South Bend, IN 
Rum Village Park Share
Uploaded By: djext1 Hole #17
3 / 276ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee

Reviews: 35
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Did that guy just steal my ace disc?

5+    7/7/2010   7/17/2010
Review By: destroyeroftrees
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 12.6 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Decent length and difficulty for amateurs and pros, Basic bomb and putt course. Wind sometimes makes putting interesting on front 9. Hard to lose disc after first 3 holes. Decent parking space. Usually no backups on holes.
Cons: Very suspicious area, however it has gotten better in the past 3 years. City and local disc golf group are atleast making an effort to clean it up. Vandalized signs and baskets are not uncommon. Not alot of tables or places to sit and relax. Unfriendly patrons and tons of foot traffic on course can lead to problems. No scorecards on site which can make navigating course time consuming.
Other Thoughts: Place this course in a different area and it quickly goes up to a rating of around 4

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


1    2/28/2010   2/28/2010
Review By: gordonbombay
Played: 49  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.6 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Some really good use of elevation.
Large oak trees define the fairways well.
There is shade provided almost year round by the large oaks.
Definately a begginer friendly course. Not very difficult and not very long.
The tee pads are in good shape on holes except #7 has a cracked corner (short hole and wont really affect your drive).

Cons: Acorns as previously mentioned cannot only be dangerous to walk on downhill, but falling from 3-4 stories doesnt make them any safer.
If you cant navigate the course there are plenty of suspicious looking "gentleman" (and I use that term VERY loosely) that Im sure would be more than happy to assist you to find the next "hole". I know this has almost nothing to do with the course and should not be held against it but it is creepy if you are male and play solo rounds.
Navigation (I guess I didnt quite address it in my last point). The tee signs dont point you towards the next hole many times. Several are missing, others are vandalized.

Other Thoughts: DIRECTIONS- regardless of which entrance you come in drive until you see the playground equipment. The next right turn will be for DG parking. Walk through the shelter to find tee pad 1. After hole 9 proceed up the hill, across the street and tee off facing right.
If you need a course to beat a disc in look no further. The oaks provide all the tuning you'll need and then some.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful City Park Course

5+    12/16/2009   12/28/2009
Review By: Jukeshoe
Played: 210  Reviewed: 170  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/17/2013
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Located in a very beautiful, well-groomed park with huge oak trees providing shade. The widely-spaced yet ever-present trees provide some excellent line-shaping opportunities.
-Long, level, grippy tee pads all in great shape except for #7, which has one corner broken.
-Free to park/play.
-Great use of available elevation.
-Extremely difficult to lose a disc.
-Good variation between shorter holes and longer, more challenging holes.
-Open holes good for beginners yet still a challenge for more experienced players.
-Park department does a great job cleaning up the leaves. One really neat aspect to this course is that they mow "fairways" into the course after the leaves have fallen.
-Park is family friendly with playgrounds, grills, shelters.
-Overall a fun place to play with a few lovely views.
Cons: -Damaged/vandalized/unclear signs make navigation, finding out pars difficult.
-No trash cans.
-Some holes near park road, one near city road.
-No restrooms.
-Hole #2 floods a bit near the basket after harder rains.
Other Thoughts: The front nine is fairly straight-forward and easy. The back nine is where this course shines, in my opinion. Starting on hole 9, the holes really start having a unique feel with many possible/interesting lines to take.
- New trees have been planted throughout the course. Currently they don't change much, but a few years down the line will add to the difficulty of the course. They seem to be placed in very strategic spots.
- Seriously, watch out for the acorns in autumn or you'll kill yourself going down hills. I play this course for it's long open fairways whenever I get a new driver.
- Course changes as of 9/13/10: #4 has been removed due to hazardous play/ erosion issues. #7 basket is now short right of the old position. The old #13 (#12 in the new layout) now has the basket to the far left near the road. A new hole was added between the old #13 and #14. Also, the local club is working on reinforcing the teepads where erosion might be an issue, which fixes any issues before they occur. With the new, safer layout I have raised my ranking by a half-disc.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 compared to local courses

5+    12/1/2009   12/14/2009
Review By: MotoDj
Played: 20  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6.8 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: ok, prob not a 4.5 course, but its free and one of my favorites i've ever played
i love the course, beautiful large mature trees, no brush, has the most holes around over 350ft, everyfairway gives you options, yet you still have to be accurate to some degree, great ace run type holes, but only a hanful, throws in a nice blend of blind shots, but its only nice now cause i know where they're at :)
designers used what elevation they have to give mild degree of up and down hill shots
Cons: dont ever remember seeing restroom
po po always lurking :) mostly they're just eating lunch and taking breaks in there, but they park within danger zones of bad drives...
navigation is poor, but not impossible
"in the circle" lots of baskets have had enough traffic to make it solid dirt so layups slide/skip/roll easy (specially on the ace run holes)
Other Thoughts: for a day at the park, its free, very nice condition, one of the best ones we got in the area
i'd like to see better, but it is what it is

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice park course

1    10/10/2009   10/26/2009
Review By: mashnut
Played: 819  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 13.8 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a park filled with mature trees, and almost no underbrush. Nearly all holes play through the trees, so there are nice defined lines on most, with none that seemed completely wide open. There is some elevation, and it is used well throughout the course, including a couple hillside pins that add some roll-away danger to long putts. There are a couple bigger holes that shoot downhill through the trees, and these were a lot of fun, combining a downhill bomb with still having to hit a line through the trees.

Much of the course was pretty short, with plenty of ace run holes, and a few longer holes that allow you to throw a real drive. Most holes have multiple possible paths, but if you take the most obvious/open lines, you'll use a variety of different shots here.

There are nice concrete pads for all the tees, and they seemed large enough for the most part. There are signs, though they weren't in very good shape. Other than a couple weird spots, the course had good flow and wasn't too bad to follow. The park is very nicely maintained, and makes for a very nice round in the park.
Cons: There are a couple places here where navigation gets a bit dicey, and it's frustrating to have to wander around to find the right tee to throw from. Many of the signs were not readable, and this added to the confusion in these spots, along with some number plates missing or damaged.

The course played too close to the park road, and a main road too much for my taste. There were just too many easy places to end up on or across a road. Though this course seems meant for newer players, I would have liked a few more holes with some length, and a few less straight ace runs.

There isn't anything terribly wrong with this course, it's a nice park setting and it does a good job with the space, there just isn't a whole lot of wow factor to set this course apart.
Other Thoughts: Beginners will have a lot of fun at this course, with lots of possible lines, and not too much length, though there are some places where it's difficult to navigate at first. More experienced players will have a fun time here, but don't expect anything too challenging or unique.

This course is worth the stop if you're in the area, but it isn't the best course in town if you've only got time to play one. This is, however, a great place to bring newer players for a challenge, while having a good time yourself.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Good times

2-4    10/18/2009   10/18/2009
Review By: MDeezy
Played: 101  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 12.5 Years
This review was updated on 2/5/2012
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Nice open course with beautiful oaks to play through. Great elevation changes, great views, awesome course to play. Course has nice cement tee pads, and is well marked. Rum Village requires you to use a variety of shots and discs. Close proximity to other great courses.
Cons: Could be a little hard to navigate your first time. Parking lots and pedestrians can come into play on some holes.
Other Thoughts: I live in Michigan and love traveling to South Bend to play here and George Wilson DGC. Rum Village is spread out over a great piece of land and uses the elevation and trees just perfect. Anyone who lives close to this course should feel lucky.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 I Love it

2-4    8/11/2009   8/15/2009
Review By: Frolfer4Life
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Concrete Teeboxes, Hard to lose a disc, always mowed, Challenging, Not crowded, Hilly, nice area, free to play
Cons: Very dusty around baskets, mostly par 3 holes, not many real tough holes
Other Thoughts: Needs new Teebox signs, Needs trash cans, great all around course, well placed baskets

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Good course inside city limits

5+    6/26/2009   6/28/2009
Review By: danpatedo
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 16.5 Years
This review was updated on 6/29/2009
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good balance between shorter open fairways and long fairways with many trees as obstacles. Great park-like setting under large oak trees.
Cons: Some out of bounds areas are behind barb-wire fence.
Other Thoughts: This was my high-school stomping grounds. It still to this day is a fun course to play, especially on a hot day with all the shade. Those oak trees can be surprsingly tough to play around.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.


5+    4/6/2008   3/7/2009
Review By: DiscChick
Played: 10  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 16.7 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's free!
Cement tees (I didn't realize how much of a plus cement tees were until I played a few courses with natural tees)

Offers a variety of holes. Short and long, uphill and down. Around and through the trees.

Mature oak trees provide shade and scenery. There is a great view of the downtown South Bend skyline from one of the hilltop holes.
Cons: The course is not well marked. Some signs are wrong, missing, or damaged. I've played here a lot and I still get lost. I often get to the end and realize I've only shot 17 holes.
No scorecards or maps are available. I have no idea what par actually is on this course.

There are a couple of holes where you may find yourself in the street (not the park road, but the actual street with very real traffic)
Other Thoughts: Watch out for the acorns on the hillsides in the fall - dangerous in a "Home Alone" kind of way.

I like this course, I think my biggest problem with it is the sign confusion. If they just updated and replaced the signs this would be a great course and I would give it a higher rating.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

extended course is better

5+    9/5/2014   2/15/2009
Review By: discNDav
Played: 328  Reviewed: 69  Exp: 29.5 Years
This review was updated on 9/23/2015
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Since being extended a few years ago, this course is not the pitch and putt it once was (in the '96 Worlds) which now makes it much better. Old holes 5 & 6 are now combined into one. Hole 8 is now about 600' down hill twice and between large trees.

Great elevation changes (the pix here don't reveal this) along with mature oak trees. Not a tight course, considering it is in the woods. Mach 3 baskets and cement tees. The back 9 is a lot longer than the front 9.

Newly planted oak trees since 9/2008 will make this course even harder in the years to come.

Note the red tape on top of each basket, it points you in the right direction for the next tee.
Cons: Was poorly marked for years. The tee signs now at least have the correct hole # on them with the distance listed. Some were vandalized or #13 missing. You cross a park road twice, between 8 and 9 plus for 3 holes (12/13/14) and then cross back.
Other Thoughts: Being a native from SB as a kid I used to take train rides through this park, now I play DG on these grounds at least once a year, amazing!

Rum Village in SB on Ewing Av and Wilson Pk in Mishawaka on Dragoon Trail are 2 courses located on the same road yet in different cities. They are less than 15 minutes apart and both a very worthy play.

The number plates are painted green. I'm not sure this helps you seeing the basket or not.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.