South Bend, IN 
Rum Village Park Share
Uploaded By: djext1 Hole #15
3 / 349ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee



Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Beginner/Intermediate

1    4/30/2011   5/1/2011
Review By: notapro
Played: 417  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 11.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set in a large, hilly park that is littered with tall mature trees. Doesn't seem like any other park activities would interfere with the discing.
- Biggest pro here is the constant elevation changes found on nearly every hole. Lots of downhill shots that make for some fun longer holes, as well as some treacherous shorter ones. A couple uphill shots too, but nothing too crazy. A few sloped greens as well, with serious rollaway potential.
- Accurate line shaping is a must to avoid the large number of tall trees. Holes range from pretty open, with a few different lines, to very thick, with some obvious lines and other local routes. Considering how bare the trees are at hole level, large clumps or sheer numbers can take away lines very effectively. A good RHBH hyzer and anhyzer goes a long way.
- Great variety in hole length, with some shorties around 200', a lot in the 300's, and even two in the 500' range. Anyone but the biggest of arms will be using drivers on this course, guaranteed. Accuracy is needed to get the deuces, but nothing too hard.
- Good teepads and baskets.
Cons: - Major con at this course is the out of date signage. A minor redesign was done, but the signage was not changed. After the first few holes, they can't be trusted (though some have the "correct" hole number on them in sharpie). Getting around for the first time will take a lot of guesswork, and seriously detracts from a first time visit.
- This course can get a little repetitive after a while, as the terrain hardly ever changes. Hills with a lot of trees is the norm. The lines are tough at times, so it helps to make it interesting, but I would get bored playing more than one round here.
- Only other hazard here involves OB roads, which frequently have traffic. Playing next to busy roads is never fun.
- Heads up at some spots, with baskets close to teepads and some adjacent fairways.
Other Thoughts: - This course does one thing, but it does it very well. Lots of elevation changes and lots of trees make for some very tough and interesting holes. Choosing between the "easy" route and the sneaky route can be a lot of fun, and getting good distance without losing accuracy is key. Other easier holes balance it a bit, including some ace runs. Advanced players will like finding the lines, but will probably be able to hit them again and again. Everyone else should enjoy some challenging yet rewarding golf.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great TWEENER Course

5+    8/26/2010   2/26/2011
Review By: Emoney
Played: 57  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 6.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a well mantained course nestled in the city of south bend. It gets mowed frequently and stays pretty clean due to local efforts.There are nice huge concrete tee pads u could build a house on. The baskets are also in good shape. The course layout is great for a beginner and pro,with short and long distances.I call this a "tweener" course because it makes u throw every shot in your bag but there is little risk to lose your disc. So you can improve ur shot making skills without having to search for days in the shule for ur disc of a tighter more challenging course. There are some holes that have O.B. risk with roads,which helps this forgiving course. The layout plays through the trunks of huge trees with little to no brush,mostly short green fairways. The design of each hole is great !!, giving you multiple lines on each hole. Alot of undulation which is rare for this area.Plus, the canopy above you makes this course have plenty of shade in the hot summer months. Also, the locals are recently helping to improve some holes and teepads to take this diamond in the rough to the next level. Thanks to all as this is the course i grew up on.
Cons: The tee signs are there but kids keep ruining them and it makes navigation for new players a little difficult.It could use a few more trash cans throughout the course. There is not alot of risk on this course which may make ur first time difficult but u will learn quickly how to man handle this course. Not in the greatest neighborhood so u can spot some added "artwork" throughout the course.
Other Thoughts: This is my home course and i think the best in the area. It doesnt have the challenge and beauty of a higher rated course but it is fun and will improve you game. Thank u to everyone that helps keep this course updated and clean.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Rough jewel?

1    9/30/2010   11/11/2010
Review By: Terry C
Played: 49  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 17.5 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Tall oaks sprawl over rolling hills.
-This course was very clean and well maintained at the time.
-Cement tee pads and intact baskets.
-Several lengthy holes with elevation factoring in.
-Several blind basket placements.
-Lots of elevation to contend with.
Cons: -Very few trash cans on course.
-Several shots flirt along a road that gets used frequently.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course. Nothing I would travel 2 hours to play but if I were in the area I would stop for sure. It has hosted some big tourneys in the past and has potential to be a great park with a little love and maintenence.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Watch Out For That Tree

1    8/14/2010   8/16/2010
Review By: BucketBonanza
Played: 47  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 12.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Rum Village is a pleasant walk through tall oaks over some lush green rolling hills. It is quite an impressive sprawl of land that would be ideal for a picnic with your sweetie and it also has the added benefit of being a satisfying disc golf course. This course seemed very clean and well maintained and has cement tee pads and fully intact baskets. There are a few lengthy holes here that utilize the land quite well. Several blind basket placements add to the challenge. Forehand and backhand shots are equally catered to if you can find the lines.
Cons: The layout seemed like it may have been confusing at times. Luckily I had an experienced guide who was familiar with the course. This likely saved me a fair amount of bumbling and trudging over hills in the wrong direction. The variety here is accomplished via stalwart sentinel trees that could arguably demand a fair amount of luck at times. I imagine that with repeated playing, lanes that cannot readily be perceived from the tees can be discovered through trial and error but for the uninitiated it has the possibility of being like throwing into a brick wall in some spots. Be prepared to smack some bark along the way.
Other Thoughts: Play this course if you are passing through this area of the world. It is easy on the eyes. For a free park there was very little traffic, even on a Saturday afternoon, and no hoodlum factor on the course which was a huge plus. Not bad overall. The hills beam with charm and make it quite a worthwhile stroll.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Underrated?

1    8/10/2010   8/11/2010
Review By: esdubya
Played: 94  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 19.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Other Thoughts: Maybe I had low expectations going in (I had read the reviews here before going to Rum Village) but I thought this course was great. It exceeded my expectations. I think the designers did the most with what they had here.

Let's start with the property.
Rolling grassy hills with old oak trees provide constant shade and no undergrowth. Elevation plays a part on pretty much every hole. Some erosion around the tees and baskets but not too bad. Wood chips around the baskets would really help and make this course much nicer, maybe even raise the avg review. The people / players seemed OK, it wasn't too busy on a weekday evening. I didn't see any shady characters.

The course design: After 8 holes I was thinking "is this it?" then I step up to 9 and wowowowow!! what a sweet hole. long downhill bomb through trees. The remainder of the back 9 keeps things interesting. Good job, I will be back.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Did that guy just steal my ace disc?

5+    7/7/2010   7/17/2010
Review By: destroyeroftrees
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 11.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Decent length and difficulty for amateurs and pros, Basic bomb and putt course. Wind sometimes makes putting interesting on front 9. Hard to lose disc after first 3 holes. Decent parking space. Usually no backups on holes.
Cons: Very suspicious area, however it has gotten better in the past 3 years. City and local disc golf group are atleast making an effort to clean it up. Vandalized signs and baskets are not uncommon. Not alot of tables or places to sit and relax. Unfriendly patrons and tons of foot traffic on course can lead to problems. No scorecards on site which can make navigating course time consuming.
Other Thoughts: Place this course in a different area and it quickly goes up to a rating of around 4

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    2/28/2010   2/28/2010
Review By: gordonbombay
Played: 46  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.4 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Some really good use of elevation.
Large oak trees define the fairways well.
There is shade provided almost year round by the large oaks.
Definately a begginer friendly course. Not very difficult and not very long.
The tee pads are in good shape on holes except #7 has a cracked corner (short hole and wont really affect your drive).


Cons: Acorns as previously mentioned cannot only be dangerous to walk on downhill, but falling from 3-4 stories doesnt make them any safer.
If you cant navigate the course there are plenty of suspicious looking "gentleman" (and I use that term VERY loosely) that Im sure would be more than happy to assist you to find the next "hole". I know this has almost nothing to do with the course and should not be held against it but it is creepy if you are male and play solo rounds.
Navigation (I guess I didnt quite address it in my last point). The tee signs dont point you towards the next hole many times. Several are missing, others are vandalized.

Other Thoughts: DIRECTIONS- regardless of which entrance you come in drive until you see the playground equipment. The next right turn will be for DG parking. Walk through the shelter to find tee pad 1. After hole 9 proceed up the hill, across the street and tee off facing right.
If you need a course to beat a disc in look no further. The oaks provide all the tuning you'll need and then some.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Beautiful City Park Course

5+    12/16/2009   12/28/2009
Review By: Jukeshoe
Played: 192  Reviewed: 153  Exp: 5.1 Years
This review was updated on 3/17/2013
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Located in a very beautiful, well-groomed park with huge oak trees providing shade. The widely-spaced yet ever-present trees provide some excellent line-shaping opportunities.
-Long, level, grippy tee pads all in great shape except for #7, which has one corner broken.
-Free to park/play.
-Great use of available elevation.
-Extremely difficult to lose a disc.
-Good variation between shorter holes and longer, more challenging holes.
-Open holes good for beginners yet still a challenge for more experienced players.
-Park department does a great job cleaning up the leaves. One really neat aspect to this course is that they mow "fairways" into the course after the leaves have fallen.
-Park is family friendly with playgrounds, grills, shelters.
-Overall a fun place to play with a few lovely views.
Cons: -Damaged/vandalized/unclear signs make navigation, finding out pars difficult.
-No trash cans.
-Some holes near park road, one near city road.
-No restrooms.
-Hole #2 floods a bit near the basket after harder rains.
Other Thoughts: The front nine is fairly straight-forward and easy. The back nine is where this course shines, in my opinion. Starting on hole 9, the holes really start having a unique feel with many possible/interesting lines to take.
- New trees have been planted throughout the course. Currently they don't change much, but a few years down the line will add to the difficulty of the course. They seem to be placed in very strategic spots.
- Seriously, watch out for the acorns in autumn or you'll kill yourself going down hills. I play this course for it's long open fairways whenever I get a new driver.
- Course changes as of 9/13/10: #4 has been removed due to hazardous play/ erosion issues. #7 basket is now short right of the old position. The old #13 (#12 in the new layout) now has the basket to the far left near the road. A new hole was added between the old #13 and #14. Also, the local club is working on reinforcing the teepads where erosion might be an issue, which fixes any issues before they occur. With the new, safer layout I have raised my ranking by a half-disc.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 compared to local courses

5+    12/1/2009   12/14/2009
Review By: MotoDj
Played: 20  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5.6 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: ok, prob not a 4.5 course, but its free and one of my favorites i've ever played
i love the course, beautiful large mature trees, no brush, has the most holes around over 350ft, everyfairway gives you options, yet you still have to be accurate to some degree, great ace run type holes, but only a hanful, throws in a nice blend of blind shots, but its only nice now cause i know where they're at :)
designers used what elevation they have to give mild degree of up and down hill shots
Cons: dont ever remember seeing restroom
po po always lurking :) mostly they're just eating lunch and taking breaks in there, but they park within danger zones of bad drives...
navigation is poor, but not impossible
"in the circle" lots of baskets have had enough traffic to make it solid dirt so layups slide/skip/roll easy (specially on the ace run holes)
Other Thoughts: for a day at the park, its free, very nice condition, one of the best ones we got in the area
i'd like to see better, but it is what it is

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice park course

1    10/10/2009   10/26/2009
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 766  Exp: 12.6 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a park filled with mature trees, and almost no underbrush. Nearly all holes play through the trees, so there are nice defined lines on most, with none that seemed completely wide open. There is some elevation, and it is used well throughout the course, including a couple hillside pins that add some roll-away danger to long putts. There are a couple bigger holes that shoot downhill through the trees, and these were a lot of fun, combining a downhill bomb with still having to hit a line through the trees.

Much of the course was pretty short, with plenty of ace run holes, and a few longer holes that allow you to throw a real drive. Most holes have multiple possible paths, but if you take the most obvious/open lines, you'll use a variety of different shots here.

There are nice concrete pads for all the tees, and they seemed large enough for the most part. There are signs, though they weren't in very good shape. Other than a couple weird spots, the course had good flow and wasn't too bad to follow. The park is very nicely maintained, and makes for a very nice round in the park.
Cons: There are a couple places here where navigation gets a bit dicey, and it's frustrating to have to wander around to find the right tee to throw from. Many of the signs were not readable, and this added to the confusion in these spots, along with some number plates missing or damaged.

The course played too close to the park road, and a main road too much for my taste. There were just too many easy places to end up on or across a road. Though this course seems meant for newer players, I would have liked a few more holes with some length, and a few less straight ace runs.

There isn't anything terribly wrong with this course, it's a nice park setting and it does a good job with the space, there just isn't a whole lot of wow factor to set this course apart.
Other Thoughts: Beginners will have a lot of fun at this course, with lots of possible lines, and not too much length, though there are some places where it's difficult to navigate at first. More experienced players will have a fun time here, but don't expect anything too challenging or unique.

This course is worth the stop if you're in the area, but it isn't the best course in town if you've only got time to play one. This is, however, a great place to bring newer players for a challenge, while having a good time yourself.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.