverside (here in grand rapids) but with elevation and no river. Old growth trees abound and provide a relatively high canopy making it damn near impossible to lose discs.

Teepads- BIG and in decent repair. some are a little wonky but they're not terrible or missing parts and hey, they're all present and accounted for.

pin placement- Great! love the roll away potentials here, forcing you to decide If you want to lay up or play it safe. great for a city park!

Variety/challenge- The variation in hole length, elevation changes and rolling fairways provide a truly unique challenge here.

#12- this 700' hole is truly beautiful with it's rolling fairways and old growth trees. a very fair par 4.
Cons: Routing/Navigation/Signage- Awful. I nearly gave the course a 2.5 based solely on this fact. If it weren't for the map that someone posted I would have been incredibly lost. we played the "extinct" teepad 4 to basket 7 then realized that wasn't right... the map is truly the only thing that saved our asses. The signage is terrible. With vandals ruining the signs, it's impossible to know what basket you are on/throwing to/direction to throw? the sharpie is helpful but somewhat confusing in and of itself.

Upkeep (current)- there is a LOT of trash on the course, sled pieces, whiskey bottles, treasures chests with acorns in them and a lot of other miscellaneous garbage. I'm sure that once the season fully starts, it will improve.
Other Thoughts: For a free to play course in the "inner" city this is a nice course. With some tweaks and TLC, this place could be wonderful!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Good Neighborhood Course

1    8/14/2012   8/14/2012
Review By: silvertransformer
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Overall I feel this course is a good one. Especially since the park itself is located in the city. I really liked the layout. The front nine I would say rates on the easy side of things and the back nine is a little more tricky. Every tee pad was concrete which I find is better then rubber mats. A few of the baskets are in the open, but a lot of then you have to throw between or around some trees. Another plus is the variety of distance on the baskets. Some short and some long.
Cons: One thing this course lacks is trash receptacles. There were more then a few baskets that had cans and bottles just thrown on the ground. Another thing I did not like is most of the signs at the tee pads were in bad shape. A few you could read, but most of them you could not. Because of this the course could be just a tiny bit hard to navigate for first timers.
Other Thoughts: Overall I would say this is a good course. I would recommend this course for anyone just starting out in the game or for someone who has played for awhile.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.