Spokane, WA 
High Bridge Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #2
3 / 225ft.   3 / 225ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Good mixed course

5+    6/3/2011   6/19/2011
Review By: Dadio
Played: 76  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 30.3 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Probably my favorite in the Spokane area. Holes are challenging but not so long that noobs are discouraged. Some open holes, elevation changes, and some tree filled roughs you are better to drop out of and take the stroke than throw. Signage is much improved this year, showing the hole and which position pin is in. While course is in rough there is always a path to the hole, just may not be easy to hit.
Cons: If you are used to park courses, you are in for a shock. Since it is in an old neighborhood there is asphalt on course, and a couple of fairways are nothing but road. Since switching to tougher grade of discs this hasn't been a problem for me. Lots of players in Spokane and only 2 public courses so can be crowded, especially mid-day on weekend. Parking bu 11th hole so many people start there, can be a pile-up and throw off pace of game.
Other Thoughts: Long arms in local club keep looking to change holes to up difficulty, annoying as I see this as a mid length technical course and like that it isn't bad to bring noobs to. Spokane really needs a full on pro course, there are plenty of talented enough players that would benefit. Despite drawbacks this course has really grown on me. I have been playing it regularly for 2 years and it is still pleasantly challenging. Tight enough that long throwers need to be very accurate, short enough that my teenage daughter can hit all holes in 4 strokes on a good day. Well balanced course.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A good course getting better

5+    9/2/2010   9/10/2010
Review By: Sean Johnson
Played: 22  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.4 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is one of my two "home" courses, and I think that the course makes good use of the terrain around it. They made especially good use of elevation changes, so that about half of the holes play up or down I strongly believe forehanders had a role in course development as there are a fair amount of right turning shots on the course The climate here is dry and generally pretty hot, so not only is the weather nice and mostly wind-free, but the vegetation isn't so thick to lose lots of discs. The course has had new placements and some entirely new holes added, and they greatly improve the quality of the course. Hole 13 went from a hole that some pros aced dozens of times to one of the most challenging and dynamic holes on the course. It is the kind of hole that requires a controlled, accurate drive that leads to a well protected pin. Sadly, it is currently in its old placement which is the very definition of a throw away hole. Hole 5 and 6, both of which shot across the road were moved due to a Park/City "request." This eliminated having to stagger down an eroded hill only to have to cross the fairway and walk right back up. New 5 is also a much better and more challenging hole, but it now has a long walkout across the main park area. Many players hate the new placement, but it is the kind of hole (like new 13) that makes you a better player. The course then dips down by Latah Creek, which gives dogs access to water. Hole 14 is another notable and difficult hole that is the very definition of drive placement.

I will agree that the signage around here has been pretty bad, but I promise that changes are in the wind. New tee signs are going in and tee pads are being rebuilt, leveled, and resurfaced with high quality flymats.
Cons: There is one petty little group of wannabe thugs that have been tagging everything in sight. While unsightly, the SDGA has been repainting the benches on a regular basis and most vandalism comes strictly from this one group so I see it being a temporary thing. However, our course has it share of people who do not respect etiquette, the course, or each other. Like all areas, we have had an influx of new players in the last few years and the course can be quite busy. I do not think that these things reflect poorly on the course or those who maintain it, but it is worth noting.

There are many great holes here, but I wish that some of the old and new placements would be eliminated entirely as they are too simple and easy. A half dozen alternate teepads would take the sting out of the par 3.5 holes and would make a lot of newer players happy
Other Thoughts: I really love this course and there is a lot to like, but the inherent lack of space, a few easy placements, and not-yet-installed signage keep this from becoming a truly remarkable course. It is still a lot of fun and I would recommend it to anyone

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 a fun challenge

1    7/11/2010   7/12/2010
Review By: geezergolfer
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.2 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: We really like the parks terrain, hilly with lots of trees and brush, and clean grassy park grounds. good tee pads and good basket placements.
Cons: We asked the help of local players in regard to course layout. It would have been difficult without their excellent help.
Other Thoughts: As we were traveling thru Spokane, we found this to be a good opportunity to play as it is very close to I-90.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging, Varied, & Fun Course

5+    5/29/2010   5/31/2010
Review By: Sixth Man
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is really a great course! The terrain is diverse (especially elevation changes) and challenging with a lot of overall variation. The tee boxes are in really good condition and the park area is maintained very well. It's my second favorite course in the area (Downriver is my favorite), but as it's less crowded I tend to play here more. As a lefty, I love this course. It's very left-handed friendly in my opinion.
Cons: It nearly impossible to find your way the first time you play it. Bring a map or play with someone who knows the course. Seriously, some of the hole placements and next holes make no sense at all. However, that's part of the charm/challenge once you know where you're going.
Other Thoughts: There are really some great holes here. Like I said earlier, it tends to be less crowded than Downriver, so if it's the weekend you're probably better off here. The road into it can be pretty rough (HUGE potholes and washboard gravel road) so don't drive anything with low clearance. I wouldn't call this a beginner course by a long shot, so if you're just starting out know it's going to take a while to play it and you'll likely to really tank a few of the holes. I'm really lucky to live within a 5 minute drive to the course. It's great!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 High Bridge, nice course

5+    5/10/2010   5/12/2010
Review By: shakeandcrawl
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is a little more compact than other Spokane area courses. It makes for traversing from the basket of the last hole to the launch of the next pretty quick. There is also a lot of terrain challenges and elevation, more so than other local courses as well. There is also a small mixture of open holes, to break up the monotony. Lots of room to work on your hyzers/anhzsers as there are plenty of holes that require it.
Cons: Launching pads are a little small, but not a problem to a more experienced thrower. The smaller arena does tend to cause backups that can be lengthly if there are large crowds. The brush can get pretty dense. Expect to play a lot of "out" shots.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course to play on. The elevated holes offer a great chance to work on your distance and accuracy. If your there on a day when there is not a lot of traffic, the course can be played in about 90 minutes. Easily accessible for both beginners and more seasoned players. Would love to see a sanctioned tourney here!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Tough Shots

5+    4/21/2010   4/22/2010
Review By: Chacer94
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: High Bridge is a great course for the average player. they layout of the course challenges you to learn and try more complicated shots you normally wouldn't take. the course incorporates hyzers, anhyzers, forehand, tomahawks and thumbers. it really challenges you and makes you better quick.
Cons: the bad part are the signs are not very accurate where the holes are placed any more. the other only problem is that they move the baskets a lot and sometimes its hard to find the new hole placement.
Other Thoughts: i think High Bridge is the best course in Spokane, i think its a lot better then Down River. also there are usually not as many people and big groups at high bridge unlike at Down River.

Thanks

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging elevated shots!

1    8/10/2009   11/17/2009
Review By: mcbentz
Played: 20  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 26 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: A challenging course with a lot of elevation. Has a unique layout/design obviously built by a seasoned disc golfer with a variety of shots unlike other courses.
Cons: Couldn't figure out where to park. Extremely hard time navigating the course. Lacks decent tee pads an signs.
Other Thoughts: I think this course could be amazing with a little funding!

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 High Bridge

5+    8/10/2009   8/10/2009
Review By: TjN001
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 9.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Fun course. The baskets are really good here. The variety of shots here rivals most all other courses. Up, down, left, right, short, and long. Plenty of different unofficial tees throughout the course...different shots each time. Adds a lot to the replay value here. There used to be a lot of shady people hanging around High Bridge, but they seem to have been replaced by more and more disc golfers.
Cons: The signs are terrible. The only information relevant to the hole is the distance. The rest of the sign space is given to the hole sponsor. Seriously, put a diagram on there at least, it seems a waste of money on the signs not to. Some areas are overgrown, but are easily avoided.
Other Thoughts: Climb up to the road on hole 18 for a great alternate pad.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Like the back of my hand...

5+    7/22/2009   7/28/2009
Review By: Benjy
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Excellent learning course for beginners... Very nice Baskets... Lots of trees and hills...(makes for a very interesting game)...
Cons: Like others said you run into some shady people sometimes... Very dusty on a dry day... Easy to lose discs sometimes....
Other Thoughts: Overall its a great layout and is a fun course to play, Ive played it about 200 times or so im guessing and I always enjoy a good game of teams of two best disc or skins... Also the bums and other people dont really show up as much, the police have been down there more often and its starting to clear up...

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Spo-Compton

1    6/29/2008   7/21/2009
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 219  Reviewed: 206  Exp: 11.5 Years
This review was updated on 9/14/2014
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good mix of holes left and right. Lots of well used elevation. There is a great mix of short to long holes which should satisfy just about everyone. Hole eighteen was my favorite and is very memorable.
Cons: The course is a little tough to navigate for the first timer which distracts from the rest of your round. The park gets alot of vandals from the nearby neighborhood.
Other Thoughts: This park used to be a street block I think and the old roads are still in place. The parking lot is located very near to the bridge where the trains fly by which is where I think they got the name from. All in all a well rounded course that I would love to come back to after playing downriver first of course.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.