South Bend, IN 
Rum Village Park Share
Uploaded By: djext1 Hole #10
3 / 320ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10



Reviews: 31
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Nice park course

1    10/10/2009   10/26/2009
Review By: mashnut
Played: 819  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 13.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a park filled with mature trees, and almost no underbrush. Nearly all holes play through the trees, so there are nice defined lines on most, with none that seemed completely wide open. There is some elevation, and it is used well throughout the course, including a couple hillside pins that add some roll-away danger to long putts. There are a couple bigger holes that shoot downhill through the trees, and these were a lot of fun, combining a downhill bomb with still having to hit a line through the trees.

Much of the course was pretty short, with plenty of ace run holes, and a few longer holes that allow you to throw a real drive. Most holes have multiple possible paths, but if you take the most obvious/open lines, you'll use a variety of different shots here.

There are nice concrete pads for all the tees, and they seemed large enough for the most part. There are signs, though they weren't in very good shape. Other than a couple weird spots, the course had good flow and wasn't too bad to follow. The park is very nicely maintained, and makes for a very nice round in the park.
Cons: There are a couple places here where navigation gets a bit dicey, and it's frustrating to have to wander around to find the right tee to throw from. Many of the signs were not readable, and this added to the confusion in these spots, along with some number plates missing or damaged.

The course played too close to the park road, and a main road too much for my taste. There were just too many easy places to end up on or across a road. Though this course seems meant for newer players, I would have liked a few more holes with some length, and a few less straight ace runs.

There isn't anything terribly wrong with this course, it's a nice park setting and it does a good job with the space, there just isn't a whole lot of wow factor to set this course apart.
Other Thoughts: Beginners will have a lot of fun at this course, with lots of possible lines, and not too much length, though there are some places where it's difficult to navigate at first. More experienced players will have a fun time here, but don't expect anything too challenging or unique.

This course is worth the stop if you're in the area, but it isn't the best course in town if you've only got time to play one. This is, however, a great place to bring newer players for a challenge, while having a good time yourself.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Good times

2-4    10/18/2009   10/18/2009
Review By: MDeezy
Played: 91  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 11.9 Years
This review was updated on 2/5/2012
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Nice open course with beautiful oaks to play through. Great elevation changes, great views, awesome course to play. Course has nice cement tee pads, and is well marked. Rum Village requires you to use a variety of shots and discs. Close proximity to other great courses.
Cons: Could be a little hard to navigate your first time. Parking lots and pedestrians can come into play on some holes.
Other Thoughts: I live in Michigan and love traveling to South Bend to play here and George Wilson DGC. Rum Village is spread out over a great piece of land and uses the elevation and trees just perfect. Anyone who lives close to this course should feel lucky.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 I Love it

2-4    8/11/2009   8/15/2009
Review By: Frolfer4Life
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Concrete Teeboxes, Hard to lose a disc, always mowed, Challenging, Not crowded, Hilly, nice area, free to play
Cons: Very dusty around baskets, mostly par 3 holes, not many real tough holes
Other Thoughts: Needs new Teebox signs, Needs trash cans, great all around course, well placed baskets

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Good course inside city limits

5+    6/26/2009   6/28/2009
Review By: danpatedo
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 15.9 Years
This review was updated on 6/29/2009
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good balance between shorter open fairways and long fairways with many trees as obstacles. Great park-like setting under large oak trees.
Cons: Some out of bounds areas are behind barb-wire fence.
Other Thoughts: This was my high-school stomping grounds. It still to this day is a fun course to play, especially on a hot day with all the shade. Those oak trees can be surprsingly tough to play around.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    4/6/2008   3/7/2009
Review By: DiscChick
Played: 10  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 16.1 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's free!
Cement tees (I didn't realize how much of a plus cement tees were until I played a few courses with natural tees)

Offers a variety of holes. Short and long, uphill and down. Around and through the trees.

Mature oak trees provide shade and scenery. There is a great view of the downtown South Bend skyline from one of the hilltop holes.
Cons: The course is not well marked. Some signs are wrong, missing, or damaged. I've played here a lot and I still get lost. I often get to the end and realize I've only shot 17 holes.
No scorecards or maps are available. I have no idea what par actually is on this course.

There are a couple of holes where you may find yourself in the street (not the park road, but the actual street with very real traffic)
Other Thoughts: Watch out for the acorns on the hillsides in the fall - dangerous in a "Home Alone" kind of way.

I like this course, I think my biggest problem with it is the sign confusion. If they just updated and replaced the signs this would be a great course and I would give it a higher rating.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

extended course is better

5+    9/4/2009   2/15/2009
Review By: discNDav
Played: 301  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 28.9 Years
This review was updated on 10/18/2013
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Since being extended a few years ago, this course is not the pitch and putt it once was (in the '96 Worlds) which now makes it much better. Old holes 5 & 6 are now combined into one. Hole 8 is now about 600' down hill twice and between large trees.

Great elevation changes (the pix here don't reveal this) along with mature oak trees. Not a tight course, considering it is in the woods. Mach 3 baskets and cement tees. The back 9 is a lot longer than the front 9.

Newly planted oak trees since 9/2008 will make this course even harder in the years to come.

Note the red tape on top of each basket, it points you in the right direction for the next tee.
Cons: Was poorly marked for years. The tee signs now at least have the correct hole # on them with the distance listed. Some were vandalized or #13 missing. You cross a park road twice, between 8 and 9 plus for 3 holes (12/13/14) and then cross back.
Other Thoughts: Being a native from SB as a kid I used to take train rides through this park, now I play DG on these grounds at least once a year, amazing!

Rum Village in SB on Ewing Av and Wilson Pk in Mishawaka on Dragoon Trail are 2 courses located on the same road yet in different cities. They are less than 15 minutes apart and both a very worthy play.

The number plates are painted green. I'm not sure this helps you seeing the basket or not.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Rum Village

5+    2/13/2009   2/13/2009
Review By: mmyersdisc
Played: 14  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 6.7 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great beginner course, lots of trees but somewhat open fairways. Has a playground for kids and nature hikes around the course, also has mountain bike trails across the street. I recently met the guy who helped design this course way back when and they held the '96 worlds there! Take your beginner friends here and they will appreciate the game much more! Has a few blind shots and some challenging holes!
Cons: Feb 13, 2009--hole #3 is still missing its basket and alot of the signs are vandalized. Course can be confusing becuase the holes are kind of spread out...gets very muddy when it rains and hole #2 floods.
Other Thoughts: If you are in the area, I would drive down to wilson park for a very open back 9 and make it up to bertrand in niles michigan another great course if you liked rum village you will LOVE these courses.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Classic Beginner Course

2-4    8/15/1996   2/4/2009
Review By: craigg
Played: 183  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 33.7 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a classic beginner friendly kind of course. Occupying a park with well established mature trees, and easy rolling hills, it's a nice walk, generally well kept, and easy to navigate.
Most holes are reachable (i.e. under or around 300') even for beginning players. Not terribly taxing for top pros (Geoff Lissaman shot a 37 there in the '96 Worlds), but it doesn't strike me as having meant to be a championship course.
Cons: There are other more difficult courses near by, so saying that this is a short course isn't exactly a fair CON.
Other Thoughts: This is the kind of course you could take your family out to to introduce them to DG. If I remember correctly, there are picnic areas nearby, so its a fairly family friendly kind of place. Fun to play, decent, but not remarkable.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/3/2008   8/3/2008
Review By: davetherocketguy
Played: 40  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 10.7 Years
This review was updated on 9/13/2009
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Awesome course and free. Long and short holes through lots of trees which means most of the course is rather shaded. Friendly locals and never very crowded when I have been there. Each hole has alternate basket locations. Doesn't really seem to favor left or right handed players but definitely DOES NOT favor those that hit trees.
Cons: The holes are spread out. First timers will have a tough time finding their way from hole to hole. There is a lot of graffiti and vandalism on the course signs which is a shame because someone went through a lot of time and effort to make them.
Other Thoughts: Hole #10 is up the hill and across the road from the #9 basket. #13 and #14 are on the opposite side of the road from #12. #15 through #18 are back on the same side of the road as #12.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

6/21/2008   6/22/2008
Review By: CNeuey
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It is free to play! There is a good mix of distance between holes. The park is kept in pretty good shape with the exception of the signs of the holes. There are trees but not an overwhelming amount so losing a disc would be difficult.
Cons: There was no map or scorecard for this course. When I first arrived I was very confused as to where to go. On some holes there is a great deal of distance between them and finding the next tee can be very challenging. I had to ask other players on the course where to go next several times. Also, the signs near the tees are hard to read and some don't have anything on them which makes it even harder to know where to throw it. There are a few holes that are near the road. You have to cross the park roads several times to get to the next tee.
Other Thoughts: Overall I think this course is fun and challenging. There are only two par 4's and the rest are par 3's. One of the par 4 holes is over 600 feet. I will be checking this course out more since it is free to play. I'm sure once I get used to the course layout, it will be better.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.