Spokane, WA
High Bridge Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #10
3 / 354ft.   3 / 354ft.   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee



Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 a fun challenge

1    7/11/2010   7/12/2010
Review By: geezergolfer
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.5 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: We really like the parks terrain, hilly with lots of trees and brush, and clean grassy park grounds. good tee pads and good basket placements.
Cons: We asked the help of local players in regard to course layout. It would have been difficult without their excellent help.
Other Thoughts: As we were traveling thru Spokane, we found this to be a good opportunity to play as it is very close to I-90.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging, Varied, & Fun Course

5+    5/29/2010   5/31/2010
Review By: Sixth Man
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is really a great course! The terrain is diverse (especially elevation changes) and challenging with a lot of overall variation. The tee boxes are in really good condition and the park area is maintained very well. It's my second favorite course in the area (Downriver is my favorite), but as it's less crowded I tend to play here more. As a lefty, I love this course. It's very left-handed friendly in my opinion.
Cons: It nearly impossible to find your way the first time you play it. Bring a map or play with someone who knows the course. Seriously, some of the hole placements and next holes make no sense at all. However, that's part of the charm/challenge once you know where you're going.
Other Thoughts: There are really some great holes here. Like I said earlier, it tends to be less crowded than Downriver, so if it's the weekend you're probably better off here. The road into it can be pretty rough (HUGE potholes and washboard gravel road) so don't drive anything with low clearance. I wouldn't call this a beginner course by a long shot, so if you're just starting out know it's going to take a while to play it and you'll likely to really tank a few of the holes. I'm really lucky to live within a 5 minute drive to the course. It's great!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 High Bridge, nice course

5+    5/10/2010   5/12/2010
Review By: shakeandcrawl
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is a little more compact than other Spokane area courses. It makes for traversing from the basket of the last hole to the launch of the next pretty quick. There is also a lot of terrain challenges and elevation, more so than other local courses as well. There is also a small mixture of open holes, to break up the monotony. Lots of room to work on your hyzers/anhzsers as there are plenty of holes that require it.
Cons: Launching pads are a little small, but not a problem to a more experienced thrower. The smaller arena does tend to cause backups that can be lengthly if there are large crowds. The brush can get pretty dense. Expect to play a lot of "out" shots.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course to play on. The elevated holes offer a great chance to work on your distance and accuracy. If your there on a day when there is not a lot of traffic, the course can be played in about 90 minutes. Easily accessible for both beginners and more seasoned players. Would love to see a sanctioned tourney here!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Tough Shots

5+    4/21/2010   4/22/2010
Review By: Chacer94
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: High Bridge is a great course for the average player. they layout of the course challenges you to learn and try more complicated shots you normally wouldn't take. the course incorporates hyzers, anhyzers, forehand, tomahawks and thumbers. it really challenges you and makes you better quick.
Cons: the bad part are the signs are not very accurate where the holes are placed any more. the other only problem is that they move the baskets a lot and sometimes its hard to find the new hole placement.
Other Thoughts: i think High Bridge is the best course in Spokane, i think its a lot better then Down River. also there are usually not as many people and big groups at high bridge unlike at Down River.

Thanks

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging elevated shots!

1    8/10/2009   11/17/2009
Review By: mcbentz
Played: 20  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 25.3 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: A challenging course with a lot of elevation. Has a unique layout/design obviously built by a seasoned disc golfer with a variety of shots unlike other courses.
Cons: Couldn't figure out where to park. Extremely hard time navigating the course. Lacks decent tee pads an signs.
Other Thoughts: I think this course could be amazing with a little funding!

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 High Bridge

5+    8/10/2009   8/10/2009
Review By: TjN001
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 8.6 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Fun course. The baskets are really good here. The variety of shots here rivals most all other courses. Up, down, left, right, short, and long. Plenty of different unofficial tees throughout the course...different shots each time. Adds a lot to the replay value here. There used to be a lot of shady people hanging around High Bridge, but they seem to have been replaced by more and more disc golfers.
Cons: The signs are terrible. The only information relevant to the hole is the distance. The rest of the sign space is given to the hole sponsor. Seriously, put a diagram on there at least, it seems a waste of money on the signs not to. Some areas are overgrown, but are easily avoided.
Other Thoughts: Climb up to the road on hole 18 for a great alternate pad.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Like the back of my hand...

5+    7/22/2009   7/28/2009
Review By: Benjy
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Excellent learning course for beginners... Very nice Baskets... Lots of trees and hills...(makes for a very interesting game)...
Cons: Like others said you run into some shady people sometimes... Very dusty on a dry day... Easy to lose discs sometimes....
Other Thoughts: Overall its a great layout and is a fun course to play, Ive played it about 200 times or so im guessing and I always enjoy a good game of teams of two best disc or skins... Also the bums and other people dont really show up as much, the police have been down there more often and its starting to clear up...

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Spo-Compton

1    6/29/2008   7/21/2009
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 187  Reviewed: 182  Exp: 10.8 Years
This review was updated on 7/7/2010
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good mix of holes left and right. Lots of well used elevation. There is a great mix of short to long holes which should satisfy just about everyone. Hole eighteen was my favorite and is very memorable.
Cons: The course is a little tough to navigate for the first timer which distracts from the rest of your round. The park gets alot of vandals from the nearby neighborhood.
Other Thoughts: This park used to be a street block I think and the old roads are still in place. The parking lot is located very near to the bridge where the trains fly by which is where I think they got the name from. All in all a well rounded course that I would love to come back to after playing downriver first of course.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

My favorite course

1    8/1/2009   5/21/2009
Review By: coredog
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/20/2013
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Variety in holes and distances...great location. mixture of hyzers and anhyzers, but plays to righty's strengths.
Cons: sprinkler times are a tad frustrating on open grass area around hole 3
Other Thoughts: After playing the course several more times, I love it! Once you get to know the layout, it plays extremely well. Variety of holes, lengths and obstacles. Definitely my favorite course.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Enjoyed this course!

5+    8/18/2012   12/10/2008
Review By: Disc Dog
Played: 54  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 6.8 Years
This review was updated on 11/24/2013
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The variety of shots here were exceptional. With good elevation changes on several. You will throw up down and over several areas. You will need to throw anhyzers and hyzers. Tomahawks and Thumbers will be needed to get you out of some trouble.

While Latah Creek is a small factor, on 6 and 7, it can be played around without much trouble. The course was marked well enough to get around it reasonably well. The tee pads vary from rubber mats to concrete, to asphalt and a couple are painted on areas of old slabs. They have about finished putting in some real nice steps to help get up and down the steep hills. There is a nice picnic and play ground area with a place for the kids to play.
Cons: The bathrooms are closed on the weekends when its the busiest and there are no water fountains.

The tee for basket 5 is not where the the GPS photo shows it. The GPS photo shows an alt site that has never been done but is used by those that do not want to walk to the real 5 tee. The course map shows the position of 5.

There are no signs to tell you where to park when the park parking is closed. You have to park on A street and start on hole 11.
Other Thoughts: Highbridge Park was once an actual neighborhood that was torn down. You will see old sidewalks and an occasional foundation. Some of the course uses the roads that are barely passable now. It is an interesting place to be and play.

Some extra direction to the first hole and a sign to suggest where to park and start when the park is closed to traffic would be nice.

I prefer this park to the more popular and yes tougher Downriver because it is less crowded and with the steps it is easier for a guy with a bum left leg to get around.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.