Spokane, WA 
High Bridge Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #1
3 / 216ft.   3 / 216ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
Near downtown, near excellent

5+    7/4/2015   7/4/2015
Review By: drewbacca
Played: 9  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 10.3 Years
Pros: Location - Close to downtown and several other neighborhoods.
Single use area.
Mixture of hole types.
Suitable for all player skill levels.
Challenging pin placement
Easy to navigate
Mainly quality stairs to climb up and go down.

Cons: Tee pads are of mixed quality. I prefer concrete to the rubber mats and painted asphalt.
Course is mainly clean, but has a "broken in" quality.
Other Thoughts: Cool course set in the ponderosa pines, under high bridge on a creek feeding the river just a couple minutes from downtown. You could play 18, float the river and finish with a stop in Brownes
addition very easily. The course has fun holes that do a little bit of everything, making good use of the terrain and space available.

The front 9 starts open with just a little up and down.
Hole 5 is a little funky with the distance you have to walk from the hole 4 pin, which has led lots of players to make their own unofficial tee box from the hill when there is not a group in front.
Holes 6, 7 &8 will challenge your shot making ability in trees. Hole 9 demands a nice rising drive and clean putt or you'll be walking down the hill.

The back 9 are longer and mainly more open. Hole 15 is the gem, shooting over a pine nursery and into the open field. It's weird that 18, which could be a signature treetop height hole, is so short. It requires some restraint!

Overall this is a good course close to lots of neighborhoods (and beer). It's also a great example of disc golf revitalizing and improving some under used park area. The layout and tee pads are OG though and at some point it would be cool for the parks department and SDGA to take a look at upgrades that would make a top class course using the whole area.

its reasonable.....

1    8/19/2014   8/21/2014
Review By: nwdiscgolfer
Played: 71  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 26.2 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: good mix of hole types/throws, lots of nice people out here.
Cons: Poor design over all, walks between tees are strange and long. Walk to hole 1 to begin and from 18 to end is strange. Some holes are throwing down dirt roads, the area could have been used better. Hole 18 is a disappointment. Tee signs are not updated for blind position holes. and no clear markings for next tees

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Cool Course in Old Town

1    5/3/2014   5/5/2014
Review By: dengsauve
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 1.4 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: A pretty open course, with a few courses taking you through mildly treed areas.
Multi-purpose park, nice to people there.
Cons: Since it's a park tucked out of the way and off the beaten path, you see quite a few more bottles and cans laying around due to lack of grounds-keeping / police.
Other Thoughts: The park is a little run down, could use some sprucing up. Overall, 3/5 because of litter.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

HB

1    10/4/2013   2/10/2014
Review By: fuegoador
Played: 12  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 2.2 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice pads, good baskets, good variety of holes. Good use of existing space in what used to be a very sketchy park that you did not want to go into at all.
Cons: Some long walks between holes. Several blind shots that can be dangerous. Difficult to navigate without someone who knows where they're going.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

1st Western Course Fun

1    9/1/2013   9/15/2013
Review By: #19325
Played: 321  Reviewed: 170  Exp: 14.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: High Bridge Park is a very scenic park with a bridge over head. It has huge trees and has elevation all over. The terrain is perfect for hiking. The ground is mostly dirt and rock with grass in a few places. It was absolutely bone dry when I played. This is the more traditional par 54 course with no true par 4/5 holes. With the roads and terrain it is one of the more unique courses that I've played.

The tee pads were perfectly fine.

Multiple pins.

Tee signs were adequate with hole location information.

There were several sets up stairs created to help getting up a couple of hills.

There are some challenging holes on this course and quite a few trees. I had no trouble locating discs as the rough on the ground is thin.

Overall this is a fun course to play with a handful of really fun holes. I enjoyed the course a lot.
Cons: Hole #18 was very disappointing. Excellent elevated tee and very scenic. I was ready to rip a drive. The hole is very short and dumping a putter down the hill was not a fun finish to the course.

Hole #15 is a good hole but having #3's basket in the background takes away from the hole. I actually thought it was the actual hole until I saw the flag on the shorter #15 basket.

The baskets have been vandalized like crazy.

The long walk to #5 & 10 could have been avoided in the design.

In the current setup that I played I found myself throwing many of the same shots. I wish I was a lefty on that day.

With many of the hillsides and unique rocky areas many of the greens could have had some creativity.
Other Thoughts: It wasn't the easiest finding the entrance to the park. Navigating the course isn't the easiest either. I used the map often and they are quite a few blind holes.

This was my first course that I've played out west and I enjoyed it a lot. I got up early and there was only one other group on the course. When I left some groups started rolling in. Looks like this course is a popular option in the area.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

SOLID

5+    2/1/2013   2/12/2013
Review By: Yoduh
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9
This review was updated on 1/15/2014
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This course pushes me more than Downriver in the hard pin placements. It's usually not to crowded. Good elevation changes and the alt pins have really improved the course. Nice stairs. One hole with grass. No shot is the same.
Cons: This course is very lefty friendly. Shots down old roads can beat up discs. Baby pines need to be cleared especially around the pins. Hole 4 pin to hole 5 is a 600 foot walk. Hole 16 is dangerous from people throwing on 15.
Other Thoughts: 2nd best course in the Spokane Coeur d' Alene area. Sekani is tops. Well worth a play and challenging.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Abandoned City

1    9/6/2012   10/25/2012
Review By: Tromavilcitizen
Played: 15  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 9.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Course was fairly easy to find.
Open fairways with lots of trees on the edges that can be trouble.
Cool location course is set in an abandoned neighborhood
Cons: Some fair ways are old roads which makes for a rough landing. A few holes are blind shots but the under growth was minimal.
Other Thoughts: Very cool setting, would like to know more about the history of the neighborhood that that course is laid out across

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Highbridge Keeps Getting Better

5+    6/16/2012   6/27/2012
Review By: General Scales
Played: 12  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 8 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good mix up wooded and open. Good use of elevation (up and down shots) Good mix of distance throughout. Multiple pin placements on 12 of the 18 holes. Beautiful wooded area with a variety of different foliage. Multiple routes on most holes. Good mix of shot selection. Always being worked on by the SDGA. New stairs going up hole 2 to prevent further erosion. More stairs to be installed on other eroded area's by the end of the year.
Cons: Crowded on most days. Annoying wanna be gangsters tagging everything. Lack of parking. The recent installation of a playground has forced the last basket to be moved into a very short position. Teepad's need to be re-installed on a few holes due to wear and tear.
Other Thoughts: Highbridge used to be a haven for multiple shady activities. That has stopped due to the die hard nature of Spokane Disc Golfers. For instance, 5 years ago, they never would've dreamed to put a playground in at Highbridge. Now, you will see families, joggers and hikers enjoying the park. Just another sign that disc golf will accomplish positive things for your community if you let it happen.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 First time through

2-4    6/17/2012   6/20/2012
Review By: trswem
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.1 Years
This review was updated on 6/24/2012
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Technically challenging, recent "upgrades" like new stairs, good locals that help you find the next whole.
Cons: When we played through there was some confusion as to whether we were playing the A or B, but we always figured it out.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Fun City Course with Forest Feel

5+    1/2/2012   1/4/2012
Review By: Simmeltron
Played: 23  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 11.1 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very nice signage with distances/fairway layouts and also indicating which basket location is current, A/B basket locations which change several times per year allow for nice variation. Good use of elevation changes. Both wide open drives and shorter technical shots make you think about your next shot. Very close to downtown, easy access off of freeway. Located in a park with nice picnic/BBQ area which is located away from course.
Cons: Several holes use old concrete roads as fairways, new and soft discs beware. Several teepads are natural and can be a bit hairy in spots. Parking on 11th hole can be nice but can also cause log jams on busy days.
Other Thoughts: This course has gone through some changes over the years, some due to safety concerns (throwing over the road) and some due to I'm really not sure why. Overall, this is a pretty nice, fun and challenging course that will ultimately make you better.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.